Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,671 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 123 4123

Email:

enquiries@wickes.co.uk

Location:

Wickes Building Supplies, Rhosilli Road
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 19th April 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 12th October 2023
Grace
Wickes 1 star review on 12th October 2023
Grace
Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023
Celia Stanley
194
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I went to the Derby branch recently to buy some Miniline guttering for a shed. However Wickes have now changed the products to MiniFlo and BEWARE the two are not compatible. Having bought all the bits I needed I started the job some days later. It was then that I discovered that all the parts were MiniFlo except for the guttering end stop, which was the old Miniline. I returned to Wickes (a 30 mile round trip from were I was doing the job) and found that they had both Miniline and Miniflo products mixed on the shelves. I pointed this out to the cashier who said that they keep the older stuff in case anyone still wants it. I pointed out that it was not obvious which is which and could easily be confused. They did not seem at all concerned and even charged me 29p extra for the replacement end stop!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Bought 2 trellis for my garden and they wanted to charge £30 delivery 1.5 miles.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
With a choice of kitchen suppliers, some like B&Q and Homebase and Ikea offer you the cheaper option of self assembly cabinets as well as factory assembled. BUT in spite of their higher price, Wickes kitchens are all self assembly. Should have bought the Howdens ready assembled at the same price. Also note limited space behind back panel. In fairness the buying experience went well at the showroom with helpful planning and advice. Shame that not advised of self assembly policy.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
£30 to have 7 small fence panels delivered to a pensioner less than a mile away personally I think is disgusting.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Very poor customer service Kitchen took 4 weeks to complete instead of 1 week due to their inability to design correctly and deliver the required parts
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
A recent visit to Crewe Wickes was appalling. The chap in the kitchen fitting dept was rude, uninterested and unhelpful. OK, it wasn't going to be a big order but that shouldn't make any difference. A shame, I've always liked Wickes.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Very poor service at till, bought lengths of plumbing pipe, assistant moved it all causing the pipe to fall through the gaps in the trolley, piping was all over the floor. No apology or offer of help to pick it all up. Left trying to pick it up, hold the trolley and input payment details. No please, thank you, eye contact, very offhand. Shop floor staff were fine and helpful but till service was awful.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Wickes state that “Our approved installers are experts at bringing dream kitchens to life and will take care of all the details. So all you need to do is sit back, relax and watch everything take shape”. Our experience (Wickes Southampton Extra) was the total opposite with an estimated two to three week installation taking three months to complete. This despite paying for their personal end to end service and having their ‘best fitters’. So much was wrong and I will never recommend either Wickes or their ‘approved installers’ Abercrombie Projects. The list is endless but be aware that we encountered: •Delivery delays and wrong or damaged items sent more than once. •Poor communication and friction between the planner and installers. •A change of key installer part way through leading to mistakes causing further delays when things had to be put right. •A huge snagging list and some shoddy work due to the fitters rushing when the project overran. •Forgery of a signature on the credit agreement by the installers which is inexcusable. An overall shambles, which despite a modicum of compensation leaves a very sour taste.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
under staffed and the staff that was on duty were ill or couldn't care less about their customer
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
The actual builders were very good, however we had problems with Wickes from start to finish. The designer who came out to give us our quote was sexist and to be honest quite insulting toward me as I was a woman. He wouldn't address my questions (unless it was with a patronising response) and would just address my husband. He then told us he could all be guarantee (a clever choice of words) that our bathroom would fitted before christmas. This was why we went with Wickes. After paying the full amount up front as we were told me had to, we were quickly told delivery would be min 6 weeks so there was no hope it would be done by Christmas. When we eventually got around to getting it fitted, we were told by the builder it would cost an additional £1000 (we had been told additional costs would come up but were assured by our designer it would be no more than £200). The work was then put on hold for a week (a week where we had a functioning toilet and nothing else working in our only bathroom) as the designer had ordered the wrong toilet and wrong spashboards, and the wrong measurements for the bath had been taken. It then took Wickes a further week after the work was completed to come and collect the giant pile of rubbish and rubble left in our front garden. During all this our contact at Wickes was extremely hard to get in touch with. I am not faulting the work of the external contractors who worked hard and were always professional. I will never use Wickes again.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
