Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,682 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 123 4123

Email:

enquiries@wickes.co.uk

Location:

Wickes Building Supplies, Rhosilli Road
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
A Nightmare as soon as the new kitchen project started, missing fittings and parts, no installation kit so i had to pay out for independent fitters to work blindly and do the best they can with no instructions. I did ring up customer services the same week as the delivery as shelving weren’t delivered. I rang customer services today as I’ve come to fit them after a fairly awful 2022 and was just passed on to different departments to get rid of me. Wickes charged me £409 for a shelving unit that was just in 3 shelves, only 2 arrived with 1 damaged and both the incorrect length. Can’t be cut down because of the coating and won’t refund or replace as it was after 30 days. £6000 for a kitchen and they can’t even sort out a shelf with aftercare. I really wish I hadn’t trusted Wickes, i feel so let down. I need a new bathroom this year, i sure won’t be going to Wickes for it or anymore of my DIY projects, I will take my money elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
‘ Words fail’….
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Bought a new kitchen and bathroom with Wickes installed in June, by November the shower pump failed after two weeks new one fitted thar failed again in January.Bristan investigated and found thw wrong pump had been fitted. Customer services have now bounced us back to the Brentwood store who tell us a corrective action form has been raised but as there is a backlog no indicarion if when this will be fitted, now been nearly a month without a shower from Steve Ackerman Dagenham
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered kiln dried C16 stud timber It was unloaded under my carport with the rest of order to keep it dry. I didn't look at the timber on delivery. The next day went to use it, I don't think the King's Lynn branch know what kiln dry means it had obviously been staked out side as it was saturated. Had to use it as the carpenter was booke hope it dries out ok have to wat before it's cladded. This is the first problem with Wick's alway delivered OK before
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We had a bathroom fitted with wickes in July 2021. Ever since we’ve had non stop issues with the toilet blocking. We had an independent plumber come out a few times to unblock it however in November we called them back out again however this time it did not work and instead the pressure of plunger burst the pipe causing water to pour through ceiling into our brand new kitchen (fitted in 2022). 
The plumber put his camera down into the pipe to view the problem and find out why it wouldn’t unblock. The problem was waste had built up at the end of the pipe over the year as the waste pipe had zero gradient so waste did not run down the pipe after flushing. He could tell us this was the problem within two minutes of looking at the pipe.

We’ve contacted wickes to resolve the issue the same day on 4th November 2022. We were told they’d contact the installation customer care team and get back to us. We got a one sentence forwarded reply. ‘Nothing we can do’.

After chasing this for a while to understand how they could make this decision without actually speaking to us directly, we got a forwarded reply stating as they did not fit the waste pipe it was not their problem. 

Three reasons why this is very much wickes problem:

1. We never had an issue with the pipe prior to our new bathroom being installed. Our new toilet sits lower than our previous one therefore this change in pipe gradient even if small should have been known to ‘expert’ installers (especially given a plumber noticed it in 2 mins and the installers were here for 2 weeks)

2. Wickes states on their website ‘wickes approved installers are on hand to ensure all the technical aspects of your project are fully considered and discussed’ ALL and FULLY. This INCLUDES the waste pipe which no they did not install but yes they make changes to and connected one of their products to as part of installation. They state themselves they have the expertise which should allow them point out if by fitting the toilet it would cause issues later due to lack of gradient in pipe. No reasonable consumer would know this to point it out to an installer. If we did we’d all be installing bathrooms ourselves. 

3. The Consumer Rights Act applies to services, including bathroom installation. It says a trader must perform the service with reasonable care and skill. With bathroom installation consumers rely on traders (e.g. wickes) and their installers skill and expertise to advise that the installation will work as expected. Fitting a product you supplied knowing full well it won’t function as expected long term because you’ve failed to provide crucial advice about the fitting is mis-selling plain and simple, whether the problem is with the product you supplied or what you connected it to. 

We rang customer services in December to challenge the lack of satisfactory response. They asked us to email them videos the plumber had taken from inside the pipe and they’d look into and get back to us (we spoke to Dalton). 1 month later no response.

After month of waiting we rang to make a complaint and said the words ‘I would like to make a complaint’. No complaint logged. Promised a response by the Friday 20th January, no response. 

