Virgin Media Reviews

1.2 Rating 1,778 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
1.2
Based on 1,778 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.2 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Virgin Media 1 star review on 11th November 2022
Folayo Aina
Virgin Media 1 star review on 28th October 2022
Dave
Virgin Media 1 star review on 28th October 2022
Dave
Virgin Media 1 star review on 23rd October 2022
Mark R
Virgin Media 1 star review on 15th September 2022
Anonymous
Virgin Media 1 star review on 15th September 2022
Anonymous
Virgin Media 1 star review on 15th September 2022
Anonymous
9
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Was a customer for a long time. Found the service to be reliable in that time. Switched to BT because Virgin would not do a package without TV and it was too expensive. They still charged me after my cancellation date. They explained this by saying they bill in advance and the bill was generated before the disconnection date. I was not warned of this when I went through the cancellation process. They then expected me to wait 40 days to receive a refund by cheque. I complained and was instructed to raise an indemnity claim with my bank. Apparently it is completely impossible to refund me themselves. My advice to anyone leaving Virgin is to cancel your Direct debit as soon as you have paid your final bill as they will absolutely continue to charge you.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 hours ago
Absolutely terrible customer service. Staff were rude and refused to accept that their engineer failed to arrive saying that was "impossible". The guy basically said that I was lying. Can't wait for my contract to expire so I can leave.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
The Virgin Trap 2 years ago during lockdown we tried to cancel our virgin, we had issues ongoing since the install 2 years prior, after promises and lies, we had enough, we spoke to a chap called Keith, who at the time was working from home (mobile) as most of us were back then, he promised to change our wifi to a more powerful one, and send us out two boosters, from the two main problematic rooms, once the engineer arrived, we soon realised that these promises were Virgin Lies. After months of calls and emails, we started to realise that we were not going to get anywhere, and were told, they don’t give boosters and that we had made this up, and Virgin lied its way out, at this point, we were out of our cooling off, and Virgin Trapped!! Fast forward to 2 weeks ago, after what seemed like a lifetime of rubbish internet, we called again to cancel, This time a chap called Bill gave us all the promises, he advised us to take small business internet, and that this would GUARANTEE us cover the whole house and in EVERY ROOM GARENTEED, it’s a different router and he guaranteed us that we will never call them again with issues (we have this recorded this time, you can trap us once Virgin, but we won’t be trapped twice) Bill even goes on to say, you even get a £100 back if this isn’t the case…. All recorded Virgin. So yesterday the engineer came, a nice chap called Sam, who tells us, he isn’t sure why but the wifi isn’t working in every room (shock horror) he was shocked to hear, that we were given a guarantee but not to worry, as all we need is two booster (arh the old booster promise) we explain that we had been promised these before, he told us that he wasn’t sure what had happened in the past, but this time he was writing up an essay for our case, and we would defiantly get these boosters, We explain we don’t want the wifi as we do not have faith in Virgin and wish to cancel our contract, he tells us, he cant do that, but not to panic, we have a 2 week cooling off period, in that time we will have the boosters and all will be fine….. HERE COME THE VIRGIN TRAP again… Today we called Virgin, as we don’t want to be in the VIRGIN TRAP again, we call and speak Tass who advises us, that we cannot have boosters, we have no Wi-Fi in every room guarantee, no £100 cash back for our inconvenience and worse of all, no cooling off period, we cannot cancel our virgin, we are again in the VIRGIN TRAP, after 84 minutes of being on the phone, being refused a manager call back and being told we cannot make a complaint or cancel, my partner finally got involved in the call and we have now been promised a call back, and advised that they have escalated a compliant, if this happens or not, we will see. A week later and still no call back from anyone!! We call again, this time we are told that a call was logged, but not complaint has been escalated, or they couldn’t see that one has, they can not guarantee a manager call back, but will let the field agent (the con man who sold us this) and let him know haha. The only thing they could confirm, is that we are now tied into a 2 year business agreement!!! That they will ask that a manager call us back, but they cant guarantee. 2 days later, still nothing!! DO NOT DEAL WITH VIRGIN.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
the place to find true incompetence and terrible customer service. My email and webmail have been down since 11 November. each call to customer service is 30 minutes - they can't fix it, and the referrals they make to technical support and the complaints team never come to anything. Dreadful company!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
I call them more than 20 times for the same reason ,they keep me more than 1 our on the line, they passed me from one to the other advisor , but nobody find the solution in my problem So I tried to disconnect with them and go to another provider but they asked me to pay the whole contract the main and permanent problem I had was that: they offered me 200mbps speed and it worked worse than talk talk with 15mbps Their router was so bad that I didn't even have internet in the next room There were days when I didn't have service for half an hour and as a result I had a problem with my work I can't describe how I felt every time I called them Ready for the psychologist
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Appalling customer service - 2hrs 20mins on the messaging app just for them to tell me I’m talking to the wrong team. When you change a password it doesn’t update for 24hrs so if you call them back and give the new password you will fail security and they won’t talk to you. They haven’t sent me the equipment that they say they have. I would not recommend anyone to go with virgin under any circumstances.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
The bills are extremely high for the services and customer service is horrendous when you're about to cancel or downsize, they will football you around different teams, cut you off only just to make you change your opinion, it took me 2 days to cancel their service not managed over the chat and I've managed to do it only over the phone after hours of waiting to someone to pick up. When you want to increase the package then they are there so quick at serving! Appalling!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
