Dell Reviews

Dell have a Customer Happiness Grade of C. Customers love their customer service but are unhappy with their refunds. Full Insights

1.43 Rating 185 Reviews
8% of reviewers recommend Dell
637 Review Views (past 24 hours)
1PM - 3PM
87 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
54 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
39 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
39 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
44 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
21 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
21 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
37 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
37 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
182 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
39 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
37 Review Views
1PM
1PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions
Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Postal Service, Courier
delivery methods
Customer Service
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
communication channels

How would you rate Dell ?

Your Rating
Tell us how Company made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

"oing back to school so i decided to use my student loans and get a BRAND NEW laptop. All my laptops before this had been refurbished or hand me downs from my family so i was super excited to get hardware that had never been used before. I get the computer and i decided to play an old game of mine call Dungeon Keepers. So i download the game and i go to play it and its says there's a conflict. I have local data on my computer from 2013 so 5 years ago interfering with my cloud save and they want to know which one i want to keep. Understandably i'm upset that my new computer isn't as "new" as i thought it was. I go to customer service and they transfer me to technical support, for LATIN AMERICA. The dude finds out i'm in the wrong spot and says he gonna transfer me to the us and then i'm just put in an empty chat room and left to sit there. For twenty freaking minutes. They weren't helpful at all and no one even addressed the issue of my computer, it was all oh i'm sorry this isn't my department. Dell is Bullshit and i hope no one ever buys a laptop from them ever."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
"I received my XPS 15, 4 years ago The good; the battery lasted 4 years... it's all downhill from here... Went to order a new battery since mine had begun to swell (can eventually explode and burn your house down). I'm a little more understanding considering the age of the computer and battery but batteries should not be swelling and breaking interior components within 4 yrs. The first time I got on the phone they told me they could send someone to fix it for me, at the price of $450... no thanks. So I took matters into my own hands, go ahead and buy a battery and replace it myself. I must have called on 4 different occasions (each time included at least a 15 minute hold and a series of people who seemed to only want to pass you on to the next person). The shipping info and the first person told me I would have the battery within a week and a half... okay, not bad. I checked the next day it tells me it won't be in until a month and a half later. However, every time I decided to check, I would end up with a different date. I called multiple times to see when I could expect my battery as school was starting and I couldn't just sit around with a paperweight of a computer. No one could give me an answer. I was told I would be contacted within 24hrs to let me know when I could expect my shipment... nothing. Called once more today and the gentleman on the phone seemed very sorry with the my experience, he told me to continue to wait a couple more days. I decided to cut my losses and cancel the order to get a battery elsewhere. He did inform me that they have a shortage in the specific battery model I need (probably because everyone else's is also on the verge of catching fire as well). Would have been nice to know there was a shortage when I had first called so I could have gotten a battery from an alternate supplier by the time I made the call to cancel my order. I have loved my $2 300 machine but it sure isn't worth the headache of trying to get an alternate part for it. One thing can be said from this... my next computer will sure as hell not be a Dell, their "customer service" will regularly have you pulling your hair out."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"very bad tech support, premium support sent 3 techs to fix 4 month old system, couldn't fix, so sent in couldn't get parts, offered replacement, not satisfied with offered replacement gave them a choice refund, replace with computer of equal value of my choice or a lawsuit still waiting to hear back"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"Avoid Floyd if you have a service call. Ask for a supervisor."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
