Opendoor Reviews

4.4 Rating 3,317 Reviews
86 %
of reviewers recommend Opendoor
Read Opendoor Reviews

About Opendoor:

In 2014, we set out to reinvent life’s most important transaction with home sellers and buyers in mind. Since then, we’ve helped thousands of people sell their homes and move in one simple, seamless transaction.

Life’s biggest milestones come with a move. Whether you’re getting married, starting a family, or taking a new job, moving is a natural step towards your dream. But it isn’t easy. Each step is more stressful than the last, and sometimes it seems like everyone but you is in control of your destiny.

Opendoor is here to change that. From selling your current home to choosing your next one, we’ve revolutionized the process to put you at the center of your move. Because we believe only one person should be in charge of how your future unfolds, and that’s you.

Visit Website

Email:

community@opendoor.com

Write Your review

Tell us how Opendoor made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Quick and easy sell. No hassle. Very responsive. Offer could have been a little higher but for the convenience of not needing to wait for a buyer, it was fair.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Buying a house from open door is pretty good. Selling your house you purchase from Opendoor they will try to rob you. I’m trying to sell my place I got from open door and they are very dishonest blood suckers. 4-8-2024
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Opendoor was fast and easy sell. We filled out info online go preliminary quote on sale, then did virtual walk thru, then someone came look at house in person. They sent us final offer and it was very close to preliminary offer. We accepted, picked closing date 2 weeks later, moved out sent in pictures, then received equity check in mail a day later! Awesome and easy process!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Open door is a damn joke. They came and appraised my house for 317000. Their initial price offer was 400200. On top of the 317000 they also said my house needed 48000 in repairs, it was completely remodeled within the last 3years. I recently (the same day as their appraiser came out) have had 3 cash offers that would give me 355000 cash with no service fees or closing as is. Opendoor is a joke and would do business with anyone else other than them
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I did a zoom walk through with Opendoor and then an inspector came out to my house and walked around with me. My house is near Tucson, AZ where tile roof homes are common. My house is 35 years old and has the original tile roof with no leaks. My whole house (2 story home) AC unit is about 14 years old and I just replaced the 2 stage motor on it 3 years ago. The AC is working perfectly as it was serviced at that time also. The offer came back to me as much lower than the current market price and then subtracting almost 40K for a new roof and AC unit. If you want to subtract that expense from a 40K higher offer that would be closer to market value, or if the offer included the replacement costs in it, it might be more reasonable but not the low offer and subtracting 40K in unnecessary replacements.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Brian, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate the ability to look into your feedback to see what opportunities we have to provide better experiences for our customers moving forward. If you have anything additional you would like to share you are welcome to email us at resolution@opendoor.com. Thanks again for your time and we wish you the absolute best with your listing experience. Respectfully, Opendoor
Posted 3 months ago
Please only use if you are desperate!! My home only needed 794.00 in repairs!! The value of my home is around 290000 the offered 255700 minus over 12000 in fees plus 794.00 in repairs which the amount would have dropped to 240000 nope that is me giving you my home for free. What is a service fee for I don’t understand that at all!!! Never see a service fee that high!! They making money from you and getting double back!! Not for me ever!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I received my final offer on February 15th and my payoff was in the bank on March 19th. My representative, Chloe, was available whenever I called or texted (or a member of her team). They worked with me to answer all of my myriad questions without making me feel like I should actually know all of this. Their price was fair to say the least, especially since the place really needed paint and some minor work. I’m not in a position to hire contractors and supervise them at my age. Then there would have been the cost of at least two or three additional months of mortgage, taxes and HOA fees, not to mention that as I approach that sale price, capital gains tax takes a big bite. So, I apologize for the long winded response, but I feel they deserve a few kudos. At 71, doing the whole fix it up, stage it, and haggle over it wasn’t going to work. And to accomplish this in a few days over a month? Unbelievable. Selling your house is a tough experience, especially if you’ve been there a while. Open door made it as easy as could be for me. Will they make a few bucks flipping it over? I hope so. I believe there’s enough to go around. I wish them continued success.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Great experience
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Opendoor provided me open chances and hope. I'm very looking forward to search variety of photos through this.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Customer service excellent easy smooth process
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Closing sounds like it will be dreadful, but this process was simple and straightforward. Thanks Opendoor
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Beware of their deceptive practice. Their preliminary offer was very attractive but then after we opened our house to show them they told us they cannot give us an offer with a reason that can be determined ahead of our showing (nothing to do with our house). It seems that they just want to come to our house to gather information for their database. Fortunately, we were alerted and refused to do the video recording(a staff came to take pictures with our guidance instead) as we are still living there. We feel lucky when compared with the suffering of so many reviewers who were actually given the final offer by Opendoor.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for providing feedback about your experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your specific experience if you are willing to share. Please email us at resolution@opendoor.com with additional details such as the property address and we will look into this further and get back to you with a response. Respectfully, Opendoor Team
Posted 3 months ago
