Curology Reviews

4.43 Rating 1,136 Reviews
87 %
of reviewers recommend Curology
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read Curology Reviews
Visit Website

Email:

hello@curology.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Curology made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Curology making fools
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Harshdeep,

I'm sorry you've been unhappy with your Curology experience. Please message hello@curology.com and our Customer Success team will be more than happy to assist you.

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 1 week ago
First off, the amount of product that they give you to last two months is actually criminal considering what they charge. That said, I have been extremely careful to make mine last, and have been pleased with the results for my skin. So when I ran out on January 18th, I wasn’t concerned, because I knew my product was scheduled to arrive on January 20th. It did not arrive. I followed up and was told it was lost in the mail and that they would ship me a replacement and it would arrive within two weeks. No option to expedite. Annoying, as I am now out of product. The second shipment date comes and goes. No product. They tell me again that it’s lost and ask me to provide an alternate address. I’m sorry... what? I don’t have an alternate address. Am I supposed to have my skin care sent to my neighbor for the foreseeable future? This doesn’t sound like a realistic solution. They give me a link and tell me to follow-up with USPS (real white glove customer service here), and USPS confirms what the tracking details say, which is that the package was never handed off to USPS. Curology says, “Sorry... we don’t know. We have no way of finding out. We’ll just ship your package a third time, make you wait two more weeks and hope for a different outcome! Also, don’t reach out to us before that date because we won’t help you or look into it.” Well the third arrival date comes and goes, and to absolutely NO one’s surprise, no package. I email again and am told that they will not make a third shipping attempt, and that I either have to provide an alternate address or cancel my account. Are you joking? I am paying $80 for a subscription skin care service to be sent by mail, and you can’t figure out how to get it to me? I don’t live on Mars... I have no other shipping issues with other companies, and you have shipped to me twice before. I am honestly not convinced that the company isn’t a scam. Other customers have written reviews about them cutting the amount of product, and the company replied that they were getting complaints about customer’s having “an excess of product” at the end of two months. Seriously? How do you get away with this? I am cancelling and going to a company that actually knows what they’re doing and isn’t scamming people. Maybe if they spent half as much energy figuring out how to operate as they do soliciting Instagram influencers to sell their product, they would be able to maintain a customer base.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi Ali,

I am truly so sorry to hear about your experience with Curology. I understand your frustration and we have already followed up with our team about your experience. 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 1 week ago
Curology has completely changed my skin for the better! I have oily/combo skin and suffer from hormonal acne. I was prescribed a gentle cleanser, some antibiotic ointment, and moisturizer (I also use Retina-A three times a week). My skin purged at first, but now it is clear, glowing, smooth and my pores have shrank tremendously! This company and its products are a lifesaver. I highly recommend!!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hi,

I'm SO glad that Curology helped clear your skin! I hope you continue having an amazing skincare journey! 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 1 week ago
Curology is amazing! It has improved my skin so much by making all my pimples, blackheads, acne scars, and redness disappear. It also takes almost no effort to apply. It has been worth every penny. It has given me so much confidence and I definitely recommend it to anyone willing to try it!
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Peach,

Thanks for sharing your story, I'm SO glad Curology is working so well for you and helped you feel more confident. Keep glowing! 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 1 month ago
I just received my first subscription of my large sized formula and I wanted to tell you how utterly disappointed and unimpressed I am. The "large" bottle contains 24ml of formula (as is written on the bottle), it costs 40ish dollars every 2 mo., and ships every 2 mo. My next shipping date was scheduled for March 22nd.

24ml is less than one ounce (which would be 30ml). It's less than 2 tablespoons (again, 30ml). And actually, it's less than 5 teaspoons (25ml).

If I wanted this product to last me for 60 days, I would need to use it at a rate of 0.4ml a day. I would estimate that at the very least I would need 2ml to cover my entire face once a day. Just my face, that doesn't even include my neck. I would be very surprised if this lasted more than 2 weeks, to be honest.