"The most disappointing service i have ever experienced I have not received my laptop yet and i am calling them for week now and they just lie to me"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I purchased a Dell Inspiron laptop for work and I had it for 10 months. I had enough of everything going wrong with it. The charger was very intermittent as in it would sometimes work and mostly not. I had to keep checking for updates every couple of days using Dell Update, (an added feature to accompany Windows Update which I was unaware of when I first acquired said laptop which turned out to be a massive headache to keep up with.) The hard drive was undetected along with the USB port. I couldn't save any work as it kept coming up with error messages even to my external hard drive. The audio started to fail. Needless to say I had enough of always having trouble with this product. For the money, I was expecting something a bit more of standards in terms of quality and reliability. Customer service was an absolute joke. They kept saying it wasn't anything to do with them and any queries I had, I was to take it up with the store I first purchased the device from. Safe to say that I will never purchase a Dell product again."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"I purchased this brand new laptop “Inspiron 13 5000 Series 2-in-1 5379” back in December 7th 2017 as a Christmas and New Year’s present for mom who runs her real estate business and is constantly on the go. This laptop appealed to me as it is touchscreen and light weight. Because it was a Christmas/New Year’s present, I wanted to surprise my mom and did not give her the laptop until the end of December. And with the holidays, she did not start to use the laptop until January. Upon use, the laptop was so slow in its ability to process tasks and programs unlike I’ve ever seen before. It took upwards of 5-10 minutes to fully start up. Simple programs such as internet explorer and google chrome took 2 minutes of loading time, while Microsoft office and adobe acrobat took even longer. Thus my horrendous customer service experience with dell began: The first couple of call, the representative told me that it could be some of the windows updates that aren’t fully installed on the computer thus causing it to be slow. I believed him and let all the updates install. This took hours with the laptop operating so slowly. After installing all the updates the computer continued to exhibit the same symptoms. Second round of calls, when I asked to explore what options I have, the representative told me that I have already gone beyond the 30 day return policy period and can no longer return the product. I was surprised to learn that the first representative that I called did not mention this policy at all and that I was about to miss the deadline. Nonetheless, I went with their protocol and the rep started to want to troubleshoot my computer remotely. This whole process, including providing information to the rep, they connect to my laptop, run test and diagnosis on the laptop, performed optimization processes, took about 3 hours on the phone. At the end, I was told to evaluate the laptop for a while to see if the problem persist. (Of course it did) Third round of calls, at this point it has been a few months since I first started to call. I was fed up and angry as my mom still had not been able to enjoy her “brand new” laptop. I had to escalate the case from the rep to their supervisor as the rep was still trying to offer solutions to test out the laptop. The supervisor was nice enough to have me send the lap top back to their technicians for repair. It sent it in and 2 weeks later, my laptop returned. They replaced the hard drive and reinstalled the OS. The problem? PERSISTED. Similar to the first call, there were many windows updates that had to be installed and I thought it could be just the updates. But no, the problem persisted. Fourth round of calls, a month and a half after I received the laptop back from Dell technicians, I called again. This time demanding an exchange as the laptop is clearly defective. The rep transferred me to a supervisor who told me that exchanges had to be approved by her bosses in another department and they would give me a call back. The Call Back: Karan Haresh was his name. He spoke in a condescending and matter-a-fact tone to me as if I’m stupid and didn’t have a clue about computers. He first accused me of not reaching out to Dell in 3 months after the computer was returned from their technicians group when it was clearly 1 and ½ months. After I confronted him and pointed to the evidence in my email, he switched tactics and started to tell me that the computer was operating fine for all the days that I didn’t call them back to complain until now the problem suddenly occurred and I just want a new computer. Ultimately, he told me that I was SOL and I’m stuck with this pathetic piece of junk that you call a “New Computer”. This really ticked me off. I am a U.S. Army Veteran and I served in Operation Iraqi Freedom. Integrity is one of my most important values. Yet here I have this Dell advanced resolutions representative making up timelines and defaming my character. Second, having knowledge in building my own desktop computers in the past, no matter what the issue is, a brand new computer does not exhibit lag in processing time after just a few month of light to no usage. (Malware and virus can obviously cause this but the laptop was sent in for repair and none was found) similarly, since the laptop came back, it was slow upon arrival. The computer is clearly defective and I’m being left stranded. To those that are about to consider a laptop or any product from dell, please BE WARE of their customer service practices. I’m sure my story isn’t the first and sure as hell isn’t the last. I will be posting this review on all consumer websites I know. I will also dispute this charge with my credit card company and likely pursue legal ramifications as I believe no customer should be treated this way and a company that will send you lemons and point the finger at the customer with a condescending tone should be made public of their actions and be held accountable."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I received my Dell computer in the mail and it worked just fine, but within a few days, the audio started acting funny. I’m not illiterate with computers and how they work, but I spent a couple of days trying to find the problem. Nothing worked! So I finally called Dell and a very nice customer support lady helped me through the process. Within about an hour a lot of questions, my computer was back, up and running, and putting like a silent kitten. I really appreciated their help, patience and clarity throughout the entire process. I know it depends on who your call is routed to, but I had a very wonderful experience. 