Virgin Media Reviews

1.2 Rating 2,075 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
1.2
Based on 2,075 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.2 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Virgin Media 1 star review on 31st January 2024
Anonymous
Virgin Media 1 star review on 15th November 2023
SamB3711
Virgin Media 1 star review on 26th October 2023
Ivaylo R. Hinkov
Virgin Media 1 star review on 26th October 2023
Ivaylo R. Hinkov
Virgin Media 1 star review on 26th October 2023
Ivaylo R. Hinkov
Virgin Media 1 star review on 26th October 2023
Ivaylo R. Hinkov
Virgin Media 1 star review on 26th October 2023
Ivaylo R. Hinkov
33
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have been with Virgin Media for 12 years and had quite a few issues with them to be honest, but this one takes the biscuit. I moved house last November and called them to say I was moving and want to transfer my contract over to my new house, however little did I know they did not carry it over but actually restarted my contract completly making the contract date end 6 months later, however they did carry over my Promotions, meaning now my promitions have ended but my contract still has 6 months left, putting my contract up from £29pm to £57pm, I contacted them several times and made a complaint, the customer service were all rude and unhelpful and in the end claimed no fault and refused to rectify the situation, leaving me paying a contract I cannot afford, I am disgusted with Virgin and when my contract renews now in May I will cancel and move to BT, never to return and make everyone aware of there antics, BEWARE!!!!, do not use Virgin Media they are scammers and cheats.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
My experience with Virgin Media has been nothing short of horrendous. The connection is consistently unreliable, with frequent outages that disrupt work. But worst of all is Virgin's customer service. Not only are they completely unhelpful, and unresponsive when things go wrong, it seems they are trained or incentivized to tell complete and blatant lies about promotional offers to get you to sign up to contracts. I was promised free Netflix as part of the contract, but have been paying £20 extra per month. The worst thing of all is that I clarified several times on the call that this was a completely free extra and requested written contract upfront. They made an excuse about not being able to provide the contract up front, but reassured me several times that once I had started the contract they could apply the promotion. Don't trust them it's a complete lie!! I do not know how they are able to get away with it, but it's a complete scam. I have since been unable to request the promotion or resolve the billing discrepancy over the phone, and have resorted to requesting a written copy of all telephone interactions we have had, attemptung to prove to Virgin that they blatantly lied to us. It's disheartening to encounter such dishonesty, eroding any trust I had in the company's integrity. Its not a nice experience dealing with a dishonest company, with such deceptive practices.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Been with Virgin for about 4 years and so so service. Current contract coming to an end and signed a new deal I was happy with a few weeks ago. I have the signed contract in pdf format but was concerned it wasn't showing on my account as a change. 4 hours on what's app chat yes 4 hours and no apparently I don't have a new contract and I'm not entitled to one as an existing customer! Sorry but I do and I have the pdf to prove it. When I asked to escalate this to a manger the chat went dead and they disconnected me. 4 hours to be told that. Garbage company. Sorry you don't get away with it that easily. I am expected to honour my contracts so you will to. Tried again a couple of days later and I've now sat in chat for a further 9 hours in total only to be cut off each time when the foreign call centre closed. I have sent my contract pdf to Virgin 3 times by email and made 3 formal complaints and been ignored. I've called the call centre and got as far as the virgin contact needing manager approval and promising a call back and have still not having one 2 days later. I've called again wanting to cancel but now the call centre just cuts me off after 10 mins waiting. Wow just wow you can't update your contract, you can't cancel it, you can't complain. Absolute crooks. In all seriousness do not go with this company just don't. I've never experienced anything like Virgin and they just don't care. I can't even cancel. This must be illegal but they are utterly incompetent beyond belief. Pity I can't I give lower than 1 star. I have it in writing an 18 month contract at a good price. Perhaps someone offered me too good a contract and now the crooks don't want to honour it. Avoid avoid avoid - wouldn't get this from Sky. I have no idea where your chat/call centre is but they need to be fired
