Homebase Reviews

1.9 Rating 925 Reviews
21 %
of reviewers recommend Homebase
1.9
Based on 925 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 12%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 56%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read Homebase Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

ph:+44-34-50778888

Email:

order.enquiries@homebase.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Homebase made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Homebase 1 star review on 5th January 2024
Anonymous
Homebase 1 star review on 1st August 2022
Bob
Homebase 1 star review on 6th May 2022
Anonymous
Homebase 1 star review on 6th May 2022
Anonymous
Homebase 3 star review on 26th April 2022
Margo Walker Karen Marshal
Homebase 1 star review on 21st April 2022
Tony
Homebase 1 star review on 21st April 2022
Tony
30
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Dreadful customer service ordered 2 items and paid delivery charge one arrived second item 4 days late called twice staff don’t seem to know where it is. Asked for refund can’t get it until they get in contact with supplier. I could have got the item in Chichester but chose delivery as one of the items was online only. I will never order again and avoid the store and untrained staff
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Please explain why Homebase charges £10 for 1220 x 900 plasterboard whilst B and Q only charge just over £7?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Bought a Howells Led flush bathroom light for 22.50 in the sale at Richmond. The package clearly shows a ceiling light photo and nowhere does it say it is for wall use only except on the internal instruction. Took it back for a refund or exchange and the manager point blank refused either. He said that there were no refund notices up, though admitted they only went up yesterday, well after the sale started. I feel mugged and cheated of normal customer expectations.
Homebase 1 star review on 1st August 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Bought a Howells Led flush bathroom light for 22.50 in the sale at Richmond. The package clearly shows a ceiling light photo and nowhere does it say it is for wall use only except on the internal instruction. Took it back for a refund or exchange and the manager point blank refused either. He said that there were no refund notices up, though admitted they only went up yesterday, well after the sale started. I feel mugged and cheated of normal customer expectations.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
DONT ORDER FURNITURE IN HOMEBASE I ordered a clic clack sofa from homebase in May 2022. I paid for this item instore at the galwally to store in belfast I was told the sofa would be instore between 7 and 10 days for collection. . It is now July 2022( 4 months)and the store tells me there is no stock of this item. I have continually wasted time ringing the store for an update. Homebase has taken my money on false pretenses. Money taken and no product to give. 4 months later a deputy manager from the galwally store is again following up poor service given by her colleagues in buying g and distribution of furniture at homebase. I will NEVER buy any furniture from hombase. VERY POOR SERVICE.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Bad customer service, staff are uninformed and stores are messy.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Placed order for flooring, underlay and floor tool kit. Chose option to get everything delivered on Tuesday and only one item arrived, so I called customer service who assured me that my other orders will arrive by Thursday. Today is Friday and I have dismantled all bedroom furniture and taken old flooring up ready for new flooring, but still has not arrived. Such an inconvenience and no apologies or updates unless I contact Homebase myself and even then can not trust what I am being told. I have lost total faith in Homebase, even paying £30 for delivery does not ensure we get the products on time nor get any updates. Terrible customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My husband ordered Florence garden set from Drakehouse shop Sheffield Paid for it and order got a numbere mail to confirm the purchase ,then he a got telephone call to say they had sold the set, He wasn’t happy so went to store to find out what happened. He spoke to the manager he just said it was sold end of? How do we get our Money back in 4-5 days Takes minutes to tell you it’s out of stock He then asked him could we have the display Model No So my husband looked to see where else to get one from Newark had one, so he ordered this one, ordered it got order number and e mail confirmation of purchase Then got a call to say they only had the Display model they were very apologetic the lady was very nice which they agreed to sell We said OK But thinking about it overnight , the logistics of getting to Sheffield was too difficult So we won’t be going to collect it or shop with yourselves anymore My main complaint is the differences in the standards of shops
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Placed order online with next day delivery option which I chose. Got dispatch confirmation that day. I got no tracking info or who was going to deliver it. Next day still no info or delivery so I called to be told that yodel are having technical problems and will be delivered in 2 or 3 days. Homebase was well aware of this so why use them and not go with another delivery service. Well and truly peed off as I waited in all day and won't be at home to recieved it in 2 or 3 days, told him to cancel the order. Will take my custom elsewhere. Homebase just take your money and don't care about getting your order to you when it is their responsibility.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
