Homebase Reviews

1.9 Rating 924 Reviews
21 %
of reviewers recommend Homebase
1.9
Based on 924 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 12%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 56%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read Homebase Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

ph:+44-34-50778888

Email:

order.enquiries@homebase.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Homebase made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Homebase 1 star review on 5th January 2024
Anonymous
Homebase 1 star review on 1st August 2022
Bob
Homebase 1 star review on 6th May 2022
Anonymous
Homebase 1 star review on 6th May 2022
Anonymous
Homebase 3 star review on 26th April 2022
Margo Walker Karen Marshal
Homebase 1 star review on 21st April 2022
Tony
Homebase 1 star review on 21st April 2022
Tony
30
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Ordered a ladder from Homebase which took over a month to arrive (I'm a UK resident). I ended up dealing with one of their suppliers directly. Homebase just kept e mailing me with stock excuses/scripts with no mention of what they were actually doing to resolve the situation. The supplier was brillient and very pro active. I'll never order anything from Homebase again.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Ordered garden furniture and picked a delivery date for two weeks time. The delivery date came and received nothing. We then received another date for a week later, again, nothing. We were then given another delivery date for 6 days later, again, the courier company cancelled coming to deliver it even though homebase said they had put it through as a priority parcel and assured us it would come. We ordered about 4 weeks ago now and just got a refund as we do not think it would ever be delivered. AWFUL EXPERIENCE and wasted 3 days of my life waiting in for something that was never going to come anyway. Do not buy from here.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Ordered a tall bathroom cabinet from the Truro store. It arrived with the packaging in an awful state. Parts were damaged and other parts were missing. Reported to customer service who said they would arrange collection of the damaged unit and deliver another one. Another cabinet was duly delivered the same parts were missing along with the door hinges. Reported to customer services they said they would send out hinges by return and see if the missing draw parts could be sent seperatley they would call me and let me know later that day. No phone call received. The next day 2 hinges arrived which was fine except I needed 3!!!!!. and the original cabinet still here a week later. Fed up now called cutomer services to cancel the order and ask for a refund. Told I had to contact the store to do that and was duly was told a refund would be issued once the second cabinet had been collected which is now going to be on the 4th May 12 days from now.!!!!!!! This is one of the worst experience I have had with any company which I did not expect from Homebase. Buyers beware. abysmal company to deal with.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Beyond poor from beginning to end!! DO NOT ORDER THROUGH THEIR WEBSITE. It will never arrive and the customer service is non existent.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
DO NOT BUY A BATHROOM FROM HOMEBASE. ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE We had a bathroom design consultation with Homebase after which we ordered what we had selected based on the consultant's advice and our bathroom measurements. For the installation Homebase advised we use their sponsored platform 'Protect My Install' and recommended a company. Homebase were in an indecent haste to take our money and deliver the bathroom items which were delivered and stored in our garage within 5 days of the consultation. Unfortunately getting the installer in place using Homebase's platform was not so speedy with it taking 2 months to even receive the quote. By which time we had already fallen foul of the 30 day return on all the items delivered but did not know this at the time. The installation platform only allows you to get one quote at a time and the suppliers on it know they have no competition. Our quote was at the extreme high end of what the job should have cost but we accepted, rather than start again, even though we would have to wait 3 months for the job to start. Time rolls. On and 2 weeks before the job was due to start the installer tells us it will be another 3 months before he could start work. So we said no, left Homebase's platform and got a local installer to do the work at at a cost of around 50% less than the previous inflated quote. Once having started the job our installer finds that we don't have enough splash panels to cover the walls because Homebase didn't order the right quantity based on our correct measurements. Also one panel was found to be damaged when unpacked. So we were forced to switch to tiles as our installer would have started his next job and we would been without our bathroom for many more weeks had we waited for Homebase to deliver replacement panels. We are now left with nearly £1,000 of splash panels we have no use for and Homebase have washed their hands of the matter because we have had the panels for way longer than the 30 day returns policy. Nothing is their fault; it is all down to us. It is our fault we didn't spot that Homebase's consultant had got the quantities wrong. It is our fault we didn't remove the packing from every bulky item delivered to inspect for damage. It is our fault that the original installer the Homebase consultant recommended (he gave us his card!) was so useless and unreliable. And it is our fault Homebase delivered the items before we had an installer on board. We don't accept this but we do accept that we are at fault for not reading reviews on Homebase before ordering from them. Had we checked out reviewcentre.com and noted that out of Homebase's 541 reviews some 438 (81%) were just one star then we wouldn't have gone anywhere near them. Totally useless and incompetent so beware.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Don't expect to get your delivery on the arranged day. Long story but expect delays
