Hsbc Reviews

1.41 Rating 410 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Hsbc
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour

Write Your review

Tell us how Hsbc made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Hsbc 1 star review on 6th April 2018
Disgruntled David
More Photos & Videos
Hsbc 5 star review on 15th February 2017
Mouchel Christian
More Photos & Videos
Hsbc 1 star review on 15th June 2016
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Only writing this bad review on here more publicly because it's so hard to get through to someone or some system at HSBC directly to complain.
So frustrated with trying to get through on the phone - been cut-off about 12 times already either early on in the process of jumping through the billion ridiculous hoops just to get to speak to someone or while speaking to someone after waiting about 20minutes in the queue just to hear a genuine human voice.
... Would have been happy to discuss this directly with you HSBC but in spite of the many options you claim available to speak to someone it's just not that easy and I'm left feeling infuriated.

Therefore, let me add my voice more publicly to warn anyone thinking of joining this useless bank to rather steer clear. If you are genuinely curious or seriously considering it, I'd recommend having a go at pulling out your own finger nails first.If you enjoy that experience, then this is the bank for you!
Posted 10 months ago
Quite possibly the absolute worst customer service ever.
Not taking payments, 4 months to set up a direct debit, not being able to check my account for the horrendous amount of questions being asked despite providing credit card number.
Then waiting for what seems like an eternity to spk to a supervisor who then everytime says cannot access the account.
And top if all of, hsbc are the ones texting me and asking me to call them because they can't seem to be able to collect a direct debit payment on time...


WORST BANK EVER... NEVER AGAIN
Posted 11 months ago
Tried go onto online banking worst experience you could have, they give you a gadget to use it’s so small and cheap. Then you try to get help non existent.
Posted 11 months ago
on the 4th June I wrote a cheque incorrectly for £64. It was debited to my account the following day. HSBC then put a stop on it but failed to recredit my account. the recipient nor myself have this money. I contacted India 32 minutes on phone. Tried the chat on line. went into my branch the following week with my statement showing debit. not able to help. put endless messages on line and finally sent letter to branch last week. have now been told they will sort by 18th September!! I wonder what interest they would charge me if I owed them money for over 3 months. This is poor service.
Posted 11 months ago
Applied for advertised personal account, took id to branch, waited and waited, nothing. Contacted call centre who just wanted me off of the phone after telling me that they needed my sort code - that has not been issued yet! After I persevered they called the branch where I took in ID and found a bit of info - ie the account is still being opened and they are waiting on one more bit of info so waiting, waiting, think I might just go elsewhere having read the reviews here whilst on hold by the HSBC call centre.
Posted 11 months ago
They have no regard whatsoever for their customers . Fraudsters got a hold of my account details twice , instead of cancelling my clearly compromised account , they locked me out of all forms of banking, making it impossible for me to have access to any of my accounts . Do not bank here honestly ! Go anywhere else !
Posted 11 months ago
Hand bag was stolen including my debit card. HSBC correctly cancelled my debt card but also accidentally cancelled my credit card = no digital access to any of my accounts. After 5 days I received my new debit card and was informed PIN number in mail. Waiting then for new pin and credit card to arrive in mail. Two weeks nothing so I call today and find out, no new PIN number was issued my existing pin remains and I could have been using new card for last 2 weeks and no credit card was ever ordered. So in my stressful time of getting my handbag stolen HSBC managed to make things worse by delaying replacement cards and PIN numbers. They just really need to get their act together or get out of consumer banking, their level of professional customer service ( or lack of) just is not acceptable in today's world.
Posted 11 months ago
HSBC has suspended my business account without prior notice.
I wanted to make a payment for one of my suppliers and then realised that my HSBC Business acc aint working as normal, then I called HSBC and then I was tols that my account is suspended and it's under review.

The worst Business customer service support centre. The Manager of the tele banking service at HSBC didnt have any information about my account, only response was, 'I cannot give any information, only info I could give is your business banking account is under review',

I asked how long will it take for HSBC business team to review my acc ? the answer was ' it could take as long as it takes'
Is it an answer from a Number one Bank in the world !!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've been a loyal customer since 2004. And the Business account service from HSBC is pathetic.

