General Accident Reviews

3.0 Rating 557 Reviews
50 %
of reviewers recommend General Accident
3.0
Based on 557 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat

Write Your review

Tell us how General Accident made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Changed car could not quote me on new one as was not on system no one to talk too had to cancel and no money refunded had to email back and forth there issue is won’t go back to my PayPal Emm strange no issue with no one else so they will send a cheque in next 10 days after already waited 14 to try and get my own money back. Horrific way to treat customers...
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Terrible service, cancelled me 5 days into my second year with them for speeding when i wasn't even driving the car as i was on holiday, then decide to take another payment even though my insurance has been cancelled. i would pay a bit extra and go with a better provider, this company is a joke and don't care about there customers in the slightest, would highly not recommend them in anyway, should be shut down.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I wouldn't even give these one star but… I wouldn't even give these one star but had to coz you cant Wright anything with out clicking a star I wouldn't ever use this company ever again thay have no summer services what's the weather there as far as I can workout as you can not ring them and when you do send an email you get no really person mail you back or ring you back And just so you know you can not set you direct debit up for the day you get paid it will only go from the day you set the policy you can not change this with out a fight on your hands I have now cancelled my policy with this company and you cant get help with anything oh and they have taking 2 payment on one day out of my bank Please please please dont use this company it is ridiculous how bad it is
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I wouldn't even give these one star but… I wouldn't even give these one star but had to coz you cant Wright anything with out clicking a star I wouldn't ever use this company ever again thay have no summer services what's the weather there as far as I can workout as you can not ring them and when you do send an email you get no really person mail you back or ring you back And just so you know you can not set you direct debit up for the day you get paid it will only go from the day you set the policy you can not change this with out a fight on your hands I have now cancelled my policy with this company and you cant get help with anything oh and they have taking 2 payment on one day out of my bank Please please please dont use this company it is ridiculous how bad it is
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Terrible customer service, my insurance automatically renewed therefore I was wanting to ring up and cancel on the first day. I was unable to ring as it said my policy number was incorrect even though it wasn’t. I have had to do this via the website which states they will give me a full monthly refund. When reading other negative reviews this is often not the case, fingers crossed they do actually give me my money back as i will not be able to phone anyone to sort this out. Emails are only answered on a weekly basis.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Give false claims of speeding, harsh braking etc
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Not able to add NCD from previous insurance. No telephone support absolute joke of a company. Avoid at all costs high interest rates monthly too
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Bought policy for my son. He goes abroad to study. Car is not used and so my wife takes it out. She turns into the main road nearby at 06:30 which is 30mph, goes over the limit briefly and remembers the box and reduces speed to the limit (not condoning 'speeding' but I think that we are all grown up here.) Did this three days in a row. Policy immediately cancelled. My son appeals and informs them that he will suffer due to this sanction and he had no control of events. Not interested. Yes, there was speeding, yes I know the terms. BUT come on, discretion would work here as son is now penalised as he has to declare that he has a policy cancelled. I looked on another review site and we are not alone. Yes they are cheap, but it appears large amount of cancelled policies, £175 'admin fee' (Really - for what exactly). To be honest I think they are a disgrace and would strongly recommend that you do NOT use them
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Worse company going. Yes was cheap to insurance my car with a box. Kept eye on my Score like advise to. Was always good or excellent. Then had a text to say I was speeding. They just changed the speed on a road I drive on. Tried to phone to talk to someone and explain. Has box didn't register I was speeding. No joy they have no number so all contact by email which takes ages and different person replays. They then text to say they cancelling my insurance and charging me for it. What a joke. So cancelled myself. AVOID AVOID. This wasn't my 1st box insurance but it's my last never had problem with 1st box insurance but was a different company. Have learnt cheapest anit always the best. Only gave one star has no option of none
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
N/a
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
It's online only, but it's impossible to speak to someone if you are unable to get online. Which happens most of the time. Would not go with them again
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
I cancelled my policy in March as I sold my car. They didn't cancel it till April and have refused to send a refund for the remaining 8 months. I've emailed them again a number of times as there is no phone number to contact them. Still no answer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi. Really sorry can't comment at all really found it easy to buy but that's all I have done thank goodness not needed anything else from them so far.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Excellent efficient Company,with lots of competition,they exceeded all others
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Hoome wife
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Very easy to set up on internet
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Up til now I have no problems with general accident, I spoke to them when I decided to go with them, they talked me through the agreement and I accepted there and then
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
AVOID!!! I went with this company due to it being the cheapest. However, months down the line they cancelled my policy due to black box scores. I was not contacted about this. I tried to contact them but they had no telephone line. I had to make a new quote to actually be able to speak to somebody. Absolutely appalling customer service. I certainly paid the price for using a terrible company like these.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I will NEVER renew or recommend anyone to general accident. Been with them 2 years and never claimed. However, im in a non fault claim and 3rd party dealing with all my claim car and personal injury. I have been trying to change my policy, amend my policy, and take out gap insurance, plus ask about legal protection. I tried to do on line but does not give options , quotes etc. Or answer 2 questions so i asked for a call . The reply was if i want a call to discuss my policy then i will be charged administration fee. .how do they get away with this. Im 5 days off getting my new car i fear i will get nowhere. I cant talk to a pc . I need a human being to go tho options. My advice STAY CLEAR of this company . Never again will i use
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
First class very A1in every department Highly recommend
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
General Accident is rated 3.0 based on 557 reviews