10/10 reccommend."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Most expensive and worst computer at the same time. Overall worst experience ever. Don't ever buy a dell. Product was not as described and service doesn't earn the name service."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I received a detected laptop and while still in waranty I contacted Dell for support. Took month to arrange for an engineer to come and "fix it" and this was even possible only after I took a day off from work because of their crazily inconvenient working times. The problem persisted after that and after a windows reistanll. Took another few weeks to afree on a time to come pick up the laptop from work... the courier didn't came.... and I am left with that half working laptop.... NO WORDS .."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I purchased a Dell i3567-3243BLK laptop from Staples; however, the laptop battery stopped charging. It rendered this laptop unusable. Since it was under a year from the purchase date, I took it back to Staples and I talked to the Ladera Ranch, CA manager. He wouldn't take it back and told me I had to contact Dell directly. After wasting my time at Staples, I contacted Dell directly and I returned the product to Dell after a $50+ charge to ship and have them troubleshoot it. After reviewing Dell's disposition on the Dell Repair Status website, I was informed there was a hardware issue with the DC power port. They stated it was an "Accidental" issue; therefore, it wasn't covered under the 1 year warranty. Since I purchased the Square Trade 2 year warranty, I asked Dell to ship the laptop back to me. I contacted Square Trade/Allstate about the warranty I purchased based on the Staples Salesman's statement about how Square Trade would cover everything else that Dell doesn't cover under their warranty. Not True. I submitted a claim within Square Trade's website and it was immediately rejected. After calling Square Trade's customer support I was also told they do NOT cover accidental damage. There was no accident on my part. The laptop simply stopped charging based on a hardware failure. This could be based on bad Dell design, use of cheap components, use of cheap materials, poor workmanship in assembly, bad QA dept., etc. Long story short: 1) Don't buy electronics from Staples, based on their lack of customer service. 2) Don't buy a Dell laptop/desktop based on their lack of service and cheap product. 3) Don't purchase the Square Trade/AllState extra warranty."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have copied this review from another I posted on a website since it is completely frustrating and it was truly, my worst customer service experience. My experience with their customer service has always been awful. They never try to work out a situation, or try to give me a great experience, no matter the situation or person. This time, I called Dell Support since I received a phone call saying I would be getting a refund on my warranty (a warranty that Dell made me purchase- a whole OTHER story) since Dell apparently had a bug in their software. After calling Dell and being transferred 5 separate times, I was finally transferred to the scam and fraud portion of Dell. At this time, I was very frustrated and confused as to why this person calling me knew ALL of my information that Dell had, and I politely explained this to the woman, who said her name was Janie. She refused to offer any explanation or show any empathy, so I asked for a Supervisor since Janie was of no help. She would pause, say she didn't have a supervisor, so I asked to speak to someone above her, she said there was no one, so I asked if there was anyone to speak to, to which she simply replied, "Yes, my supervisor". At this point, I felt as if she was just stringing me along, so I asked for his/her name and to be transferred over, but she said she would not do that to me. After some more arguing, I finally requested to have her supervisor call me back, and I gave her my information. The reason I am writing this review was in spite of this rude employee, who refused to help me or acknowledge my issue, and would not allow me to speak to anyone else. I work in an environment where customer service makes a company, and I have to say, with my past experiences with Dell, I can 100% say that their service and company is the worst. This time, it was just the icing on the cake. I have never dealt with a woman such as Janie, and if I ever get transferred to her again, hopefully she will be more helpful or ask to be transferred else where. Hopefully, her supervisor sees this and can properly train her on customer service, as she has none. At this point, I am not sure what to even do; I'll just hope the supervisor calls me back so this issue can be resolved."