Virgin Media Reviews

1.17 Rating 1,297 Reviews
4 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.16 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Hi, my name is Lynn and I got virgin media installed a few months ago. My son Luke was diagnosed with terminal cancer in 2014 when he was only 8, he absoulty loved horses but from 2015 he was unable to leave home due to his health. We got virgin media installed late January this year and the engineer (Ryan) was amazing, after his install he took an extra hour and a half to sit and talk to Luke mostly about horses and motorbikes lol and he left that was great in itself but next day Ryan returned to our home with a horse box and 2 horses 😢 I could not have imagined someone being so kind to my son. Ryan walked the horses right up to Luke's window and at that moment my son was a picture of health, he even managed enough strength to pet them for a few minutes. Sadly 6days later we lost my angel Luke and i am only getting round to it now but I just wanted to thank Ryan and virgin media for his kindness. If this helps his tech code is 40757.
Posted 3 years ago
stay away!!!! they are rubbish and shyte. bunch of un-educated idiots. If you want to pay for no internet go with Virgin.
Posted 4 months ago
Dealing with VirginMedia has left me ranting at the wall they are so infuriating to contact, and that means a lot as I'm a very chilled out fellow. If you need anything dealt with at all please save yourself a tonne of trouble and go with another provider. This company just doesn't care about you in the slightest and only care about your money.
Posted 8 months ago
Virgin Media won't let me cancel my contract. I have been passed from agent to agent and cut off amid multiple transfers, all at the expense of the customer. I wonder if customers joining have the same difficulties/
Posted 3 months ago
I rang to complain that my monthly bill was going up by £3.50 a month and to ask for a better deal because new customers pay much less and Sky we’re offering me a similar package for £8.50 less per month. I was on hold for 30 minutes before being told that the best they could offer was to delay the increase for 6 months. When I said I therefore wanted to leave Virgin, I was put through to someone else and kept on hold for another 40 minutes! The man who answered said that the best deal he could offer me was more than I am currently paying! He also said I had to wait until my contract ended before I could leave. When I pointed out that the letter I had received informing me of the price increase said that I could leave without penalty, he agreed & finally processed my request to terminate my contract, having been a Virgin customer for over 10 years. This customer experience is atrocious and really makes you realise that they do not value loyal customers.
Posted 3 months ago
If a Company ever set out to deliberately get things wrong then it's Virgin Media. Constant drop offs of broadband and wifi. 6 new Hubs have not resolved the problem. Absolutely abysmal customer services who read from a script and treat you like an idiot. Total failure to keep promises. Total failure to respond to or even bother to acknowledge complaints. Really, if you have heart or blood pressure problems then steer clear of this company. My personal opinion is that they are a bunch of cowboys....with due apologies to genuine cowboys
Posted 4 months ago
Misleading, offering gift voucher when signing a new agreement, but after internet installation I had to chase them for “promised voucher”; opened a complaint case, but didn’t get anywhere as they said that someone else would call to resolve the issue. it’s was different occasions, but no one ever did. Got an email from the complaint team just giving me silly excuse such as they couldn’t get through me. Despite my telephone calls, they closed the case saying that they didn’t hear from me in 28 days. Every time I got through a human being, they were not capable to help me, they would put a note on their computers,!for a supervisor to call me. It went on until getting another email saying that they were closing the case as didn’t hear from me in 28 days 😔☹️. Also the internet is often down 🙁 appalling service for the name Virgin company.
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely useless. Been with them 22 years. But since the first lock down it’s a joke. The broadband / tv is so poor. I’ve spent hours on the phone to machine like people , no one can answer a question , no supervisors work for Virgin, I’ve been fobbed off with excuse after excuse , I’ve sent letters to them , you can’t email them ? No one will call you , you can’t reply to emails they send you ? Absolute rubbish. And they are chasing me for money for a service that they can’t provide ? BUT no one seems to care ? Ian Hudson
Posted 4 months ago
Every 5 mins I lose internet connection upstairs and it’s unfixable, would not recommend as I am now switching to BT
Posted 4 months ago
Poor customer service and prices keep going up. Been a customer for many years but not for much longer.
Posted 4 months ago
We have had OUTAGES over the past 18 - 24 months. And, even prior to that service was absolutely attrocious! All of the bad reviews on this site match exactly our experiences with this diabolical company. Some how, when you do get a reply to your call, they offer a sort of condescending apology and say the problem will be sorted out with the next.....hours/days. Gulably one goes along with it only to find one lands back in the same predicament! It is so frustrating and upsetting. As some one has already said VM should be banned from offering a fraudulent service. The whole VM system is crooked. I have now written to VM both to their customer services HEAD OF OPERATIONS & retentions SENIOR EXRCUTIVE. I ALSO HAVE FOUND THE NAMES OF ALL OF THE ADMINISTRATION TEAM MEMBERS which is readily available in the web. I am also in the process of writing to OFCOM & CISAS for I intend to claim back all the monies that have been extorted from me and my family. This company must be taken to task over the corrupt service they provide. It has to be brought to the attention of the relevant authority that can make them provide what they promise in their ads and in their point of sale promises. I could attempt to write down all of my hundreds of experiences with VM and list all of the COM NUMBERS but these would merely be a repetition of all the alarming reviews on this site. WHEN & IF YOU GET THROUGH TO AN AGENT I WOULD ADVISE ANYONE WHO IS HAVING VM ISSUES TO INSIST UPON THE RAISING OF A COM NIUMBER SO THAT A PAPER TRAIL CAN BE ESTABLISHED & FORWARDED TO OFCOM AND CISAS. YOU WILL FIND THAT THERE IS A RELUCTANCE TO PROVIDE SUCH BUT THEY OBLIGED YO PROVIDE THIS! ALSO IF YOU HAVE HAD POOR OR ZERO SRVICE FROM VM YOUR BANK WILL USUALLY BE PREPARED TO RAISE A CLAIM BACK FOR MONIES UNFAIRLY TAKEN. THE COM NUMBERS YOU ACQUIRE WILL SUPPORT YOUR CLAIM BACK. THESE DESPICABLE PEOPLE ARE LAUGHING AT US WHILST WELL AND TRULY RIPPING US, JOE-PUBLIC, OFF!
