Comfort Works Reviews

4.82 Rating 3,675 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Comfort Works
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
98%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Customer Service
4.89 out of 5
Read Comfort Works Reviews

About Comfort Works:

We're a small Australian company specialising in the creation of beautiful handmade sofa covers, we aim to rejuvenate all the world's old & tired couches.

Visit Website

Phone:

3 9015 9789

Email:

info@comfortworks.com.au

Write Your review

Tell us how Comfort Works made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! Lost everything in a flood at my home prior to receiving my slip covers. I reached out to ask about cancelling and was informed that had they not shipped I could have cancelled with a 30% restocking fee but since they had shipped I could receive nothing and there was nothing they could do. Also received an email after contacting them stating that if I could put them in the sofa and send pictures with positive reviews that I could receive a 30% rebate. But because I couldn’t do this I could receive nothing and told to just sell them again independently if I couldn’t use them and wanted my money back! I was also told if they gave me a refund then the one and only worker they had (seriously, I was told it was a one slip cover a day with only one person making them) would not be able to get paid and earn a living!!! Seriously! Apparently they still get paid if I asked for a refund before it shipped or if I got a rebate after providing positive reviews. Only if they were to offer a refund or even a partial refund because I lost the Sofa they are made for would the seamstress not get paid! Not only have I lost all my furniture in a flood but now have lost all the money for the slip covers. As of writing this I still have not received the slip covers either. Save your money and use another more reputable and reasonable company!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello and thanks for your feedback. While we do sympathise with your predicament at home, it was really unfortunate that this situation was only reported to us after your made-to-measure covers have shipped. As we were unable to intercept this parcel before it was shipped, we would no longer be able to offer a partial refund as per our cancellation policy. Just to clarify as well that the 30% rebate is a separate (and special) programme altogether which depends on you being able to fit the covers on your sofa. We're not sure where the misunderstanding had occurred, but all our staff are paid fairly and are perfectly capable of earning a living being employed by us. Therefore we respectfully disagree with you that we're not reputable or unreasonable. That being said, you mentioned that you've not received the covers yet? We've already reached out to you again with some steps for how to get this sorted. Hope you'll be able to get back to us with the information that we need. Cheers! -Melvyn from Comfort Works-
Posted 2 months ago
Buy from Rolin Sofa instead. The sofa cover for Kipplaj is NOT like the model from ikea, and requires a bar to hold it down. I pops up all the time. I hate it. The customer service was terrible and they were very rude, even after admitting they should update the product.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hey there! Sorry about the difficulties you faced with your Klippan covers. We believe that the Klippan you have is a newer version that doesn't require the usage of the tube/bar and separate straps to tuck the backrest covers towards the back (you can read about our review of the Klippan here: https://blog.comfort-works.com/klippan/). Unfortunately, our covers aren't based on this newer version and we're currently looking into this; though it would take some R&D at our end to get the design right. We've already offered to reimburse you for the additional tube (the covers you got can still function correctly with the tube and straps) but we're bummed that this wasn't accepted. We do hope that you'll reconsider our solution to get the covers working as intended (the back doesn't pop up when sitting on the couch).
Posted 2 months ago
Habe einen Bezug für einen Standard Ikea Sessel bestellt, der mit Sicherheit millionenfach verkauft wurde. Der Bezug passt allerdings vorne und hinten nicht. Nach der Reklamation wurde mir aufgetragen den Sessel und den gekauften Bezug aufwendig zu vermessen um herauszufinden wo das Problem ist. Was soll das. Es ist nicht die Aufgabe des Kunden stundenlang die mangelhafte Ware zu vermesen. Bei einem Massenprodukt müssen die Maße doch bekannt sein. Daher habe ich den Wunsch geäußert die Bezüge selber vor Ort zu ändern. Über die Kosten der Änderung diskutieren wir jetzt noch. Für den Preis bin ich maßlos enttäuscht. Nächstes Mal macht es gleich der Polsterer vor Ort.