WICKES ON LINE - VERY POOR ordered a door, paid extra 12.95 to have delivered bet 8am and 1pm on a particular day ....( had the email confirmation) builder at the ready.... door came at 4pm!!!!!! Delivery man totally unaware that the item was supposed to arrive before 1pm and wasn't bothered anyway- very unsympathetic and non apologetic. Total waste of time and money ( still had builder to pay for!)
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
A word of warning. If you purchase a kitchen from Wickes make sure you find your own fitter. Most poor kitchen reviews are to do with with the installation.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Stock levels are hit and miss, prices are not that competitive and apart from one or two exceptions staff are not very knowledgeable. Not enough trolleys available. Rarely more than one till open and usually a queue. I have left my trolley and walked out on more than one occasion because of lack of staff and got everything I wanted at their rival round the corner. I would only us this store as a last resort. Oh and the toilets are a disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Delivery arrived during the 5 hour time slot!,apparently due to the fact that Wickes do not do their own deliveries.One kitchen unit was not present even though no delivery note was given to check of goods,whilst another unit was dropped and broken.Delivery driver was clueless as to who to contact and eventually gave me a customer enquires number.Ten minutes waiting in a queue to be told it was delivered from a local store.Rang local store who hadn't been informed of it,but told through no fault of my own I would have to spend another 5 hours awaiting further delivery.Also website given of how to track said items is none existent.Advice either pick it up yourself or encourage Wickes to invest some money and operate a decent delivery service
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Don't change your order date for kitchens - They will send half and forget the other
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I went to buy paint at Wickes in Catford on Saturday, but they did not have the colours I wanted in stock. The staff said they would get a new order on Monday, and that I should order for click and collect on Sunday. After determining that not all the colours I needed were available, I finally ordered and paid for the colours that were available on Monday morning. The payment for this order went through. 2.5 hours later I got a call from the store on my voicemail which said, "I'm calling about your order. We don't have it. Give us a call back so we can refund you." No contact number left. When I tried to call the store back, they didn't answer. I called the general customer service, and they said the could get me a call back within 3 hours. I have a tight time-frame for painting, and now have to source the paint somewhere else. It's appalling customer service. If Wickes can't guarantee that products that are bought online are available, they should not offer a click and collect service. I can't believe a company is allowed to operate like this.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I brought 10 fence panels the service was excellent but when erected the panels knots in the wood loads of them fell out I emailed them got a response and now heard nothing not good R Wilson.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Good product, fair price but let down by delivery and customer service 3 promised delivery dates no shows. No explanation. Seems they do not carry sufficient stock
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Purchased purple haze paint for the bedroom, quite pleased with the result at first then came the warm weather, my wife and son complained about a smell which they thought was cats(we have not got a cat) or possibly a gas leak. Following investigation it turned out to be the paint which gave off a foul odour when the bedroom wall got warm in the sunlight. Communicated with Wickes who said their supplier thought there was nothing with the paint, it was possibly a bacteria which was already present in the old paint, but we have never experienced this problem before.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
I've been ordering material online from Wickes for many years but lately they turn up with many items missing. You then have to chase this yourself, repeatedly - a process that can take many weeks to resolve. The customer service department just pass the buck and tell you to phone the relevant depot yourself without taking ownership of the problem. While the prices on some items may seem competitive, once you factor in the time and stress of orders not being satisfied in full you will regret not having gone elsewhere. I made the mistake of thinking it was a bad patch but even months later the orders are still not being satisfied. 'In stock' and timed deliveries mean nothing if the delivery doesn't turn up on the day.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,671 reviews