ALEKO Products Reviews

3.97 Rating 2,521 Reviews
73% of reviewers recommend ALEKO Products

About ALEKO Products: ALEKO Products was established in 2005, as a small family owned business, located in Seattle, Washington. From that time, our store has gradually grown and has now newly expanded to Canada. It is an easy, one stop shop to access all of our unique varieties of products.

Visit Website
Are you a business owner?
Click Here

Write Your review

Tell us how ALEKO Products made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Courier, Postal Service
average delivery time
Within 5 Days
on-time delivery
Greater than 62%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 75%
Customer Service
communication channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
2.51 out of 5
"Obviously my complaint was not even read.I have called that number you supplied, I have emailedThat address you supplied.I am done it dozens of times.As I wrote this is been going on for monthsI've connected and reconnectVariousPlugs. I have video tape, I have sent photos, I've been on the phone for hours and hours and hours.And by not being clear? I don't want to speak to anyone anymore I want you to take your product backAnd return my money simple as that."
Helpful Report
Visit Website
"Gate opener - It hasn't worked since I opened it. I have spent hours and hours on the phone, emails, video taping and taking photos and they can't fix it. They have replaced parts a few times. It's taken months. I do not want to spend anymore time on this but it is past the refund date. (I had it unopened during a reno for a few months). Now I am stuck either eating the money spent or continuing wasting my time connecting and disconnecting, trying and waiting. I'm exhausted and I can't get a response from supervisor or anyone. Ugh!!!"
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review
Im sorry, you have experienced product issue. I understand its so frustrating when something doesn't go the way we expect it. Please call our technical support team at (253)246-8222 ext 3 or send an email to tech@alekoproducts.com and we will be glad to do as much as possible to resolve this issue. Is there anything else I can do for you?
ALEKO
"I bought a 10 Ft motorized awning. very happy it looks and operates great. Only draw back were the directions for assembly of the motor. Thankfully I was able to find a video on the motor assembly on line. not a job for the amateur."
2 Helpful Report
Thank you for your review.

Im glad you are happy with your order. It is awesome you found out how to assemble the motor .
Thank you for doing business with us!

ALEKO
"Get MORE sales help!!! I have been on hold now for more than 25 minutes trying to add something to my order! Very frustrating. Also, website has too many pop ups. I can not figure out how to get the "reviews" pop up out of the way so I can see the site more clearly."
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review.

Im sorry you had to go thru some frustration with your order. Please try calling one more time to our customer service team at (253)246-8222 or send an email to sales@alekoproducts.com and we will be glad to assist you ! Sorry once again for long wait times on the phone.
Thank you

ALEKO
"Do you have a inflatable personal trainer costume for adults only in stock today."
Helpful Report
Thank you for contacting ALEKO

Yes, we do have an inflatable personal trainer costume for adults available in the store for pickup.

Thank you

ALEKO
"The item was sold as Free Shipping, however, due to the size of the item, a shipping company was contracted to deliver. The shipping company required 3 people to be at the house to unload from the truck or they would charge us to bring enough people to unload it. Also, they could not specify a 2 hour window (said sometime between 8 and 5) so if we did get the people, everyone would have had to be at the house waiting all day. Then because we could not get someone at the house for a week, they would have charged us a holding fee. I contacted Aleko about the issue and they said WE would need to work it out with the shipping company. To avoid the hassle, my husband ended up taking a trailer to the shipping company and picking up the item by himself. This reflects poorly on Aleko and I would have thought they would have researched who they contract shipping with if they advertise free shipping. We are currently in the process of putting the gazebo together and so far, it seems to be a well made product."
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review
Im sorry, you have experienced service issue. It is very sad to hear shipping company is treating their customers like that. We will work on this issue with them. Is there anything else I can do for you?
ALEKO
"I purchased a new gate opener and it failed after just three weeks. I have been communicating with them for almost another three weeks and still do have the repair part. Aleko even wants me to be their mechanic and tear my brand new sliding gate opener apart to replace the part which is VERY excessive. I will never buy another gate opener from Aleko again."
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review
Im sorry, you have experienced product issue. Please call our customer service team at (253)246-8222 and we will be glad to help you. Sometimes some product replacements take a little longer than usual, but we still help our customers with everything possible.Is there anything else I can do for you?
ALEKO
"Hey nice site. You seem like a hard working company, Im sure you do well. What if you had even more sales or customers, would you be able to keep up? We direct people that are interested in your products / services to you. Discover how we can increase the visitors to your business: https://roiconsumer.icu/up?=reviews.io Allison 361 Southwest Drive Suite #731 Jonesboro, AR 72401 Not the right commercial message for you? All good, we don’t' want to bother you, please opt out here: https:/roiconsumer.icu/unsubscribe.php?site=reviews.io"
Helpful Report
Thank you for contacting ALEKO.
We will keep in mind info you have provided.
Thank you

