Admiral Reviews

2.8 Rating 1,363 Reviews
44 %
of reviewers recommend Admiral
2.8
Based on 1,363 reviews

Write Your review

Tell us how Admiral made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Admiral 1 star review on 15th April 2022
Terry
Admiral 1 star review on 15th April 2022
Terry
Admiral 1 star review on 5th May 2021
Mrs. Potter
Admiral 1 star review on 13th November 2020
Francesco Romano Dell’Anna
Admiral 1 star review on 30th June 2020
Paul Hole
Admiral 1 star review on 30th June 2020
Paul Hole
Admiral 1 star review on 30th June 2020
Paul Hole
2
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Some debris on the road hit my car and smashed the windscreen/damaged the bodywork. We paid £14k for car just over 12 months ago and they told me it was a total loss. I protested! They said engineers would check photos to confirm. 4 days later I called them and was on hold for an hour to discover nobody had looked at the photos. Finally they confirmed not a total loss and assigned job to a garage. The garage called me & said it didn’t have capacity for this job. I called Admiral (another hour on hold only to get through to a call back service) to push it along. Next it was assigned to a sort of broker who allocates a garage on Admiral’s behalf. Heard nothing for couple of days. I called the broker. Then I called the garage who’d been given the job. Next day the garage called me to say they could do the job. It took almost three weeks of determined badgering of Admiral and all third parties just to get my car taken away and a courtesy car. Was like getting blood from a stone. In the meantime we didn’t have access to a car at all. As a busy family of 5 this was a total nightmare but Admiral couldn’t have cared less. We’re now crammed into a tin can on wheels for god knows how long while we wait for the repairs. Don’t insure with Admiral. When things go wrong, as they sometimes will, Admiral won’t be there for you. They simply cannot be relied upon …unless it’s to take your fee of course. They’ll do that, no problem. Avoid like the plague.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Simply the worst customer service I've ever experienced in dealing with any service organisation of any kind. Attempting to make a motor insurance claim for the first time in 34 years of driving, as a result of another vehicle's reckless driving causing it to collide with me, has been excruciatingly painful and stressful to date. Forced to use the online claims form (which was glitchy, complex, misleading and heavily weighted to pressure the user down a 'total loss' road), since submitting my claim on 3 Dec, I have spent more than 24 hours to date either on hold or engaging in 'online chat' only with non-claims team staff only and have not yet been able to speak to a claims team member, except on Sun 4 Dec when the claims team member I managed to get hold of told me she wasn't trained in the online claims system I had to use (not by choice!) but she promised me the appropriate person would call me ASAP that day/very soon after - still waiting! I've had similar promises since via the online chat and have my file handler's name yet I've still had no contact whatsoever. Submitting a claim is a stressful experience and something most people never wish to do yet Admiral seem not to care one iota about this. I have submitted 3 x complaints which are meant to be acknowledged within 5 days; the 1st one was acknowledged after 24 days and the others have not been at all. I do not want to go down a total loss route but I fear I will be forced down it despite me knowing the true pre-accident value of my vehicle to be at least 80% more than I've been quoted to repair it, as Admiral just want the 'easy option'. I am now out of pocket with a perfectly roadworthy vehicle now sat on my driveway as SORN pending claim resolution for almost 2 months to date, which I was about to sell before the accident, with no proactive contact or claim progression from Admiral whatsoever. Ombudsman here I come very soon but I doubt that will make much difference as Admiral just don't seem to care at all - they're quick to take your money but positively backwards when it comes to help you with what you pay them for! I shall never use Admiral again and cannot shout this loudly enough to anyone else considering doing so!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Service appalling wait times are far too long to contact any department My suggestion go elsewher
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
They caused my grandson to drive without insurance for 2 months, after they cancelled his policy without notification due to a direct debit error. He only found out after he received a letter from the police to say his car was uninsured. This could have ended so badly thanks to admiral. A horrible, couldn't care less company.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
