Lidl UK Reviews

2.7 Rating 598 Reviews
39 %
of reviewers recommend Lidl UK
2.7
Based on 598 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.7 out of 5
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Lidl UK made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Lidl UK 1 star review on 27th April 2024
Falco
Lidl UK 1 star review on 16th February 2024
Anonymous
Lidl UK 1 star review on 22nd December 2022
Natalie Harris
Lidl UK 1 star review on 22nd December 2022
Natalie Harris
Lidl UK 1 star review on 22nd December 2022
Natalie Harris
Lidl UK 1 star review on 5th November 2022
--
Lidl UK 1 star review on 5th November 2022
--
28
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
It was my first time at that local branch in Great Yarmouth as I never been in there. I found goods with brilliant price and I liked the fresh bakery. Sone products cost higher than other budget shop. And I was disappointed when at till I was charge a lot. Being curious I checked the receipt and unfortunately I was charge extra £9. And it would be OK if the cashier had apppologised, however they, cashier and the other one who came to do return, were acting like it was me who making discomfort for them. I don't know why this treatment to customer who makes a profits for their employer and secure their job?! Also, I have not got a receipt on refund. I think I should had received it in my hands as I got my refund onto my bank account.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I would like you to know, what an excellent assistant youhave. "ILLY" is always so helpful, & goes above & beyond what one would expect to assist when asked for help. Please give her the praise she deserves.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I bought what was supposed to be your sourdough bloomer... What rubbish! It was just like any old bloomer.. The texture wasn't there and not a hint of vinegar.. I usually buy from sainsburys.. There's is excellent Yes I was dissatisfied and won't bother again
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Unfortunately I have been driven away from my local Lidl at 3 Bellenden Rd, London SE15 5BA because of the constant security staff harassment. They should not be allowed to deal with the general public as they treat customers like criminals for no reason rather than their personal anger issues and a chip on their shoulders. Disgraceful.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Lady at Stamford store helped us today with the offers on our phone We bought garden vac
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
On Thursday, August 24th, 2023, my friends and I ventured to the Lidi store situated in Foleshill, Coventry. The initial purpose of our visit was a simple one: to procure some flowers. However, as is often the case during such shopping endeavors, our intentions evolved, leading us to gather an assortment of additional household items along the way. Our journey culminated at the self-checkout counter, where we finalised our acquisitions. While my companion only possessed the flowers, I took the initiative to cover their cost as well. Subsequent to our payment, we exited the store. Yet, unexpectedly, an employee from Lidl, tasked with supervising the self-checkout area, hastened outside and directly approached me. In a tone that was both strident and confrontational, he levelled an accusation against me, asserting that I had neglected to pay for the flowers. Caught off guard by this unanticipated confrontation, a sense of overwhelm and anxiety enveloped me due to the intensity of his approach. In an endeavour to address the situation with composure, I sought to elucidate that I had indeed settled the bill for all of our items, including the flowers. Regrettably, the employee persisted in asserting that I had to return and submit payment anew for the flowers. His insistence was accompanied by an unyielding and authoritative demeanour that only served to exacerbate my sense of unease. Confronted by this distressing scenario, I requested the presence of a manager in the hopes of facilitating a more reasoned and equitable discourse. The response I received from the employee when I requested to speak with a manager was astonishing. He dismissively instructed me to "go home," effectively negating my plea for managerial intervention. Despite my astonishment and disbelief at his demeanour, I persevered and insisted on engaging a manager. Eventually, a manager named Kyle (although I admit my recollection of the name might be tainted by the extreme stress of the situation) emerged on the scene. In the presence of the manager, I recounted the entire sequence of events, offering a detailed account of how things had unfolded. Fortunately, a security personnel had been present throughout the ordeal, displaying remarkable kindness and professionalism. In fact, it was this security personnel who had initiated contact with the manager by pressing an alert button in response to the developing circumstances. Subsequently, the manager scrutinised the receipt and corroborated my assertion that I had indeed paid for the flowers. I requested that the Lidi employee apologise in the presence of the manager. His response was an intense glare; his anger palpable. He refrained from offering an apology.. When I pointed out that his demeanour was inappropriate given the context, he responded that his anger hadn't even been fully evident yet. The manager, the security guard, and my friend bore witness to this exchange. The Lidi employee also indicated that he would refuse future service if I were to return. I questioned the manager about addressing this behaviour, and he assured me that it would be dealt with, though not on the shop floor. This entire incident was undeniably traumatic. The employee was of European descent and relatively new to the area, as my friend lives nearby and frequents this local shopping establishment. While this ordeal left me shaken and distressed, the involvement of the security personnel and subsequent intervention by the manager contributed to alleviating some of the tension. The incident underscored the significance of effective communication and empathy in customer interactions. It also highlighted the importance of maintaining a respectful and understanding demeanour, particularly when addressing misunderstandings and discrepancies. Please note that the retelling of these events is based on the provided information and may not be entirely precise in terms of names and specific details due to the narrator's heightened emotional state at the time of the incident.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Went shopping in Bexhill branch. Did not have my usual 10 packs of large eggs in plastic - replaced with 12 pack in plastic. Each CUSTOMER ALLOWED TWO PACKS so took two. At till told each pack was in fact two six packs - but sold as one unit - and I could only have one ! Cashier very aggressive “ only doing my job” and other customers joined in - egg shortage, being selfish , leave some for others etc. So instead of saying go and exchange for 12 packs which I needed as I had visitors for weekend, left store and shopping behind. Do not sell two products which are joined together as one
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I have shopped at Lidl and enjoyed their products, but unfortunately the recent revelations about the barbaric way they treat their chickens has completely ruined my trust of their products and I cannot return. I have therefore swapped to a store who values humane practices over greed.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Goods sold past there sell by date , spent time going through this with customer service then asked barcode ,batch number,date of purchase etc finally asked to send picture of item and showing best before date and till ticket after all this I gave up Will not shop At lidl again
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Lidl Lighthouse Bay 2 Breaded Cod Fillets 300g. Disgusting! I would not give this to a dog! Grey colour foul tasting broke into bit when in the pan. Straight into the bin. Thought I would give this a try. Big mistake ! Should not be on sale. It tastes like poison! Not worth even one star!!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I have noticed within the last 2 years prices are creeping up, I went shopping 2 weeks ago and realised prices have gone up again. I tend to buy the same items each time to notice the price change. I’m now getting money off offers 10% or 15% off here or there but think they’re pulling the wool over their loyal customers by upping the price & then offering special offerers!! We are NOT stupid. If it was not for their loyal customers who shop there every week the supermarket would never had thrived like it does today!! I hope the rest of the public agree. I certainly feel deceived by Lidl who advertise on their lowest price guaranteed-NOT!!