A very bad service A very bad service. We are paying £57 a month. It is absolutely diabolical that we have intermittent supply constantly. Our Internet goes off when it rains. This company is all about taking your money and doing nothing for you. The customer service is non-existent, and it is like peeing against the wind trying to get a response from these people. Date of experience: 22 November 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
We have had absolutely horrendous WiFi for over a year (11mb/s download speed when sat directly next to the router). Upon trying to improve this, they have repeatedly tried to encourage us to buy an extender, but an extender would not improve the speed when sat directly next to the router! When one contract ended, we stupidly upgraded the WiFi to the next fastest in hopes of improving the speed. We are a household of three mature students and so it is vital that we have the use of WiFi for our studies, therefore we cannot wait weeks for an engineer to be sent out so that they can keep us in a contract! When we spoke to virgin media via their online chat, we were offered multiple new deals to try and keep us and when we told them that we wanted to terminate the contract as they were not upholding their end of the contract (and so it was null and void), they told us there would be a terminated fee and closed the chat on us! We will not be paying a fee to exit a contact that is now null and void as they have not provided the standard of service advertised!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
AVOID AT ALL COSTS, TOTALLY USELESS. Second attempt at using them for broadband but they don't seem to understand that the cables can't go in until the ground is open ................................................... They keep asking me if I want to cancel, if only I could.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Virgin media has been giving us trouble for a few months now. During the 'cooling off period' we experienced no issues with Virgin. But as soon as that ended, we've been having such an awful, stressful time. Virgin makes lots of promises, but doesn't keep them. At first, we experienced lots of random cut offs during the middle of the day and in the evening. We complained many times and sent evidence of this. We also requested for the router to be moved closer to the PC. They eventually sent an engineer over, who just did a diagnostic check and nothing else. He said that the cables outside were old and needed replacing and that he didn't have enough time to move the router. He asked for a good review, for doing absolutely nothing, and left. We were promised a revisit to change the router location. Twice were we sent a message to say they'll be coming, we moved the furniture etc to make it easier for them, but guess what, no show up twice. We apparently get charged 25£ for not being present at home upon their arrival, but it's completely fine for them to make false promises and waste our time. They then sent someone to change the cable outside the property and the internet completely cut off for 24hours now. After having called virgin to complain, they said they can send someone in 5 days time. When we need the internet to work from home. Such a stressful experience. We asked if we can cancel the contract, and change provider. But afcourse they said no. Useless company. Avoid at all costs. They are quick to take your monthly money, but do not give you the service you're promised.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Truly appalling. After being a client for 8 years I recently moved into a building that isn’t wired for virgin media. The property manager denied them access to install the cable, so I’m now being slapped with a £200 early termination fee for something that is out of my control. I will never use their service again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Worst customer service experience ever! Spent two days trying to cancel service as they can’t install broadband in my new house until over a month. Been pushed between departments and hanged up on over and over. Virgin Media should not be allowed to operate in the uk!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Not happy with VM it started off by them not actually giving me the deal I signed up for then they had endless amount of chances to simply provide me with a working broadband on a consistent basis but it seemed like every week they had some sort of an issue with there lines. You also could never speak to an advisor you get this Remi BOT automated system which is so annoying when you just want to talk to a human to resolve the consistent issues they have. I wish I had never joined and I’m so happy my service ends 2/12/22
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I wish I can give a Zero star to virgin media but unfortunately the lowest star is 1. If you intend joining a network and don't want your bills to keep increasing without being informed then please don't make the mistake of joing virgin media. They are set of liars and they lied to me in May 2019 that if I join there network I will pay £33 pounds for 18 month contract. After 4 month of being with virgin media, they increase there price to £59 pounds month, which wasn't what they initially told me. When I realised that they've increased there monthly bill, I had to end the contract, because I ended the contract they further bill me of £102.27, a bill that I never used and insisted that I have to pay, they began to send the debt collector to disturb me about the payment, they spoilt my credit rating as they reported the case to the credit authority and my credit has been affected by them. If you love your credit report, and don't want to keep on paying extra bills in comparison with what you initially agree, Don't join virgin media. Lastly, when I saw that they've gone a bit further to spoil my credit report, I contacted them to voice out my complain, one of there customer service Listened to my complain and confirmed that my bills have been written off via there online chat service, after 2 weeks of confirming that my bill have been written off, they came back to say that was not what they meant that I still have make payment of £102.27. I showed them the evidence that confirms that my bill has been written off, but they said written off means I will have to pay. I wonder how stupid this people are that they taught they are tricking a kid. In conclusion, if you love your credit score and don't want excessive bills after some certain month of joining a network, please Don't attempt joining virgin media they are liars looking for ways to extort customers.
