John Lewis Insurance Reviews

1.90 Rating 323 Reviews
21 %
of reviewers recommend John Lewis Insurance
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how John Lewis Insurance made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
A Lefty delusional company filled with braindead staff
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Sexualizing children is abuse and destructive. Shame on you. Are you also a pedophile? Repent why you still have time. Judgement day will not be rigged! Jesus is King!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Dude is a pedophile in my opinion
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Interjecting child trans into home insurance is highly distasteful
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
How dare you dress a little boy as a girl for your commercial and have him dance around. That's child abuse and I'd never consider using your company after seeing that.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
The commercial alone using a kid to appears to be a transgender freak is enough for me to say, HELL NO! What is it with you evilvpeople?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Never ever will use this company
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Very hard to get claims through. They´ll always come up with small print to not give you a penny. Wouldn´t recommend this company event to my worst enemy.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Have you gone stark raving mad with your latest ad Doesn’t instil confidence in your company
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
""
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Terrible - clearly another high street Brand trying to do something they do in shop well but making a complete hash of Home Insurance. Had a leak that emergency Plumber could not find (seemed too busy worrying about where he would find fuel for Van). Spent 2 hours looking in areas miles away from leak. Had no hot water for 2 weeks as drained heating and tanks. Comes back out to fix leak by now which had stopped but still could not find it (this is after I have had to pay for a Trace & Access). Leak has stopped but had no contact or response back for repairs to ceiling or bathroom flooring...or the bill for Trace & Access.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Posted before. Now in October. Direct debits a mess. Even they say it’s broken. Payment not taken August, made manual payment, they applied to September, then put 2 defaults on credit file, 20plus phone calls. New policy started 1st November, however another letter on same day saying they were taking payments for March to October although I had already paid.. prior to this assurance from advisor and email to say no payments would be taken prior to Nov and they would call me. 8th October 3 direct debits attempted from my account. Apparently accounts dept don’t talk to customers. Appalling. I thought Direct debits should legally inform of upcoming payments. Avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
These people don't deserve 1 star, they are the most useless, incompetent lying waste of space and will try anything to get out of paying your claim even implying its a fraudulent claim with no evidence whatsoever that it is, absolute scam company never never deal with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
A water pipe at mains pressure under our house leaked (an escape of water) and came light in January 2020. The water had spread under the floor of the entire ground floor. Since the discovery everything has gone wrong with the dealing of the claim by the Insurers who supply the John Lewis Insurance (Covea). We were lied to by Covea staff and the Loss Adjuster (in recorded telephone conversations) on several occasions. We were initially stuck in a house with no mains water for nearly a week, flushing the toilet with a bucket of rainwater. More importantly we were lied to regarding the availability of "Alternative Accommodation", then to add insult to injury Covea and the Loss Adjuster accepted the Contractor with the Lowest Tender price for the works; despite my stating that I did not wish that Contractor in our house. The result is, well I can not tell you because after nearly two years our house is still a building site, our possessions and downstairs furniture is still in storage, the "new" floor in the Lounge, Dining Room has been laid incorrectly and is to be removed and replaced. "Quality Insurance" I think not. We have had to spend hundreds of hours of OUR time trying to get things sorted out. Do not believe the false allegation in the advert about a "Stress Free Claims Process".
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Requested a quote for home insurance having been a previous home insurance customer but they declined to quote with no reason given. I have no history of claims and live in a standard brick built property with a perfect credit record. I telephoned them to ask why it was declined but was told that it was just a general statement and that the reason could not be provided. It seems that John Lewis do not want to keep their customers. I think it is not helping the John Lewis brand by continuing with their existing insurance underwriter. It certainly is colouring my view of John Lewis as a quality brand that cares for its customers especially when I read the issues that other customers have had.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
12 years no claims, no points or convictions, and low milage user. John Lewis refused to offer me quote for car insurance, I guess they are doing that well that they dont want our business, so will return the favour and make sure we don't spend another penny with JL.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
If I could give a -1 rating I would. Dealing with John Lewis for our wedding insurance has been horrific, I am on my 3rd complaint and will definitely be escalating this to the Financial Ombudsman this time as you cannot treat people like this. Numerous times I have been told apparently incorrect information resulting in them telling my claim is successful, taking my bank details for payment and then calling me back to say they have made an error and a new policy pops up which means it is now unsuccessful. Who works like that?! Claims have gone on for months, I have emails, recorded calls explaining all is covered, confirming the full amount, I have done everything required, only to then come back with some outlandish new interpretation of their policy wording which no one had mentioned in the countless conversations we have had over the months. Honestly, I was silly to think buying a policy with JL would mean sound customer service above all us, I understand the pandemic has hit people hard but the shoddy service and almost cowboy-esque traits of the team and how they have dealt with people will stay with me forever. Avoid like the plague.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolute scam and not worth the paper it's written on!!!! Nothing reasonable is covered and they won't pay out for anything. We tried to rearrange our wedding when the UK government put a restriction in place for wedding guests (of 12 people). They don't cover government actions so wouldn't cover the £500 rearrangement fee - despite us buying the highest coverage policy. We then had to cancel because all travel was banned and my husbands American family couldn't come. They don't cover travel restrictions - even though they say on the website 'If a storm prevents you and more than 50% of your guests from getting to your wedding, we could cover you.' Please please please don't bother purchasing this scam for your own sake
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely disgusted with John Lewis Insurance! They had the cheek to send me on several occasions over the last few months an invitation to their new easy home insurance. Several attempts at putting details in and I was refused insurance. Funny...we already have (or did) have car insurance with them! In fact over several years, two cars and our house are insured through them. Came home from holiday, thinking I must check the car insurance renewal and surprise surprise there was a letter saying that they could no longer offer us a renewal quote for the car. Checked my credit rating and other avenues thinking there was a mistake and everything fine. So John Lewis what are you playing at? I used to work for you, I have and account with you and NEVER defaulted on payments. You took our money over several years for car and house insurance. What is going on????
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Totally unethical service from a trusted brand. Apparently it's OK to wait for over four weeks to get a leak repaired while they get someone out to evaluate it - despite having an allegedly top-of-the-range all-inclusive insurance policy, which includes home emergencies. No one person will take ownership or an overview. No calls returned. Hours spent on hold. Passed from one department to another. Phone calls rudely aborted. Appalling service not worthy of John Lewis. And more importantly, no repairs carried out. Totally unethical behaviour from a disinterested and evasive team.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
John Lewis Insurance is rated 1.90 based on 323 reviews