Matalan Reviews

4.03 Rating 1,557 Reviews
76 %
of reviewers recommend Matalan
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 29%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 80%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult

Write Your review

Tell us how Matalan made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 4 star review on 5th February 2020
Karen
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 19th September 2018
JoThomson68
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 26th July 2017
Hayley A
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 21st July 2017
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Matalan 1 star review on 21st July 2017
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Horrible service rasict as my mother could not speck the staff laughed at her waited for store managers they were outside having a fag the items what we retured were put back on the rail an on the shop floor as the coat was bit off with rat or mince bites
Posted 1 year ago
Appalling service and don't waste your time trying to contact customer services. Ordered two items on the 1st November and paid for next day delivery. On the day I was supposed to collect I got an email to say one of the items was out of stock. At 5.30pm I received notification that the one item was in store but was too late in the day and got a similar item elsewhere.
Since then I have been waiting for a refund, despite emailing a number of times. Frustrating. Poor customer service. Not worth the hassle.
Posted 1 year ago
Click and collect never again ! Ordered 2 separate orders second one delivered to store fine first one after no communication I rang customer service to be told it was delivered to wrong store now I have to wait for them to contact store to send items back to process a refund ? They would not tell me the storeas I offered to travel if need be to collect my items to be told I can’t , absolutely fuming I’ve lost out on xmas gifts and I have to wait x amount of time for a refund never use again
Posted 1 year ago
Went to pick up item at Chester shop

Walked up to till male walked away went to next till young girl stood and just looked at me I had to do all the talking she acted like she was doing me a flavour then I was stopped by the male who walked a way putting cash in till it was the manger worst shop I've been in a long time
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered some childrens boots to be delivered to store. They were the wrong ones, meant to be tan in colour but were blue and sparkly. The label even said 'tan' so at a guess there's an incompetent labeller in the warrhouse who has no doubt labelled many wrong!

The cashier then said that this was awful and that the boots are way to expensive any way (rugby branch) hinting i should look around. Although I did think of doing this, I decided no, I wanted an exchange for the correct item. She then said this wasn't possible and they don't order anything in. She could offer me a refund and that's it. Then smirked as I left.

Shocking, clearly the interview process is 'any jeremy kyle reject will do'. Management no where to be seen ever or any staff around to help.

The rest of your questions are not relevant for a click and collect customer so you may want to re think that too.

Disgusting service
Posted 1 year ago
I bought a blouse, Did not fit took it back the next day with reciept. They would NOT GIVE ME A REFUND. Against consumer rights LAW, I asked for Manager, he was young no manners didnt give a stuff attitude, was told to use my own phone to call head office, where a American accent woman had same attitude, so had to accept voucher for their store where i will not shop now out of principal. Totally discusting
Posted 1 year ago
Bad customer service and had the phone put down on me and was told 24 hours for a refund and to be told that i would have to wait again
Posted 1 year ago
Still waiting for a refund on an order I placed 3 months ago. Customer services are literally ignoring me and the brand director has been "out of office" for the last 2 days.
Just been reading through some other reviews on here and I'm pretty disgusted at how many other customers are having similar issues with orders not turning up, being refused refunds and being ignored by customer services.
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered and paid online but when I went to collect my order I was told to stand in the long queues waiting to pay as there’s no dedicated click and collect staff! This was by the store manager!! Who by the way was folding jumpers!
I queued for 15 minutes! I thought to whole point of click and collect was so stores could avoid these long queues!
Very dissatisfied.
Posted 1 year ago
I placed an order on 29th October for next day delivery and I still haven’t received it, I haven’t even had a dispatch email. I have emailed and phoned several times about this and have been told that nothing can be done with my order as it has been escalated for investigation, this escalation happened over a week ago and I have still had no response, when I phoned to query why I couldn’t have my order sent out while they were investigation the problem the advisor told me he couldn’t give me that information. The customer service from most of the staff has been non existent.
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered some items from Matalan on the 1/11/18, it said that it would take
3-5 days to receive the items. When I hadn't received them I emailed to receive an automated response back, so I waited and then emailed again. When I still hadn't received the parcel I called Customer service, to be told that my parcel had been damaged in transit and that they had taken it back. This was two weeks after I ordered and no refund had been processed. I asked why I hadn't been contacted or refunded and they had no answer for this. I then asked them to resend me out the order and they said they were unable to do this but that they would now process the refund. I have never had such bad customer service. What is the point of a customer service team if they cant actually process anything. I then said that if I had to reorder these items then I should be given the delivery charge back as a gesture of goodwill. They said that they would give me a online voucher, which obviously guarantees that I shop with them again! I wouldn't shop with them again if they paid me, as this is not the first time I have had this experience with Matalan. This happened to me last year too. I should have learnt my lesson.
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered 6 pasta bowls and when they they arrived 3 were completely shattered
and I’m not sure about the integrity of the other 3 due to the severity of the damage.

