Homebase Reviews

1.9 Rating 921 Reviews
21 %
of reviewers recommend Homebase
1.9
Based on 921 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 12%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 55%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read Homebase Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

ph:+44-34-50778888

Email:

order.enquiries@homebase.co.uk

Write Your review

Tell us how Homebase made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Homebase 1 star review on 5th January 2024
Anonymous
Homebase 1 star review on 1st August 2022
Bob
Homebase 1 star review on 6th May 2022
Anonymous
Homebase 1 star review on 6th May 2022
Anonymous
Homebase 3 star review on 26th April 2022
Margo Walker Karen Marshal
Homebase 1 star review on 21st April 2022
Tony
Homebase 1 star review on 21st April 2022
Tony
30
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Homebase only deliver in my area in London on a Friday or a Saturday. That’s it… they charge £30 for the privilege. I’m in hospital next Friday and the property I’m working in is empty so I can’t be there on Saturday. I know have to wait two weeks and take a day off work. I’m in the property working the rest of the week but, nope can only deliver in a Friday. They treat customers with contempt. Never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Ordered online and never received product. Homebase keeps repeating that the supplier say it was delivered to a neighbour when none of my neighbours have received it. Clearly went to wrong address and I have said as much but Homebase is not doing anything to help the situation and isn't giving a refund even though I haven't received a product and as per consumer protection legislation they are responsible for ensuring I receive the product. Absolutely terrible service and then follow up customer service with complete disregard for customers and the responsibility they have as a company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
erview Reviews About Homebase Reviews 169,153 • Excellent TrustScore 4.5 out of 5 4.3 VERIFIED COMPANY In the Home improvement shop category www.homeba se.co.uk Company activity See all Claimed profile Asks for reviews — positive or negative Pays for extra features Replied to 98% of negative reviews Replies to negative reviews in < 24 hours Profile and reviews have been merged Locations149 Pick a location to see its reviews Reviews 4.3 169,153 total 5-star 64% 4-star 9% 3-star 6% 2-star 5% 1-star 16% Your review is pending.Read more Mr Mw Khan 6 reviews Rated 1 out of 5 stars Order #547243514- Disgraceful Customer Service Order #547243514 This company employ ' customer services operatives' who blatantly lie and gaslight the customer. I had a delivery scheduled for 5th of January 2024 and at 3.30pm rang to where it was since apart from a text message at 7:01 the previous day stating my order would be delivered on 5/1/2024 and i would receive another text when the vehicle had left the depot By 3.30pm i hadnt heard anything and rang homebase customer services. The operatives communication was hard to understand butshe told me at first the order was scheduled for 26/12/2023! I informed her no its due today 5th jan and why hasnt the courier xpo contacted me. She said she would investigate and get back to me. I received an email from a ' Rutuja' stating Rutuja (Homebase) 5 Jan 2024, 15:44 GMT Hello, Greetings for the Day! We got an update from the carrier XPO that they are tring to contact you but there is no reponse from your end. They informed that It will be afternoon delivery. They deliver from 7am-7pm Kind Regards, Rutuja Homebase Customer Services' This comment contained an absolute fabrication . Nobody from XPO had contacted me. So i rang XPO direct at 3.53 pm and spoke to a helpful lady " victoria" she said nobody had tried to contact me as the goods were still in the warehouse and i would only be contacted once the delivery left the warehouse and it would be a text. She than again confirmed there was no record of me being called by xpo. So " Rutuja" in Homebase Customer Service was lying and gaslighting the already inconvenienced customer. Not on. Not on at all to try to apportion blame to a customer and lie like that. I wont be dealing with Homebase again.
Homebase 1 star review on 5th January 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Customer Service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Only part of my order was delivered. They refused to credit me for the part that did not arrive unless I reported it to the police as a crime - it was only a few solar jars and I am not going to waste police time over £20.00. I will not buy anything from them again and advise you not to either.