Animal Friends Reviews

1.75 Rating 441 Reviews
18 %
of reviewers recommend Animal Friends
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Animal Friends made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I have been a loyal customer for 10 years and I can say they have gone downhill. I have had cause to contact them twice in the last 12 months and both times have been thoroughly disappointing. The first time was for my 'elderly' dog of 10 years for whom they only paid me a percentage of the cost. The second for my cat who I had to take to the out of hours vet. She had severe diarrhoea and was floppy and deteriorating. the cost of the vet was £316.42 yet they only paid me £70.95!!! I have a Superior Plus policy yet they gave me £70.95. I think I am paying my money for no benefit, they like to take the money but not pay it out.
Posted 1 year ago
Recently Had a claim with them, a few small deductions i am querying but overall a positive experience. Paid out in good time after receiving the claim. As with all insurance it is worth reading the General Exclusions in pol wording or phoning direct to ask if they cover specific things
Posted 1 year ago
On line quotes do not highlight the clauses and claim deductions on policies. For pets over 8 years good example 20% deducted from the final vets bill.no death payment, no cremation payment. No blood samples paid.excess on policy is £90.
Posted 1 year ago
Our 13 year-old cat was treated by the vet for a tumour in the abdomen; unfortunately he did not respond to the treatment and had to be put to sleep. Losing a beloved pet is bad enough, but now AF have advised that they will cover only about 40% of the treatment costs, for reasons I frankly fail to understand. I have contacted them for their comments and await their reply. The policy is very long and long-winded, and it is doubtful if anyone would read it word by word, as like me they trusted that AF is an honourable organisation. I note that virtually all the reviews of AF on this website are complaints concerning payment - or more accurately non-payment. I also intend to speak to the vet for his comments. If we do get another cat we shall most certainly not be insuring with AF again. Our sadness at losing our little friend is now tainted with anger.
Posted 1 year ago
Total scammers, no friends of animals, as with any insurance company use any excuse to not pay. They are no friends of animals whatsoever, just want to make money - disgusting company.
Posted 1 year ago
This is an appalling company. I am so sorry I didn't find this site sooner. Paid a higher amount because my dog is 10. Very active dog. Last year when he had his annual injections the vet ask how he was in general, I said for an elderly dog he is ok but sometimes struggles getting over the door step. The vet made notes and said it he gets worse bring him back and he'll check him out. 12 months later my dog started limping, took him back and the vet checked him out after xrays he said his cruciate ligament was damaged. He was operated on and made a full recovery. The now say they will not pay as it should have been addressed 12 months ago. The vet wrote to them stating the comments are in no way related to this injury. Refused to pay. I intend passing this to my solicitors and placing a formal complaint with the Ombudsmen. Do not use t hem.
Posted 1 year ago
Like many many others, I found that the company find a way of getting out of paying claims. Premium for my second dog became massive when reaching 10 years old so I reduced cover to accident only for £126. Renewal just came through at £328. That is a 160% increase in a year without any claims. They clearly only want your money, despite the company name.
Posted 1 year ago
DO NOT insure "senior dogs" with this company I have been insuring 2 x dogs both now 10 years old with them for years. It is fine when the dogs are young but as soon as health problems due to old age arise suddenly you are handing over £90 excess PLUS 20% of each claim per condition. On top of that if your dog starts with a Lifelong Condition which, during the first months requires a lot of medication, vet visits for reviews plus physio or treatment, if you do not keep up with sending in Continuation Claim Forms in good time (because of all the travelling to and from vets etc) and decide to bulk up all vet fees in a Continuation Form - suddenly that claim form is not allowed because it is over 90 days! So whilst thinking that my dogs vet fees etc are safe - they are not. I do not mind spending money to make sure my dogs are well cared for but when you pay a lot of money for Premiums, then have to contribute 20% of each claim etc, you would expect every Claim to be accepted and paid. I am absolutely disgusted with this company but now my dogs are "senior" i.e. 10 years old with lifelong illness eg Canine Arthritis and Dry Eye Syndrom, I am stuck.
