Top Villas Reviews

3.7 Rating 237 Reviews
68 %
of reviewers recommend Top Villas
3.7
Based on 237 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Read Top Villas Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01227 250053

Email:

info@thetopvillas.com

Location:

Innovation House Innovation Way Discovery Park

Write Your review

Tell us how Top Villas made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
Top Villas 1 star review on 9th May 2022
Julie
6
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We loved our stay here. The home was beautifully furnished and very clean. The resort amenities (pool, gym, restaurant etc. ) were good. Only issue was the pool was too cold. We paid for pool heating but the pool was still very cold. Nonetheless, the stay was great.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
This place was amazing. Very clean and neat. The pictures were very true and exceeded expectations. The rooms were accommodating for our family of 6. Married couple, Mother In Law and 3 children. Perfect fit and spacious. The location and surrounding property was very well kept. Secure and safe. We will definitely book again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hello, Thanks so much for your kind review, it's great to hear you enjoyed the villa and had a wonderful time. Top Villas can't wait to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Katie Plummer Guest Experience Specialist
Posted 2 years ago
Champions is a very elite community which my family and I love. To top it off top villa is a great company, which will cater to the needs of its customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi, Thank you for your kind review, it's lovely to hear such great comments about our homes and our service! We hope to welcome you back to one of our homes again very soon! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 2 years ago
Our experience booking into the Reunion Resort in Florida went very well. When we had any questions, they were answered in a timely manner. Our house was exactly as shown in the photos.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Cherie-Lynn, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we hope to host you in one of our beautiful homes again very soon! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
The villa was clean. A couple little problems were minor, the en-suite toilet paper roller was broken and the video game console in the garage was missing some wires and we had to purchase them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, Thank you very much for your review, and we wish to welcome you back to one of our homes again in the near future! I am sorry to hear that there were a couple of little problems, for future stays please do let us know so we can help get these rectified for you as soon as possible. Kind regards Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Enjoyed it very much. Minor glitches: saw a cockroach...microwave never worked called to get it fixed but never got fixed, pool maintenance man asked us once to “clean up the hose” so he could go to the next house.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, Thank you very much for your review, and we wish to welcome you back to one of our homes again in the near future! I am sorry to hear that there were minor glitches, for future stays please do let us know whilst you are there so we can help with any issues as quickly as possible. Kind regards Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Replaced kitchen sink faucet promptly as it would not completely shut off. Manager timely and professional.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, Thank you very much for your review, we hope to welcome you back to one of our beautiful homes again very soon! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Everything as advertised house was lovely
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, Thank you very much for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back to one of our beautiful homes again very soon! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
The booking experience, the villa, and the location were all fantastic. There was constant and timely communication from the moment of booking through check in. However, the property for as big as it is and the ability to accommodate as many people as advertised, there weren’t enough basic necessities such as paper towels, toilet papers, etc., for the duration of our stay. We didn’t want to make a big deal out of it so we bought some at the grocery store. Otherwise, wonderful experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Tony, Thank you very much for your kind review, it's lovely to hear such great feedback! I did just want to clarify that all our properties are self-catering vacation homes and we provide all our guests with enough basics such as toilet paper, washing-up liquid and dishwasher tablets to get started but it is then up to our guests to replenish these for the duration of their stay. We hope to welcome you back again to one of our homes in the very near future! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Straight forward booking form, all queries/questions answered within 12 hours. Ideal being able to book vehicle and park tickets through the one agency so if any problems you only need to get in touch with one place
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Jacqueline, Thank you very much for your lovely review! We hope to host you at one of our beautiful homes again very soon! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Nice place to stay. We stayed with Top Villas a couple of years ago and we like the location. It didn't seem as clean inside our condo and it was a little more run down than 2 years ago but it was a different unit. I would suggest putting at least 1 mirror in each bedroom. The bathroom rug was mildewed and needed to be washed with vinegar to get the odor out.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, Thank you for your review and thank you for booking with Top Villas for a second time! I am sorry to hear that you had some issues this time round with regards to cleanliness, I will follow up with the cleaning team responsible for this property to ensure that standards are improved for future guests. I have also sent across a personal email to you so we can see how we can make this right for you, I look forward to speaking with you further on this. Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