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hallo Barbara, wie schade, dass Sie Ihre Erfahrung mit unserem Service als so negativ empfinden! Ja, Ikea Sessel werden in der Regel standardmäßig angefertigt, doch es kommt immer wieder vor, dass Ikea die Maße bestimmter Modelle nach einigen Jahren in der Produktion etwas abändert, oder dass sich zum Beispiel ein Sitzkissen nach jahrelanger Benutzung platt sitzt. Dadurch kann es möglich sein, dass ein neuer Bezug nicht perfekt sitzt. Außerdem fertigen wir die Bezüge per Hand an, und dabei können sich in seltenen Fällen, trotz strenger Qualitätskontrollen, auch Fehler einschleichen - immerhin sind wir auch nur Menschen. Wir haben Ihnen bereits einen kostenfreien Ersatzbezug, passend zu Ihrem Sessel maßgeschneidert, angeboten. Dazu benötigen wir allerdings die detaillierten Maße Ihres Sessels und des gelieferten Bezuges (sodass wir die Unterschiede erkennen können). Ich verstehe, dass das Ausmessen etwas mühsam sein kann, doch es ist leider wirklich notwendig, um sicherzustellen, dass wir die Bezüge in den richtigen Maßen und perfekt-sitzend anbieten können. Alternativ bieten wir Ihnen einen Rabatt an, bzw. die Erstattung der Änderung des Bezuges in einer Änderungsschneiderei. Eine Rücksendung und Erstattung des Produktes ist leider nicht möglich, da jeder Bezug auf Bestellung individuell angefertigt wird. Ich würde mich freuen, wenn Sie mit uns im Kontakt bleiben, und wir noch gemeinsam eine zufriedenstellende Lösung finden können! Simon Bindgen von Comfort Works
Posted 2 months ago
The covers for my sofa didn't fit, not nearly (a good few inches too small). I sent several rounds of photos, measurements etc. and in the end all I was offered was to send yet more photos. I gave up. It was clearly not an issue with my sofa being not the standard size, and a template issue. I should have been offered at least a refund or money off, which I wasn't. I spent £350 with this company, which I would not recommend. Next time I will get a local company to come around and measure my sofa and make covers that way.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hey there! Sorry that you've had a less-than-pleasant experience with us regarding the fit issues that you've encountered. We believe we're being absolutely fair for requesting more detailed photos to troubleshoot your slipcovers, as, without them, we can't determine if they're manufacturing fault caused by our end or might be a unique quirk on your sofa frame. That being said, we've already offered to get a set re-made for you with some proposed adjustments, but we're bummed to hear that this wasn't accepted by you as well. Wish we could have been given another chance to assist you in getting a set of covers that fit, but we totally understand if you no longer wish to work with us. -Melvyn from Comfort Works-
Posted 2 months ago
DO NOT BUY 1 YEAR LATER WE HAVE RUINED SOFA WAIT TO REVIEW THIS COMPANY I ordered my covers in March 2020 and they arrived a month later. At first we were happy but then we noticed sections of the sofa had faded - we live in London and it had only been a year of owning the covers which we bought in grey. I emailed them and they said the fabrics were not tested against light and the fading is not covered by the warranty and would offer me 15% off to buy more covers. The fading was very dramatic and i have never experienced a fabric fading so fast. No other sofa we have had has done this neither has any other furniture in the living room. We have offered to send this faulty product back for a full refunded as a product that cannot be near any sun included the limited sun we get in london is not worth the cost as the sofa looks awful
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Annajane, We are sorry to know that you are unhappy with your slipcovers. While we cannot account for your other furniture (which aren't from Comfort Works), we do stand by our products and are always ready to rectify any manufacturing/workmanship errors present via replacements FOC. However, the fading in this case was caused by poor placement of the furniture in harsh direct sunlight and UV exposure- none of which are manufacturing defects nor covered by our warranty as we have no control over these circumstances. The discount offered to you is in good faith and we sincerely regret that this was not agreeable to you. In any case, our agent will be in contact with you and we hope to reach an amicable solution. Wishing you well always :) - Naomi from Comfort Works
Posted 3 months ago
The quality for this “handmade” product is no where near is good as IKEA. Unfortunately I won’t be able to use mine because I ordered the wrong size. They have a no refund/no exchange/ we don’t care how much you paid for this product “return policy.” I won’t ever buy from here again nor would I recommend it. That’s based off the amount of money this “small family” owned company charged for a sofa cover whose quality isn’t better than IKEA. They did tell me that it was a bummer that I ordered the wrong product and told me that I was stuck with something useless because they won’t eat the cost. They didn’t ask if O would have offered to at least pay for shipping to get it replaced. Nope. They did tell me that I could buy another one from them. I’ll buy a new couch before I give them anything other than this review.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hey Sharhonda. Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear that you've got the covers for the wrong sofa model. Unfortunately, we don't accept returns as the slipcovers are made to order and it's extremely difficult to resell them to another customer. We had hoped that you would be willing to accept our generous solution to get the correct set of slipcovers, but since this was not acceptable to you, we do hope you'll be able to find an alternative way to solve your slipcovers woes. Thank you for giving us a try. -Comfort Works-