I couldn't believe I'm dealing with HSBC UK business banking team.

I will take the matter to the financial Ombudsman.
Posted 11 months ago
Used HSBC for the mortgage on a new property. Simply put we were 'porting' our current HSBC mortgage from the old to the new house and taking out a second HSBC mortgage to cover the difference. The maths was Mortgage 1 + mortgage 2 = the price of the new house (minus what we put in in terms of equity on the old property)

HSBC applied the following maths. Mortgage 1 - mortgage 2 = £97,000 short of what we needed. I voiced concern this was wrong and this was ignored for 10 weeks straight, despite repeated e-mails and phone calls. 2 days before exchange our lawyers got involved and pointed this out. HSBC finally accepted the mistake as one of the advisors having messed up. I expressed dismay that the mistake wasn't picked up by underwriting and the fact theres a single point of failure that can go all the way through to exchange.

I wrote a letter asking HSBC to alter their procedures so no single mistake could go through to exchange without a second check to detect it, a relatively easy process to employ. HSBC refused stating it was 'too difficult' to implement this. From someone that works in a safety related industry where procedures change the whole time I know this not to be true. HSBC then suggested it was the lawyers that were to blame, ironic when it was the lawyers that THEY INSISTED i use. That cost me £1004 in cancelled legal fees from the original lawyers I instructed. Again HSBC denied any wrong doing as it's in their terms and conditions. I might also remind them 'learning from mistakes and putting things right is also in the T&Cs but they failed to do that by refusing to change very poor procedures. HSBC then went on to suggest I was the second line of defence on mistakes and I should have picked up the mistake. I pointed out I was not a financial adviser but I had highlighted a mistake and I had been ignored. Ironically then HSBC seemed to ignore me when I further pushed this point. I would summarise they actively encourage weak procedures so they can use plausible deniability. In the end I was offered £250 and the ombudsman agreed this was fair because the legal issue and the procedures issue they do not look into as it's not their area of responsibility. I contacted the FCA who seemed largely disinterested but 'added it to their statistics'.

Now i know how the 2008 financial crash occurred. In my industry this standard would not be accepted.

Taking my mortgage and bank elsewhere at the end of my fixed mortgage term. That will cost HSBC a lot more than £1004 i can assure them.

In summary a totally incompetent and mismanaged process, and very unlikely to be a one off given the weak procedures to prevent such things happening.
Posted 1 year ago
Bank with anyone else and you’ll have 75% less headaches. I just don’t understand how they still have clients.
Posted 1 year ago
Worst bank ever. HSbc
Posted 1 year ago
Banking is not what you do. Get qualified people from other bank and tune your system. You guys just suspended all my net banking for no reason and you have no one to support me because you have no sufficient employees. Your rating is very poor in UK based on all available surveys. By the way are you displaying your rating in branches or still ashamed of it.
Posted 1 year ago
Awful in every aspect. Have been a customer for nearly 30 years and they are plumbing new depths of poor service on a daily basis! Not only is the service extremely poor, their staff have got into the habit of telling blatant lies - not what you expect from a bank or a place where you keep your hard earned money - Avoid
Posted 1 year ago
In recent years this bank has turned into a disastrous organisation. Strewn with errors, misinformation, lies and don't even get me started on the appalling staff in their offshore call centres. If it were not for the fact that I am so tied up with this bank with various direct debits, payments in and out and the logistical nightmare it would be to restructure everything I would leave them today. I have been a customer since 1982 (Midland Bank), but anyone thinking of a bank account do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.
Posted 1 year ago
Poor customer service. Poor user-friendly website, with misinformation and average app!
Posted 1 year ago
HSBC is really the most disgusting bank of all time. Worst customer service experience I've ever received. Won't be using them for my student account.
Posted 1 year ago
Beyond appalled. Having transferred to Santander, hsbc employee didn’t understand the switch guarantee. Because of his advice I have paid out fees which are standard in all banks to bank a dollars cheque. I could have had a refund and it would have gone into my new account via switch guarantee, Santander knew this why didn’t the hsbc employee?