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I've been with Virgin media for 13 years. A couple of weeks ago it seems by hub was compromised because despite changing all my password and factory resetting all my devices, duplicate accounts are still being set up and trying to draw money from my account. At first it seemed they were going to offer me a new hub, but then I was put through to someone who withdrew the offer. I have been through HELL the last two weeks. I am self-employed and have got next to nothing done trying to secure my online accounts. I said a hard reset was not going to set my mind at rest as I would still have the same IP address and that if they couldn't provide a new hub, I wanted to cancel my contract. I was then put through to someone who claimed from the get go that he couldn't hear me when I requested to cancel my account due to an alleged delay on the line, despite replying promptly to everything I said. He kept on insisting that he wanted to call me back on my number ending 414 and I told him I was locked out from renewing my data pack on that phone due to the details I was providing not matching those they had on record (one of a trillion problems I have had these last two weeks). He kept insisting over and over to call me back on that number, and I guess it is possible I could still receive a call on that number if I re-charged it. However, like I said, there was no evidence whatsoever of a delay on the line and there is also no way I can think of that Virgin would even know I have a number ending 414. It is not a Virgin mobile number and has never been registered to any Virgin account and I'm 100% sure of that. The whole thing has left me feeling utterly paranoid. Your response was to close my complaint (despite my asking for a written response) and suggest I seek help from the Virgin online community. I am not going to seek help in your community because I have already spent TWO WEEKS trying to resolve this with advice from various forums and it is not my responsibility to resolve. It's yours. After 13 years I requested a new hub to feel secure and you refused. Notwithstanding the fact that I did not believe a PIN / hard reset would resolve the issue, I have done a hard reset and as my phone was reconnecting a warning message flashed up that the WiFI was NOT secure. McAfee confirms the same (see screenshot attached). The WiFI connection is risky. I have already been hacked and have lost two weeks of work trying to secure my various accounts and had money taken from my account from a bogus account just today. It went within 5 minutes of my transferring money from my instant saver to my current account to pay for petrol! If I'm not entitled to a new hub, I don't know who is!!!! £67.50 a month for a risky connection!!!! I've also attached another screengrab from McAfee from another device. For the public, who I think can't see attachments, it reads: Your WiFi connection isn't safe. You should disconnect now to protect personal info like your credit card details and passwords. So I guess as an online tutor, my options are to go and work in a noisy internet cafe all evening (because that looks and sounds SO professional) and where I will probably have to spend at least a third of my earnings in drinks and snacks to avoid hogging a table for hours on end without spending anything OR stay home and risk serious and significant financial loss. It's unbelievable you think this is acceptable!
Virgin Media 1 star review on 15th November 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Poor customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I’ve been with Virgin Media for around 6 weeks. I’ve had nothing but problems and had to phone customer service 6 times! Their customer service is absolutely awful. They’re based in the Philippines and don’t let you speak, constantly talk over you and can be very rude! They try and sell you packages but don’t explain in detail what they include. I recently upgraded my package to M350 volt broadband, landline and 360 box. But none of these services have worked for 7 days, as they cancelled the package!! Waited 3 days for them to call me back, and I heard nothing. I had to call them today and waited 45 minutes to get through. I now have to wait an additional 8 days for an engineer to come out! Dreadful!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I am absolutely fuming and appalled, at the way your overseas staff spoke to, and treated my daughter. Who for your information is disabled. She also has verbal palsy, so her speech is affected . It was only a few Months ago, that I suffered a heart attack, and had issues with your overseas staff treating me as if I were an inconvenience. My complaint is that, my daughter tried phoning your company, and after an hour plus of being on hold to the same track of music, finally spoke with someone who refused point blank to help her. I am an emergency service worker, and I find this manner verging on contemptuous and unacceptable discrimination! My daughter had been a whole day without Television or internet. But your overseas staff did not care, and we're NOT, willing to assist As with a few weeks back when, apparently there was a local virgin media network blackout, she was treated in the same way. After hearing my daughter explain how she had been treated, I called a second time. I had been over 51 mins on the phone with same music blaring, and no answer, and then for someone to cut the call. Earlier on with my first call, I was told, the issue will not be fixed until Wednesday, and being told there may be a fee to pay! What time of service are you providing these days? Not only have I served HM forces, I worked tirelessly through the corona virus, putting my life on the line, only to be treated with contempt by virgin media. I will be taking this matter up with Ofcom , trading standards, BBC Ones Watchdog, and Panorama. I await your pre rehearsed response. Should someone have the integrity to call me and explain why your staff treat disabled customers in such a disgusting manner call me.