Did your team really believe that 24ml every two months was adequate? And you really have the audacity to call it a "large" size. Question....what does large mean to you? Frankly if this is what you consider large then I'm concerned that your needs aren't being met. I'm embarrassed for you all, honestly. This is like very basic math, you guys.

I'm honestly not even going to go over the cost breakdown of this because it's not even about the cost. Money isn't even the issue.

So disappointed. I was so looking forward to having this subscription. I knew it had to be too good to be true.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi,

I'm sorry you've been unhappy with the amount of formula in our bottles.

Previously we surveyed the community and found that most had excess formula in their bottles at the end of the month, leading to a build-up of bottles. We also try to keep our products as affordable as possible for prescription skincare.

You can always reach out to your provider and our support team if you feel your bottle isn’t lasting the full subscription length so they can offer some advice! 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 3 weeks ago
I highly recommend Curology! I LOVE it so much! It has helped my skin tremendously. Even if you have greasy skin the moisturizer is great! The price is reasonable for the great quality of the product.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Belinda,

I'm SO glad that you've been enjoying your Curology experience! Thank you so much for the glowing review.

I hope you continue having an amazing skincare journey. 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 1 month ago
ABSOLUTELY amazing. The product, the customer service, the convenience, all of it is incredible. I never write reviews but this one deserves every bit of love it can get!!!
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Emily,

This makes us SO happy to hear. I hope you continue having an amazing skincare journey and thank you for choosing Curology for it! 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 1 month ago
This product is an absolute acne enhancer. I decided to give it a try after I had a mild breakout with hopes it would completely clear my face. Instead, I developed the worst acne I've ever had in my entire life. My entire cheeks and jawline were covered in pimples. I stopped the product eight weeks in when I realized it was only getting worse and that if I didn't stop soon, my skin might become even more damaged. I'm now almost four months out from stopping the product, and my skin is still breaking out terribly. I just went to the dermatologist and they informed me that a lot of other patients come in with similar complaints, and that the "physician" that prescribes it is not a certified dermatologist. Do NOT use this product. Despite the positive reviews of some people, it is not worth the risk of destroying your skin. If you have any other option for your acne, choose it. Don't end up like me because you thought it'd be an easy way out of a dermatologist appointment :(
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Erica,

I'm sorry that you've been unhappy with your Curology experience. I understand how frustrating that might be. It looks like you were going through a purging phase, which is not uncommon when starting new topical prescription medications, such as Curology.

This usually passes within 6-8 weeks but varies from person to person as each individual's skin is different. You can learn more about purging here: https://curology.com/guides/skincare/purging/

If you have any questions or concerns, your dermatology provider is your best resource, and are more than happy to offer suggestions and advice.

Our dermatology providers are board-certified dermatologists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, physicians, and internists; so rest assured you're in good hands.

Again, I'm so sorry you've been unhappy with your experience, and wish you the best in your skincare journey! 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 1 month ago
If I could have given it a 0 - I would have. All throughout my life of taking acne medicine or even using any type of acne cream, I never broke out as bad as I have with Curology. The so called “dermatologist” that is assigned to your case is absolute no help. They literally just read off of what’s already on the website when you ask a question. I got it because i have really oily skin - instead I was given severe acne that’s lot going away.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi J,

Thank you so much for reaching out and letting us know about your concerns! I’m sorry to hear that you are feeling frustrated with your experience at Curology. Let's see if we can clarify a few things for you.

First, to give you a little more background in general, we want you to know that when starting a new anti-aging or acne prescription product, sometimes purging (worsening acne) can last up to 8 weeks, although this can certainly vary from patient to patient. Everyone’s skin is different! Prescription products are usually stronger than over-the-counter products, so sometimes this reaction can be intense. If you are a Curology member and haven’t done this already, I highly encourage you to reach out to your Curology medical provider for tips to help with the new breakouts. They can also potentially prescribe you a different formula or even an oral medication to help with the inflammation.

