Kozy's Bike Shop Reviews

4.7 Rating 178 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend Kozy's Bike Shop
4.7
Based on 178 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Telephone, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.5 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Kozy's Bike Shop made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I was on a ride a long way from home when I broke my chain. Kozy was the closest shop and they did get me going again but at a great cost. They charged me $71 for a Shamano 9 speed chain installed. That same chain sells for 21 bucks on line and took minutes to install. The service was good and they were there in my moment of need but would not be my first choice for a planed purchase.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
CLICK BAIT!!!! Company advertised bike for sale , I ordered bike and got a email confirmation of order following to wait for pick up; then later on I get a email they don’t have bike; worse part is owner Paul and Chelsea admitted they never had bike ! Click Bait; Now they have all my personal information and I’m getting multiple bike advertising emails ; Beware of Kozy , fraudsters ! Click bait!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I love the people at Kozy's! I 've been buying bikes from them and having them serviced there for almost 2 decades. I just purchased a 2024 Jamis Copper Tone Renegade from Kozy's this week. My salesperson, Eric, was enthusiastic, friendly, super knowledgeable and patiently answered all my questions. Kozy's is a family-owned, local business and I am proud to support them. I highly recommend Kozy's for all your biking and biking accessory needs!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I did business at Kozys original shop.on 35th and south Ashland in the early 70's. The Schwinn Varsity was very popular at the time. 10 speeds and durable. Always treated like I bought the higher priced rides. Polite and service as well. When my Dad retired he bought a bike to get around the neighborhood. Ron Kozy and his staff treated him like gold. Free tune up is what my Dad called them. I'll never forget the shop for treating him so well.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I've always had such a pleasant experience at Kozy's on Halsted! Eric is super knowledgeable and friendly. I just got my first hybrid bike and I felt super intimidated and overwhelmed going into it not knowing what to buy. But there was no need as he picked out some perfect bikes for me to try based on my needs and explained everything to me with so much detail. It's great that you can take the bikes for test rides and I ended up getting such a smooth riding bike that I really enjoy. HIGHLY recommend Kozy's for all your biking needs!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Ok, TBH practically every bike shop you walk into in Chicago, the staff always seem completely put out and all eye-rolly that you have the audacity to ask a single question about anything especially, god forbid, the bike you want to purchase. I know like, *gasp* first of all, how f**kin dare we, right? But anyway, they immediately catch severe b***hface and literally treat you like you’re the dumbest f**k that ever dumbf**ked. Now picture a bike shop where the staff are the complete antithesis of what I just described as your average b***h-ass-b***h bike shop staff person with all of their dickery and totally misplaced vibrato about like bike culture or whatever… like seriously … a 6 year old can pedal a bike with ease, sir, calm down… but anyway, the OPPOSITE of all of that f**kery is Kozy. They are the absolute best! I’ve been there a few times and every time the staff really strives to make sure my experience in their shop goes far beyond my expectations. In fact, Dave, the guy who helped me today, was so attentive, patient, and asking the right questions to be sure that I was going to leave the shop well taken care of that I practically asked him on a date! JK, Dave! But anyway, do yourself a favor, go to Kozy for all of your biking what-have-yous. You will be very pleasantly surprised and satisfied with your experience. But don’t go in there acting a straight up fool, Kyle and Karen. They are people not miracle workers. There are some things they just can’t do because of warranty and liability factors beyond their control, ok? They will however, try to meet as many of your shopping/service needs as humanly possible. So be kind. I’m not trying to be an a**hole here… I mean sure, I have emotional issues and my therapist can’t stand me because of all of the rants similar to the on I just went on here, but that doesn’t make Kozy any less awesome! Go see for yourself!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was recently in the market for a new gravel bike and after some online searching i found that Kozy’s had the bike i wanted. i live an hour south so i called to ask some questions. i talked to Emily at the Halsted store and we discussed what i was looking for. i am always in between a 54-56 so she arranged to get both bikes at her location so i could come in and compare. She was awesome to deal with. I arrived on a day when Emily was off but that’s when Eric took over. Eric helped me through the buying process and answered all questions i had and discussed options with me. i left with a new steel gravel bike and it has checked all my boxes. Emily and Eric both new their products and genuinely care about doing what is best for the customer. i hope the owner of Kozy’s reads these reviews because i would like to tell him that these two employees represent his business in the best way possible. I will make the drive in the future to purchase again from kozy’s……what a great experience!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I rarely write reviews but I had to after another amazing experience at Kozy’s! Everyone there is extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Eric helped me find a new bike and was very patient (I’m not someone who is very well versed in bikes). He picked some great options for me to test ride, and I walked out with an awesome bike plus accessories for a very reasonable price. If you are looking for a new bike/have any bike needs I would highly recommend!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Kozy cyclery They are awesome I was treated very nice I think they got great workers as long as that shop is there I will be going there have a great day I know I will cuz I'm riding my bike ✌️