This is the worst company. 5 weeks ago someone crashed into my car. I have made over 60 calls, spent over 12hrs on hold, they told me I need to fix the car and pay for it and do the MOT and they will pay out. So I have. Every day for two weeks they keep telling me 'the money will be in your account by 5pm today.' TWO WEEKS AND 2HRS ON HOLD EVERYDAY. No money. I've spoken to Managers and they say the same thing. I actually think they are scammers and there is something illegal going on. They lie everyday, and I have zero confidence they will give me my money. Liars, cheats and scammers. Not one e-mail has ever been responded to in 5 weeks. I'm going to contact the Ombudsman, and if that doesn't work then eventually the police. They are stealing off people. I WANT MY MONEY!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely dreadful service. I've had to chase around the repairer, the hire car people and the insurance company. What's the point??? You should just pay me and I'll do the bloody work for you.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Bad support I tried to call Admiral support yesterday and they me on back of line 85 minutes and Finlay they asked me you should call back later, and no answer I call today to their support and waited 60 minutes and have not received any answer yet They have extremely bad supports and if I wanted make any new insurance never I tried with Admiral company 24/01/2023 Date of experience: 24 January 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Was told that no insurance company covers for a burst pipe (Charlotte on a webchat) and we would need to repair the pipe and they would then charge an excessive of £1000 WHICH states and I quote: Any good home insurance policy should include cover for burst pipes and water leaks as standard. In fact, it's one of the most common reasons for home insurance payouts in the UK – according to the Association of British Insurers, providers pay out £2 million for burst pipes and water leaks every day So not really sure where there agents get their information from and £500 compulsory excess for water damage and then a £500 voluntary contribution certainly means they do not want you to make a claim. That was so far down in the small print it was not picked up Would not recommend as too many clauses and extra charges for every claim
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
ITS BEEN WEEKS, I STILL DONT EVEN KNOW WHERE MY CAR IS AFTER THE ACCIDENT. EVERYTIME I CALL IN, I WAIT ON HOLD FOR OVER 2 HRS B4 BEING CUT OFF. ARE THEY A SCAM?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
on 11th Sept i was hospitalised in turkey for an infected foot and leg initial contact with cega was good they provided a case number for the hospital, i signed a medical release document for cega to request from my doctor. the hospital faxed the form to cega on the 11th sept. i was discharged on the 16th sept 22. the day i was supposed to fly and hospital gave a fit to fly cert but I was refused to fly by TUI because i had an open wound and the leg was swelling up. The hospital did not dress the wound they just cut off part of the abcess and left it as an open wound. so was stuck in turkey until the 28th sept 22 with no help from admiral /cega Cega did not contact my doctors until 20th September 22 whilst then contacted me to say i had to pay £50 cash to my doctors to get the requested report released --are they for real - i was in turkey and my doctors did not take card payments. aftter numerous calls to my surgery they agreed to release the report if i pid the fee on my return to the uk. 3 days after my return to the UK I was rushed to hospital with sepsis in the foot and leg and also another deadly infection. At one point the hospital would not let my family see me due to being so ill then i had surgery on the leg with two large cuts one on each side of the leg and a op on the foot to drain the poison. cega around about 20th October stated that my claim was approved and i could claim my out of pocket expenses. i started my claim and was asked to upload the requested documents onto the portal, again and again and again i have even emailed all documents to them and they are still saying they need the documents again 4 months on i am still unable to work because i still have an open wound and i blame cega for their complete incompetent failings to help repatriate me so that i could get the care and drugs that i needed. cega and admiral fail to realise that i had to arrange my own flights and pay the hotel cost etc because of their failings. ADMIRAL take note you take holiday insurance out so that you get help if something goes wrong - but that's not the case with admiral. i have complained to the ombudsman - it cost admiral £250 each time a complaint goes to the ombudsman so i would advise if it take too long or they try to avoid settling a claim to complain the more complaints made the more the ombudsman will look at their practices and admiral wont like this. i have also emailed the CEO and in 2 days if no response is received will go to the BBC's ripoff Britain programme. I would never buy any sort of insurance from this company ever again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Admiral Travel Insurance: Avoid if you travel. I will not tell you to do not choose this insurance, as it is cheap and you think it is worth, but if you really want to be safe during your travel, supported and covered for real, AVOID ADMIRAL as if something happens actually during your trips, you're in a big financial trouble. I made 3 claims back in April, to realise in September that they cancelled all the information I had uploaded saying they never received. So I uploaded the files again in October, to discover again, they deleted some of them again. Why? Their policy is to have 30 working days to verify your information, so each time with this cancelling trick they push the date of revision till the policy ends and you will never see your money. Be careful!