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Customer service orientation of store manager was simply ludicrous. We were trying to get our paid for Click & Collect paint order sorted - issue with product not being fully available despite have received sms & email confirmation - and manager insisting we took a dented/pre-opened tin we were not happy with to help fill the order. Long story short, and nearly 45+,minutes of waiting around, we are told we either accept the dented tin or he cancels order and refunds us. Wow... really? He then tells us that he has had a long day, he's tired and wants to go home, so agrees we can take smaller tins of paint to complete the overall order. Really good store leadership qualities on full display for staff and customers to witness! It gets even crazier. Homebase sends out an sms invite for customer experience feedback. Of course they need to hear about this because it is just so not a customer oriented experience delivery they have to sort this out; I work extensively in this field and know that this sort of experience will absolutely cost them customers and market share. SMG provides their feedback platform which is really out-dated, and not customer friendly to use, but I persist and get my feedback to Homebase with the option checked for someone to call me so I can explain the episode clearly. I believed Homebase should genuinely be interested. Within 30 minutes I get a phone call from Matt from Homebase! But it turns out the guy calling me is actually the manager we had the issue with at the store --- he's completing the resolution of his own performance issue. Wow!!!! Anyway, he proceeds to tell me he disagrees with what I say he said -- in fact he simply denies it outright but says he's sorry I felt it wasn't a good experience. Then tells me I raised the issue so he is following procedure and calling back, he has said sorry, and reiterates he disagrees with my assessment, and hopes the rest of my weekend is good. End of call. And that is how Homebase delivers customer service and deals with customer feedback. What a joke. Seriously. I wouldn't be surprised if they are non-existent within the next 3 years. Of course I really don't care as I will never be going Homebase Aylesford or any other Homebase stores again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Would just like to say we had excellent advise and help from Julie and Richard at the Loudwater branch.They went above and beyond to help my husband and I who both have limited mobility. Made our shopping for a barbeque a very pleasant experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Poor Customer Service -On 01 August, my husband and I purchased a Florence Gazebo from Homebase Cambridge. After a long store search to find a store rep, Gavin was very helpful. However, we had to go to customer service to pay for it, as it was the last gazebo. We were then told, that we could get the Gazebo to take with us, if we dismantled it ourselves! We declined that dangerous offer, just in case we hurt another shopper with the large metal parts! Next, we were informed that we had to arrange our own collection/delivery, with 'Shift' but had to wait until the store found someone to dismantle it! It is now, 06 August and we still have no idea when we will get the item which we paid for. What a death wish-inducing scenario!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
****AVOID Buying Homebase Kitchens**** Full New Kitchen / Wrong/Faulty Worktops 2 Occasions - Still not resolved after 7 weeks Shocking Company Ordered a complete new kitchen and the worktops were wrong or faulty on two occasions, the store wont even give me contact details for head office complaints. This is still ongoing with no resolution or contact. I would avoid ordering a kitchen or any products from Homebase as when things go wrong they seem to ignore you and bury their heads in the sand. ***AVOID HOMEBASE AT ALL COSTS - POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE*** Homebase if you could get your director/s to contact me that would be appreciated before I look to take legal action.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Brilliant customer service today at the till … the gentleman was extremely kind, considerate and very professional he even encouraged me to buy 3 all purpose jack’s magic compost .. an excellent employee thank you x
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Ordered some products which they cancelled, they are yet to refund me 2 weeks later. BUYER BEWARE!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Ordered parasol 2nd June and paid £6 delivery fir following day 3rd June rang customer help line mid afternoon and told out fir delivery but when I checked tracking stated still at depot and gas not been delivered- disappointing to say the least!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Wanted to order a £100 Worx Cordless Hedge Trimmer online, but wanted, for my convenience, to collect at my most local store in Greater Manchester. I phoned H.B's customer services, couldn't even hear him - he then passed me through to one of the branches, his phone was equally drifting in and out too, (but apart from that, I really think he should have had his mother with him). Got nowhere on the phone. However, the hedge trimmer looked very good so decided to take the plunge and duly placed the order online to be delivered to my home within 5 days. However, if anything should go wrong with this order, I have a wonderful safeguard...... and that is, I paid by PAYPAL, which means, should I open a "resolution," I don't have to wait for Homebase to decide who was to blame and won't have to feel I'm getting nowhere. PayPal will recover my funds if Homebase fail to deliver, if goods are not as advertised, if discovered item is immediately faulty, or delivered damaged.