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Bought two packs of Birchwood lamb chops assuming by large signs promoting Red Tractor Assurance etc., that they were British.. WRONG. When I went to use them noticed in small print Australian, Union Jack on packaging with only 3 stars, so tbh looked at the Union Jack. I was tired, just out of hospital and rushing. I will not buy meat with bad welfare standards such as US and Australian, Six emails later, Lidl have wiped their hands of me, Last time I shop there plus will make sure I make family, friends, and fb aware. WHY do they need to import meat into Britain when our own farmers are struggling.....
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Lidl advertises that their fruit and vegetables are always fresh! And that they’ve been voted best supermarket for fresh food?! Who gives these guys the awards? Not me ! This week I went to my local store in Hackney to get some avocados that were on offer. Well I picked one up , it was too soft! The next one I picked up was literally mush ! And the next and next all the same ! So where’s the fresh veg ? These were fit only for the bin ! And the staff couldn’t take them off the shelves, because they’re too busy on the checkout or too busy filling the shelves! And 2 weeks ago when it was hot, on the 24/06/23 I bought 2 boxes of chicken breast fillets, to make chicken shish on the following day . When I opened both boxes the fillets were mixed freshness inside 3 out of 6 fillets were literally off pale and slimy whilst the remaining were fresh?! Obviously the supplying company is mixing fresh and old chicken fillets or worse ? I threw them all away ! And couldn’t be bothered to contact their customer support! Because frankly this has happened a lot to me previously! Even the smoked salmon quality has changed to an inferior mushy soft consistency. I know because I had been buying it every week for 20 years. Lidl quality and freshness is none existent ! Only in the advertising as far as I’m concerned. I recommend you always smell the chicken. And not just go by the dates ! As the ones I bought still had 4 days to go
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Always used to do my shopping in Lidl Wallacy, a cashier named Sarah is so rude and unpolite, will never go back, just because of that arrogant attitude.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Lidl in Lydney opened to great interest. In such a small town with the choice of Tesco and the co-op Lidl was a refreshing offering now just nearly over a year since opening the place is always empty. Shelves are empty and I can't remember the last time I saw a pack of eggs in there. By the early evening the bakery looks like a dumping ground for cardboard recycling. I'm sorry to say I think it's time to take your shopping back to Tesco! There isn't even the option of the Co-op anymore as Lidl finished them in the town good and proper with the only option to go to the petrol station. Not what I have come to expect from Lidl after shopping with them for over 10 years.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Lidl has got unfair parking policy where the shoppers can shop with peace. We were sent £170 PCN due to visit that retail park area twice in an hour time. Note that the parking company could not provide any evidences that where we parked our car so as per their claim, we should be paying as we went there twice not because of over staying. They could not even confirm who were the drivers in the car. We reached out to lidl to get their support but we were refused to provide anything as per them, the parking area is owned by some other landlords so they cannot intervene. I'm a bluebadge holder but nothing matters to them.Guys, be aware of this unfair policy of them as you never know when you get a parking fine like this which is absolutely unfair. It is rather better not to shop like these type of supermarkets so we can avoid these type of unfair PCN.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Petis Pois and Ham fresh soup fabulous, thick and tasty. Fresh classic Chicken soup, thin watery and tasteless!
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Racism, On 25th May, I spent £45.71 at Lidl Wembley, just to realise that the transaction was being filmed, without my consent or knowledge. When I wrote to them, they basically accused me of stealing, without any evidence to back this up. I have copied, our emails exchange for you to judge. The only reason, for this disrespectful behaviour is linked in my opinion to my skin colour. Am I the only black person being discriminated against by Lidl Wembley? Unfortunately I can’t paste their rude, offensive and insensitive response.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Customer Service Contact form approach and CHAT is not functioning, doesn't seem to understood when a postcode is entered therefore cannot actually submit the form, hence reviewing on wider forum. Hi Bought tub of egg mayonnaise sandwich filler. Often there's perhaps a couple of small shards of egg shell in the mix with is hardly noticable when bitten into. This purchase however was riddled with large pieces of shell, stuck to large pieces of egg. When eaten, all you could feel is crack and crunch and sticking into your mouth., Most unpleasant. Wanted to advise them so they could consider dealing with this quality issue with their manufacturer. To be honest the quality, recently, of Lidl's fresh and chilled food products has been poor.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Yeah hello . I bought some t bone steak from Lidl cooked it to medium. It was tough has Charlie chaplins old boots . never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Lidl UK is rated 2.7 based on 598 reviews