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Admiral are literally criminals and that is no exaggeration. They ought to be renamed Pirates. Absolute shysters devoid of scruples, empathy and competence. They refused my travel insurance claim based on medical documentation from a foreign hospital that was riddled with errors and inconsistencies. I have provided a second opinion from a UK-based doctor supports my version of events but they won't accept it. Why? Because it means they'd have to pay what they owe me, about £1600. In 20 years of travelling all over the world I've never encountered such a cowboy operation. A major credit card company has accepted my evidence proving that the medical report was fraudulent and reimbursed me. But not Admiral - which makes them accessories to fraud. Everyone who works for them belongs in jail.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Had an incident in my car, called admiral and they said to do claim online as easier and quicker ! Straight away was informed by the online system that my car was a total loss - they hadn't actually seen the car, (it's only 8 years old and in good condition, and worth c£20k!, so not sure how it is a total loss) Have tried several times to get an update, as need to sort replacement car, been on chat for over 2 hours, several times, also on hold on call for 1 ½ hours, (3 times) and still no-one knows what is happening. Get passed from one department to another, then get told someone will call me back with an update, and still not happened ! (fifth time today I have been told I will get a call back....lets see if it happens!) Been told that last week an engineer was assessing what type of loss it will be - not sure why that stops them talking to me Now having read other reviews on class team, I wish Id insured elsewhere! Tried live chat, email and telephone - all hopeless!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Awful, dishonest, incompetent scammers. £350 charge ("fine" really) to cancel a renewed policy I no longer wanted. Contradicts their own website fee schedule, and they also let me cancel (online) without warning me of their intended fee. DO NOT USE. THEY CANNOT BE TRUSTED.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Every single custom commented its True don't ever be tempted Insure with ADMIRAL YOU WILL REGRET IT They will make you to go through h*** and they won fix your vehicle
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Cancelled a policy with them and they processed a refund. Thought that was the end of it how wrong i was, received a default on my credit file dated th 24th November 2022 from admiral, so i rang them and they stated i owed the £237.40 so i questioned the refund there words it was our mistake. So a letter arrives 29th November asking for payment this letter is the first communication with them dated the 24th November, the very day they put a default on my credit file DUE TO THERE MISTAKE BE VERY VERY CAREFUL
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
When I took up the car insurance last year, there was no option to opt out from the auto renewal. This year I wanted to move to another insurer as I got offered a significantly lower quote. I was sent the auto renewal notice but there was no way to stop the auto renewal unless I call them which I did. It took so long just for the call to go through. Then before I was allowed to cancel, they asked me so many many questions and personal details that I found unnecessary. Such a was of time and invasion of personal information. They said they cannot cancel my auto renewal unless they get these informations from me. I felt so bullied and the entire experience was just horrible. Such a waste of my time too. Avoid this unethical company unless you are ready to be bullied next year. All the best!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The worst insurance company ever with the poorest and most incompetent customer service. 2 days after a car break down I still don't know when and where my car will be recovered and fixed and no courtesy car. We have just 1 car in the family and we rely on it for our busy schedule. I have lost 4 hours of my work to try to connect with them. Worthless. They ping-pong between different departments with endless hold to find out that no one is the right person to talk with. No further comments just a recommendation DON'T WASTE your money with them
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
New premium was £120 more than last premium.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The worst car insurance company I have insured my car with! Incompetent doesn’t quite describe them enough as the service I have been receiving is far worse! Despite updating and confirming my new address 4 times it is still not changed on their system! Being allocated a wrong area catchment garage then being informed they will be resolving this and someone will get back to me, It has been over 8 weeks they have not been able to allocate a garage to have my repaired! Being made to wait on the phone for hours then being cut before any resolution would be made which meant calling back and going through the whole process of hours of waiting to get through! Being misinformed about someone will get back to me after making a complaint which still has not happened! Constantly being given verbal apology but no action or resolution has been made! No one ever calls back or gets back to you! Being misinformed about not needing a CCTV footage then being informed that it is needed! When it comes to taking the payment they’re on point and on time but when it comes to providing the service they are too busy and do not have the time! Waste of money waste of time the poorest customer service providers!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Admiral is rated 2.8 based on 1,363 reviews