Further your Indian call centre staff are most rude and I’m very happy to leave hsbc
Posted 1 year ago
To be honest, I don't know where to start.
HSBC is a bank full of wicked, unempathetic advisors both in branch and over the phone. In fact, it would be inaccurate to call them advisors at all.
I am an international student and I get money transferred to me regularly to pay for my tuition and rent, as well as my monthly living expense.
On the 21st of June 2019, I had money transferred to me form my monthly living expense. However, this amount was not credited to my account.
I called HSBC customer service and a very rude customer service advisor informed me that my account is under review. I then asked her what that meant and a timescale as to when my account would be unfrozen. She informed me that she could not give me any information and advice me to go to the branch. I pleaded with her and informed her that I had literally no money to get breakfast and I depend on y monthly allowance to survive. After she hung up on me, I decided to quickly rush to the Birmingham New Street Branch.

At the branch, I informed them about everything that transpired earlier that morning and the advisor told me that she would call and get some information for me. After making me wait for 1hour which b the time I was extremely late for my lecture the customer service advisor returned and informed me that there was nothing she could do. She further told me that the branch could not help me and I would have to wait to be contacted. I begged and informed her once again that I had no money to live on but she and another colleague told me in a very cold demeanour that there was nothing that they could do and gave me no information. I then asked if I could call and talk to them myself, at this point, I was in tears. But they told me that there was no use calling and I am wasting my time sitting here waiting for a solution. I was shocked by this response and how rude and unempathetic the where.
I left but still called another customer service advisor that could at least give me some information because at this point I began to panic that truly I would not be able to afford breakfast, lunch, dinner or to survive at all. When I called the customer service advisor told me the exact same thing and told her that I wanted to lodge a complaint because of how I was treated over the phone and the inconvenience. she alright told me that she does not see grounds for a complaint. I was still in tears and at this point, I asked her if the bank wanted me to go on the to beg. She laughed at me and asked if there was anything else.
I still did not give up, I called a third time. At this point, It was 3 pm and I had missed school. The customer service advisor that picked up told me that she had spoken to the review team and the person reviewing my account would give me a call the next day at noon. I was relieved. there was hope.

The next day I waited for a call but no call came so I decided to call. The customer service advisor I spoke to informed me that the person I spoke to yesterday gave me incorrect information. No one was scheduled to call me about my account. I was persistent I gave her a record of the previous day but she told me that the account was still under review and no one would be contacting me that day.

I then lodged a complaint describing all the inconvenience and frustration HSBC had caused me. I again asked her if I could at least get some money from my account so I can survive but she said no and told me to borrow money from my university mates. I was At this point, I had only 5 pounds with me and no means of buying a bus pass back home so I had to walk 50 mins back to my house from the university.

I still haven't been contacted by HSBC and the customer advisors are even ruder and rush me off the phone every time I call.

As a customer, you are supposed to trust your bank. They are supposed to make sure your financially safe and well informed about your finances. HSBC bank especially the branch in the Birmingham New Street is a disgrace and frankly, the advisors should be ashamed of themselves for looking down on people they lead to financial ruin.
Posted 1 year ago
That should have said the £75 I borrowed. (Below). They have screwed me up so much I can’t even speak English anymore.
Posted 1 year ago
I’m strugging financially. My fault, but aided and abetted by HSBC when they allowed me a 13k credit card limit and massive overdraft. Then they charged me 16% interest on a consolidation loan. At a time when they were advertising 3% loans. I had no bad credit at this time. This week I was over my overdraft limit. I needed some money for essentials until pay day at the end of the month. I had nowhere to turn so I took out a payday loan. HSBC blocked me from accessing the £75 I loaned. I have £3.40 in 5p pieces to get me through the next 4 days. Thank you HSBC.
Posted 1 year ago
Hsbc is rated 1.41 based on 410 reviews