Posted 3 months ago
The slip cover has holes in it . I cannot figure out what they are for, and they are visible unless I constantly tuck them in!!!
Comfort Works 1 star review on 5th June 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Jenny! The notches here are actually meant for tying the straps onto a pole or PVC pipe that you would tuck towards the backrest. The straps would be then hooked to the serpentine spring (the wavy-metal parts) located underneath the Klippan sofas to ensure that the covers stay tucked in. The straps are not included as this was originally provided by IKEA. You can download the assembly manual here if you need more information: https://blog.comfort-works.com/klippan Hope this tip helps! -Melvyn from Comfort Works-
Posted 3 months ago
It doesn’t fit. It’s for a PB Basic Rolled armchair. The back is about 3 inches too wide, the fabric is stretched tight across the front where the cushion would be and I can’t even get it on the back and I have the zippers open. Not sure what went wrong. PB chairs are one size in that style. I’ve sent an email but haven’t heard back.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Valerie! Thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear about the issue that you've encountered with your covers. We reached out to you via email to get more details about your armchair and slipcovers, so it would be great if you could get back to us so that we can start the troubleshooting process. Hope this helps! -Melvyn from Comfort Works-
Posted 5 months ago
I am not happy with my Ikea vegan leather Poang slipcovers. They do not fit well at all. Aspects of the covers are way too big (the large back seat) and some aspects are way too tight (the bottom seat area). The slipcover does not lay right at all. The head pillow is too heavy (even though I am use the foam from the original Ikea chair) and causes the entire top of the cover to sag. Looking at the return policy--it does not seem simple to have it corrected and it took almost 8 weeks for the covers to arrive. I was so excited to recieve them--and now feel disappointed with the fit.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
The slip covers we ordered, which were labelled "snug" and were for a standard Ikea couch style, came extremely baggy, in one case with over an inch and a half of slack. Reporting the issue to Comfort Works has led to an increasingly frustrating chain of more and more information they ask from us in email after email, when all of it could easily have been asked up front. It feels like an attempt to either frustrate us out of responding, or pushing it past the return window, either way a slimy way of getting out of offering a refund for a product that was effectively defective. We will never be ordering from Comfort Works again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi Lori, I have taken a look at your ticket and see that our colleague, Jun is currently handling your complaint. Rest assured, he is doing everything he can for you according to our Standard Operating Procedures for cases such as yours, and please don't worry about the process timeframe. We do not do returns, but as long as the report was made within the 30-days of receipt and all supporting photographs/measurements are provided, you will be taken care of to the best of our abilities as agents. We sincerely hope for your patience during this process as we look into the matter. Thank you. Best, Samantha T. from CW.
Posted 6 months ago
I purchased the Luna flax slip cover and within 5 month there was EXTENSIVE pilling. I followed the care instructions exactly and hadn’t even washed the cover at that point. The warranty does not cover pilling- probably because they would have to refund every slip cover (at least in the linen material). I am now under one year in and I will have to replace the entire cover as the pilling looks so bad. I am extremely dissatisfied. It was a total waste of money.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hey Jennifer! Sorry to hear about the pilling issues that you faced for your Luna Flax covers. This fabric blend is made from both natural (linen) and synthetic (polyester) fibres, which does have a tendency to pill over time. We've already reached out to you via email to discuss some options to get this sorted out for you. Hope this helps! -Melvyn from Comfort Works-
Posted 6 months ago
I purchased my slipcovers two years and was originally so happy with them- good fit, nice fabric, etc. I originally purchased them because they were easy to wash, but I hand washed them for the first time in cool water a few months ago and they immediately lost their color and dried with splotches all over them. I carefully followed the Comfort Works washing instructions but unfortunately I don't think the fabric was colorfast enough to withstand being washed. I'm really disappointed, as I spent a few hundred dollars on these slipcovers just two years ago, and now they are essentially ruined despite me carefully following the washing instructions. Even though they fall under the warranty (purchased less than 3 years ago, all washing instructions were followed carefully), when I emailed them about a possible replacement, they suggested I buy an entirely new set of slipcovers and only offered me discounts of 5%, then 10%, then 20%, then 50% off of the original purchase price. The warranty states that discoloration due to sunlight or chemical spray exposure is not covered, but it guarantees that it covers fabric issues caused by manufacturing and workmanship defects, which is clearly the case here, as washing & care instructions were followed carefully.