Dell Reviews

1.45 Rating 165 Reviews
8% of reviewers recommend Dell
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Postal Service, Courier
delivery methods
Customer Service
Email, Telephone
communication channels

How would you rate Dell ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine

BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

No Resolution
Verified Reviewer
"I purchased a new Dell Laptop Precision 3520, and it has been nothing but trouble since I opened the box. Now I am stuck paying for a computer that sits on the shelf. Every time I use it, it crashes and I lose my work. I was told that i need to uninstall the operating system. I am not an IT person. I don't have time for this, and I purchased a new computer. I should be able to plug it in and use it. Dell should have installed the operating system correctly. I have spent time uninstalling programs and reinstalling, with the same results. They are unwilling to work to resolve the problem, insisting that I "should be able to read simple instructions written in English", really? I will never purchase another Dell, and neither will any of my clients. And since I will be paying for this, I won't be able to purchase a laptop that works for at least a year, and it won't be a Dell. Crappy computer, poor customer service. I was told that Dell doesn't guarantee their computers. I didn't want a refund, I wanted them to either fix this one or replace it with one that actually works. Buyer beware, they have gotten too big to care about the little guy."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
"Screw dell for marketing the inspiron 7559 as a gaming pc (2017), cant even play many titles at good settings. Im not complaining if it was $500 or $600 but I fell for their f****** marketing trick and bought it for $850! Dell is a savage and a piece of s***. The 10th gen laptop gpus were out back then and is the first time that significantly steped up in performance in a very long time. Should have bought a 1050 ti instead with that money. Thanks a lot Dell for not caring about my money."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"I have 3 dell computers and they are registered under wrong people in different country's I'm surprised at Michel dell and the owner of Mcfee anti virus using India and the Philippines for technical support they do not know what they are doing I had 2 PCs that were running just fine and they deactivated them a 7100 xps 7 core a laptop and 2 acers also stole my pc i built and they are telling me i cant register this pc as a business computer and what me to pay to get them fixed Windows ten turned into a mobile phone every privacy right was broken. This machine bought at best buy is registered to someone ells too 3 months old and warranty running out and they want me to spend money to fix this to stay far away from these company's they have access to your network they still cant get it right and they are manipulative and trying to sell me this PC Descktop Im on that i bought at best buy for 1200 plus tax 1300 Think about it make shore your pc is registered to you and no one else"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
"A NIGHTMARE!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Up front summary-ish: Ordered a laptop Nov17 never received until around May18 Customer service is horrible, called and emailed dozens upon dozens of times, spent countless hours with never getting good help, information, notifications. Was issued a coupon as a consolation which I had to kind of work them up to doing something (they did not offer (crazy)). And the coupon didn't even work, you are given 90 days and I have heard back from no one, customer care again is horrible, no one can solve anything, and apparently I was just told they have a policy to not ship to military addresses ….although that is where (which I checked with them multiple times before my purchase) I had my laptop delivered to. I have had the worst 6+ months dealing with Dell "Customer Care." Each time I have called them, which has been well over 30 times (and I am overseas so I have to call when I should be sleeping) I have had the worst help. Besides not seeming to make something very easy an easy process they repeatedly talk over me and never even listen when I try to explain anything. The talking over situation has happened a lot, I don't know if they are trained that way but it seems they never stop when they start trying to explain something. Also they apparently stopped shipping items to Military addresses which is odd since I purchased an item after their "policy" went into effect and was told I can again. It seems as if they will say/do anything to get you off the phone. On the same issue of trying to find out where my product was I had to email 10 different dell workers besides all the calls. Also they never contacted me once the item apparently was returned because it was delivered months after ordered when I had left. Then regarding them "making up for it" they gave me coupon codes which I had to wait until I received my laptop to be able to then be eventually issued it. Not to mention it did not work they also told me they would re-instate or make up for the "rewards cash" I acquired from my purchase (which I obviously didn't use since they weren't sure if I would ever get it). Needless to say this start Nov 2017 its now July 2018 and I only got my laptop a few months ago. Since then I have only been trying to use the codes and I have wasted hours and hours calling and waiting for email replies all because I decided to try a new laptop brand... which I was giving Dell tons of leeway in not judging them based on their service, customer care, and treatment of purchasers. But its been bad enough I gave up and completely agree with other reviews I read that said the same thing but I just didn't ever think I would need their assistance. Not to mention i hope you don't ever have plan on anything going wrong with your laptop...."