Good news is 3 months has passed on Monday and I get to contact the ombudsmen instead, hopefully they actually care about people, because wickes don’t.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Really Poor Service Wickes provide - unfortunately we are doing our Kitchen & Bathroom from them and receiving very poor service from them. This whole week nobody did any work because plumber was not available. Gas hob is not working from 2 weeks as today gas engineer was not able to fix it because of missing as delivery parts.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutley TERRIBLE aftersales service they constantly lie time after time. Done by emal and they take days to reply they are the WORST building trade co ever to deal with.ignore the store team which are good.its the idiots in aftersales that are complete t...s never never again AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS.the reviews say it all. david p barratt.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Worse company ever!!! Customer service poor! Their fitters work is shoddy! Bitterly regret using Wickes. Avoid at all costs!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We went had wickes come out to design our bathroom, the lady we dealt with only showed us the most expensive items, didn't want to talk about the cheap items, we then did our own research and found items cheaper so we went back to her and manage to get our quote down by 3000 to just over 5000 for a shower toilet sink fully tiled and a towel radiator. We were given info about the fitter coming round and she told us we have to pay the fitter for any extra work or specialist work required. She did a quote for this as we wanted the ceiling plastered and she quote £345. The fitter came a few days later and he went through everything with us and we received his quote, we had already paid 5400 and he is quoting us 2700!! Once we went through the quote we found out the 5400 only included tiling fitting the shower tray and sink and toilet . We assumed it was to fit everything but apparently a shower is a specialist job and all the aqua boarding is a specialist job. We have been completely mis-sold. I am disgusted by wickes!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
You think you’re going with them so you won’t be left in the lurch, so that if anything goes wrong, your two year warranty will protect you. That’s not that case. This company is useless. The fitter said he was plastering, plaster boarded and painted the plasterboard and then tried to lie his way out of it. Cracks in non-waterproof plasterboard everywhere now and apparently that’s something I have to deal with with the fitter.
Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 4th January 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Designed to our specifications so very happy with that. Phil ( Martlesham branch fitter ) did an excellent job, even though we had a delay due to him breaking his arm. We are more than happy with the finished bathroom. We had items delivered that we didn't use and returned to the store and got immediate refund. Also anything charged for on original quote that didn't need doing was also refunded. Had our kitchen from Wicks 4 years ago and that was also a happy experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Design kitchen order. Sent an integrated dishwasher front instead of cupboard door. By the time kitchen fitted outside 30 day refund/exchange policy. Contacted customer services and admitted was a wickes error but due to the 30 day policy nothing they could do (they said I should have checked through order earlier) I am now left a cupboard door short and wickes said not their problem. Awful customer and after sales service
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dont buy or install from Wickes (Baguely) showroom, they see wrong product which breaks down just after the warranty period and then wickes says they cant help, close tgeir door and ask me to deal with product suppliers **dont buy from wickes**
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Order number: 228876 Sent this to Wickes complaints and got zero back obviously! We recently purchased a complete bathroom suite which has been installed by our own team. First issue was that the parts came from 3 different sources expected on the same day but actually arrived days later with no notification. This caused the fitting team issues which meant further delays. However, although the design was good, when ordering the wall panels the designer automatically added aluminium trim which was inappropriate for the small pipe work sections that needed to be boxed in. Having spent over £450 on parts that were unopened and unused as they were impractical. (Internal & external board joints) We were then told they are non-returnable as they were special order. Never shown the parts in question in store otherwise we would have had them removed from the order. Yes, we were talked through the terms of the purchase but it was not explained that these items were not returnable as they were special order. Boards obviously but trim, really? They were just picked off a shelf in a warehouse, not made to measure. To add insult to injury, the shower door is so flimsy and leaks due to inadequate plastic seals which we have had to retro fit to cure the problem. Not what you would expect from a unit costing £300+ which is of poor quality and a better unit costs a lot less from a bespoke bathroom company. We are not expecting any recourse to our complaint, a sensible reply would be a surprise but just wanted to point out that we find your T&Cs and prices unacceptable. Even the departments manager’s reaction to our questions was disappointing, apparently it’s all out fault for signing the contract. Might have to find out if that is the case in a small claims court. In conclusion, we feel it necessary to point out that we will not be using Wickes for any anything with our other properties and have instructed our builders/maintenance teams that Wickes receipts will not be recompensed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Do not buy a Wickes kitchen under any circumstances. I made the mistake of recommending them to my mum. The kitchen is not finished after 9 months. She is 87, visually impaired and grieving after the death of my step-dad. She had to downsize and ordered a Wickes kitchen. The work is not completed and the tiling is substandard. Customer service have been grossly unhelpful. After months of trying to get an installation manager out to resolve the issue, I've had to go to the furniture ombudsman to try to resolve it. Still Wickes will not deal with it. My poor mum is in a bad state of anxiety with it all as am I. It's an ongoing nightmare.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOIDAVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOIDAVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOIDAVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My number one go to on my way to work when I only want to stop once. Good levels of stock and always priced competitively. I've tried all the competition and I stick with Wickes Chatham.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Do not purchase Wickes’s bathroom installation service; you overpay and do not get the quality workmanship that you are promised. It’s been 1.5 weeks since we had our bathroom installed and the finish is terrible. We also had electrical work carried out by a non certified person and our toilet was leaking and still no sign of anyone attending to check that the water isn’t now seeping through our floorboards. Whilst Customer Relations keep in contact, they don’t get back to you as quickly as you’d expect. And they call serious issues “minor” even when you’ve provided several images and information that proves otherwise. The Salespeople in Store are fantastic and offer an excellent design service, and they truly are let down by the awful service afterwards. Avoid the bathroom installation service, instead go for someone independent who takes pride in their work and relies on word of mouth for business.
Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022 Wickes 1 star review on 4th December 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Design and installation was good but after that nothing was good. Take your design plans elsewhere for a decent job
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had a bathroom, ensuite shower room and downstairs cloakroom installed by Wickes a year ago. Despite chaos in the delivery and many delays in the installation I was pleased with the work. I have since had issues with the bath and the plug mechanism no longer works. Although a replacement part was delivered within a week I have now waited four months and still no one has come to do the repair. I have phoned countless times and no one ever gets back to me. A month ago I contacted the salesman. He said procedures had changed and i sent a photo and he completed the necessary form and said I would hear within a few days. Nothing yet.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,682 reviews