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Virgin Media's service experience has been deeply unsatisfactory. Despite their promises, the quality of service provided is subpar, making it a challenge for customers to receive the value they expect. Furthermore, their cancellation process is frustratingly opaque. When attempting to cancel the service three months ago, assurances were given that the cancellation would be processed. However, this conversation was misleadingly marked as 'dropped,' leading to continued billing for a service that was neither used nor desired. This miscommunication has resulted in an unexpected and unwarranted demand for an additional month's notice, adding to the overall dissatisfaction with Virgin Media's service. The company's practices raise serious concerns about their commitment to customer satisfaction and transparency. Not only does the difficulty in cancelling services create a barrier for customers wishing to discontinue, but the misclassification of a cancellation request as a 'dropped' call feels deceptive. This experience reflects a broader issue with the company's approach to customer relations, where the emphasis seems to be more on retaining revenue than genuinely addressing customer needs. The requirement of an additional month's notice, despite no usage of their services in the past three months, further illustrates a disregard for fair and reasonable customer service practices.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I am leaving this review out of pure frustration. I've had virgin media for a number of years now and I have a complaint I'd like to discuss but I've not been able to speak to a human despite best efforts. Virtual assistants redirecting me at every turn, it is beyond frustrating. The reason I am getting in touch is I have been harassed by a virgin media call centre and must have receive 30 or more calls in the past couple of months. Always on a different number but today has really taken the ****. I've had three calls from a virgin media agent trying to sell to me. I am sick of it. I can't block them because they use new numbers every time and they won't leave me alone. I am at a point where I want them to delete all my personal data, my number and email address and I want to cancel my contract with them. Massive disappointment. Don't give virgin media your personal details or phone number. Otherwise you'll regret it. Customer service is awful. They don't care about speaking to you and always say they are busy due to unprecedented demand. Sounds like they always have that issue because they don't have enough staff. I am going to ask to cancel my contract because I've had enough of this. I feel like my blood is boiling.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
They don't even deserve a single star I have requested the internet connection on 26th of Sep , virgin media kept changing the installation date and today is 10th of November and I'm still waiting for the internet connection, despite many calls and promises that the service will be supplied long way before 10th of Nov , through out many calls I felt the lack of transparency and credibility with their customer service , a very low level service and it quite obvious is not governed by a mature process or clear message that they can't serve my area at this point of time and their technical problems might take a very long time to be resolved. Watch out of this supplier , because it turns out that their infrastructure is not ready in my area , they locked me for more than 40 days where they are not technically ready to get us connected, if this is the way virgin media locking their customer , I believe they have to be investigated by the local telecomm ofcom authority. I don't have an active line that has never been supplied yet so I have requested to cancel the service and they asked my to bear the cost of sending back their equipment back. If they have been honest and transparent , I could have the internet a month ago from other suppliers. And if they have an atom of professionalism they should not ask me to bear the cost of sending their equipment back where I never had the service up.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Cancellation process is like to win a lottery..!! One department to another then disconnected calls twice and still waiting to be connected.. Don’t chose virgin unless you don’t have any other option.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The service provided is good but why do you have to overcharge me? This is a breach of contract and I see this as you stealing money from me. I tried to sort this out thru customer service, 2h and 45 min now and no answer or solutions being offered. Someone was connected at one point, I think, but then just dropped the case and can't get thru to anyone at this point. Your customer service is appalling and your automated bots are stupid, going around in circles. I want to talk to a human being.