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"I have never had a Dell computer that has lived beyond 2 years. For the most part, the video card is usually the first thing to go bad. As much as it pains me to say this, I will never buy another Dell desktop system. Based upon my past experience, I will never buy a Dell laptop. For the price that I have paid for my past Dell systems, I would reasonably expect them to last more than 2 years. Unfortunately, none of the Dells I have owned has lasted this long. I will never buy another Dell computer. After reading the reviews, I can understand why so many people rate this brand as being "Very Poor". 79.87% rate Dell as being very poor. Gee, I wonder why? Hey Dell, would it pain you to make a computer that lasts more than 2 years? Or, do you want to play the consumers for a bunch of fools?"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"kamran khan 39 seconds ago (edited) Dell XPS 15 2 IN 1, is the worst laptop I ever had.I been using it for three weeks now.But not happy with it at all.Its too slow, freezes too often,Too noisy- very loud fan and the fan just turn on itself too often.I even change the setting to quite mode but still its very loud.Its gets very very hot as well.The keyboard is also too noisy.Compare to my mac book pro 2013 its slow, it gets hot its noisy and the battery life is not good at all.Also a finger print magnet. Apart from the laptop, dell customer service is the worst- you will be transferred to India and too many call transfers and no solution to your problem.I am commenting here because dell website is rubbish and you cant even review their products.Simply, dont buy this laptop"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I bought a Dell Inspiron 24 in 2016, worked fine for about 8 months , then the hard drive was corrupted during a windows update, but it took over 2 months for dell to figure this out and 3 months to finally get a replacement drive sent to replace .. I say replacement because the part was not new, it was refurbished .. many unbelievable delays during this time , the computer warranty actually expired while trying to get computer problem fixed , and only the person I originally was dealing with was allowed to help me or I would have to pay for the repair using another customer service rep. 6 months later, same problem , using Dell online service proved fruitless and would be expensive and risky because they wanted me to ship the computer to them for repair.. risking damaging the pc.. removing dell from the problem I took it to a local repair shop and they repaired it in 24 hours , $50 less than Dell wanted to repair ...they confirmed the hard drive dell had sent me previously was used , refurbished and was only 30% as effective as it should have been. A new hard drive installed and new software , I am amazed at how good the computer works now , better than when I got it new. Not my first Dell I have purchased , but will definitely be my last . Word of advice to those having problems with their dell computer, bite the bullet and get it repaired at a local shop, even if it should be warranty , it will be fixed and you will be happy, write it off as a lesson learned to not buy another dell product"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Spent $2800 on a new PC that arrived with a defective Bluetooth board. I did all the online checks that Dell Support suggests and then did them all a 2nd time with a Dell tech rep on the line. She confirmed the problem was likely a bad board. Could they simply me a replacement board and I would install it myself? Well not exactly. Since I was leaving for Europe, they would not ship the part until I returned 3 weeks later. But when I did ask for the part, they told me I had to "write my name and the Support # on a piece of paper and take a pic of that next to the Service Tag on the PC." I explained that such an operation would be very inconvenient for me but moreover it was a ridiculous request. Despite emails with 2 supervisor types, Dell insisted that I comply because otherwise they could send the wrong part. They could not comprehend that if none of their other systems tracking me and my purchases by Service Tag could be trusted what then made the application of a label to the back of my PC infallible? The worst part, which I said to the supervisors two times was that Dell was far more concerned with the integrity of their system than their customer who was sitting with a new PC that did not function properly. Although I generally have had good luck with Dell systems over the last 2 decades I purchased them, I will not be doing so in the future. You can credit your service personnel with that loss."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"It was DELL Laptop (Dell Inspiron 3567 7Gi5 4GB2X+Off BLK) I walked in to Croma Store at PVR Saket Delhi to buy a laptop on 28th Apr 18. I explained my requirement as what all softwares will be used to the sales guy standing there along with the price range. After a long search the guy came with a laptop saying that as per your requirement, this laptop is at its best. I again asked him that the software that I am going to install wouldnt hamper the performance speed. He replied "No Sir". Finally I agreed to buy the laptop. Still i was confirming the guy about the processing speed after the installation of the laptop. He said "be sure sir go on with it." I came home and started using the laptop, It was almost ok for me. But after a 3-4 days the device started working with low processing. Mouse keypad used to stop working some times. BIOS setting popup made me restart the system time and again. and many other problem. I immediately went to the store to report the problem. i was treated in such a way thatas if I am nobody to them. They straight away told me that our work is to sale thing, rest for any sort of problem you need to lias with dell