Homebase Reviews

1.96 Rating 820 Reviews
23 %
of reviewers recommend Homebase
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 38%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 58%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read Homebase Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

ph:+44-34-50778888

Email:

order.enquiries@homebase.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Homebase made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Homebase 1 star review on 17th October 2018
Jon Dale
Homebase 1 star review on 17th October 2018
Jon Dale
Homebase 1 star review on 10th December 2017
K Penney
Homebase 1 star review on 10th December 2017
K Penney
Homebase 1 star review on 10th December 2017
K Penney
Homebase 1 star review on 10th December 2017
K Penney
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Homebase delivered 3 times broken tv stand. 4th time replacement should come up to 7 days the latest on 08.06.2021. When I ring to homebase after 10 days they say a must waiting another 7 days. Bought this tv stand on 05.05.2012. Today is 11.06.2020. Nobody contact me and say sorry. I'm just here they lie all that time.
Posted 6 days ago
I placed an order for a gazebo in March, it was due to be delivered Friday 3rd April, in time for Easter Weekend. I took a day off work to receive the order and it didn’t arrive. I wasn’t notified of any delay. I contacted Homebase the following week and was then told 3rd May. It still didn’t arrive and still no notification of delay! I contacted Homebase again and this time requested a full refund. I was told this wasn’t a problem and it would be in my bank within 7 days! It’s now 6th June and still no refund despite several emails to customer services! This is extremely poor service from Homebase! I am very disappointed in the whole situation
Posted 1 week ago
Visited Banbury store to use the paint mixing facility but after waiting 10 minutes no-one materialised. Could only find one harassed member of staff on the single manned checkout who was clearly under pressure judging by his response to my request for assistance. I walked the whole store including the garden centre and encountered not a single staff member. I feel really sorry for the staff working under such conditions. The trolley and trolley park are filthy and the store is not much better so taking my custom to B and Q and my local hardware store. Have written to the Managing Director but not holding my breath that things will improve either for the staff or customers.
Posted 1 week ago
I went into Basingstoke Homebase today and a lovely knowledgeable man called Andy from the garden section gave his time and patience in helping us sort our garden strimmer out , he certainly went out of his way to help us , many thanks Linda Allen
Posted 2 weeks ago
I ordered a sofa online and was given a delivery date , it arrived that day, 9am . Delivered by 2 pleasant nice chaps who helpfully placed it in my lounge. Nice sofa too ! 1 star off for two reasons. 1, the delivery guys only get 2 minutes for a doorstep delivery, I'd rang homebase as I'm disabled and couldn't get it in by myself , they had no knowledge of this but helped anyway , great guys! 2, I could barely understand the call centre chap !
Posted 3 weeks ago
Just another comment about appalling service. Spent hours and hours putting together a gas BBQ only to find a part not working. They offered £10 compensation or return of the item. The £10 compensation would not cover the cost of a replacement part and postage, and I certainly did not want to build another, so I requested payment for the part and postage which amounted to £15. That was a month ago and they did not have the courtesy to respond to 5 further emails. Homebase was probably so much better when it was owned by Sainsbury’s. This company is a complete shambles and I would never purchase or recommend the . Customer service is a joke.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Do not shop here, go somewhere, anywhere else. You will not get what you ordered and spend months trying to get your money back.
Posted 1 month ago
Was in the Altrincham store I have worked all the way through this pandemic and have never be in a store that was so unsafe they have everyone queuing down in a row with one member of staff on the till who is rude it is a fact that the virus pass quickly while in a queue that why supermarkets get you in and out as quickly as possible at the tills the aisles they have done have you trap with ten other people and you have know where to go will not be going back will stick with other similar stores That staff are happy to have you in their store
Posted 1 month ago
3 delivery dates not met. No communication on any of these dates to tell me it was delayed or not being delivered. I have wasted 2 days holiday at work and also ive had to turn tradespeople away. I spent 1 hour on hold with customer services only for the call to go silent when I tell them I want a refund. No call back , nothing! The way this has been handled is a total and utter disgrace. Do not buy from these people!!! Looking at the reviews I'm not the only one having similar issues
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely a joke , customer service shocking local store shocking. Ordered a hot tub 2 months ago. Cancelled my order because DX couldn't find it. After wasting a day phoning customer services, have now been told I have to wait another 10 days for my money which they have had for 2 months £612 Keep well away.