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Near buy a kitchen for homebase,I have purchased a kitchen from them when delivered we have a side panel missing from one of the unit been trying to get in touch with them,left massage and email no reply.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Here is the communication with the customer services team. Delivery date 6th Feb. After waiting in for the 2nd day. Get told that it will be the 9th. IKEA delivered their items on time. Never again will I use Homebase. Chat to us at Homebase 14:06 Homebase Harry Homebase Harry says: Hi there, I'm Harry, your virtual assistant. Please pick one of the options below and I'll try to help says: Order Query Homebase Harry Homebase Harry says: Please select one of the below says: Talk to a team member Homebase Harry Homebase Harry says: We just need to take a few details from you Homebase Harry Name James Flatman Email jim_flatman@hotmail.com Postcode NR7 0DY Query When will I receive my order? Homebase Harry Homebase Harry says: Thank you, I will connect you to our next free team member. Sohel Sohel says: Hi James. Good Afternoon. Hope you are keeping well. Sohel says: How may I help you? says: I haven’t received any notification about my order being delivered Sohel Sohel says: I am sorry to hear that you have not received any notification for delivery. Let me quickly check the details for you. Give me a moment please. says: Ok Sohel Sohel says: As I can see you have placed an order (465510856) for 1 QTY of CLEVER CUBE 2X2 WHITE and 1 QTY of CLEVER CUBE 2X4 WHITE. Are you referring about the same order? says: Yes - I’m supposed to receive information from your courier but have received nothing Sohel Sohel says: I totally understand your concern and please accept my apologies. As I can see your order will be delivered by our carrier DX and the promise date for delivery is 9th February. Normally the tracking number gets generated a day before the delivery date and hence you have not received any update from DX. Sohel says: They will send you a 2 hour window for delivery on the delivery date. says: The delivery from yourselves was the 6th February- waited in all day yesterday, waited in so far today. This is not acceptable says: This is what is on my order says: Clever Cube 2x2 Storage Unit - White Clever Cube 2x2 Storage Unit - White Quantity 1 Price £55.00 Delivered on Monday 6th February Clever Cube 4x2 Storage Unit - White Clever Cube 4x2 Storage Unit - White Quantity 1 Price £85.00 Delivered on Monday 6th February Sohel Sohel says: I can totally relate to your situation James and please accept my apologies for the delay but it has already moved out from our warehouse and still in transit to DX depot. Once it reached the depot, your tracking number will be generated and DX will get in touch with you regarding the delivery window. says: But this isn’t acceptable says: You committed to delivery on the 6th. Named day Sohel Sohel says: I agree to you on this James. I will go ahead and share your feedback with our team in regards to this. says: I ordered items from IKEA on the same day as I ordered from yourselves- they arrived this morning as promised. This is unacceptable so wjhat are you going to do about it- I want results not feedback Sohel Sohel says: Please accept my apologies for this James. The parcel has already moved out from our depot and the promise date is for 9th February. You can be rest assured and we will make sure it will be delivered on that date. says: I want it today not the 9th. You promised me the 6th. So how are you going to fix this and when please Sohel Sohel says: I am afraid but the parcel is still in transit and it cannot be delivered today. It is still in transit James and we do not want to give you any fake promises as we understand that it was not delivered as per the expectations. says: You interface with your delivery agents and you can asked them to expedite. Why was I given the 6th as delivery date- you are noting getting my frustration Sohel Sohel says: I can sense your frustration James and if that would have been possible for us to arrange delivery today, we would have definately dont that for you but as the parcel is still in transit, there is no tracking number generated with DX that we can ask them to expedite the delivery. says: You have a tracking order for the delivery. Your agents wouldn’t have accepted this without it. I want this fixed and you haven’t told me why I was given the 6th as delivery date. This is costing me money. Sohel Sohel says: I can give you the order tracking number of Homebase which you can use with DX to track your parcel but you will be able to track it only once the consignment number is generated with DX. I totally understand that you have been promised delivery date as 6th February but due to some reasons it has been delayed. As I mentioned if this would have been possible for us to arrange the delivery by today or tomorrow, we would have definitely done that for you. I will go ahead and share your feedback with our team to make sure that this does not happen again. 14:34 Type a message