support. Just after some days buying the product worth Rs 48142.00 i have to go for the support of DELL. Is it so cheap product(can be comapred to those non-warranted chinese product) that I should report an issue just after some days of buying a new branded product. I immediately called the helpline of Dell from the store itself and narrated the issue.and from the very day I started asking the refund as I was totally not satisfied with the system. He took my system in remote and said that you windows 10 upgrade has not been completed fully. please upgrade it fully then the system will work fine. I woke up the who;e night to updgrade the OS and that was finally done. Now still the problem was not solved. Still no Softwares were installed yet. I again called the dell support and told the issue. Again the guy committed me that he will make my system work smoothly. He again took my system on remote and did something and left. Till then the system was again abit fine to work out. One I shutdown the system and started to work again, again the same problem. Morever, all the screen started looking blur and untidy. I again called the dell support and asked a supervisor (Chandan was his name i hope) to make my system work fine or else refund my money. He took the system in remote ans started working. i almost wasted my 3 hours on call and system and did something. The next day again the same issue. I again called dell support ans my case was escalated to the higher authority. Now i got a call from a guy called Anuj Mishra. When they knew that there is fault in laptop, they told me that no refund can be provided and as per the terms and conditions we are hardware company, you have an issue with software. I asked him that who is the software then. I got a reply that it is dell itself who looks after the software. This is spoke with me so diplomatically that I was all loss with my temper. You sold me the laptop, Its your laptop. You tried several time to make it right and failed to do so and now yourself is all up to say that we have nothing to do??? I am all fed up now. I need the refund. And I personally suggest everyone not to buy DELL product as they are all looters with worst service providers."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Mrs Short
"I ordered a laptop 3in1 device from Dell. It took a couple of weeks to arrive because they had to build it for me. I was kept updated with progress and knew when to expect delivery. I've had the device for a few months now and couldn't be happier. It was easy to set up and it is very easy to use. It think it is great, better than my employer provided laptop!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Michael
"Verification team tried to demand my company email address then cancelled my order without emailing an explanation. Customer service agents not helpful and wouldn't even respond to the email address they already had."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Customer/Technical Service by Phone: The experience began poorly and went down from there. It was difficult to understand the customer service person, and he had difficulty understanding me. I had to repeat the number off of the back of the computer at least eight times. I was transferred from that person to another (again, language barrier), only to be told I must, again, be transferred. Needless to say, starting over and knowing I would get nowhere, I told the representative I was not interested and planned not to buy Dell in the future and write a negative review. He said, "It is your right..." YES, his standard message did not, even, include an apology. This was a very disappointing experience, although, not surprising."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Quite frankly Dell has the most horrible service I ever experienced. The customer care is only concerned about closing tickets so they stop responding after a few conversations. They don't provide solutions but instead make you go around in loops so that you get frustrated and leave them alone. I bought dell Inspiron 15 ,3000 series from sangam store on October 2017 .I started noticing problems in the laptop since the very first day, like, sound distortion, google chrome freeze, groove music freeze, films & tv freeze and ultimately overall windows freeze. Dell premium support was in contact regularly and they tried everything but problems didn't go away. They even asked me to reinstall the windows and download all windows updates, which i did, but still problem of freeze kept happening."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Melissa Bell
Verified Reviewer
"I ordered a 4K television from Dell. The package was initially lost, but Dell kept insisting it was delivered and told us our only remedy was to file a police report. No thanks to Dell, UPS ended up finding the lost package and it was delivered the next day but in poor condition and with a damaged screen. Dell customer service has been horrific, leading to me canceling the order rather than getting a replacement because it would take too long for our needs (3-5 business days plus shipping time; they refused to expedite) and I do not support companies with bad service. I do not recommend doing business with Dell due to their inept, rude customer service regardless of their deal. Buyer beware."