Green Flag Reviews

2.03 Rating 67 Reviews
24 %
of reviewers recommend Green Flag

Write Your review

Tell us how Green Flag made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I broke down with a flat battery at a hospital, phoned Green flag because the app would not recognise the location and told them that I needed a really quick eta because I had to follow an ambulance to another hospital where a friend was being transferred for a life threatening emergency operation. Was still told the earliest would be 1hr 20mins. Luckily somebody in the car park jump started me. Awful service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
It was a few months ago now, and I said I would leave good feedback, but I got very distracted by life. However, the mechanic that came to help me, Matt (GF28 on his feedback card) was extremely helpful. He was easy to understand, knowledgeable, and professional to the point that I remembered to leave the good feedback I said I would about two months later. And kept his card, hence remembering his GF28 number. Keep up the good work Matt!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Worst experience! STAY AWAY Worst experience! Took me 12 hours to get from Essex to Worthing (100 miles) Got dropped off at a services alone at night. Explained to GF I was afraid as it was 2am but they were not that bothered. Every time I tried calling I was on hold for 50-60 minutes when I totalled my wait time up it added up to a total of almost 5 hours just on hold to speak with someone… Just so you know……. If you need a towing service (like I did) they won’t tow you all the way home and it will take two or three drop offs….. but the drop offs won’t match up so I was told (after a 4 hour wait) that it was going to be another 4 HOURS at the service station before the next pick up was due to arrive….. By the time I get home it will have taken me a total of 12 hours from calling GF to walking in my door….. 12 HOURS to travel a total distance of 100 miles…. Alongside 5 hours of being on hold. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY! There’s reason as to why they are cheap!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
I'm a very patient customer, but I can only describe Green Flag's customer service as shambolic and totally uncaring.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
I am on a Natwest Platinum membership which I have had for many years, I've only ever used it once for a straightforward tow. I required the same this time, even though I am entitled to overnight hotel stay, rental car, chauffeur and much more. I had to wait for 4 hours in freezing rain, in the middle of nowhere in the dark with my 76 year old partner before being towed, and only after they forced me to pay £150 against my will. Absolutely appalling in every way. two people told us we would be taken home and 2 people told us we couldn't be taken home, no consistency and extremely unhelpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Tonight I broke down at 8pm. Green flag said they were not busy and as I was a female alone I would be a priority. After 2 1/2 hours and several fruitless conversations with their employees I finally got a text to say Burke’s Recovery would be with me by 01.17!! By 10.30pm after my phone died I decided it would be safer to make my own way home. Luckily I was within a 45 minute walk from home. Many women would not be. After recent events in this country you would think women’s safety would be a priority. For Green Flag it sadly isn’t. Please do not use them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Rang Friday as gear box issue. Their 3rd party recovery company didn’t come in time to get to the garage. Come Monday morning and was told that they was going to charge for an extra 11 miles then changed it to extra 9 miles. Got told it would be £3 per mile from green flag to then be told it was nearly £4 per mile from richardmonds. Biggest rip of ever. Now car is still on the driveway and green flag wants to charge me £150 to get my car recovered again (didn’t even make it off my road the first time) Wouldn’t recommend this company ever as they have left 2 key workers with a disabled child without a car.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
my van broke down in the Neston called green flag as my cars are covered with them. they said they would come out and try to fix at roadside if not would take me to a garage for a fee of £150. What they actually did was pick my van up transport it 2 miles to a Starbucks and offload it in their car park and was told they would come back for it the following day as it was Sunday. Told them i lived in Huddersfield and was told to get car hire or find accommodation at my expense. Rang another recovery firm in Manchester, they came out within an hour loaded my van on their truck and delivered it to a garage in Huddersfield for £140, top bloke. Flixton recovery. 07845 049856
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
My wife broke down clutch went phoned Green flag thay said her car was to old and wasn't covered. So we cancelled it shame on you we had the policy for 3years first time we needed them
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Had to call on green flag when i broke down in rush hour in london, waterfall recovery were with me in 20 minutes, the service was second to none, the mechanic had me going again in 10 minutes. Eric the mechanic was polite, helpful and explained everything, waterfalls and Eric's service was first class
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I was very impressed by the friendly and efficient way the the call centre staff handled my calls throughout about my recent break down. Although their local contractors were a bit slow in responding I have nothing but praise for the service I recieved
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Exceptionly fast answering phone, and finished complete transaction in 5 mins. Fantastic service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
They could not do enough for us on three occasions over ten years well done green flag
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Disgusting services ..my husband been stuck near Dartford tunnel for 3 hours ..they now after 3 hours towed him to Thurrock..now got to wait for pick up truck .probably for another 5 hours ..diabetic and they know this ..so rude and so unprofessional..do not use green flag
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible service left my daughter on a hard shoulder for four hours after getting spoken to horribly by the mechanic who could not fix the car Taking it further as it cost £950 to get the car home!! Will be cancelling policy and would not recommend them at all
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I had to wait 20 minutes for them to answer the phone. That is very bad. Don Peerless
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The mechanic refused to change a tyre and left 4 people to sleep in the vehicle in a service station. The next morning a different company (A1 Cars and Commercial) changed it in 5 minutes. Houghgreen Garage should be ashamed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My car broke down on the motorway, green flag organised for a subcontrator to attend but the mechanic was unable to fix my car. I was taken with my car to my destination and left to defend for myself without any offer of further assist from Green Flag. I subsequently organised for my car to be taken to a local garage but the garage was unable to repair my car. I rang Green Flag for advice and to organise a car hire, plus recovery my car back to my home address and I was told no assistance could be offerred because I arranged for my car to be taken to the garage and not them. I was totally surprised by this response, I was under the impression that Green Flag should have advised me that if my car could not be fixed then they would take me to a garage for the car to be repaired, offer what assisstance they can with car hire etc, instead the opposite happen and I left stranded 100 miles away from home and had to organise for my car to be recovered but to my home at the cost of £200. Absolutely terrible service and would never under any circumstances recommend this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
If you go with green flag you will regret it
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
My car wouldn’t start so I called Greenflag. While I was waiting I managed to start the car. I rang Greenflag and told them to cancel the booking and was told to still wait for Greenflag to attend. An hour later gf turned up and couldn’t find a fault with my car and told me to drive it home, so I did. Gf sent me a text to say that I must get the car repaired and if I call gf again with the same fault (even though they hadn’t found a fault), they would charge me. I have been a customer with gf for some years and have never needed to call them out. I was unhappy and rang gf customer service. I wasn’t happy with their response so I cancelled my cover. I will never use gf again and will take my business elsewhere
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Green Flag is rated 2.03 based on 67 reviews