Auto Europe Reviews

1.16 Rating 95 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Auto Europe
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read Auto Europe Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 358 1229

Location:

39 Commercial St., Portland United States

Write Your review

Tell us how Auto Europe made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We made a booking for Enterprise for Catania airport on 20th Oct but on arriving there found that the queue was for over three hours. As we had to pick up children from a tour we had no other option but to book with another hire company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I had to pay £105 for what I had already booked and paid for. Just of the plane middle of the night I was conned
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
My experience was terrible. I booked a car online and paid. When I went to collect the car I was told that I needed a credit card. I hadn't been aware of this as I've never rented a car before. I believe that this should be made clear at the time of payment in red/bold print! As a consequence I was stranded - without no transport. I had to wait hours for a bus at the airport that, in turn, took hours to get me to my destination. And so, completely ruining my arrangements and trip! Customer service were very uncaring - I should have read the terms and conditions was all they said. The credit card is referred to here, but in very small print and easily missed, especially if you are in a rush booking. I'll never use auto Europe again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The price of our hire car trebbled on arrival due to the insistence that we take our their 'super insurance' because they would not accept American express, or cash, or visa debit for the security deposit. After a very frustrating exchange i was referred to (i kid you not!) page 6 of the contractual small print, stating that a visa or mastercard credit card in the name of the main driver would be required on collection. Complete dismissal from the staff 'well sir, it's all there in your contract. You should have read it in a bit more detail...' hopefully the generation of the google review will kill off companies like this. Desperately frustrating. Felt like if it hadnt been this there would have been some other sham too....
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The price of our hire car trebbled on arrival due to the insistence that we take our their 'super insurance' because they would not accept American express, or cash, or visa debit for the security deposit. After a very frustrating exchange i was referred to (i kid you not!) page 6 of the contractual small print, stating that a visa or mastercard credit card in the name of the main driver would be required on collection. Complete dismissal from the staff 'well sir, it's all there in your contract. You should have read it in a bit more detail...' hopefully the generation of the google review will kill off companies like this. Desperately frustrating. Felt like if it hadnt been this there would have been some other scam too....
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I was refused a rental by EuropCar booked through AutoEurope. EuropCar were awful but that is a separate issue. AutoEurope were not willing or able to assist me at all when contacted by phone, they just directed me to an online customer service form, which is only manned during the week. As it was a weekend, I had no option but to use another provider (Avis by the way, who provided me with a car absolutely no problems and pleasant service as always). I've attempted resolve the issue several times, but AutoEurope don't respond to their customer service forms. I've had to resort to a credit card dispute in order to recover my money.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The worst expierence ever! The agent cancelled the booking without my knowledge delayed by 4 hours while rebook again! Then delayed again as confirmation to a car agency took 4 hours! Why there is no straight system to resend the bookings? Don't book it if you want to have a nice holidays!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
THIEVES!! PLEASE DO YOUR HOMEWORK! The internet is full of customers who have been ripped off. Use this broker and it will ruin your holiday, trust me. Or just read about them on the many review sites. https://www.theguardian.com/money/2017/sep/27/autoeurope-car-hire-customers-turned-away
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
2 companies I strongly warn everyone from using: Firstly the broker Autoeurope, then the car rental company they work with, Firefly. These 2 cowboy outfits are working together to defraud you. The internet is full of customers from all over the world who have had EXACTLY the same experience as I have. I didn't do my homework before and that's why I'm warning you. At the time of booking, I wanted to go with a reputable car rental company but Autoeurope steered me towards Firefly. Firefly is famous for not returning deposits. Now I see that the internet is full of people from all over the world who have had this exact same crime done to them and this collaboration has been going on for years. A lot of people are taking legal action against Autoeurope and Firefly and I hope they succeed. I'd be happy to join a class action against them. If you have the misfortune of renting a car through this broker and/or car rental company, make sure you read the contract carefully before signing it. In my case, I was already fully-covered and told them clearly I did not want any extras and they still managed to snuck in additional insurance. When I got home and saw that Firefly hadn't refunded my deposit, I spent weeks dealing with Autoeurope's disgraceful customer service. I am extremely well-travelled but this has got to be my worst experience ever. Not a nice feeling to deal with scrupless thieves like these.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
