Virgin Media Reviews

1.16 Rating 1,444 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.16 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Extremely unreliable
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Misleading sales people and incompitant after sales. Before you reach your 14 day cooling off period call them to test out the service and staff attitude. I got off twice and ended up on the phone for over an hour just to cancel a contract. Dismal company unmotivated staff.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Virgin media Ireland is such a big lier and scammer. Selling phone online that's not available. Sending a fake DPD tracking number pretending that the item is on the way and lying about next day delivery. Avoid engaging this company unless you want to become victim like me. Until now I'm still waiting for the refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
They have the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Sold me a mobile product that didn't work, charged me for it anyway. Promised to credit me three times but never did. Finally credited me then a week later accused me of under paying and sent me a late payment notice then double charged me on next bill. One of the opperaters called me stupid because my phone didn't work but it was there puk codes that were wrong. A total and utter farce in every way. They should send Branson to space and leave him there...
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Abysmal. Tried to change provider and got conned into another contract by customer service (!) saying I had 30 days to decide wether to leave or not. Found a good deal and called them to cancel. Apparently it’s only 14 days and I was 2 days late. They wanted to charge me £240 to leave contract. When I told them about conversation I had with one of their reps I was told it hadn’t been noted therefore would not stand by it. Been customer for 10 years and a lousy 2 days was enough for them to con me out of £240. Do not use!! Now stuck in another 18 month contract with these charlatans. Internet connection dreadful and customer service is so poor. Cannot understand a single word they’re saying and when you ask to repeat they hang up!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Appalling customer service, lost phone lines 4 times in 2 weeks. Sat in queues for 20-40 mins waiting to speak to someone. When you do speak to someone, they say they have checked line and ok, then cut you off. Somone did come to box a couple of times, and tried to fix but would only last for 3 days. Eventually had to go to another supplier. Now charging me 3 months cancellation, even though I told them. Hold your telephone number to ranson. Do not use and if you are with them I recommend getting out as soon as possible.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Have been a virgin customer now for 3 days but have delayed activating my router as I was told by the salesman they would not start direct debit until it was activated.i cancelled my sky for jan 1st and wanted to activate broadband for same time but received an email saying they taking payment start of December.tried with chat system was on hold for 1st night for 30-40 mins then spoke with 3 agents then got cut off. 2nd night been holding now for 1 hour 45mins . The customer service is the worst I e experienced I’m shocked. Would not recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Appalling customer service. The installation date changed by them 3 times which left us with no broadband, phone or TV for 53 days. No customer care, help or support. Apparently we don't qualify for compensation. Most appauling company and service we have ever had- Please avoid this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Switched to Virgin Media Business from another supplier. To date it's been 11 days of having a partial connection (For reasons unknown, no one in our office can connect to any Google domains). So far we've had one engineer visit ("It's a network issue"), countless emails, calls and let-downs on the Virgin side. They promise to call me back, but don't, and I haven't actually had a response to an email, ever. So 11 days later our staff still have to work from home, and the call-centre just tell me that someone will look at it (but they can't tell me when). The worst start, and zero confidence that they will actually correct it. I wish I had read the reviews prior to signing up with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
9 months to cancel a Virgin line and no refund It took 9 months and CEDR to cancel my contract with Virgin who paid £250 compensation but refused to refund the 9 months of charges: - I had a land line with Virgin Media (023 80 487592) for many years but moved 6/1/21 to an area that Virgin did nor service so wanted to cancel my service. I tried to do this using the online system but it did not support cancellation. I tried using the online chat function but they kept me waiting until I lost the will to live. I emailed Virgin who insisted that I phone their retention team. I tried to phone the retention team and sat in a phone queue until my patience was exhausted. I lodged a complaint through the Virgin Complaints process and asked to be contacted by email. Virgin phoned me while I was driving and left a message asking me to call them. I tried and sat in another phone queue for a while. I kept emailing with no success so took the case to CEDR (meanwhile, Virgin were still debiting the monthly bills for as service that I was not receiving). I received an offer from Virgin as follows:- "£250.00 compensation, as a gesture of goodwill....Cancel your services free of charge. Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused as a result of the delay in cancelling your services". It was now 29/7/21 so I reluctantly accepted expecting the money to be credited to my account. Nothing happened so I followed up and Virgin told me that it was company policy to only offer refunds by cheque. I eventually received a cheque for £250 but Virgin were still debiting my account £25.85 per month. I received approximately 10 calls from the Virgin Retention team asking if there was anything they could do to retain my business. My account was cancelled in Sept but my money was not refunded and Virgin does not accept complaints from cancelled accounts so I went back to CEDR and raised a further complaint. Virgin challenged this under CEDR terms and conditions saying that a complaint cannot be accepted if it relates to a previous complaint. I responded saying that Virgin had failed to properly deal with the previous complaint but CEDR upheld Virgin's position. I shall also be lodging a complaint against CEDR.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
just been upgraded from Paul Evans at Virgin Media absolute pleasure to deal with and top class customer service, credit to your business. Hope this Lad gets some recognition for this review
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely abysmal service. Without working Internet for a week. No help from customer service other than an automated response with some tips to try (non even remotely helpful) finally got a customer service rep, explained that I lost an entire week of earnings as I'm self employed working on zoom. Told a repair person would be in the next day between 12 and 4. Never turns up, no call or text to tell us. Wasted our whole day and now face an other week of losses if the problem isn't resolved
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Have had issues with VM for a few weeks. Engineer came out and found loose connection to tv in the outside boxes. Then had to have boxes moved as incoming cables way too short and were surface mounted on top of our front drive. Engineer who was supposed to do the work last Saturday. Said" He was not allocated enough time to do the above work" 🤷‍♂️ Rescheduled work for this Tuesday. Arrived gave plenty assurance of his quality of work. At the end. I asked him to straighten up box in my front room as was more like the leaning tower of Piza. Engineer never tested my phone lines obviously. Went to make a phone call last night. Phone DEAD. Called out VM today via online. Excellent service 👌 Ashley a service engineer found out that. Previous engineer had not even wired up our phone. Very impressed with Ashley 👍👍 Jason. Please make sure you talk the talk. Thanks VM for sorting out issues even though was your fault. We had no broadband for 4 days but no compensation offered. Anyway until the next time 🙄🤔😂👌
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely pathetic Internet service, constantly goes down, customer service are a shambles, if you are thinking of getting virgin Internet I strongly advise you to rethink and choose another provider
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Impossible to get any results when you phone their customer service if you have an issue such as mine where I could not work from home most days for over 3 weeks. I pay 62 pounds a month but kept going round in circles each time I spoke to anyone. I was often promised a manager would phone me or that I would be sent a transcript of my call but nothing. And many times I was sent a text that the issue in the area was fixed and planned to work from home only to find I then had to go into the office. Virgin could not care less. I would not recommend them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Worst customer service ever experienced, when they say they will contact back, they never do. I’ve even spoken senior members of staff and they didn’t bother calling but and didn’t resolve my problems.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Shocking quality on WiFi , they should be shut down, they don't care
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Never ever ever get virgin media it is the WORST broadband provider I have ever had in my life. I pay for wifi that only works in one room and cuts out every 2 mins. God forbid you try to call customer service for help as that is a huge waste of time and they are totally useless. They lie to you to get you to shut up and force you to continue paying for a service that doesn’t work at all. AND they charge you ridiculous amounts of money if you try to cancel. Avoid virgin media at ALL COSTS. It is absolutely 100% a scam
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Moving house: we are moving to a street where only half is covered by virgin ( so it is not the middle of nowhere and ‘unserviceable’). As with many below, we are being charged a large disconnection fee of £240 as we can not, through any fault of our own, transfer to virgin. We have no option but to change, we should not be penalised just because they don’t won’t to run their cable for another 500 metres. We will not be paying.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Tried calling Virgin Media before we left our last address that we were moving and that they must cancel the contract. Because I did not pass their security questions, the operator I dealt with refused to accept the fact that we were moving, or to activate any closure of the contract. Since then they have harassed me with threatening emails (threatening to damage my credit rating) over "unpaid" bills, finally calling me at work and wasting a lot of work time. BE WARNED: DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH THIS COMPANY - THEY ARE POISON
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.16 based on 1,444 reviews