Virgin Media 1 star review on 11th November 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Was scammed by virgin. They sold me 1gb internet speed and 2 tivo tv box 6. They are now denying that i was offered that. The 14 days have passed. So they are forcing me to pay for a contract they scammed me into. Do not use virgin media. There are better services now. Look into community fibre.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I live in a house share where an account was setup over 4 years ago by an ex-tenant that I have never met. Since one person (who I assumed had this changed when the old tenant originally left) had also left the house recently, I took over the responsibility to manage the internet. Naively, I asked for the account name and contact details to be updated. When I called to ask this, the lady on the phone just said 'okay I've switched off your internet - this should take effect within 48 hours' and then transferred me to sales. I was shocked that she didn't no listen or give the slightest bit of care to our situation. Bernadette from Sales set me up with a new contract, installation due for 5 days ahead, but she understood my issue. She checked with managers and actually called back (unlike other Customer Service reps) to say she had confirmation that she could get the old broadband switched on ASAP and there would in fact be one day where we are without internet. This would be fine, if it happened. 5 of us have had to undergo severe disciplinary procedures or have lost jobs because of the lies and incompetence of this company. I've called every day to get this rectified and it's now 3 days since we've had no internet and the customer service reps have been even more patronising and useless than ever. I've managed (after 2 hours on the phone, during a time that I need to be active at my employed place of work) Justin (employee no. C7799579) has ensured me that he's raising this with the 'Removers Team'. This sounds great and only happened after me having to push back on the normal procedure that he suggested of him sending a letter to the department with a response in 24 hours. After writing that last sentence it seems that the typical Virgin Media Customer Service practice of putting me in the general queue to pass me onto someone else (with absolutely no information passed on...like i'm a brand new caller). A new guy has answered and pretended he can't do what every other representative has done to me this morning and put me on hold whilst the manager gets back to me. I am back to square one and nobody in this organisation can help me. This is absolutely unacceptable and not what we are paying for. (I have now been moved to the automated voice options)
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Absolutely useless service ,no communication and treat the customer the worst I had received a payment overdue from them a few days ago and all of a sudden they cut my internet connection. I do have a direct debit with them every month which I am paying my monthly bill. had attached my bank statements to them by email and was expecting from them to fix my internet connection promptly and apologise for their mistake or compensate me for all this days that i have to pay from my pocket to have some internet at home but after 5 days nobody communicate with me ,when i try to call them the automatic answer machine says that my account is freezed and have to do the payment for them to be able to unfreeze it Literally i don't have words to express my frustration I will certainly discuss it with my solicitor and get another broadband that cares about their customers
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Great service and all problems sorted out when Matthew called. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Since I got a new modem-router (Hub 5 I think), the quality of the WiFi is disastrous, and is the same feedback from friends, colleagues and online reviews. I asked Virgin to change my router with the old one that worked perfectly. A Virgin personal took my router but didn't have one for replacement, which is very disappointing. I called Virgin and spoke to a support personel, and because my contract was finished since a few months, they can't send me a replacement without renewing for a 18-month contract. So I don't have Internet and if I cancel my contract I have to pay 30-day notice, that is I have to accept to pay without enjoying the service. This is outrageous, over the years Virgin has become the worst broadband provider, they miss all that the client look for except taking your money.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.2 based on 1,778 reviews