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We bought an artificial Christmas Tree and Wicker base surround to disguise the triangular base at the tree bottom. We didn’t like the look so tried to return the base but the shop refused to accept it without the receipt which my wife had lost. This is despite her phoning the store beforehand and getting approval from the assistant manager to return it. Absolutely horrible and embarrassing customer service will never buy anything from them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We ordered approximately $25,000 of special made cabinets and other items in the May 22 timeframe. The cabinets arrived at our home in the early timeframe of July. The boxes sit in my living room until middle to late Aug timeframe. The cabinets are up as of last month. We are now being told the cabinet tops will not be ready until sometime in January. We have been without our kitchen for months and our Thanksgiving and Christmas are ruined! This really sucks and we should be awarded for what we are going through to this date! Last time we will use your company for major projects!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We had special made cabinets built and delivered to our home for installation in July 2022. They sit in my living room for almost two months! For the most part the cabinets have been installed and the contractor has been great! Still waiting for countertops and was told today they would not be ready for installation until January 2023! We have been without a kitchen since sometime around Sep 2022! We couldn’t celebrate Thanksgiving at home and now will not be able to celebrate Christmas at home without a kitchen! Home Base this time you failed terribly and have lost another customer for large projects. YOUR TEAM NEEDS MORE TRAING IN PROJECT MANAGEMENT! This customer is finished with Home Base! We need a discount of some type!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Horrendous after sales service at Hamilton, kitchen planner (Adam Shaw) won’t respond to concerns, many of the items we paid for are out of stock and nobody at customer services will answer the phone, 4 days later and two days before we have the kitchen fitter booked and the customer services duty manager Lizzie finally answers the phone and promises that we’d have a return call before 5 o’clock by either her or Adam Shaw….yip you can guess the rest…no call, left hanging again….I’m not a happy chappy guys so if your reading this I’d appreciate a call before I start picketing your stores front door with a placard.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I’d arranged delivery of my kitchen to coincide with the kitchen fitter being available, when he checked the delivery there was several pieces missing, the tap was even ordered ! I’ve tried numerous times to contact the store & after several days when I eventually got through to someone only to be told the delivery is going to take a week ! I now have no kitchen for Xmas as the fitter has had to start his next kitchen 😡 Doors that need changing can’t be done as there’s no kitchen consultant at the store ! I won’t be recommending Homebase to anyone else
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dont use Homebase if you are disabled. I asked for the delivery to be brought to my flat as I am a Dialysis patient. It was left in the general Lobby and I wasn't eve notified of the delivery. Clearly Homebase have no respect for disabled people.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Driver left delivery outside front door. We are disabled and expected him to lift it over the door step. We were doing to tip him. Think again mate
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi reserved 2 tins of paint online and payed for it had been in the Hamilton branch they did not have it lady at customer service advised us to do this before we went to make sure they had it before travelling from Wishaw to pollokshaws got there only to be told they only had 1 As it had not been picked. which I don’t fine acceptably Store assistant said it happens all the time I wasted fuel/ time getting There and to be honest I don’t think anyone cared don’t think I will be back .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
£6 for a small roll of masking tape. I didn't realise masking tape contained precious metals. Went to B&Q instead.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have hearing loss; when I asked the customer service to speak slowly she spoke so slowly it was like she was mocking me. She was unhelpful and obtuse in her manner. When I couldn’t get through to another store she started at me as is to say ‘so what do you want me to do about it?’
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
on the 14th August my wife bought a 5 litre tin of Homebase paint. Unfortuntately it exploded in her car. She came home covered in white paint as she had attempted to clear up the mess when she parked in a nearby car park. Anyway we contact customer compliants and they advised us to send over images and proof of purchase which we did. Then the management at the Woking Branch got involved. That is the branch where we purchased the paint. The general tone of thier emails was that they did not believe us. Then the area manager boosted that he has never heard of a can of paint from Homebase exploding. I have subsequnetly found this article as follows:- http://www.diyweek.net/tin-of-paint-explodes-over-homebase-customer The 14 August was a particularly hot day and I thought it was important to tell homebase about this issue because I feel that they should warn their customers about carrying paint in these extreme temperature. But instead we got a very COLD and NEGATIVE response. I think it started from the minute go. I have a good idea why that is the case!!! Something to do with my origin! DO NOT SHOP AT HOMEBASE. If you read the link about the other case it is perfectly clear that Homebase use sharp practice when they deal with customer rather than in the spirit of good customer relations.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dreadful customer service ordered 2 items and paid delivery charge one arrived second item 4 days late called twice staff don’t seem to know where it is. Asked for refund can’t get it until they get in contact with supplier. I could have got the item in Chichester but chose delivery as one of the items was online only. I will never order again and avoid the store and untrained staff
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Homebase is rated 1.9 based on 924 reviews