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Absolutely horrendous service My Internet stopped working since the evening of 7th nov. I called on 8th morning and complained. The customer representative said he would need to run few tests which would take 24hrs and if the issue is not resolved he week assign a technician on 9th Nov. As usual the issue persisted not no one called me to check for any followup so I had to call and go through the process once again. I now have a didn't representative who had no clue about the agreement yesterday and said it will take about 24-48hrs to get things resolved and I wil need to get a new hub and if that doesn't solve she can assign a technician on Monday which is on 13th november. Me and my wife work from home and we have our living on the internet but vergin media doesn't care about customer service or the problems to customers. Their representative give false information and make the customers anticipate such useless service, absolutely no care or concern about the customers. Am losing my leaves and money due to the terrible service of vergin media. How could an Internet service provider take 6 days to resolve an issue absolutely disgusting. Am. Looking to move out of these selfish no customer value company. The fact is virgin media dosnt have enough technicians to support the customersand hence they blame customers and make them run for internet. Complaint number :091123186 Thanks, Raj
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Had virgin go app upstairs now haven’t got it anymore don’t recognise my account number, emails or passwords phoned 7 times or more to sort out this issue. I have one device connected but used to have 2 now just can’t get onto it the people at the end of phone just seem to fob you of with this will sort it given me 3 designated passwords but none work. I just want an answer if I can’t get it sorted soon I will cancel virgin and find another provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Have had virgin broadband for 18/12. At the start no coverage in back of 3 bedroom house. Poor speeds far below what was advertised. Had to phone numerous times and eventually engineer came in. Changed router and this did help. When contract ran out, Virign doubled the charge per month. Would not refund. Moved to Community Fibre broadband who gave faster speed for less and advertised to increase monthly charge by £2 once out of contract. I think Virgin is a dishonest company. It attempts to keep customers by charging excessive amounts out of contract, promising to only refund the excess charge if you stay with them. In reply to Virgin reply and update: Those that read these reviews will hopefully ignore the corporate apologies that Virign issues and recognise them as yet more dishonesty. Rather those that read these reviews will see what customers say. i.e. that Virign is a dishonest company who sets out to retain customers by subjecting them to disgusting increases in broadband fees that are only capped is you stay with Virgin. In my case Virgin refused to refund the fee hike. BE AWARE because after leaving Virgin (which I don't regret at all), they threatened to send me a bill for £65 unless I returned the router which was part of the package when I joined. Disgusting dishonest company that is not at all embarrassed about its deceitful conduct and intentions.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
After three months of intermittent/ no wifi, it was temporarily fixed for a few weeks. But now service is down again. Virgin have changed fix time three times in space of 12 hours. Useless. Very bad customer service. This is so distressing yet they just don't care. Got very little compensation the last time round. They pride themselves in upsetting their customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Worst customer service experience ever. They put me on hold for 50 minutes until I hung up the phone. They just put themselves on mute and pretend they don't hear you. If their broadband speed is as fast as they deal with your problems I'm glad I cancelled the contract with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
For a communication company Virgin… For a communication company Virgin suck. I was off contract and it took me 3 hours to speak to a representative to end my service. One of the reps I couldn’t even understand. They even apply a 30 day period after notification so they sting you for more money yet I had no contract. The website says you can cancel online but the link has a 404 error “page not found”, computer says no. Then they throw you around the company trying other reps to pressure you into taking a new deal at a lower rate. They don’t understand the words “i want to cancel” and around you go. Now they have filed a credit report on Clearscore as a final kick in the gentleman parts, even though I paid my final rip off bill within two working days, they are trying to penalise me, we shall see about that. They only ever put your bill up and if off contract expect it to double. No loyalty for long term customer, pressure applied to try and keep you stay. If Reviews had a zero rating I would have selected that begrudgingly. Useless, inept, no customer service and deserve to close down. Suggest person at the top goes and flips burgers for a living but he/she/they would probably burn them. Go elsewhere. Date of experience: 23 October 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