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
A HUGE SHOUT OUT TO ALL FELLOW CYCLERS!! First off, I rarely write a review for products as it’s time consuming and most places and purchases aren’t life changing BUT Kozy’s Bike Shop is THAT place and provides those products. In the market for some new wheels, gear for your bike, cycling attire, equipment expertise or cycling repair gurus that will never let you down? Then LOOK NO FURTHER because KOZY’s BIKE SHOP IS YOUR PLACE. KOZY’s entire staff will make your cycling shopping experience the highlight of your season, guaranteed. 1) the inventory is endless and if it’s not in house at Kozys, they will find it for YOU and in a timely fashion 2) whether your a seasoned cycling pro, an amateur, or gearing up the family for cycling season, KOZY’s staff will lend the expertise you require at your pace. I cannot tout Luis and Graham enough for their knowledge, PATIENCE and endless energy to help me get it right with my new bike 3) Cycle trials, repairs, adjustments, expertise in fitting YOU to YOUR bike invaluable. I’ve had the pleasure of being guided by and had bike adjustments by Andrew, Mark and Matt and will never take my bike anywhere else. These guys want you to get the best ride possible out of your equipment 4) whether you live in the city or the burbs it always worth the trek to one of Kozy”s several locations because owners Paul and Amy offer all this inventory and service at a reasonable price. Cylcling on your new Kozy bike and something’s not quite right? At KOZY’s your are not stuck with it. Returns and refunds are as fair as you will ever find Thanks Kozy and all of your amazing staff for making the never ending process of getting the right bike for my cycle limitations after an injury. Couldn’t have done it without each of you.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very professional customer service from sales to service. I had an issue with my bike’s gears, it was fixed, lubed, kicking stand installed and brakes adjusted in about 15 min as a walking customer. My bikes rides as brand new. Keep up such amazing customer experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Mark was great, spent time showing various options on my new bike. Made sure everything was up to my specifications before I left store. Graham was great explaining all the details before my purchase, most knowledgeable of all the shops we visited. Luis introduced my bike at the RV show. Just an awesome experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I don't usually write reviews but this place is amazing. We went to the store in downtown Chicago and we were in a rush to get my son a bike to commute around the university before I had to head to the airport. They didn't try to sell us an overpriced bicycle. They asked us what the need was (a simple bike to get around the campus) and sold us exactly what was needed. They adjusted the bike to fit my son and the mechanics made sure it was good to go. It's unfortunate that not other businesses are as ethical or helpful as these folks are. I would buy there again in a heartbeat! Kozy's rocks!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
This place is great!!!! Luis and staff went above and beyond for me!!!! Beyond grateful!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Great mechanics, excellent experience with the whole shop
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The mechanic texted to inform me after performing a tuneup that he couldn't fix the rear disc brake because he couldn't find the part and had no idea when it would be available. He should have contacted me before proceeding because I would have nixed the transaction. So I was stuck with a 99 buck bill to retrieve my bike with a worthless and unsafe rear brake. I requested a refund and the store manager offered to reduce the bill by 16 dollars after trying to sell me a new bike. I have purchased several bikes from Kozy's in the past but you flunked Business 101 this time around. The tuneup/repair was clearly mishandled and I want a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Bought my bike from Eire location. Great sales experience from start to finish. Looking forward to using them in the future for add-ons, supplies, and maintenance. Nice work team, keep it up.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Great service and assistance, despite there being such a shortage of bicycles during the pandemic. My bike was properly tuned and adjusted to my frame upon purchase. Moreover, the included free tune-ups is a great add-on.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
In July 2021 I bought a new e-bike from Kozy on Milwaukee. The sales person, Luis, could not find the key to the battery pack but assured me that he would get it to me quickly. I'm still waiting for the key. Kozy asked me to return the bike to the store for reasons I did not understand. They still have my bike. Luis keeps telling me that everything is under control. I no longer believe him. I have left a phone message for the owner, Paul Kozy, and hope I will hear back from him soon with a solution.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I had a great experience at Kozy's Bike Shop which led me to purchase two awesome bikes for myself and my daughter!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Kozy's Bike Shop is rated 4.7 based on 178 reviews