Hemming & Wills Reviews

4.6 Rating 144 Reviews
90 %
of reviewers recommend Hemming & Wills
Read Hemming & Wills Reviews

About Hemming & Wills:

We’re an independent, stand-out, contemporary home brand with a conscience and our mission is to help create Happiness at Home.

Proudly British, we offer a unique combination of affordable, design-led, contemporary & mid-century home furnishings including sustainable options and a great collection of ethically made plastic free & reusable homewares. All backed by an exceptional customer experience, we genuinely recognise our customers are the heart beat of H&W and we’re here to help you in any way we can.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330-133-1233

Email:

care@hemmingandwills.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Hemming & Wills made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Hemming & Wills 5 star review on 29th September 2022
Alex H
Hemming & Wills 5 star review on 26th May 2022
Laura H
Hemming & Wills 5 star review on 24th May 2022
Tom
Hemming & Wills 5 star review on 10th December 2021
Annette F
Hemming & Wills 5 star review on 28th October 2021
Kevin T
Hemming & Wills 5 star review on 14th October 2021
Francesca L
Hemming & Wills 5 star review on 14th October 2021
Francesca L
19
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Great quality at an even better price. Really swift delivery given the current climate. Thanks!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks so much for the kind feedback. Best wishes, Chris @ H&W
Posted 2 years ago
Items arrived missing parts and were damaged beyond use but after discussing this with the company it is apparent the delivery company is at fault. Took a few days to resolve but I'm confident we will get the damaged items replaced.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Hello Heather, we're so sorry for the issues with your products. Something has obviously gone very wrong. We are in touch with you to resolve your concerns, replacing the relevant items. Dispatch of replacement table legs has also been arranged along with compensation due to the issues experienced. The Care team will continue to work with you and your partner to resolve your concerns. Best wishes, Chris @ H&W
Posted 8 months ago
The product is fantastic and the build quality is excellent! I can only fault them on the delivery as they delayed us 3 weeks (told us well in advance which was nice) and then delayed the delivery again with only 24 hours notice.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Chris, We are so pleased that you are impressed with your new furniture. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Thank you again for your understanding and patience throughout as we dealt with some delays with delivery. Thanks again for shopping with us! Zarc @ H&W
Posted 9 months ago
Great product but delivery was slow and images didn’t match the color of the table. Lucky I still liked it and it worked! Beautifully made. Good price for the quality. Delivery driver was very grumpy and rushing a lot which was not good - ended up swapping the legs as ir was wobbling first fit…
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Hi Shivani, We are so pleased that you are pleased with your new furniture. Thank you for leaving your comments, they are much appreciated and have been noted. We are pleased that we were able to correct the initial issue that you experienced. Thanks again for shopping with us! Zarc @ H&W
Posted 10 months ago
Product size and style ordering was straightforward although choosing the finish was more difficult without seeing the differences. A simpler way of displaying the options on the website including colours might be more helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
A few problems with delivery and communication that needed ironing out, however this was discussed with Chris and matters like these will be addressed going forward. The reclaimed furniture is beautiful, a real focal point in the room, love it.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hello Eve, we're very sorry to hear about the issues with your order. There was unfortunately a human error following the additional items added to your order and also it seems there was a communication error as to when delivery of these items can be accepted. We'd have tried to speak with you today about your order to help further resolve your concerns and will try to make contact again. Best wishes, Chris @ H&W
Posted 11 months ago
We really like our new furniture and it was relatively easy to put together.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there, We are so glad you are happy with your new furniture. Thank you so much for your review and thanks for ordering from Hemming & Wills! Take care, Becky @ H&W
Posted 1 year ago
Reclaimed table and benches look great in our flat. Add some much needed character, certainly recommend. Delivery only slightly late, which is fairly impressive given pandemic lockdown.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, Great to hear the furniture works well for you. Thanks for your kind review. Best wishes, James @ The H&W Care Team
Posted 2 years ago
Care package and oils would be great but great furniture!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello Pam, We're glad you like your reclaimed furniture, thanks for leaving the review. We hope you received our aftercare email containing handy information about use and care of your furniture, we'll follow up with you to make sure. As your furniture is lacquered, there's no need to use oils but our aftercare and FAQ information contains alternative suggestions. Best wishes, James @ The H&W Care Team