2 companies I strongly warn everyone from using: Firstly the broker Autoeurope, then the car rental company they work with, Firefly. These 2 cowboy outfits are working together to defraud you. The internet is full of customers from all over the world who have had EXACTLY the same experience as I have. I didn't do my homework before and that's why I'm warning you. At the time of booking, I wanted to go with a reputable car rental company but Autoeurope steered me towards Firefly. Firefly is famous for not returning deposits. Now I see that the internet is full of people from all over the world who have had this exact same crime done to them and this collaboration has been going on for years. A lot of people are taking legal action against Autoeurope and Firefly and I hope they succeed. I'd be happy to join a class action against them. If you have the misfortune of renting a car through this broker and/or car rental company, make sure you read the contract carefully before signing it. In my case, I was already fully-covered and told them clearly I did not want any extras and they still managed to snuck in additional insurance. When I got home and saw that Firefly hadn't refunded my deposit, I spent weeks dealing with Autoeurope's disgraceful customer service. I am extremely well-travelled but this has got to be my worst experience ever. Not a nice feeling to deal with scrupless thieves like these.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We reserved a vehicle for 3rd September from Kefalonia. Our flight from Gatwick left on time but many passengers were delayed checking their hold luggage in as bag drop belt was not working. Chaos rained and bags were not checked in. We were a day late arriving. Sorry the deal is we must have 48 hrs notice says auto Europe. This major incident at Easy Jet north terminal bag drop happened for hours with no warning. Auto Europe do not consider care for customers. They have our £244 and hired a car in Kefalonia. They have not responded to my complaint. Liz Mount. Never ever use auto europe
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I did the reservation of my car for a family vacation with Auto Europe. Auto Europe sent me a Voucher / a contract, in which all the conditions of this rental were set. Thus Auto Europe is my contact company, my addressee in this matter. Maggiore is one partner company of Auto Europe for Italy, and they should have provided me the reserved car (I already had paid the car rental costs at Auto Europe). But when I wanted to pick up the reserved car in Milano, I was told by he staff of Maggiore that that car was not available. That is, in my point of view, a breach of contract. By not providing me the car that I had reserved, Maggiore broke my existing reservation! The staff in Maggiore then told me that he could give me a similar car. In any case, standard practice in such a situation is that the company will offer a similar car for the same price to the client. Because it is only the company's fault, if the pledged car is not available. It is not the client's fault. Maggiore then forced me to sign a new document (contratto) and to take the other car. The staff of Maggiore lied to me by telling me that I would get a "similar" car. He did not tell me that that car would come at a higher price. So when I thought about the standard practice in such a situation and the staff told me about a "similar car", I automatically assumed that that replacement car would come at the same price as the pledged car. The document that I signed was in Italian language. I don't understand Italian, and the staff of Maggiore refused to explain to me the content of the document. He only marked the places in the document where I had to sign. I signed everything, because of the reasons explained above ("standard practice"), and because other people were already waiting there and complaining that my transaction took too much time. When I returned the car 9 days later, I was shocked to learn that the car company asked me to pay additional car rental costs! It turned out that they had not given a "similar" car to me, but a slightly "better" car, and they wanted additional money from me. Even though I protested against this, they later withdrew the additional costs from my credit card. I then wrote 4 e-Mails to Auto Europe, explaining the matter to them, and asking them to refund me the amount that was deducted from my credit card for the use of the replacement car. But Auto Europe just ignored my e-mails, they did not reply to me anymore! After this bad experience, I will never book a car through Auto Europe anymore ...