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Blair, Thank you for your feedback Blair, I have taken a look at your case and see that my colleagues have been addressing your correspondences diligently via e-mail. Unfortunately, we found out that an oxygen-based bleach (Oxiclean) was used when you washed the covers and we would not be able to cover any discoloration caused by these cleaning agents under our warranty. The Lino Brushed fabric slipcover you have is a cotton blended with undyed, unbleached linen fibers so it's not possible for the colour to run - but in spite of this, we still gave you a generous discount anyway, which we had hope would solve your slipcover woes. As of now, we're really bummed that you're not satisfied with this as you prefer a whole new set of replacement covers for free in a different fabric, which we unfortunately cannot do. Should this still be the case, we can only recommend that you find another alternative to get your sofa recovered. Thank you. Regards, Samantha T. from CW.
Posted 7 months ago
They product I thought I ordered was not the product I received. I wanted a green velvet club chair cover and received what appears to be a cover for a chaise lounge. The back is much too short for my chair. For some reason 2 seat covers were included, one very big like for a chaise. The items are beautifully made and fabric great but I am having to pay $400 to have it all restyled. Not a good experience
Comfort Works 1 star review on 4th January 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hey Sharon! Oh dear, that doesn't sound right at all. You've ordered the IKEA Barkaby armchair and that is definitely not a chaise lounge. Please allow me to have a look at the slipcovers you've received and help you sort this out. I will be sending you an email shortly. Happy New Year, and stay safe. :) x Ning from Comfort Works.
Posted 8 months ago
Hey Sharon, thank you for taking the time to send the photos over. We are bummed that the issue was not a fit issue but actually a wrong purchase on your end. Our IKEA Barkarby armchair slipcover not fitting on the off-brand club chair is quite unfortunate but all our slipcovers are made especially for their brands only. Nonetheless, we are glad to hear a seamstress is on the way to help fit the slipcovers in our beautiful Velvet Emerald on to the chair. Stay safe! x Ning from Comfort Works.
Posted 8 months ago
really baggy and ill-fitting.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi Sam, we're really sorry to hear of this. We noticed that you have sent us a photograph of the products. We thank you for taking the time to reach out to us, and will be reverting to you the soonest - we have been away for the new year celebrations and apologize for the slight delays. We hope to be able to resolve the matter for you soon.
Posted 8 months ago
You charge $279 for the sofa cover. I got the sofa, mattress and cover from Ikea for the same price. Buyer beware.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hi there, we are sorry for the misunderstanding that you have encountered. We are an independent company in the business of making slipcovers for sofa models that you see listed on the website. We are not affiliated with IKEA in any way. The invoice that you received would have stated that this order was for a set of sofa covers and not, the sofa itself. As we do not do returns, I would suggest to re-sell these online through Craigslist / Amazon / Etsy if you'd like to recover some of the costs. Alternatively, you could also opt to keep the covers, for when you have the additional sofa purchased. Hope this helps! Take care and best wishes, Niro
Posted 8 months ago
I ordered a slipcover for my IKEA stocksund sofa this October. Very disappointing experience!!! Perfect fit? Poor fit! One side of the seat cushion cover is 4cm longer than my seat. The L shape area does not fit properly and the excessive fabric is about 2cm on each side. The armrest protector is also poorly done, which has a excessive fabric of about 3cm. The back cushion cover is extremely tight and when I put it on, it is obviously visually smaller than the original cushion. All photos are attached here and everyone can see the difference. Replacement claim? Ridiculous lengthy process! Then I decided to give it a try to submit a replacement claim. I even felt lucky that they have the instructions on photos required for the claim. What I didn’t know is this is just the beginning! Until today, the claim process has cost nearly a month, a total of 20 emails, 10+ photos, a pdf document contains 20 measurements (Yes they asked me to measure seam to seam for every detail of my sofa AND their cover.) and customer service is still asking for more photos in order to submit replacement request. What really frustrates me is they never provided any complete list of requirements, they just kept sending emails saying: ”Can I trouble you to provide blablabla...” Besides it will take another month or two for production and shipping. By that time I received the final product, it will be probably half year past my order date. The process is ENDLESS and just a waste a of time. I QUIT.