Posted 2 years ago
The chairs were not hard to fit legs to but, after bolting the legs on, I found that there were no screw holes for the eight screws which were to be fitted, one to each leg. I am a 78 year old woman and although I had no trouble with the bolts as an Allen key was provided I do not possess a power drill nor can I operate one! I have not fitted the screws and will just have to wait until a workman is around with a drill or power screw driver. I might have been able to do the screws if a small hole had been started. The chairs look lovely and are very comfortable. There was a problem with the delivery also. Your web site said I would be told by 10pm the previous day and that you only delivered Mon- Friday. The delivery arrived with no warning on Saturday, literally as I was at my front door about to leave for London 100 miles from me. The delivery man seemed unconcerned when I said he had nearly missed me and might have had to make a second journey wasting petrol. He said they always deliver leftovers on Saturday but this is not what I understood to be the case from the website.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hello Ila, thanks for the feedback on your order, this helps us to improve. We're sorry for the issues you have reported and will look into these and have them addresses. Thanks for shopping with us. Best wishes, Chris @ H&W
Posted 10 months ago
We ordered a sofa-bed with chaise longue, a reclaimed-wood dining table & bench, and two chairs from H&W. We called in advance to make sure that we could order and arrange delivery at a later date, once we had moved into our new flat - and the super friendly staff told us that it would be no problem. The following week, I had to run out of work to call their delivery company after receiving a text that they'd be delivering a sofa the next day! H&W told us this was a simple mistake that they caught, but having called ahead of ordering and adding a note to our order as instructed, we thought we'd avoided any such issues. All furniture was delivered by Christmas as promised - in two separate deliveries up to Scotland, so fair play. The dining table (reclaimed driftwood) looks great and is very secure and sturdy. However, the screws on the two chairs continuously come loose leaving the legs wobbly - so we'll have to consider some Loctite or similar to hold them in place. We're not heavy people and we're not rough with them by any means, so disappointing that re-tightening them is a weekly task. The sofa-bed is also a little more wobbly / creaky than we had expected. I realise that it has mechanisms to lower it down to the sofa-bed setting, but it is considerably more rickety than any sofa-bed we've had before. When the back rests are in the upright position, the main section and end section also don't align completely, which is a little annoying. Overall, we'd say we're just-about satisfied overall. However, having spent a four-figure sum on furniture from H&W, I'm not sure we could say they offer value for money. Happy to pay for good quality – but not entirely convinced we received it here. We know that they made the table to order, and that's great - but the other products from their (external?) supplier feel rather like style over substance.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Joe, Thanks for sharing your review, I'm pleased you're happy with the reclaimed furniture and that we were able to complete delivery before Christmas for you. I'm sorry to hear of your concerns with some of the delivery arrangements and with the other furniture items. We always welcome feedback. I have checked with the team and we can't see any record of these concerns having been reported to us. Now we're aware, we'll contact you to see if we can help resolve these issues for you. Apologies we haven't fully met your expectations right now but we'll do our best to help you further. As a small business, we very much value your custom and all feedback will help us improve. We'll be in touch shortly. Best wishes, Chris @ H&W (Managing Director)
Posted 1 year ago
Some of the screws which attach my table top to its legs have snapped at the head - which is a shame but is somewhat to be expected with reclaimed furniture. The guys at Hemming and Wills have kindly advised me how best to solve the issue. Otherwise I’m very happy with my table and benches
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello Iain, Sorry to hear of your issues, we'll get in touch with you to help resolve this for you. As reclaimed wood is a natural, living material, it can move and change in a new environment. Sometimes this can result in the fixings coming loose or breaking. Unfortunately, the wood is stronger than the screws and sometimes they can break. But this is easily resolved. We'll be in touch shortly to help further. Best wishes, James @ The H&W Care Team
Posted 2 years ago
Unfortunately the bed I ordered was damaged and there were some issues with placing the order. The customer service has been good so far and I am hoping they will collect it soon.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi there, we're sorry about the damaged bed. Collection and the refund will be completed shortly and we've emailed today with further details about this. We've also made sure this model of bed is further quality checked and it appears just to be an isolated issue with your order, apologies again. Best wishes, James @ The H&W Care Team