Posted 1 month ago
Shocking experience. Avoid at all costs. No communication whatsoever, no product delivered for 6 weeks then delivered by DX Couriers not wrapped and damaged, no paperwork. Returned the product now can't get a refund. Can't get through on phone. Terrible !!!!!!
Posted 1 month ago
Really really bad, awful service. we bought a kitchen £5,000 from homebase in February, work was supposed to start a week before Easter, but guess what NO KITCHEN. It is now the end of April and still not all the kitchen has been delivered. When the kitchen was actually delivered parts were missing and damaged, so we had to wait again. Still no cooker, so we have been living off microwave food for the last month and it s beyond a joke now. HELP
Posted 1 month ago
Apaling Our experience, we haven't had one. Ordered garden furniture a week ago, delivery fee paid for delivery 24th. Taken time off work, waited in all day. 2 phone calls of 35 mins, no answer. 3rd call, phone answered at 46 mins, no sorry can't find your order, can I put you on hold. 26 minutes on hold at my cost. Still no further forward as I had to put the call down. 2 emails later, still no reply. Wish we had read the poor reviews before we spent £1120 on your product which we have still not recieved. Shocking and disgraceful customer service. You should not take the order unless you can forfill it. £1120 down and still no products. Ombudsman it is then to get resolved. No one has the decency or common courtesy to reply.
Posted 1 month ago
This company is beyond a joke! Their customer service is absolutely disgusting. I placed my order, they readily took payment, I waited a month for my delivery, delivery date came and went. Spent a total for 5 and a half hours SO FAR on the phone to customer service. Delivery was cancelled because item was out of stock. No communication from homebase. I am now fighting to get my money back... And they stated as a good will gesture they will refund my postage!! Umm... That's not a good will gesture. That's money I paid for something you didn't receive. Absolutely appalling. I recommend everyone steer clear!!
Posted 1 month ago
Customer service is totally disgusting. £10 compensation is a joke. Order only half arrived. Emails NEVER answered. Joke. NEVER SHOPPING ONLINE WITH HOMEBASE AGAIN. tried to complain... no answer.
Posted 1 month ago
WHY WHEN I TRY TO CONTACT DX COURIERS - WHO ARE MEANT TO BE DELIVERING MY GARDEN FURNITURE FOR THE 4TH TIME- ALL GIVING ME THE RUNAROUND. GOT 3RD TEL NO TO CALL AND CONSTANT ENGAGED TONE. WHO RUNS A TEL SYSTEM LIKE THIS NOWADAYS. I WISH I HAD NEVER ORDERED FROM THEM SAT IN 2 DAYS WAITING FOR DELIVERY THEN ONTO CALL CENTRE FOR 30MIN AND 45 MIN RAGING SHOCKING SERVICE NO WONDER THEY SHUT A LOAD OF THEIR SHOPS IF THIS IS THE SERVICE THEY PROVIDE. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaGH
Posted 1 month ago
I dont normally take time out to do this but homebase/bathdtore are just about the worst company ive ever --- yes ever had the misfortune to deal with. a lady whom ive looked after for over 35 years with her plumbing problems bought a set of bath taps and 18 months after they were dripping . being a ceramic disc turn on and off it means the cartridge needs replacing , but guess what they dont have any , despite this they have a 10 year garauntee hower the idiot of a manager at the south ruislip branch tell the lady ( whilst im not present ) that the cartridge needs to be replaced every 10 months to validify the warranty. im retired now but with 60 years plumbing experience and a full 5 year apprenticeship ive never heard anything re plumbing so ridiculous in my whole life . it goes on ---their email complaint address is non functional . no phone number at any branch or head office gets answered. they in fact tell you its a 45 min wait. DO NOT BUT ANYTHING FROM THIS STORE YOU WILL GET NO HELP IF THERES A PROBLEM , AVOID HOMEBASE AT ALL COSTS
Posted 1 month ago
Dissapointed with quality of product. I know it's cheap furniture, but I didn't expect the oak laminate to peel off the edge of my table after less than a month. Won't be using them as much going forward.
Posted 1 month ago
ordered garden furniture £1300 worth. paid extra for named delivery date. day arrives I thought il ring customer services to see what time its coming. was informed its not coming its out of stock could take one or two months!!!! was told he would get manager to call me which never happened.Next day I get a message from Homebase apologising and confirming my order would arrive by the end of the week. got message from courier confirming date and time for delivery and I did receive my order which im very happy with. Homebase really need to sort out the customer service call centre as they seem clueless
Posted 1 month ago
Worst customer service ever,One star is an exaggeration.Paid for named day delivery and my item failed to arrive.Called their call centre twice and on both occasions waited over 40 mins for an answer only to be cut off twice.Emails unanswered apart from a link to DX to track my order which gave no update other than they had received my item.Txt on sat to say item was out for delivery between 9.15 and 11.15 .....didnt arrive.So glad i paid with pay pal.
Posted 1 month ago
Homebase is rated 1.96 based on 820 reviews