Virgin Media Reviews

1.17 Rating 1,400 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.16 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have been with VM for 6 years but the last year has been an absolute ordeal and I just cannot say how much I would recommend you stay away. Not only has our bill ramped up drastically (+£15/month), but our network has also been cutting off on a weekly, if not daily, basis. We have sometimes been cut off for entire days, without notice or indication of when it will be looked into. We both work from home and we just can't afford such high unreliability. On top of all of this, customer service, despite being very polite and trying their best, have just been incredibly unhelpful. Every time I have been in touch with VM's customer service, whether to get a better rate (seeing new customers pay half our monthly bill annoyed me slightly) or to actually get an engineer to fix a network issue, they have been very slow and never provided a real solution. Anecdotally, they also effectively blackmailed us into closing a complaint so we could get an engineer appointment, after months of issues and 3 previous engineers visits leading nowhere. Again, nothing to do with the individual employees, they have all been lovely, but VM as a company deprioritise loyal customers and does not care which level of service they actually provide. The company is frankly morally bankrupt. After much consideration, we are switching supplier because even if it is (very slightly) slower and if you don't care about ethics, we just really need more affordable and reliable internet. For all of these reasons, I just wouldn't recommend VM to anyone, really. I just don't see how.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I was a virgin customer for 5 years, I couldn't believe it when they charged me £180.00 cancellation fee as the only reason I had to cancel the contract was because they were unable to supply my new flat in north London. As the new flat is only 1 mile from my old flat it didn't even cross my mind they would be unable to supply it. Absolutely awful company avoid at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Disgusted. Held on line for 41 minutes, told them I wanted to leave and they hung up on me. Could not get through again. Probably recognised my number. Shocking customer service for a customer of nearly 10 years.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Dibolical mobile network service , half time people can’t even call me been a loyal customer for over 7 years but not anymore, enough of this trash . Switching to 02 network see how it goes but never il recommend virgin mobile ever again. So don’t waste ur time
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hopeless and can't think outside the box for any issues. They caused me many headaches when cancelling the service as they knew i was leaving for Australia and kept causing human error issues.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely terrible service! Ordered Internet. And instead of them doing their work, they just ask customers to go to every neighbour and collect private information, like mobile numbers, emails for them to contact neighbours if they agree them to do the work. That is ridiculous! Send letters to neighbours, send agent to talk to neighbours, maybe prepare some offers for them too! BS...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
These guys do not listen to the field guys when there is an issue and have no duty manager who will talk to you, time to leave as 1 star is not what I would give after 3 months of issues
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Unless you want to waste hours on end on the phone line to customer service, then get disconnected and then repeating the same process by calling through then waiting for customer service. DO NOT BOTHER WITH VIRGIN. The absolute worst company ever.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
HORRENDOUS. Avoid at all costs. They are impossible to contact - you have to wait on hold for a minimum of 30 minutes if you need to contact them for anything (renewals, service issues, complaints etc) BEWARE, they will take advantage and exploit you. I renewed my contract after being told that I could transfer my package to my new address if I moved home. I'm finally buying my first home, only to find out they can't supply that area, therefore I must pay around £248 to terminate the contract. I explicitly told them not to cancel and to just provide services to the area, but they force your hand and blame you for breaking the agreement, even though it is THE COMPANY who can't hold up their end of the deal. Furthermore, the wifi box is not reliable, so I submitted a report about that, only to be told that they won't do anything about it as I will be leaving my home in 6 weeks, so now I am a fully paying customer who will not receive any help. All this, during a pandemic and a housing crisis. Truly vile company, don't be fooled as I was, stick with BT! They DON'T charge you if they can't supply an area and actually have decent contact forms.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Bad service all the time and rip people of off not registered with ombudsman stay well clear getting worse month by month
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