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I am done with Dell Computers. I have been purchasing Dell Computers exclusively ever since purchasing my second computer. I have purchased well over 15 computers from Dell, but as of today...I will NEVER purchase a Dell Computer again. I have always precipitated the great customer service and tech support. However, slowly over the years it has gotten worse and worse, starting with the tech support going to a foreign country where obviously they have no clue what they are doing, they so obviously read from que cards and repeat everything you say back to you...while they scramble to find the answer to your question. As if the tech support going way down hill was bad enough, today I called about purchasing a new computer and got the same sort of "I have no clue what I am doing" sort of help from customer support while trying to order a computer. I was already frustrated when I called and of course got the typical "Thank you for calling Dell this is Tom"... (yeah lets start this call off on a lie Kumar). Yes Dell, you have lost yet another customer, and based on the stat above that says only 8% of people would recommend you, I am willing to bet that Dell will not be around for long. It is a shame to see another American company go down the toilet. But Apple Computers will be happy to take my money, and GET THIS...they have people that actually speak English when I call. Yes they are more expensive, but for me...I am willing to pay extra for good customer service (as well as people that I can understand and that can understand me)."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have called customer care for service issues on 05-08-2018 for a premium category of laptop. It Took very Long time to connect with the customer care and executive are non cooperative and rude. I would neither further purchase dell product nor I would recommend to anyone."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The bottom line is the sales representatives and technicians do not speak understandable English. Trying to order a computer or get service, even with a warranty is a nightmare. You will spend hours of your time with no resolution. I’ve written 3 reviews in my fifty years on this Earth, and I feel so strongly that I need to warn everyone to go buy ANY other brand computer! Just trying to buy a laptop was one of the most frustrating experiences of my life (and i’ve taught middle school for 25 years). Please listen to all the people who have written review after review. Obviously, Dell doesn’t care about their customers and are not willing to change how they treat people."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The XP’s 7760 is one of the worst computers I’ve ever bought from DellS. Customer service is very nice but their products are very poor"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I bought a computer from one of their distributers, Staples. I received the computer in the mail around the end of June, 2018. After reading the warranty, I found out that it ran out in Nov, 2018. After going back to Staples, I was told to call Dell and give them my invoice number and everything would be cleared up. HAHAHA. First off, Dell doesn't have a call center in the United States, that being said, no one fully understands the frustration an American feels when he has to repeat himself over and over. I was just on the phone for over and hour trying to get this solved, and it all hinges on things that I still have to accomplish before Dell will correct its records. I would think that Dell would have records from ALL places who carry their products, but to think that they care enough for their customers to make the process easy is asking too much. I hope they crash and burn."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Purchased a Dell XPS 13. The product is complete an utter trash in every way possible. From the fitment of the screen to the battery and tech, to the resolution issues with nearly every program. Upon asking what it would cost to fix a battery on a computer that was in warranty at the time of the break I was quoted $250. Stay away from this company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Dell is literally the worst company we have ever had to deal with - I wish I could give a 0 star review. We have purchased numerous Dell computers over the years for our business, and always have been happy with our purchases. Just recently, we were having issues with 3 of the 4 of the brand new computers we purchased from them, and were treated so poorly by the technical support and supervisors of the company we were completely dumbfounded. We were told to "not purchase their product" and that we were "trying to get computers for free". WE WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER DELL PRODUCT, and we encourage everyone to do the same. There are a lot of great companies out there to get computers from - It is really sad that this company does not take any pride in keeping their customers. Wow."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"If I give Dell product Laptop and printers a 1/3 of a star I would. I recently brought the Inspiron Desktop 8th Gen Intel* Corei3 processor Windows 10 Home 8 GB memory 1TB* hard drive and this THING was working slowing /not working within less than a week. Oh yeah the computer had history searches on it, dated prior to the date in which I received the computer and I had to clear the history. I have spend more time with Dell tech support than on projects in which I purchased the computer for. I plan to return the THING to Dell and get a refund once I receive the return labels from Dell; which they do not ship with the product. What a rip off. Please if you can read and comprehend-DO NOT BUY ! Hopefully this will be posted . If this post does not help the customer, it will definitely help the people at Dell to be more diligent in covering up what is being sold to their customers"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dell is rated 1.43 based on 185 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Get ready for our phone call!

We'll call you shortly. If you'd like to speak to us right away, please just call us on +1 213-325-5109 .

Alice, Customer Support
Cookies help us improve user experience. They are also used for statistics, quality assurance, social media and for marketing. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our User Privacy Policy and Business User Privacy Policy.
Close This