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hello Yujia. While it is not our intention to sound like we do not trust our customers, we hope you understand as an online retailer in the business for slipcovers - slipcover fit can be very subjective as there are many variables that may have affected the fit and how it looks. It might visually not look right but without photos and measurements, we would not be able to find out what the actual problem is. It is in our deepest interest to resolve any complaint or feedback, but we would need your assistance in matters such as providing said photos/measurements to get the process going and to ensure we are identifying all issues as accurately as possible. The photos and measurements provided were not adding up for us to proceed with a replacement, hence, reiterations were requested - we hope you understand our hands are tied and are unable to proceed with a free set of replacements without the requested documentation. After the first few emails, an option of reimbursements credits for getting it locally altered to your preferred fit was provided but not accepted. It's still on the table should you want to take it. A follow-up email was sent to you on 16 Dec 2020 at 11:36 AM - we will await your reply.
Posted 9 months ago
too expensive, another $50 for tax, shipped rom china, you know you can just get it from china for a tiny fraction of the price. so they are upcharging you $200 for the letter and low quality bag/ribbon to make it feel fancy
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to learn that you feel that our prices are too high. One of the reasons our covers are priced this way is because they're all made-to-order at our fully-owned sewing facility in China (no mass-production here!). This allows us to remain fully in control for the quality of our products and to invest in (especially) the well-being of our team based there. We also believe that our slipcovers are an affordable alternative vs upholstering your sofa from scratch. However, we hear you and if you feel that there is a genuine issue with our covers, we've already reached out to you by email to get more details regarding your order along with offering to reimburse the import taxes that you paid. Take care and speak soon, Melvyn
Posted 9 months ago
Order a cover. Find a problem. Entirely their error. Their “solution”? Risk your health and local lockdown restrictions to “find someone locally” to fix their error and they’ll give you a whopping £15 (just 2% of my £5xx total purchase price inc. import taxes!!!) towards it being fixed?! Let’s not count the hassle and aggravation of having to find such a specialist in an area new to me and during a pandemic. What a joke! Incredulous at their “solution”. Am so very very angry.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thanks for the feedback and we are sincerely sorry that we have failed to be more mindful about the alternative options we are able to provide in fixing your covers for you. Typically the option of an alteration credit is offered as the quickest way of fixing minor issues, such as removal of piping; However, we do understand now that you've only recently settled in and are unsure who a reputable local tailor might be. Rest assured that it was never our intent to aggravate you, and we'd like to be able to help you out as long as you give us the chance to. We'll be in touch again via email to further discuss the option of replacement covers. Take care and speak soon, Chuck
Posted 9 months ago
Warranty means nothing. Had leather covers for 18 months - no problem. Now one cover has a spilt down the side (not where you sit). They have deemed this is CUT and is not covered under the warranty. They can not explain why this "cut"/split has developed therefore suggesting that I have cut this leather cover myself with such precision - beggars belief . They offered me a £4.50 discount for me to purchase yet another cover - which is an absolute insult considering the time I have put into attempting to get them to do the right thing.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Warranty means nothing. Had leather covers for 18 months - no problem. Now one cover has developed a spilt down the side (not where you sit). They have deemed this is CUT and is not covered under the warranty. They can not explain why this "cut"/split has developed therefore suggesting that I have cut this leather cover myself with such precision - beggars belief . They offered me a £4.50 discount for me to purchase yet another cover - which is an absolute insult considering the time I have put into attempting to get them to do the right thing. AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry that you feel that way. We've collectively reviewed your case and unfortunately, as per our warranty, we won't be able to cover the defect that you've reported to us, especially after so much time elapsed. However, we'd still hate to leave you hanging without a solution, and we've reached out to you again with (hopefully) a more amicable solution. We do hope to hear from you soon about this.
Posted 9 months ago
Comfort Works is rated 4.82 based on 3,675 reviews