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We wanted to change the airport pickup, and they refused to help us. Told us we would have to do a new booking or go direct to Sixt to see if they could amend booking. Sixt were happy to change our airport pickup but could not get authority from Autoeurope. We ended having to book a whole new car rental. So we paid over £120 for a car that we didn’t use. When we got back to the Uk we requested a refund. Even a partial refund would have left me happy, however Bruno Goncalves the supervisor was completely rude, showed no empathy, didn’t explain things properly, there were long silences and a lot of one word replied without giving me the full picture. He also refused to do any kind of a refund. Based on this experience I would never ever use this company again. Considering I travel over five times a year and hire cars that’s a loss of around £500 for your company. Hope it was worth it because for the sake of a £50 refund you could have kept the business. Clearly Bruno has NO commercial acumen.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Took £71.50 from us for a 6 day car hire but didn't notify us at any point during the booking that we'd need to provide a credit card to secure a £1500 bond. We had an email a few days before we travelled demanding this credit card information. When we rang them to discuss alternative arrangements to secure the bond as we don't have a credit card they said they didn't change any & we couldn't have the car hire without it. I politely requested my money back as I had paid for a service I now could not use, and was told they would not refund any money. Just quoted terms & conditions at us. We won't get this money back. Please don't be conned by them as we have been.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Voucher UK 4945484. Please, keep away from Auto Europe! I made an online reservation for a car rental at Auto Europe and received a confirmation that the pick-up time at Bucharest Airport is 28.09.2019. When I arrived there on time, the seller refused to give the car for two reasons: 1. My age is 70 years. He claimed that the maximum age for renting a car is 69 years, but nothing was written about this on the website. In addition, when booking, I had to fill out personal details, where I honestly mentioned my age. Then no one objected to give me the car. On the contrary, payment was successful and a voucher was sent to me. If there really is an age limit, why doesn't Auto Europe warn his potential customers about it and take the money without any doubt? Is that honest? Isn't that a hoax? 2. My driver’s license - the seller claimed that he could not see if I had driving experience or not, as it was issued in 2018. What is he talking about? Any document has two dates: the date of issue and the expiration date, it does not matter, a passport, driver’s license or any other document. If Auto Europe needs, in addition to the license, a document confirming that I am an experienced driver, Auto Europe must announce this in advance, and not at the moment when the client arrives for the car. In the past, we contacted different companies, and we were never asked for anything like that. Even now, after such a disappointing experience with Auto Europe, we immediately went to another agency and got a car without any problems, so I believe that requirements are either completely wrong or employees have no idea what to check and their demand only proves their low professional qualifications. In conclusion, we expected that Auto Europe will fully refund the money that we paid for the car that we never received, and we believe that we also deserve some compensation for moral damage (two elderly people unexpectedly and without any reason were left without a prepaid car, lost a lot of time not to mention nerves) and also for a surcharge of another 150 euros to rent a car just on the spot at the airport. Although we got refund for the car, we didn’t got any compensation. I will never rent a car in AUTO EUROPE in the future, that’s not how vacation suppose to begin. Auto Europe is disaster.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Voucher UK 4945484. Please, keep away from Auto Europe! I made an online reservation for a car rental at Auto Europe and received a confirmation that the pick-up time at Bucharest Airport is 28.09.2019. When I arrived there on time, the seller refused to give the car for two reasons: 1. My age is 70 years. He claimed that the maximum age for renting a car is 69 years, but nothing was written about this on the website. In addition, when booking, I had to fill out personal details, where I honestly mentioned my age. Then no one objected to give me the car. On the contrary, payment was successful and a voucher was sent to me. If there really is an age limit, why doesn't Auto Europe warn his potential customers about it and take the money without any doubt? Is that honest? Isn't that a hoax? 2. My driver’s license - the seller claimed that he could not see if I had driving experience or not, as it was issued in 2018. What is he talking about? Any document has two dates: the date of issue and the expiration date, it does not matter, a passport, driver’s license or any other document. If Auto Europe needs, in addition to the license, a document confirming that I am an experienced driver, Auto Europe must announce this in advance, and not at the moment when the client arrives for the car. In the past, we contacted different companies, and we were never asked for anything like that. Even now, after such a disappointing experience with Auto Europe, we immediately went to another agency and got a car without any problems, so I believe that requirements are either completely wrong or employees have no idea what to check and their demand only proves their low professional qualifications. In conclusion, we expected that Auto Europe will fully refund the money that we paid for the car that we never received, and we believe that we also deserve some compensation for moral damage (two elderly people unexpectedly and without any reason were left without a prepaid car, lost a lot of time not to mention nerves) and also for a surcharge of another 150 euros to rent a car just on the spot at the airport. Although we got refund for the car, we didn’t got any compensation. I will never rent a car in AUTO EUROPE in the future, that’s not how vacation suppose to begin. Auto Europe is disaster.