ALEKO
"This is the worst company I have every ordered from. After screwing me on my product for months and them saying they sent. Has anyone ever talk to a manager??? They are always in meeting or on vacation. I will let MasterCard deal with them at this point as the are misleading me and purposely screwing me at this point. I would say to never order from them."
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review
Im sorry, you have experienced product or service issue. Please call our customer service team at (253)246-8222 and we will be glad to help you. Managers are available for help also. Is there anything else I can do for you?
ALEKO
"Had everything I was looking for. Maria had great customer service, answered all my questions."
3 Helpful Report
Thank you for your review.
Im happy our customer service team could help you with your issue. Thank you for doing business with us.
ALEKO
"I have called on 2 occasions for customer service. 1st time it took 45 min of people transferring me and I finally gave up. Today I've been on line for 40 min. Someone answered after 12 min and said they would transfer me to the right person and I'm still on hold. I hear the phone click several times. I feel they are hoping i will just hang up."
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review.
Im sorry you have experienced some service difficulties. Is there anything we can do to change your experience to more positive?
ALEKO
"I ordered 4 items and when I received my order this item, the wireless gate opener for gate opener was damaged in my package. Another item I ordered was missing so after the difficult time I had with customer service I decided to just return my entire order for a refund. I had obviously choose the wrong company to order from. I was told I had to pay return shipping even though I was missing one item and another item was damaged. Both of these items were needed to make my gate work. They did not offer to replace these items, they wanted me to ship them back and pay $62.00 and let them know when I shipped them. I can see they received my return on 3/28/19 and it has now been 10 business days and I have still not been issued my refund. I have contacted customer service twice now since they have received my return asking about my refund. I do not recommend dealing with this company"
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review.
Im sorry you have experienced some product and service difficulties. Is there anything we can do to change your experience to more positive? I would love to help you with an issue you have.
ALEKO
"Worst customer service ever. No one answers the phone, no one responds to an email, no one responds to a chat. If you call you are on hold for 5-10 minutes and the line goes dead. Worst company ever. Highly recommend all consumers avoid this company or be prepared for radio silence."
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review.
Im sorry you have experienced service difficulties. Is there anything we can do to change your experience to more positive? I would love to help you with what you need.

ALEKO
"Elena is very friendly helpful, patient, we are very happy with the service, we strongly recommend this store to all my family and friends."
4 Helpful Report
Thank you for your review.
I am so glad you are happy with your order and our team ! We are doing as much as possible to have our customers satisfied . Thank you for doing business with us!

ALEKO
"We ordered an Aleko barrel sauna roofing kit online. When we received it there weren't any installation instructions or screws to install it. The worst part is we didn't receive enough shingles to complete the job. We watched an Aleko video online on how to install the roof and it showed where to start on the sauna so that's where we started and ran out of shingles. We had to go to our local Lowe's and purchase additional shingles that weren't the same color or pattern. If you purchase the roof kit you will need to start much higher up on the sauna than what the video shows. I emailed Aleko twice asking for installation instructions and recommendations on what type of screws or nails we should use and never received a response. Their customer service needs a lot of work."
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review
Im sorry, you have experienced product issue. Please call our customer service team at (253)246-8222 and we will be glad to help you. Is there anything else I can do for you?
ALEKO
"You look like a solid company based on your site, I assume you do well. Do you have the infrastructure/sales/support in place to handle considerably more sales? We find people that are interested in your niche and send them to you. Discover how we can send you more potential leads: https://roipatron.icu/up?=reviews.io Savannah Choice Traffic 361 Southwest Drive Suite #731 Jonesboro, AR 72401 Not the right marketing message for you? If not, please opt out here: https://roipatron.icu/unsubscribe.php?site=reviews.io"
Helpful Report
Thank you
"Awful experience would never buy anything from them again. Awful install instructions. The key pad instructions were missing and not in the box which created multiple days of delay. Called to get key pad instructions and it was as if i were speaking to a 4 year old child. Very noisy background and I am pretty sure I heard a baby crying as well. The agent acted as if i was putting them out by asking for the instructions. It took multiple calls to get a manual that should be online and it doesn't even tell you how to mount it. When i told the customer service agent it wasn't what i needed she was totally disgusted and said i'll pass you to technical support and immediately transferred me without discussion. Still on hold while I write this review so I may never get what I need. This is an onshore US service desk and I've talked to the worst service desks out of India and had better results. What a joke!!!"
Helpful Report
Thank you for your review.
Im sorry you have experienced some product and service difficulties. Is there anything we can do to change your experience to more positive?
ALEKO
"I placed the order on the phone with a very pleasant customer service woman. The transaction was quick and efficient. Emails kept me up to date during the shipping process. I received my awning on the date promised."
2 Helpful Report
Thank you for your review.
I am so glad you are happy with your order ! We are doing as much as possible to have our customers satisfied . Thank you for doing business with us!

ALEKO
"I would not trust them to even get the product to you. I have been waiting now over 30+ days now and it still hasn't shipped. Never again"
1 Helpful Report
Thank you for your review
Im sorry, you have experienced product delays. Please call our customer service team at (253)246-8222 and we will be glad to help you. Is there anything else I can do for you?
ALEKO
"Unfortunately there is nothing lower than a one star, if there was I would’ve chosen that. I ordered an awning online and it said 2 to 3 day delivery I paid in full and then got an email 10 days later saying that my item was on back order for three months. Customer service was absolutely horrible they lied to me, and sent Me multiple emails with conflicting stories as to what why and how my product was not delivered. I canceled my order and probably will have to wait 2 to 3 months for my money to be returned. Do not buy anything from this company."
1 Helpful Report
Thank you for your review.
Im sorry you have experienced some product and service difficulties. Refunds after cancellations are issued right away and take up to 5 business days to show on a customer's card.
Is there anything we can do to change your experience to more positive?
ALEKO
ALEKO Products is rated 3.97 based on 2,521 reviews