If possible I would score zero.Having ordered online for click & collect at Chichester Homebase,nearly 20 miles from my home address, I arrived at 15:15 but was not served until 16:00 by 2 inept staff who dawdled & seemed unable to use the IT system.They were also alien to the concept of customer service Avoid at all costs because I certainly will in future.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The following is a genuine exchange on Homebase chat on 29May22 14:03 Homebase Harry Hi there, I'm Harry, your virtual assistant. Please pick one of the options below and I'll try to help 14:03 Store query Sent · 14:03 Homebase Harry Please select one of the below 14:04 Services in store Sent · 14:04 Homebase Harry Please find some helpful articles below 14:04 Does Homebase offer paint mixing? We can mix a wide range of Dulux paints in-store. Find out more here. View article Where can I get custom wood cutting? Specific Homebase stores offer a wood cutting service. Details can be found at your local store here. View article Was this helpful? 14:04 No, I still need help Sent · 14:04 Homebase Harry Got it. Try rephrasing your question or start over. 14:04 I want to check stock leveles on Flymo Easiglide 36cm lawnmower, Glasgow South side but the web site refuses to cooperate. Sent · 14:05 Homebase Harry Here's an article that might help: 14:05 Where can I get custom wood cutting? Specific Homebase stores offer a wood cutting service. Details can be found at your local store here. View article Was this helpful? 14:05 No, I still need help Sent · 14:05 Homebase Harry Got it. Try rephrasing your question or start over. 14:05 Check stock levels not working Sent · 14:05 Homebase Harry I didn't get that. Try rephrasing your question or start over. 14:05 Unable to check stock levels on line Sent · 14:06 Homebase Harry I didn't get that. Try rephrasing your question or start over. 14:06 This is rubbish. Is anybody actually there? Sent · 14:07 Homebase Harry I didn't get that. Try rephrasing your question or start over. 14:07 I didn't get that. Try borrowing a brain cell. Sent · Just now Homebase Harry I didn't get that. Try rephrasing your question or start over. Just now Type a message
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dreadful service on both delivery and ‘click and collect’. Happy take the money, charging more for specific delivery dates then don’t bother turning up or letting you know that the time is not arriving. Cancel the order because it’s happened twice already and decide to order the same item for click and collect because surely that can’t go wrong?! You guessed it - took the money, got there and ‘sorry it’s out of stock. It’ll take 3-5 days to go back on the card’. Joke.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
No issues with store staff. They're fine. Product quality is another matter. The latest rubbish I mistakenly bought is a garden bistro set ( table and two chairs) Eloise natural. £80 isn't much to pay. However, it was bought on 6th May 22 and now it's the 20th May 22 and it showing rust blooms on the bent tubular frames and on all the welds. A result of poor paint preparation and insufficient coatings. I will of course return to store for a refund. But what a waste of my time and further the companies time. Do your buyers not conduct quality control checks. My past product issues have all been due to shoddy product.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Awful delivery service. Promised next Monday. It's been 2nd Monday. Guess what? Nothing. Called twice just to receive an email that they would "raise the search" of my order that'd take another 2-3 days. Avoid. I can't put a no-star, so putting one which is already a lot for the delivery service they provide.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered kitchen 9 weeks ago. Meant to be delivered by 15/05/22. Heard absolutely nothing. Phoned customer service they don’t know where it is. Joke. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered a hedge trimmer from homebase 2 months never to receive the item ,contacted you for weeks to be told you would phone me back to resolve the issue.Never got any help whatsoever no one ever got back to me and was charged for the item .I have now had to contact my credit card to resolve the problem.Worst company I’ve ever dealt with,I will be posting on social media to warn people not to buy from a company that you don’t receive your goods from .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Oh dear, Homebase as we knew it no longer exists. In my dealings with them over the past few weeks, I have sometimes felt I was losing my mind. Sofa bed we wanted was in stock for delivrry only, so I completed and paid for the order. Then received an email confirming the order and delivery date. Five minutes later I received an email cancelling my order. I then ordered it again three more times. Each time the order was confirmed, then cancelled. I now have so many emails from them it is a joke. I don't think their helpline is UK, because not sooner do you get through and explain the problem, you are cut off time and time again. Homebase doesn't seem to have any stock either online or in store despite their advertising items as being available. There is something really very seriously wrong with the store we once knew as Homebase. Customer service is zero and going into the store to speak with someone is a waste of time, as nice as the staff are, they can't help either. What a bizarre was tomrun a business.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dreadful customer service. Had to call 6 times and was cut off 3 times. Incorrect item delivered, corner sofa with 3 arms. That no one could understand wasn’t correct. it could now take up to 14 days for courier to contact me to arrange a date to collect item and deliver another. Very poor show Homebase. Will never order on line again from you.
Homebase 1 star review on 6th May 2022 Homebase 1 star review on 6th May 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
First bookcase arrived with missing parts - I'm still waiting for the DX delivery people to come and collect it. Third time unlucky today. Disgrace of a courier. Homebase were great at sending me another bookcase, can't fault them. I'm afraid I'll be leaving this repackaged incomplete bookcase in the garden for them to collect!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I visited the Hexham store and was assisted by David who was extremely knowledgeable, helpful & very professional. Brilliant service, thanks David
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Homebase is rated 1.9 based on 925 reviews