We had a hard time getting in the house since the door lock code wasn’t working until we call someone to come and assist us but it took time. We don’t know what exactly is the problem with the door lock because after we settled in inside the house, again the lock code wasn’t working. So, we can’t go out all of us at the same time because we can’t lock the door or else we have to wait for someone again to open it for us. It means someone should always be inside the house to open the door. I hope nobody will experience this again or even us if we plan to come and stay again. Thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Jamie, Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the door lock code. I have followed up with the on-site property manager to find out exactly what the issue was so we can be sure this will not affect future guests so thank you for raising this to us. I am pleased that overall you have given us a 4-star rating and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our beautiful homes again in the near future! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
The accommodation was good, however, the carpeting was not at all clean also the fridge ice make did not work
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Trish, Thank you for your lovely review, I do apologise that the carpets were not up to standard and that your ice machine did not work during your stay, I have fed this back to the homeowner so they can take remedial action asap. We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in one of our beautiful homes again in the near future! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
The rental was great! Very clean. The beds were very soft. One thing that could be added was a phone for local calls.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, Thank you for your kind review, I have passed your feedback onto the homeowner for their consideration. We hope to welcome you back to one of our beautiful homes again in the near future. Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Top Villas were very helpful in the initial booking. Although there was quite a long degree of silence until immediately before leaving for the US, so slightly concerned if all would be OK on arrival. Arrived late evening in darkness, difficult to access house as unlit and code on front door proved difficult. Eventually entered. Next day had to get engineer out as dish washer not working. Air Con was inefficient at night and appeared to be turned off from midnight to 7 a.m therefore too hot to sleep especially in children's rooms. Also the house could have been a lot cleaner, i.e nail clipping all around edge of bed in master bedroom etc. Only one tea cloth in entire house for 10 days, so had to use hand towels...Considering the house was advertised for 10 people, there was not enough seating in main lounge area for that number. However, all in all and despite these criticisms we had a comfortable fun Xmas holiday there and would book with top villas again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Clarissa, Thank you for your review. I had a look back through our emails and can see that my colleague Katie did email you 2-weeks prior to your stay to ensure you have everything ready for your stay and if you had any questions, we have also implemented a new process at Top Villas where one of our guest experience specialists contacts you immediately after booking to introduce themselves to you and to assure you that we will be here for you. We hope this will really improve the guest experience and the feedback we have had so far has been really positive. I do apologise about the unlit entrance upon your arrival, the lack of tea towels and that the dining table was not large enough for your group and I have sent this feedback across to the homeowner so they can address this for future guests. I am also sorry to hear about the issues you had with the cleanliness of the home, this is certainly not up to the standard we would expect for any of our homes and had you made us aware of this at the time, I can assure you that we would have sent the cleaning team back to address this for you. Despite your issues, I am so pleased to hear that you would consider booking with us again and we truly hope this is the case and we are able to welcome you back to one of our beautiful homes in the future. Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Villa was excellent very clean, spacious, well equipped and comfortable. There are a couple of points we would like to point out, although these would not stop us from rebooking with top villa/ encore resort at reunion. There was no information on how to use equipment i.e.: cooker,washing machine, dryer, etc We did work it out but would have been easier with instructions. Also we were not informed about having to go to encores reception to get a pass to be able drive into the estate. We found out after two nights of stopping at the gate and asking for entry when we was then told we needed to go to the reception. An extra sofa in the lounge area would be ideal, as when we wanted a relaxing day, only having one sofa in the lounge meant we had to choose who was going sit on the floor or a dining chair - not ideal - as there was plenty of space to have another sofa. We were only 4 adults and 1 child in our party so we don't know how families would manage if they had 8 adults the property's capacity! We had an issue with the air con and although engineers were quick to respond (we had to call them 4 times) at one point we had water leaking through the ceiling in the hall outside downstairs bedroom, in the wardrobe in the bedroom and in the downstairs bathroom, it was sorted out on the fourth call. Location was ideal for all the attractions.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Helen, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you found the villa to be clean, spacious, well-equipped, comfortable and well located. I am however sorry to hear about the issues you had with the air conditioning but I am pleased that the on-site maintenance team were able to attend to this in a timely manner. I have informed the homeowner of your feedback regarding the sofa and I hope they will consider adding an additional sofa for future guests. We will also be updating our pre-arrival Villa Information Packs to include resort-specific instructions so thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can improve our guest experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to one of our beautiful homes in the near future! Kind regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