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Our kitchen was supplied and fitted by Homebase 6 years ago (10 year guarantee). Just before Easter a wall unit, with wine racks attached each side, simply fell off the wall and smashed on the floor with such force that the unit shattered. Had we been in the kitchen we would have been severely injured - our small grandchildren would probably have been killed. Despite lengthy debate since then Homebase’s continued response has been that the installation was only guaranteed for 3 years, so tough luck. We have argued that this is an exceptional occurrence and so should be treated differently. Every other major kitchen retailer we have spoken to has said this should never happen at any time and it is due to bad workmanship. Homebase said we should have checked at time of completion which of course we did, but we don’t have x-ray vision to see that a wall unit has been correctly bolted to the wall behind it! Our insurers will pay for a new floor as it has been extensively damaged but not for the shattered unit because it’s bad workmanship not an accident, but that holds no sway with Homebase. We have lost valuable and personal contents from inside the cupboard, we cannot find a replacement that matches the rest of the kitchen, and the floor units will all have to be taken out to remove the old flooring, as it was already laid over previous tiles so this cannot be done again. Appalling attitude from Homebase. We are now going to the ombudsman and the small claims court.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Avoid at all costs if you order and pay with the expectation of it arriving on the stated day. It won't happen! Just cancelled my order due to non-delivery and awaiting refund. Feel sorry for the customer services staff in India ... who were polite and tried to be as helpful as possible in trying to sort out what is the carnage of the Homebase online operation. Going to order my item from Argos even though it costs £40 more....a small price to pay to be stress free, not have to make numerous phone calls and waste my precious time. At least I know it will arrive when they say.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Awful experience with Homebase-the plan for our kitchen had missing units, a breakfast bar placed 25cm into the dining room, asymmetrical wall unit due to misuse of measurements and incorrect advice given at every stage. They shared our information with someone who was not our fitter and at every stage after raising our initial compaint about this shoddy experience they said it was our fault for not checking their plan even though they did not tell us to and for not getting our fitter to check even though this was not made clear to us! Terrible. I am so angry I cannot begin to describe.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Ordered a £400 lawn mover online, delivery was received within a week, but the package was open and upside down on delivery with a damaged lawnmower. I called Customer Services, who arranged to collect and send out a replacement. The replacement arrives a few days later, but again the box was delivered upside down and open. I have refused to accept the 2nd delivery based on the fact that I don't know why again the box is open and upside down, and uncertain as to whether there may be missing parts or if the mower is damaged or faulty! This is an appalling service - why would you ship an open package upside down? Awful ! I think the Customer Services team is ok, but the service of sending out the delivery is awful and not one I would trust in future.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Ordered a ladder from Homebase which took over a month to arrive (I'm a UK resident). I ended up dealing with one of their suppliers directly. Homebase just kept e mailing me with stock excuses/scripts with no mention of what they were actually doing to resolve the situation. The supplier was brillient and very pro active. I'll never order anything from Homebase again.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Ordered garden furniture and picked a delivery date for two weeks time. The delivery date came and received nothing. We then received another date for a week later, again, nothing. We were then given another delivery date for 6 days later, again, the courier company cancelled coming to deliver it even though homebase said they had put it through as a priority parcel and assured us it would come. We ordered about 4 weeks ago now and just got a refund as we do not think it would ever be delivered. AWFUL EXPERIENCE and wasted 3 days of my life waiting in for something that was never going to come anyway. Do not buy from here.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Ordered a tall bathroom cabinet from the Truro store. It arrived with the packaging in an awful state. Parts were damaged and other parts were missing. Reported to customer service who said they would arrange collection of the damaged unit and deliver another one. Another cabinet was duly delivered the same parts were missing along with the door hinges. Reported to customer services they said they would send out hinges by return and see if the missing draw parts could be sent seperatley they would call me and let me know later that day. No phone call received. The next day 2 hinges arrived which was fine except I needed 3!!!!!. and the original cabinet still here a week later. Fed up now called cutomer services to cancel the order and ask for a refund. Told I had to contact the store to do that and was duly was told a refund would be issued once the second cabinet had been collected which is now going to be on the 4th May 12 days from now.!!!!!!! This is one of the worst experience I have had with any company which I did not expect from Homebase. Buyers beware. abysmal company to deal with.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Homebase is rated 1.9 based on 921 reviews