Posted 2 years ago
Terrible company - after several months, table arrived damaged and at 11.30pm at night. Took weeks to collect. Confirmed colour was correct to them. Replacement finally arrived and it had no finish applied to the wood whatsoever, and was a completely different colour - called customer services and sent photos, was accused of lying and treated with a general attitude of disdain and smugness throughout. They denied that no finish was applied, even though the bottom looked exactly like the top. Only when I threatened them with court did they arrange refund and collection. Collection driver told us they are an awful company and they have to take so much flak for their mistakes. I posted on my personal Facebook page about the damage and quality of the product and they asked me to take it down as they are a small company and it would hurt their reputation - being a small business is not license for poor products. Several other customers messaged me to share they’d had similar experiences. Avoid, they are an amateur hour company that treats their customers appallingly. They also banned me from their page because they didn’t like that I bit back after treating me like scum.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hello Joe, I'm very sorry to see this review and the issues you're mentioning, which I understood were resolved back in Sept 2021 with a full refund and complimentary goodwill voucher/product. I am very sorry for your frustrations and disappointment. I tried to call you earlier to apologise for your experience then where we obviously fell short. Also to share that we have since significantly improved our manufacture, delivery and customer care operations as we have grown as a new business, together with overcoming pandemic related challenges which caused some delays. We don't always get it right and as is a nature of a new, small business there can be challenges but we do always try our best to resolve these and as mentioned, we've adapted and improved in the past year and continue to do so. As a small team, we genuinely do care about our customers, products and service which can be seen from the vast majority of positive reviews and happy customers. When we learn of a negative experience, it's disappointing to see as a lot of hard work is put in by the whole team so we genuinely look to resolve the issue and address it moving forwards to prevent it happening again. I'd like to speak with you to see if there is anything further we can do to allay your disappointment and will try and contact you again shortly. Alternatively, please feel free to call in to speak with me. Best wishes, Chris @ H&W Managing Director
Posted 3 months ago
I can't review the product itself as I've still not received it - almost 2 months after the originally quoted timeline for delivery. I've emailed multiple times to attempt to understand the issue and get a more accurate estimate for delivery and all I get is a canned email using non-committal words like "estimate" and "approximate". I've received the same email 3-4 times and still no contact from the delivery company. I was offered £69 off of the price I paid, but honestly - I just want my dining table. I don't care about the discount. I will not be ordering from this company again which is disappointing as I'd much prefer to support smaller, local businesses - but if they can't sort customer service and logistics, I'll spend my money elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hello Kimberley, we're so sorry for the issues with your order and your experience hasn't been as smooth as it should have been. We understand a delivery attempt was made mid-October and I am glad to see it is now scheduled in again for early next week. When things go wrong, we offer goodwill gestures by way of apology together with resolving the issue as quickly as possible. We hope the goodwill gesture is taken in the spirit intended. Once again, our sincere apologies for the issues experienced and we look forward to completing delivery shortly. Best wishes, Chris @ H&W
Posted 10 months ago
If I could leave 0 stars I would. Ordered a table and bench set in JUNE and am still waiting for delivery. Received a call from the delivery company last week telling me they were outside my house, unfortunately I was at work because I had received NO information regarding this from either the delivery company or Hemming and Wills. I was then emailed saying they are sure the delivery company would have informed me, extremely rude email to receive given how patient I have been over the last months. I have received not even one telephone call to get this sorted, I am driving all communication and I am still no further in having a confirmed delivery date for my items. Over £1000 I have spent on a table which I am yet to see. I don’t understand how difficult it can be to reschedule the delivery? I will be contacting trading standards as this is completely unacceptable. I am also keen to highlight I am a Nurse working on the front line during the pandemic, so my time is precious , on top of this I am also pregnant and do not need this stress. Completely unacceptable from start to finish. Also extremely frustrating to read other people’s tables are being created and delivered yet mine is apparently sat in a warehouse somewhere and I am being ignored?!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hello, we're very sorry to hear about the issues with your order. We've added to the delivery team to help ensure more support is available for arranging deliveries and we're glad delivery is now re-arranged for you on Friday. It was also good to speak with you today to discuss your concerns further and provide you a goodwill gesture in light of the issues. We look forward to completing delivery of your order shortly. Best wishes, Chris @ H&W