This was the second time we booked "Top Villas". Our first experience was perfect. Our second however was the "Reunion Resort 4500" and the place was not up to par. The pictures online must be at least 5 years old as of Nov 2018. This is a very "Rented" home. When we showed pictures to Susannah at TopVillas they have given us a 10% discount and free pool heat off of our next booking. We have already booked and are excited to experience another great week in Florida. Thank you to Susannah and Christie for listening to our concerns and professionally addressing them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you faced with this property during your stay and the aftercare service you received, this is certainly not up to the standards that we adhere to here at Top Villas and I would really like to make this right. Unfortunately your original complaint was not escalated to our guest experience team and therefore this is the first I have heard about your issues, I have sent across a personal email to you and I really hope we can work together to come to a more satisfactory resolution for you. I have also sent on your feedback to the homeowner and have asked that they put in place a number of changes to prevent any of our future guests experiencing the same issues so I thank you for raising these points. I look forward to speaking with you further on this. Kind Regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Always found top villas to be very pleasant and professional to deal with. Although there was an issue with our originally booked villa, they recognised the mistake and went the extra to make sure we were happy with the outcome. Used 4 times 👍
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Gareth, Thank you very much for your very kind review. Delivering excellent service and a great product to ensure our guests return with us to book their next holiday is one of our key goals and it's so great to hear that this was your fourth booking with us. We hope to welcome you back for the fifth time in one of our beautiful homes very soon! Kind Regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Top villas were good but the villa was poor , too many things broken or not working, pool furniture was very bad I would not return to those premises Ian
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Ian, Thank you very much for your review, I am so pleased that you were happy with the service Top Villas provided you with. I am however sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the property itself and I would be grateful if you could please send me over some further details so I can investigate this fully. I look forward to hearing from you and hope we can make this right for you. Kind Regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
UPDATE: Top Villa resolved the concerns with a full refund. Thank you. This was probably the worst experience we've had at Reunion Resort. We booked a 4 night stay through thetopvillas.com (managed by Reunion Vacation Homes). The room we originally booked, the refrigerator went out at 8:30pm, so Reunion Vacation Homes moved us to another room at 9:30pm, which they called it an "upgrade". When we entered the room, there were dirty, blood stained sheets draped across the kitchen countertop. As we walled walked through the property, one of the bedrooms was not even made up. The furniture was worn, tore and in very bad condition. We contacted Reunion vacation Homes regarding the condition of the room and the blood stained sheets, they ensured us someone will be out to take care of it. At approx 11:30pm, I called them again and they asked me to toss the blood stained sheets outside of the front door for someone to pickup. The next morning we contact Reunion Vacation Homes and TopVillas informing them we will be leaving the property and would like a refund due to horrible, unsafe conditions. They explained the most they will do is refund us the first night. Which, they charged out credit card the entire stay. Never-the-less, we disputed the charge on the credit and intend to move forward with litigation if need be. BE WARE, THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT THEIR GUESTS!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Joe, Thank you for your review. I have had a look back through your case and can see that you were unhappy with the original condo that you had booked and requested to move that evening. It was therefore organised for you to move to an alternative nearby condo which had a higher nightly rate and therefore was considered an upgrade on your original property. Unfortunately as the request to move was so last minute, the pre-arrival checks had not been completed by the property management and there were a couple of issues that you found upon arrival, as this was now past 9.30pm we were unable to arrange for someone to visit the property and rectify these issues that late in evening but you were advised that someone would be visiting the property in the morning to rectify these issues. You then left the property prior to the morning visit from the property manager and requested a full refund instead. This has now been agreed with your credit card company and a full refund was given. Kind Regards, Susannah Schwenderling Guest Experience Manager
Posted 3 years ago
Top Villas is rated 3.74 based on 237 reviews