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Voucher UK 4945484. Please, keep away from Auto Europe! I made an online reservation for a car rental at Auto Europe and received a confirmation that the pick-up time at Bucharest Airport is 28.09.2019. When I arrived there on time, the seller refused to give the car for two reasons: 1. My age is 70 years. He claimed that the maximum age for renting a car is 69 years, but nothing was written about this on the website. In addition, when booking, I had to fill out personal details, where I honestly mentioned my age. Then no one objected to give me the car. On the contrary, payment was successful and a voucher was sent to me. If there really is an age limit, why doesn't Auto Europe warn his potential customers about it and take the money without any doubt? Is that honest? Isn't that a hoax? 2. My driver’s license - the seller claimed that he could not see if I had driving experience or not, as it was issued in 2018. What is he talking about? Any document has two dates: the date of issue and the expiration date, it does not matter, a passport, driver’s license or any other document. If Auto Europe needs, in addition to the license, a document confirming that I am an experienced driver, Auto Europe must announce this in advance, and not at the moment when the client arrives for the car. In the past, we contacted different companies, and we were never asked for anything like that. Even now, after such a disappointing experience with Auto Europe, we immediately went to another agency and got a car without any problems, so I believe that requirements are either completely wrong or employees have no idea what to check and their demand only proves their low professional qualifications. In conclusion, we expected that Auto Europe will fully refund the money that we paid for the car that we never received, and we believe that we also deserve some compensation for moral damage (two elderly people unexpectedly and without any reason were left without a prepaid car, lost a lot of time not to mention nerves) and also for a surcharge of another 150 euros to rent a car just on the spot at the airport. Although we got refund for the car, we didn’t got any compensation. I will never rent a car in AUTO EUROPE in the future, that’s not how vacation suppose to begin. Auto Europe is disaster.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I’m posting here so other potential clients can see this. I’m currently dealing with auto Europe car rental for my rental whilst in Croatia. I made my reservation and paid in full weeks prior to my trip, I got to Zagreb at 745 August 30th, Gave my voucher to the car rental place noted on my voucher ( avant car). They told me they have no affiliation with auto Europe and that I have to pay for insurance through avant car ( which comes included with auto Europe) PLUS I had to pay for the car rental through avant car which means I’ve paid in full to auto Europe and now another full payment to avant car, plus deposits and insurance. They told me I would not receive my rental unless I did everything through avant car. I called auto Europe’s wonderful 24/7 hotline to rectify this, alas no answer, and was left with only 1 option, renting from avant car. I’m now seeking for a refund and will post back here with an update as soon as they email me. Terrible experience so far. Absolute scam, no trust no security for their clients.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Let 's simply call it 'small print fraud'. When you book at X amount, the moment you fetch the car, be prepared to pay 2x or 3x as much : additionial SERVICE COST, AIRPORT TAX, NON-REFUNDABLE FUEL COST. Trust me on this one, I'm a hard-core traveller, visited over 50 countries, rented cars everywhere, in pretty extreme conditions, and -with some minor variations - car rental conditions are everywhere somewhat the same and are reasonably clear & predictable. This however is a pure fraud, full of hidden costs based on dubious small print conditions. It's totally dishonest. I'm genuinely disgusted.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I booked a full insurance for my car rental in Croatia and returned it with some minor scratches that happened on a crowded parking lot. No third parties involved. Upon returning the tha car I had to pay 400€ upfront and asked what I needed to provide to receive my reimbursement. I was given paperwork to send to autoeurope and was assured I would promptly get reimbursed. 1 month later I get an email stating I would not get reimbursed because I didn't provide a police report. A police report for minor scratches caused only by myself? Never heard of this. Besides that none of their customer service agents told me this neither in country when I asked not on the phone. This is total scam. Don't use them...first it's cheap and after it ends up being the most expensive rental. Besides the fact that they rented us a low quality car with low tire pressure and that the pick up point was very hard to find at the airport.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Auto Europe is rated 1.16 based on 95 reviews