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I ordered a laptop, a Dell XPS 13-9370, online on Tuesday the 12th. My initial payment method didn't go through for some reason. I got an email about "an issue processing [my] payment," which was odd because I had just used that same card to order something on Amazon. I thought, "Okay, maybe my bank wants to put this massive order on hold for fraud." I called Customer Service and spoke to an agent named Rachel, who quickly understood what was wrong and helped change the payment method. I thought everything was okay and that my order would be shipped to me before the 18th. I needed it before the 17th, and Rachel said it would be expedited since I was willing to pay for it. On Wednesday the 13th, I checked online and it said my order was still on hold and payment was still in process. When I checked my bank, I found out that I had been double-charged $1400 for a whopping total of $2900, rounded up. I called Dell again and got connected back to Rachel. She said the order was on hold and that it would be shipped by the 18th, which was too late for me. I needed it before the 17th. She told me to call the Order Modification department, who could resend my order in a timely manner without charging me. When I spoke to an agent in Order Management who did not tell me her name, she said she didn't know what to do. I asked to speak to her manager. Her manager, Camila, told me that the only thing she could do was cancel my order and reorder the entire thing. That meant, according to her, I would be charged $1400 a third time! I refused to pay a third time and demanded to speak with her manager. She said her managers don't speak to customers. I told her that that isn't good customer service and she put me on hold and transferred me to the Tech Support team, which 1: doesn't make sense and 2: means she didn't want to deal with me. I felt bad for the guy I spoke to, Gopal, who transferred me, after listening to me rant for five minutes, back to Customer Care. Paul at Customer Care took my call and said that he was looking over my case. He put me on hold and next thing I know, I'm talking to Rachel again. I got upset at this point. After telling her everything, I decided enough was enough. I cancelled my order completely and asked for a written confirmation of all of my money, the $2900, to be refunded to me. Thanks to her, I was able to talk to Divya in the Credit Card team who made sure my case was active. I wanted a confirmation in writing, because I didn't trust their words anymore. Kevin and Sheriff, who was a manager, in Customer Care helped me out and sent me confirmation emails with the guarantee of refund in writing. I told them that they need to fix their customer service if they want to be successful, thanked them, and went about my day. This is the first time, and last, I've personally bought from Dell. I have a relative who had to pay over $3000 to Dell after they screwed up her order. I spoke to someone who told me that they were charged $7000 total for a $1800 laptop and never received it. I'm a student, I have enough stress on me. This was unnecessary and completely irresponsible. I work in retail; I know that a company works based solely on reputation. If this is how Dell, one of the leaders in American computers, works, then I hope they go out of business. TL;DR: I tried to order a laptop, got charged twice, spoke to 8 different people in the span of 1.5 hours, ended up cancelling the order, wrote a 3600-word essay/review, and am going to buy from HP. Thanks Dell, for losing a customer who was willing to pay for expedited shipping."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I called Dell's customer service number and was transferred 5 times and hung up on once before I could even get to someone who could assist me. I was trying to make a purchase! The operator refused to transfer me to make a purchase - unbelievable! Needless to say, I will not be purchasing any dell products in future."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Antony Michael Franklin
"I bought a Fantastic laptop from the Dell website. I am so happy and very satisfied with the product. Also the customer service was really amazing."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I bought a Dell XPS 15 9560 back in January 2018. My experience so far is hit or miss. I never had a laptop that was over 300$ so maybe that is part of the reason. The performance is great, especially compared to what I had before but if you have the misfortune of anything breaking, it gets frustrating. Within 1 month of purchase, the left cpu fan died, resulting in excessive heat even during minimum tasks.After days of emailing support, they agreed to send someone out in 7 to 10 business days. Eventually they came, and by the way it's a 3rd party company that does repairs and their reviews are sketchy at best. Now my charger breaks and I'm supposed to happily wait 5 to 7 business days for someone else to bring me one. I'm a full time student and I NEED a computer for school but they could care less. Dell already made the sale and standards is not a term they know. I only purchased a Dell because my dad was helping pay for it and he liked Dell over HP he had for work. If Dell wants to have computers with bad quality parts, that's fine just don't charge premium price for them. All in all I spent almost $2500 on the XPS 15, after upgrading to 4k screen, 32 g2g ram, additional software and extended warranty. I paid $300 for a 3 year warranty just to be treated like a 2nd rate customer. Not cool at all. I thought I picked the best computer for my needs, months of research. My advice, anyone buying a computer or laptop for over $1000, make sure to research customer support. Chances are if you buy a Dell, you'll need something repaired and with their "best" warranty package they offer it gets frustrating. I heard quite a few negative things about Dell, I was justhoping they would prove me wrong."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Amruth Ranjith
Verified Reviewer
"Faulty laptop received when purchased from US. Disk utilization is showing 100%. Spoke with executives and they are asking to make additional payment inorder to get the issue resolved in India. Who else will charge money for it. Laptop is brand new and never used since it has been purchased. Its been 6 months I am running behind this for tag transfer and stuffs."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dell is rated 1.45 based on 165 reviews
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This