Posted 11 months ago
I'm really disappointed with the service we've received from H and W. We had our table and bench delivered on the 12th May which was damaged. We reported it straight away and were advised it would be 4-6 weeks for a new one. We are still waiting over 4 MONTHS later. We've sent various emails and I was even told it was being delivered over two weeks ago so I waited in all day on my very valuable day off and no table and no contact made by anyone. I appreciate times are a little difficult but this is just completely unacceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Amanda, I am so sorry for your poor experience and have been investigating this today. The team have been in touch by email to help get this resolved, and assure you every measure is being taken to ensure this gets sorted. Best wishes, Becky @ H&W
Posted 1 year ago
I’m genuinely so upset that my table came through looking nothing like what I ordered and nothing like the standard of finish I can see in any of the other reviews. Hemming and Wills have said this finish is within their accepted tolerance and have been, in my opinion, very patronising about my appreciation of reclaimed wood. Natural imperfections are one thing but big gashes in the wood is another. The Steelwork was full of oil when it arrived and H&W also felt it was acceptable to write my name in marker pen on the underneath of the table. But apparently this is all acceptable to them! My mind has been blown! This is not acceptable for me or anyone else I tell about it! However, I’ve been told there’s nothing that I can do about it so instead of the beautiful contemporary style table I thought I had bought, I’ve now been landed with a battered old table that wouldn’t look out of place in my local pub! Thanks for the shoddy service and false advertising on this occasion!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Suzi, I am so sorry to learn you are so upset with your order. I assure you we have at no point tried to patronise you or invalidate your opinion. Whilst I can understand your point of view, we do aim to be as transparent as possible on our website about the imperfections that can be expected with Reclaimed wood, and the features of your table are of a similar standard. The reason we provide this information is to manage expectations fully, as no two pieces of Reclaimed furniture will ever look the same, and it is the wood's past life that gives it the character and charm that makes the pieces so unique. I can see the team have been in communication with you throughout your order process and I am truly sorry you have felt the need to leave this review, but I hope you can understand our position. Best wishes, Becky @ H&W
Posted 1 year ago
Sadly, I'm extremely unhappy with the customer service I have received. I had a table and bench delivered on Sunday, and whilst generally the items are great, I have a couple of problems with the table. I have phoned 4 times and emailed once to speak to someone about it - and I have not received a response. You get through to switchboard who are lovely, and will tell you they will mark it as urgent - but then, nothing! Knowing there is a problem and a potentially unhappy customer should be enough to respond. I've never written a review before, but am really frustrated and sadly it has removed any enjoyment out of my long awaited purchase.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Leanne, we're very sorry about this. We've had some team shortages this week and as a small team we have been running behind. We've now implementing a new process to make sure urgent calls such as this are not missed and are prioritised. It's been good to speak with you this week to discuss your concerns and I will be in touch with you again shortly to discuss further. Best wishes, Becky @ H&W
Posted 1 year ago
They refuse to speak to you on the phone to rectify problems. Today was the second time that our order has not been delivered after being promised that it would. The company don't seem to value customers. They don't answer email or phone and when they do answer the phone you get to speak to some external receptionist that can't help at all and tells you to email the address that nobody ever checks. Abysmal service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi there, We are really sorry to learn that your experience with us has not been positive. At Hemming & Wills we value and care about every one of our customers, but at times our phone lines do get busy. We do however endeavour to return all calls and all emails within 48 hours. We are also currently growing our customer care team to improve response times, as well as to minimise the need for our reception service. I do believe this issue has now been resolved within our care team. Thank you for the valuable feedback though, and if there is anything further we can do to help please do let us know! Take care, Becky @ H&W
Posted 1 year ago
Hemming & Wills is rated 4.6 based on 144 reviews