If I had known, I would never have used Virgin Media. The TV package stopped working every few weeks. I had to spend several hours on the phone talking to people who didn't know how to fix the problem and didn't seem to care either. Virgin failed to solve the problem and so I wanted to leave. I then had to go through a lengthy process to leave and get back the refund I was due. Virgin made this as difficult as possible, insisting that they could not transfer the balance back into my account and sending the refund BY CHEQUE six weeks after my account was closed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
They try to stick you with an 18 month contract when moving homes against your consent! Either gross incompetence or borderline fraudulent intentions: I was set up with an 18 month contract (and at a high price at that) which I never agreed to. The movers team agent confirmed I would be on a monthly rolling setup. I was also promised to have access to new customer discounts for a new contract after the move, which I didn't have access to, because all teams refused to honour the promise and would refuse ownership of a resolution. Instead I was in a catch 22 situation transferred between teams. I took 4 hours of phone calls to find out nobody would own a solution and I closed my account. Never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Been with Virgin almost 5 years and recently I am appalled at their service, internet constantly going off. Rang them 8 times in one day and in the end decided to leave virgin. Once I mentioned I was leaving they offered an engineer yet in the 8 calls I made they said I didn’t need one. They are shocking. Put me through the disconnection dept and kept cutting my call off. They tried to scare me by saying when I find another provider there will be a fee of £140 by the new provider!!!!! I’d rather give it to them than spend another penny on virgin.I reviewed other people’s views and everyone is saying the same that they are terrible. Never ever will I use them again. Can’t wait until I’m rid of them. Next time Richard Branson how’s I to space they need to keep him there. If anyone is planning on going with virgin, please think twice.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
You should put a zero as start because virgin media doesn’t deserve 1 I had the worst experience in my life with this company I am normally calm in nature but why I call them my blood pressure goes up to the roof I must admit they are able to make me upset and angry no matter how I try to stay calm if they will be the only internet provide I will prefer to stay with out a d save my heart
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
They don't make money providing internet service. They make money on circumstantial uncertainty of customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We have been having major issues with virgin media and we called them and the first advisor said that after she checked our account and said that we have had lots of major problems with our service from them and said that we have been paying to much for our services over for years and said that we could have a new deal we would be paying less and have a booster and then my husband went on the phone and talked to her and then she put it on hold and then it went very quiet so my husband put the phone down and called again and it started again and he changed what the previous advisor said and kept pushing us to get rid of certain things on our virgin media contract and and then mentioned about the booster and after explaining about the how the booster works and when my husband said that we don't have virgin media mobile phones and we do not use mobile phones that way and my husband mentioned that we have contract mobile phones the advisor said that was our choice and eventually they said that they would get someone from the sales team is going to call us the account is under Mr Ian Harrison
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Appalling. Called to say I was leaving on a specific date and was cut off early. Every time I contacted customer services, I was misdirected and / or cut off. The complaints procedure is a joke and a thoroughly unpleasant experience all round. I will certainly not be returning, nor would I encourage anyone else to sign up with VM.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
i tried to get to my mobile acount, and the virgin media website would not accept my proper name, pasword, postcode or not robot tick picture malarky, cant even get into my acount! try to get forgot your pass and email? not happening. Just wait till my contract ends, i'm off.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have just left Virgin media after being with there company since telewest days , They knew I was leaving on the 14 th of this month and have taken the full price for a moth and now think I should wait 45 days for them to refund what they have stolen from my acount , Do your self a big favour and find another broadband suppier , There service is without a doubt the worst in the uk
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Terrible customer service. OK until something goes wrong and you're left waiting on a call or online chat for hours with no resolution. In my experience their advice is contradictory as i was told one thing and then after being on a call for over 2 hours was told something completely different. Completely unhelpful and a huge waste of time. Submitting a complaint about begin kept waiting for hours at a time also gets you nowhere as their only resolution they offer is that internal feedback will be provided. Infuriating is an understatement. Avoid at all costs!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.17 based on 1,400 reviews