I rang customer service and requested a replacement set to be sent out but this was declined as I was told the system didn’t allow it. I can’t understand why not as they have a shopping online system. The bowl were damaged it wasn’t that I had changed my mind and was returning the item.

I was told I had to package them up and post them back.

I was offered a refund on the 3 broken, I ordered a set of 6, 3 is no use as I need the number so I have bowls to allow me to use the dishwasher. If you buy 6 you expect 6


I was offered a good will gesture of a 20% voucher!!!!! Hardly a good will gesture I have to spend more money to get a measly 20% off! I found this an insult and very poor customer service.

If you order something and it’s damaged you expect it it to be replaced.

I was told my issue was being passed to head office.. However, I’ve not not heard from them.

Absolutely appalling customer service at all levels
Posted 1 year ago
Went to matalan mount pleasant hull this morning,very disappointed to say the least,30 people queing and 3 on tills, several people left the que, one lady having several items in trolley but got sick of waiting so walked out,as did 4 others, get your act together you are losing customers, I myself got served after 30 minutes wait far to long,😡
Posted 1 year ago
On line order placed to be delivered to local store - dispatch email rec and no goods - it took me to call them nearly 20 mins on phone to find out apparently the Camberley store refused my delivery ?? Really - now i have called they will process a refund that will take up to 5 days .... they advised i can go on line and reorder .. Guess what ... ITEMS NO LONGER AVAILABLE " - Have been a loyal customer for many years and the unhelpful customer services i received today i will never but from them again no matter how good there prices are
Posted 1 year ago
Shocking experience with Matalan customer services online.
4 weeks and still trying to eat a refund for a top that all stitching came loose after wearing once.
Numerous emails, photos, descriptions etc sent as they can’t keep track of a simple complaint.
Tried sending me £15 vouchers instead of refunding the full value.
Annoyed is an understatement
Posted 1 year ago
Only received part of my order from click and collect. The other items never arrived. Had to fight for a refund which I'm still waiting for and it's been over 3 weeks. I will never step foot in mataland again.
Posted 1 year ago
Still awaiting 2 missing items out of my order. Customer service waste of time they say it has been escalated and will contact me back when they find out what has happened. I have waited 4 days now and no one has contacted me!!! Disgusting service, after years of shopping with you. You do not even deserve 1 star.
Posted 1 year ago
I ore dedicated on line they took my payment then about an hour later I received a email saying they not got my product in store so I have to am want for a refund up to 7 days ridiculous
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered online 1st October no sign of any goods . Contacted customer service and they promised to investigate and reply ....nothing received back . Drive to my store to see if they had it ..but no . Paid for goods and not received Anything. Will be claiming and reporting to my credit card
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered goods on the 25th August, no dispatch notice was sent but some of them arrived over a week later. I queried the missing items to be told several days later that they were out of stock when I ordered but the website hadn't refreshed. I queried the appalling lack of communication with them and am yet to receive a response a month later. Still they haven't taken any money either!!
Posted 1 year ago
Matalan is rated 4.03 based on 1,557 reviews