I sold my condominium apartment to Opendoor in February 2024. It was in Brandon Mill Farms, in Sandy Springs, GA (a suburb of Atlanta). Opendoor got the job done, and I was incredibly happy with them. I had a bunch of other financial commitments lined up, and I needed a fast close with no missteps. I pressed the button on the first screen of their website on Feb 8th, accepted their final offer on Feb 13th, and closed on Feb 29th. They said they could close fast, and they did. The sale price was less than the market price, but I knew that going in. But they bought the place “as is” and they will be doing the repairs, not me. What they DIDN’T do was mess with the price after I accepted their final offer or delay things. There was a video call with their employee Tim Wiel at the start of the process. I saw Tim’s name in several reviews that I read, and I can vouch for him – the positive comments are accurate. Tim was helpful, knowledgeable, and kept his promises. Next came the in-person walk-through. It was only 15 minutes long – they took a whole bunch of pictures that they reviewed. Opendoor came back with a final offer in 1 day (less than the 3 days they said it would take). I accepted the offer, and that was the sale price at closing. Their major competitor (a company whose name also starts with “O”) had earlier given me a preliminary offer at the same price that Opendoor’s final offer ended up being at. And then this competitor wanted to send a whole team to physically inspect everything for 2 hours (seriously, their email suggested that they were going to tear the place apart looking for issues). And what do you think the outcome of that would be? I already knew this other company would screw me in their final offer. After accepting Opendoor’s final offer, everything moved to the closing attorneys and title company. The closing attorneys were like a well-oiled machine. They are the ones who have to work through a pile of documentation and legal stuff to enable the sale to close. The closing attorneys assigned a team of 3 or 4 people, each one working on my file at a different time. If I emailed them, I usually got a response in under 10 minutes. For the actual closing, I asked to have the meeting at the Haynes Bridge office instead of at headquarters. They electronically transferred my file over there, and with my phone request, the Haynes Bridge folks personally verified that they had every document the day before. Closing was a quick 45-minute meeting. I asked that they release the funds from the sale ASAP, and they did! My receiving account had the wired funds 2 hours after I left their office. My mortgage company had their payoff at around the same time. It was amazing. I had selected a late checkout, 7 days later. They kept all of their promises. One dude came to my door during that time, to take pictures of the appliances. I wasn’t dressed and didn't want him to come in. He was cool and said he would come back after my late checkout. No one else bothered me or tried to enter the apartment that I was now renting. Late checkout was all done online, with me uploading pictures. After 2 days - on a weekend nonetheless - Tim Wiel emailed me and said the entire $4,000 they held back for late checkout was being released. Working with Opendoor was such a smooth process, and every commitment they made, they honored.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Richard, First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback about your experience. It will continue to be our mission to deliver experiences like we did for you above. That mission becomes so much easier when we get feedback like this that allows us to understand what aspects of the process went well for you. Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to deliver for you! We wish you the absolute best! Opendoor team
Posted 3 months ago
Open door provided a simple and professional way of selling our home to Open Door. Even with the security deposit which was returned within 24 hours af sending final photos oh home on date of leaving home 3 days after closing
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I feel that this company wants to rip off consumers with the BS fees and repair costs. 1. A convenience fee of $14,300 is a none sense 2. The repair cost of $17,592 is insane, I feel like they want to remodel the house with me paying for it. 3. Closing cost- is buyers' resp, not sellers. Do not sell your home to companies like this.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
From start to finish the staff at Open door were professional and answered all my questions and concerns in a timely manner it was unbelievable stress free.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
They were patient and they explained things clearly to understand I give a 5 star rating
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks for spreading the word about Opendoor, Gerome, and we are happy to hear that you've had a great experience with us! We would be honored if you would like to share more of your story with us at community@opendoor.com. Have a wonderful day!
Posted 4 months ago
Customer service was top tier! They were quick to answer any questions and concerns that I had. I’m telling all of my family and friends about my experience! It was easy and stress free.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
That’s amazing to hear, Stephanie! Thank you for your kind words and for trusting Opendoor with such an important life decision. We are always excited to read such positive reviews and we would be honored if you would like to share your story with us by sending an email to community@opendoor.com.
Posted 4 months ago
I initiated contact with Opendoor in early January (around the 9th). They sent someone to confirm the square footage the next day so they could provide the quote. On Jan 17, I asked for an update on my offer. On Jan 24, I asked for another update on my offer. On Jan 25, Ashley sent me a small screen shot with very little details about my offer. I also asked that she not use my Gmail account and instead use my work email. No response. Feb 21, I get the official finalized offer. It took 6 weeks and multiple requests. I also know that MY offer was sent to OnePath realty. WHY DIDN'T YOU SEND MY OFFER TO ME? After reviewing the official offer, WHICH TOOK 6 WEEKS, they're deducting $7225 for "repair costs" but don't explain how these funds will be used. My house is immaculate and well-kept. There is nothing to repair so what is this deduction for? Opendoor is a joke. I honestly have no idea how they are in business.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, your feedback is important to us. Please reach out to resolution@opendoor.com with your name, property address, and the details of your situation, so we can look into this further.
Posted 4 months ago
I have just figured out how opendoor works. I used them in the past and was pleased with them. They gave me a good offer but then I realized that they were chipping away at the offer with work that had to be done and I had to use their contractors so they just deducted that from the offer amount. It would have cost me much less if I had done the work on my own or hired other to do it, but I was in a crunch and had to go with them. I decided to use them again since I was receiving numerous advertisement in the mail from them. I figured that since my house was only five years old and had need for very little work to improve it, they gave me a fair offer so I was going to pursue it. I scheduled the video conference with them, but I then uploaded videos of my house. It was ten minutes before I was to have the video conference with them that they called me and told me they no longer buy homes in Gated Communities that don't have a guard. My guess is that when they saw the video of my house they realized they would not make all the extra money from the purchase because there was very little work that they would have to do in the house and would not make as much money. I could be wrong but that's my guess. They knew from the very beginning that I lived in a Gated Community. Be cautious when dealing with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we want to look into the issue further. Could you please send us an email with your name, more information about your experience, and the property address to support@opendoor.com?
Posted 4 months ago
Opendoor is rated 4.4 based on 3,317 reviews