American Eagle Outfitters Reviews

3.64 Rating 28 Reviews
64% of reviewers recommend American Eagle Outfitters
589 Review Views (past 24 hours)
11PM - 1AM
22 Review Views
1AM - 3AM
75 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
58 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
73 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
40 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
39 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
42 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
36 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
39 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
42 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
79 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
44 Review Views
11PM
11PM
Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how American Eagle Outfitters made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Postal Service
delivery methods
Greater than 91%
on-time delivery
Customer Service
Live Chat, Telephone
communication channels
"horrible shipping skills"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Are you American Eagle Outfitters? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"I love this store. The clothes are so so cute at amazing prices. There very size inclusive. I am generally tall and have very long legs so being able to get talls is a life saver. Over all 10/10 recommend this brand"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I have been shopping at American eagle for 5 years now and NEVER had a bad experience. 10/10 would recommend"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
"I bought a pair of jeans in store and they had a great fit, great length, great rise and I will buy many more pairs from the store! The quality is really nice and they are pretty well priced jeans. I got the Next Level Jeggings in the colour Starburst Blue and they were a little lighter in store than online but overall I love the jeans so much! I’m 5”11 and I weigh 140 lbs, I ordered the size 4 X Long and they were perfect!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Yup... pretty unhappy. Free return label was great but I was just told at LEASt two weeks for credit or exchange. And another two weeks after that for possible replacement. Poor Service. I will never online order from them again!!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"My first time ordering items from them. I ordered because of a 10 for $35 sale. I ordered multiple sizes/styles because I didn't know how they would fit. I had to exchange some of them because of style/fit. I tried going to my local AE to exchange them but no local stores carry the items. I was forced to return them through the mail. Most online retailers wave the return shipping fee when doing an exchange... but not AE. I paid the shipping anyway. The sale price was refunded and the pairs for the exchange were charged at FULL price (they were included in the sale at the time of purchase and exchange)! This is a bad business practice, not only does the customer have to pay for shipping both directions but then to not exchange the item, but refund and charge the replacements at full price. Never again will I shop here!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I was in store 134/Moorestown Mall and has the best experience with two employees- Morgan (keyholder) and Olivia (sales associate). I was taking a break from shopping for my last gift for the holidays and found a sweater that I fell in love with, thanks to Morgan. Olivia helped me in the fitting area and as she was showing me some other items, led me to the socks which turned out to be the absolutely perfect gift for that last person on my list! It was only by interacting with me and listening to me that Olivia knew what I needed. AE should be proud to have these two women representing their brand. I walked out with a huge smile on my face and, trust me, I was definitely not smiling when I walked in! Thank you, American Eagle, Morgan and Olivia!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I was recently in the Erie store and I had the absolutely best experience. A girl named kaitlyn helped me find a ton of Christmas gifts for my grand children! She even convinced me to try on some things for myself! She made me show her what I looked like in the outfits she choose and I have never felt to confident in myself after trying on clothes or after Christmas gift shopping. She was absolutely amazing and made me feel so much better about myself!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"Everyone was really nice and I was able to get everything I wanted without any argument or rude employees, it was great!"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I order all the time from American Eagle, for myself and my kids. Usually have a great experience. This time I had a gift card to use on myself, I ordered 2 pair of jeans. First pair came quickly in the mail and fit perfect when I tryed them on and I put them in the wash to wear the next day. When I wore them I noticed the inseam looked like it was about to pull apart. But Ok, it happens. Few days later the next pair comes....Wrong size and has a security tag on it. When I called they told my I would have to wait two weeks for a refund on the gift card and then reorder online. They don't sell my size in store. They offered me no compensation for the inconvenience. So I'm out the money and have no Pants. Ugg. So Disheartening."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"AE canceled my order without notice but took my money almost immediately. This is the second time it has happened and I am very angry about it. After taking the time to shop online and process the order they just say "hey the items are not in stock any more". Horrible experience the first time as it took two very angry phone calls for them to release the funds on my account. I can only imagine how things are going to go this time. I am canceling my AE account as soon as my money is released."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
"I ordered 3 t shirts and 1 pair of leggings from American Eagle. I was SO excited for them to arrive at my house. Once, I got them I was even happier!! I love their soft t shirts and the chill leggings were so comfy and soft! I love shopping here and love seeing the ads from American Eagle and all the diversity with their models."
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
"I just ordered some of the most comfortable and stylish bathing suits online. The fit on both were amazing!! They are lined and of great quality!!"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"I ordered 16 items and 2 arrived in tact. The company ignored my questions, provided no help in locating the items, and have been cold and unhelpful. I have photographic evidence of my torn up and poorly sealed packaging, plus correspondence with the shipping company, FedEx. Still, American Eagle Outfitters have been completely unhelpful, if not downright rude."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"I phoned the Metrotown AE and Aerie shop to discuss return options after having little success with the AE live chat option on their website and phoning the central AE line. Becks answered the phone even before the store was opened (I am sure she was busy preparing the floor for the day and so appreciate that someone answered the phone). She explained to me that I could make returns and exchanges for online purchases in the store. Becks even took time to search the store for the items I requested. I went to the Metrotown location today (June 30, 2018) and successfully exchanged items I had ordered online. They did not have the exact items I hoped for in the store but Becks was most expertise and helpful at connecting me with the items I hoped for. There were some complications with the system but she stayed calm, friendly and professional the whole time. Becks is the best! I had such a lovely experience and will certainly be going to the Metrotown (Burnaby, Canada) AE soon! Thanks Becks!"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"Bought bright blue jeggings last week. I love American Eagle jeans because they have sizes that can fit anyone. I am very short and they seem to be the only reasonably priced jean that fits my needs."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"I experience the worst customer service. I order a pair of pants . They cancel order after they taken my money. Stated a hold was on my account they release the hold. Then they resend the item after taking more money out of my account . After I ask when will I be refund they told my 14 days. That BS it took 14 sec to take my money but it take 14 day to get it back . I spend so much money with these guys In store and online. Me and my family. I will never shop with you guys again . And I will advise my family and friend to never buy anything else from you . Customer service is very important."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Didn't notify me about hidden import fees and was even forced to pay fees on those fees. 18 pounds in fees on a 40 pound order. Items arrived opened with price tags ripped out and customer service was basically "welp, sorry but that's how it is""
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
"Offered free shipping on orders over £50 to UK then been sent invoice for vat and shipping. Lots of international customers had same experience. It is against the law in UK to deceive customers in this way. American Eagle should be ashamed of their criminal activities."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
"Sadly, American Eagles clothing quality has diminished. I recently bought a swimming costume and two pairs of shoes from AE. The swimming costume sizes run WAY too small for the size allocation and the quality is thin and cheap! the hem lining on the bottom kept flipping inside out. It felt like it was going to fall apart. It's a shame because their designs are gorgeous - its just SO POORLY MADE. The same goes for the shoes. The shoes run a size smaller. I'm a 7.5. and I ordered an 8 to be sure and my toes were hanging off the edge. Not only that, the width band on leather shoes is so wide your foot barely touches the leather. But then ankle strap is really tight. so you end up with this weird skinny ankle flappy body. I'm only writing this review so AE can read it. They used to have excellent quality stuff. If you've changed your manufacturer - it's killing your business. I won't be going back sadly. I am not the only one who has had similar experiences. BUT the caveat - was your staff on Hollywood and Highland store were really lovely and understanding."
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
American Eagle Outfitters is rated 3.64 based on 28 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on +1 213-325-5109 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support