With that said, if you are using our prescription products, and they are not working for you, we completely understand, and you may be better served by an in-person dermatologist. If you need help finding an in-person dermatologist, you can ask your primary care physician or other local healthcare provider for a recommendation, or visit the American Academy of Dermatology site: https://www.aad.org/find-a-derm. We only want what's best for you!

We hope you find that information helpful. Please message your Curology medical provider if you'd like to discuss this in more detail. 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 1 month ago
I discovered the product Curology through talking to my cousin about skin care and what options to get rid of acne. I had been struggling with dark spots, some acne, and white heads. She recommended me use Curology due to its rise of popularity and good reviews. She had also started using it to see the product’s reaction to her skin, whether it would clear it or make it worse. So far it had been working for her and gradually her skin was getting clearer than before. Curology isn’t just the same product everyone gets, you send in a picture and description of your skin and dermatologists customize your treatment for you. You can get a free trial and only pay $5 shipping to try it out. So I decided to get the free trial and test it out for myself.
The main strength of the product are the good feedback, results, and personal dermatologists at their disposal to create it. There have been multiple reviews on the website describing how it made people’s skin better. Skincare influencers put their input on the product after using it and have approved of it. Influencers were also featured in advertisements promoting Curology as a safe skincare product. Many people in comparison to the small majority have had great results from using the product and continue to use it. What makes the company more appealing is that they have personal dermatologists at their disposal and seem very professional.
The weakness of the product is the high price, it isn’t really unique, and for some people it doesn’t work for their skin. There have been arguments of why Curology is so expensive. They cost up to $50 depending on the package or individual item, which seems quite pricey. The overall look of the product is modern but also looks really simple. It doesn’t look at all unique compared to other products. For the small 5% of the consumers who have used the product, have no or terrible results from the product. It either did nothing to help their skin or made it exponentially worse.
Through evaluating all of the aspects of the product, both strengths and weaknesses, I would give the product a 10/10. The weaknesses didn’t really affect the quality nor the overall affect the product gave my skin. They already say on the official website that the product works for 95% of people, so they’ve been warned. Skincare products don’t really need to be unique, they just have to work and get a good result to make the product sell. As for the high price, it is fair due to the material used to create the product, shipping, tax, and work the dermatologists have to do to create it. The strengths are more important than the weaknesses, most people liking it and overall having the best results from the product. They also give a free trial with their product which gives people a nice jump start to see if it’s worth it. So overall the product gets an A+ as a final grade, from me.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi,

I'm SO glad that you've been happy with your Curology experience! I hope you continue having an amazing skincare journey. 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 2 months ago
I really wanted to like this product after seeing all the ADs and my friends liking it. I had bad acne growing up but it got better as an adult. I barely get any breakouts like barely and now I have a whole bunch of zits from using this. It started getting itchy and red and then my skin has worsened by the day. It is probably the “purging” they talk about but I refuse to let my skin go through this again. My skin scars very easily so this product is not good for my skin considering I didn’t have many breakouts to begin with. I was only wanting to fix my texture. If you are only wanting something for texture/wrinkles/pores, save your skin the trouble before you have to add acne to your list of worries.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi,

I'm sorry that you've been unhappy with your Curology experience.

You are right, you are most likely going through purging, which is not uncommon when starting new prescription skincare, including Curology. You can read more on purging here: https://support.curology.com/article/31-worsening-breakouts-aka-purging

Curology can be used for various skincare concerns, and I'm SO sorry that it did not work for you.