Posted 4 months ago
Appalling: Virgin Media could train other companies in how NOT to do customer service. After many years as a VM customer, I cancelled in protest at how they treat loyal customers whilst courting new customers. I was over-charged on my final bill and they took nine months to respond to my complaint with a really lame response: "refer to self-care" (what does that even mean?!) When I told them that I did not accept their response, they sent me exactly the same answer! I have had to escalate the complaint to ombudsman just to try to get something done about this truly terrible company. NEW CUSTOMERS: AVOID VIRGIN MEDIA.
Posted 5 months ago
Very unhappy, extremely poor customer service, poor broadband with constant breaks! Do not ever use their chat as they will tell you later that it wasn't recorded and you lose!
Posted 7 months ago
Absolutely abysmal experience! Do not use! We needed to transfer account from flatmate who's leaving, we called VM and was assured same package with same cost at £26 per month can be transferred over to me, except must start another 12 months contract and pay transfer fee of £20, which we accept and invoked the transfer. When we received VM email confirming transfer complete with new account number, we logged on website to set up online account and ddm, but VM website says A/c number wrong, and requested Area reference which isn't stated anywhere! We called, wait in queue for 25mins, answered, told new account number not coincide with my name, cannot proceed, refused to help further! Then received email from VM with my first invoice for £52 per month, not £29! Called, waited 43mins, told it's new monthly total, previous monthly total £26 cannot be transferred, we explained that we were told same package at same price can be transferred by VM, but VM customer service will not budge. On opening the first invoice, I found my correct 9 digit account number and area reference, so I tried to register an online account, but this time, VM's website says, an account has already been set up for my NEW account, and it was in the name of our previous flatmate, even though he was on a totally different account number! So I still cannot open on online account! Luckily when I emailed my application to apply for transfer, I was concerned that we only had a verbal assurance from VM regarding retaining the £26 monthly bundle cost, so I had mentioned in my email that I'm applying for this transfer based on the assurance that its the same package at the same price. We called again to try and lodge a formal complaint, waited 30mins, call automatically dropped. Called back, waited another 45mins, answered, and as soon as I stated we wanted to make a formal complaint, the call was dropped! As advised by local council consumer services officer, we've sent in a formal written complaint, as we've given up ringing their customer service, and cannot use their website form as it requires an online account which VM's system is unable to allow me to register. After persistently refusing to reply and broken promises, VM now alleges we're late in paying our bills, so now imposing late charges etc and has terminated our service, thus rendering us in serious position of not able to work from home! In desperation, we called VM, waited over 50 minutes in queue, spoke to "customer service" who sounded very emphatic, says will take ownership of our complaint, truly understand our case is urgent, will escalate and Manager will get back to us within two hours" That's two days ago, still no reply whatsoever! Have filed complaint with CISAS, the official ofcom regulator, but as this process is going to take weeks, guess VM is using this tactic scan to force desperate users, especially those working from home in this CV19 period, to cave in and pay up! Entire experience have been stressful, but more bewildered as to how a supposedly professional company like Virgin Media could have such an unprofessional infantile customer service, and how our current system could allow such inconsiderate corporates to take advantage of our national plight is beyond me ... shame on Virgin Media. We will definately not be using this company again and would strongly NOT recommend Virgin Media, shame it's another British sham
Posted 8 months ago
I've moved abroad so needed to cancel my broadband with Virgin Media. I started cancelling things a month before I left, I moved 2 weeks ago and still haven't been able to cancel. I've had 7 phone calls with the customer services team, and got through the security Qs fine - they transfer me and transfer me every time, then the call disconnects. The contact us messenger online is shocking - I've spoken to one person on there out of daily attempts for a month. I'm still paying £44.50 a month for a house that I do not live in. Do not recommend.
Posted 8 months ago
The worst customer service.
Posted 8 months ago
technician came into my home to install equipment. he wore no ppe nothing on footwear to protect my floor coverings and did not social distance as he spoke to me. absolutely shocked by this and am taking the matter further.
Posted 8 months ago
Absolutely terrible. Wanted to close my account four months ago, no response via telephone or email until now. Apparently I owe them money, and they are threatening to ruin my credit score if I don't. Go with anyone but them
Posted 8 months ago
Awful, disgusting service. I was meant to be connected on the 25th June, they made a mistake as there is no physical connection to connect my broadband box to. They sent two engineers, one was not applicable to that job. Second one came 3 hours late and we saw he took a picture on the door and left. He wanted to say we were not home. When we opened the door he was shocked and he said he can't do the digging today and someone will contact me. No one has been in touch. I've tried calling, waiting numerous hours on the phone and spoke to countless people who kept passing me to different departments. They turn billed me for two months, despite having no connection. I tried to cancel and the existing customs cancellation says they can't do it because I don't have a connection, and the pre activation cancellation team says I am connected so they can't do it.!!!!!! I'm stock. They won't fix or cancel it. I CAN'T KEEP CALLING AND WASTING MY TIME. I HAVE NO INTERNET SOMEONE PLEASE HELP! 😡😡😡
Posted 9 months ago
Called as our contract was coming to an end, spoke to a friendly advisor who was able to find us another good deal
Posted 9 months ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.17 based on 1,297 reviews