To explain in more detail We have been with Virgin for 10 years, every 2 years we have signed a new contract and every year its gone up quite a bit. We stayed with them because they had the fastest broadband but this year they dont! We dont use the landline so we can get rid of that, we dont really watch anything we cant get on freeview except tnt sports which we can get for £15 a month. We would of stayed but we had a dispute where sometime in the last year we found out that they would be putting the price up but if people wanted to leave they could, this was music to our ears! I rang up to find out if this would apply to us and I was told in no uncertain terms that it wouldnt, ****! Fast forward about 5 months and the remote breaks, we order a new one and they send us a package with nothing in it (they did the same to us only a few weeks ago and we hadnt even ordered a new remote?!). I login to find out the account number as I needed to speak to them about this only to find out they had been charging us more money for the past few months, I was livid! I ring up, I tell them I was told that we wouldnt be part of that and the lady on the phone lied to me about being able to listen to the call from that previous call, she basically told me anything I wanted to hear. We did end up getting this resolved but that isnt the point, I am someone who will hunt situations like this down to their conclusion but how many people wont/dont even know they are being over charged? They must make millions from basically stealing from people and its wrong! So our contract is up in a few days, I rang up so I was going to give them 30 days notice just so I didnt get pro rata charges and guess what, they still tried it, I told them that I was giving them notice to cancel and wanted that to be set in place exactly 30 days from what when contract finishes, guess what they did, they cancelled it from that day forward so I had to pay an extra little but of money! So they said the best deal they could give me was like £60, this didnt make sense since I had been with them for 10 years and I could get all I needed for £40 a month (although I needed to buy a freeview box or a new tv). I cancel the contract then days later I get a call offering me my package for £40 a month, I tell them I am not interested! Funny how they can just knock off £20 out of nowhere and couldnt be good to such a loyal customer! I was considering going with it but then they tell me (after probing) that they now had a term in place that they can up the price when they like and I would not be able to cancel, no way am I going for that I say! So no fast forward some more days and I get an email, this offer is £44 for my package I alrteady gave but its now a "bigger bundle". They say that its for 18 months and even though they will put the price up it will only be inline with inlfaiton 3.9% and after 18 months when it goes up to £80+ we can cancel. We still dont go for it! However as time goes on its becoming harder and harder to find a tv or freeview box that works like we want and because my mother is ill and has limited movement we need a remote she can use easily and a system she can use easily. So we decide to go with the deal. I sign up online, great I think. Then I get a confirmation email saying the deal is now £40, thats strange, that isnt what I agreed to, anyway we dont think too much about it. Then today we want to watch the football only to find out we no longer have tnt sports, they "upgraded us to a bigger bundle" and removed one of the only things they had going for them! This is not right I think, I login to my account but it tells me I am on maxittv package, this package has tnt sports?! I spend all day on whats app because their phones are too full of people likely wanting to cancel or to sue them! They tell me that I am not on maxit tv but mega tv 3, I thought maybe I was still on the old package until the turn of the month but that wouldnt make sense since if that was the case I would still be able to use tnt sports. The amount of reviews I have read that say the same thing. This company needs a class action lawsuit against them, they must owe millions to people. They are theives, they are scammers, they lie and there is no recourse! If I did this on the street, if I sold someone a bag of gold and they find out its actually lead, I get arrested, but Virgin are able to carry out fraud on a national scale and its fine. I am so upset about this I can barely type fast enough. Its disgusting. But I tell you what, go with a broadband provider and get freeview! Who watches sky cinema anymore? You can get tnt sports cheap as a solo deal, no one uses home phones so get rid of it, sky sports is the big outlay but again its likely you can get broadband for like £15 a month and a sky sports package for £30. Skysports with virgin broadband likely costs £60+ Do not go with them, they will put your price up whenever they feel like they, when you call up, unless you have some real tenacity then you will be exhausted and give up. .
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
They want money for services they don't provide. if yo move house to an area where it isn't provided, you still have to pay them. "It's in the contract." Well, it's a stinky unfair unjust contract, isn't which is tantamount to legalised theft. You want something for nothing. You want to be immunised against risk. I'm not. I have to take risks - that's life. But these parasites don't believe in taking risk. For them, you own them come hell or high water, even if you move home and literally are not using their signal. I wish I could do that in life. Take money for providing absolutely no service. Set up crooked contracts and get away with murder. Scoundrels. Parasites. Leeches. SLAVERY HAD "TERMS, CONDITIONS, CONTRACTS" ... SOOOOO... THAT MUST BE MORAL TOO, ACCORDING TO YOUR DEFINITION?!?! LISTEN, YOU ARE TAKING MY MONEY FOR DOING NOTHING. THATS STEALING. STOP DEFENDING IT. CONTRACT OR NOT. BARE-FACED SHAMELESS THIEVES!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.2 based on 2,075 reviews