I hope you find something that does work for you! 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 2 months ago
Curology was my diamond in the rough.
I began my Curology journey back in May of 2020 when my face broke out HORRIBLY two months after I turned 24 (ugh). I soon realized I was dealing with a different beast: hormonal acne. I literally couldn’t believe how bad my face looked. I had broken out all around my jawline, my skin was raw, plus my acne was red and tender.
This isn’t my first merry - go - round, I understand the struggle! I’ve dealt with acne since I was 14 years old and despite YEARS of my literal best efforts that all have included: antibiotics, facials, painful chemical peels, and expensive dermatologist visits - NOTHING ever seemed to work (*sigh*).
Thus, it didn’t take much thought. For the record, I was skeptical at first, but after seeing the thousands of reviews on their website and scrolling through the results of others on their instagram - I decided to give Curology a go.
Disclaimer: no one recommended me this product or no one that I knew owned Curology. I just so happened to find it as an advertisement on my instagram feed (thank you to my FBI agent who was listening to me cry though my phone). And it was seriously life changing.
Moreso, I was stoked to see that the first month was inexpensive. The process was quick and convenient and I appreciate how there is no chemical smell or heavy fragrance in any of the products they sent me. I signed up for the subscription and receive my box every two months!
IT’S SO EASY! If anyone asks, I would 110% recommend Curology if you feel like you are at the end of the rope like I was. Skincare products are so difficult to navigate and I truly appreciate the simplicity that Curology provides. Plus, you get your own personalized formula without the pricey dermatologist visit (amen). In all, I just wanted to share my experience. I’m just a girl who struggled with acne all her life and for the first time I finally feel like I came out on top.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Hayley,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Curology! It makes us so happy to hear. 💜

I hope you continue having an amazing skincare journey, and that you no longer have to cry in front of your phone.

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 2 months ago
I was really looking forward to start my skincare routine, I got curology and my skin was not having it after months I was losing hope. Then I changed my formula and was really hoping it was going to clear my skin. Anyways i was on it for maybe 6 months or even more I would say after that i started to use a different product while I waited for my shipment to come in. My skin when i tell you CLEARED UP i was so surprised and said wow water is really helping my skin even though they say water doesn't really help clear your skin. My shipment came in and i was soooo happy, and before i know it my skin started to break out all over the place. I looked on YouTube and saw that people had the same thing happen as i did. I really wished this worked for my skin honestly but i had to cancel my plan cause it breaks my skin out like crazy.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Emily,

I'm sorry you were unhappy with your Curology experience! I understand how frustrating that might be.

If you experience purging for longer than 1-2 months, it's recommended to message your dermatologist, which we're glad you did, as they can offer suggestions, change your formula, and answer questions you might have regarding it. 💜

It also looks you were experiencing purging after starting your new formula (which is not uncommon when starting a new acne prescription formula).

If you are interested, you can read up on purging here https://curology.com/guides/skincare/purging/

Again, I'm sorry Curology did not work for you, and I am so glad that you found a solution that does! We wish you the best in your skincare journey. 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 2 months ago
I like the product but their customer service is horrendous. They don’t have a customer service phone line so you have to email them and wait at least 1-3 days to hear back on a simple question. But the really frustrating part is that they DO NOT LISTEN to the questions you’re asking in your email to customer service. So you just get some copy/pasted answer (which I would be fine with if they answered my questions) that has nothing to do with what you want to know and asked. Then I have to answer their email with the same question and wait another 1-3 days to maybe get an answer to it the second time around. That happened in the most recent emails I sent to customer service so now for a third time I get to wait 1-3 days for an answer (hopefully) to the original question I asked. This time around I’ve now been waiting 8 days for an answer to my original question. And I’m still waiting. Not the first time either. I wouldn’t recommend them solely on the basis of their customer service. Spend your money elsewhere.
Posted 3 months ago
Hi,

I'm sorry you've been less than happy with your Curology experience! I have reached out to our support team, and it looks like they've responded! Once again, apologize for your experience. 💜

Best, Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 2 months ago
This genuinely ruined my skin. I went on this because I was seeing some breakouts and thought this would help both knock those out and get rid of acne scars from past breakouts. I'm too scared to post progress photos on the website, but my acne had never gotten so bad in my life. This wasn't just a "purging" period, either: I was getting borderline cystic acne. It was so painful and left such bad scarring. I stuck with Curology for two months and my face just continued to get worse and worse. My self confidence was lower than I think it's ever been, and I refused to take pictures of myself because it just made me more upset. I brought up these concerns in a questionnaire that Curology sent me, and nothing was changed. About a week after I stopped using Curology, I began to see improvements, and so did the people around me. I'd have friends tell me "Oh, your forehead looks so much clearer than before!" or "Your skin looks so much better!" This product is overpriced and overhyped. Also, on their website, they provide reviews from other sites, and all the sites they use have overwhelmingly positive reviews. However, when I look at other review sites, the reviews are much more mixed. If they really wanted to be honest with their customers, they'd have their own review section on their website, or actually provide accurate depictions of the reviews they receive online.