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible experience when our flatcoat died of cancer of the blood vessel lining. He’d had a skin tag removed 10 months previously, mainly as a precaution and so we could test it. The vet concluded it was nothing to worry about but the lab didn’t absolutely rule out that it could be a low grade spindle cell tumour. Instantly, Animal Friends placed an exclusion on all future cancers and tumors, so when George got sick, they refused to pay for any xrays or scans, even though they acknowledged, in writing, that it was a completely new and unrelated condition. Ironically, if it was related there would have been a bit of money in the pot as we weren’t up to the condition limit, so they managed to wriggle out of paying out on both fronts. Despite trying to reason with them, they have just quoted large paragraphs from their terms and conditions, they are very quick to wriggle out of their obligations. I have a new puppy now and I am searching for a new insurer - will never use Animal Friends again, nor will I use anyone underwritten by E and L.
Posted 1 year ago
Refused to pay out on first ever claim after 2 years with them ...... Do not trust anything they advertise....
Posted 1 year ago
Terrible experience when I had to make first claim ever. Even tho I provided all the information and photos I was refused support and left me with massive dept, stress and disappointment. Avoid! Avoid! Avoid! I saw they have adds in tv now and felt terribly bad thinking that people will believe them and sign up.
Posted 1 year ago
AF tried to link my dog's condition to something unrelated in my dog's history from five years ago so my claim was turned down. My vet wrote to AF explaining that it was unrelated but they still wouldn't accept my claim. There's clearly no point handing over nearly £26pm for insurance when AF responds like this so I've cancelled my policy.
Posted 1 year ago
Very disappointed with abrupt,argumentative and rude attitude of the member of staff I spoke to when called to question my claim(only one in my dog's lifetime!) that they now refuse to fully cover even tho they made a clear mistake!I definitely won't use them again.They are cheap for a reason.
Posted 1 year ago
Like so many other customers we have been trying to claim on our policy. Months of waiting they now want more money BEFORE they will look at claim! As others found out they spend more time avoiding paying out than they do in resolving claims. DO NOT use this company - they do NOT listen to complaints and ignore all requests. Useless sums them up.
Posted 1 year ago
My dog was laying motionless on the floor ,with various parts of his body swelling at a rapid pace.I thought he was dying so took him to the emergency vet .Animal friends refused to pay out as they didn’t see it as life threatening.Maybe I should have waited to see if he died .Policy Cancelled AVOID
Posted 1 year ago
Will not pay out after years of being a customer. Would avoid at all costs
Posted 1 year ago
This company do not pay out. Their policies are cheap for a reason. After being a customer for many years, with no claims, they are refusing to pay out with no good reason. Total scammers. Avoid.
Posted 1 year ago
My dog looked like she was either poisoned or having a stroke as she couldn't see or stand up. Took her to an emergency vet at 10pm. After trawling through all her medical records from the day she was born (looking for an excuse not to pay), they couldn't find a reason not to pay so their excuse was that the situation was not an emergency and it could have waited until normal hours appointment. They have docked the emergency part of the vet bill. See attached. I have been a loyal customer for many years and never claimed anything. Absolutely disgusted. Raised a formal complaint and I'm taking them to the ombudsman.
Posted 1 year ago
Terribly disappointing after having complied with all requests, my claim for my poor dog has not yet been processed despite being told it is in the 'priority' section of claims to be processed. My dog had treatment way back in October and I paid a lot of money for her treatment. I have never experienced such a drawn out process such as this, it leaves me very unwilling to continue with Animal friends insurance.
Posted 1 year ago
They have rejected our RTA claim for our dog on the most spurious grounds so now on top of worrying about our pets recovery, we also have to worry about the bill. Do not use this company if you want peace of mind.
Posted 1 year ago
Animal Friends is rated 1.75 based on 441 reviews