If Curology has worked for you, I'm very happy for you. But if your acne is not extremely severe, and you're looking for something to improve your skin, I'd stay away from this and either consult your dermatologist or just try some over the counter things (or both. both is good). Good luck with your skincare, I hope it goes well for you!!
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Rebecca,

I'm sorry that you've been unhappy with your Curology experience. I understand how frustrating that must be.

It can often take 2-3 months before patients begin to see results with any prescription acne treatment, including Curology. Some do see results earlier, but it differs from patient to patient.

Again, I'm sorry Curology did not work for you, and hope you do find something that does. 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 2 months ago
I had very mild acne and wanted to clear it up with this product, but instead it DESTROYED my skin. My acne is worse than it has ever been in my life. They claim your skin "purges" at first, but it's been 8 weeks and it is still continually getting worse. 10/10 would not recommend.
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Erica,

I'm SO sorry that you have been unhappy with Curology. I understand how frustrating that could be.

You are correct, purging is not uncommon when starting new prescription skincare products like Curology.

You can read more on purging here: https://curology.com/guides/skincare/purging/

Your Medical Provider is also a great source for information, so I'd recommend messaging them! If you feel that the purging has lasted longer than necessary, they can either provide suggestions or formula change if needed.

I hope this helps! 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 3 months ago
I have been finding what appears to be glass shards in the customized formula. I’ve used tretinoin for years and never experienced this...and the tubes last much longer... so I it probably isn’t due to the product being old. When nearing the end of the product in the curology product I removed the top and used a Qtip to get more product and there are more shards. Does quality control not notice this? I’m skeptical about what else is in this.
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Leigh,

Thank you for letting us know about the consistency of your formula. At times, components of the formula may undergo crystallization due to external factors, and this may be the case with your bottle.

Please reach out to your Curology medical provider about this. They will be able to offer a more detailed explanation and provide you with next steps. 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 3 months ago
I've tried it for several reasons, and it is not working still trying to cancel my subscription which is a nightmare! Nope, this maybe good for zits but don't waste your time and money on it for anything else, my dermatologist actually looked at the prescription and said it was garbage.
Posted 4 months ago
Hi,

I'm so sorry that you've had trouble canceling, please feel free to message our support team at support@curology.com and they'll be happy to help you!

Our formulas are dermatologist made, and clinically proven. However, if you are unhappy or do not like your current formula, you can also request a different one from your dermatology provider.

Your dermatology provider is your best resource and is more than happy to help you find something that will work for you.

I've also forwarded your email to our team, hope this helps! 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 4 months ago
I recommend this to everyone. This was the only thing to clear up my adult acne.
Posted 4 months ago
I’m in love with these products. The face wash, moisturizer and my prescription are all amazing. Great quality. The only reason I’m not giving it 5 stars is because I’m still waiting on my order to be delivered. It is supposed to arrive on the 7th but it was shipped out on the 30th & I just ran out of products (the 5th) tonight. I’m hoping it gets here tomorrow. Also, the first prescription product I received, the pump was broken.
Posted 4 months ago
Hi CC,

I'm so glad that you've been enjoying Curology! I'm so sorry for the delay in delivery, and the pump issue.

Hopefully, your package will arrive soon. If it doesn't arrive by end of the day today, please feel free to message our support team at support@curology.com and they'll be more than happy to help locate it! 💜

Best,
Victoria & The Team @ Curology
Posted 4 months ago
Curology is rated 4.43 based on 1,136 reviews