General Accident Reviews

3.0 Rating 557 Reviews
50 %
of reviewers recommend General Accident
3.0
Based on 557 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat

Write Your review

Tell us how General Accident made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
30 mins on the phone and still no answer. just want to know what the clause means re no cover for theft if thatcham item not used. car comes with a factory alarm. nothing to say how long i have to wait. consider this poor customer service when they want my money,,
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I insured my car because the quote offered was reasonable. I have not had any dealing with General Accident since buying my policy so I can’t offer any criticism, good or bad.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
They seem ok but you have to download and print everything which is ok if you have a printer, I didn't know this when I took the policy out if I had I may not have taken it out.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Expensive to leave - will not be renewing for the other car I have a policy with them Cannot recommend
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Telematics lack of customer services
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Cheapest insurance that was around to be honest
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Easy to deal with very competative quote also low charge on monthly payment plan
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
I would consider General accident to be very easy to deal with. Very competitive quote ,and for us older customers you can contact them by phone for the first month and it doesn’t take you half a day looking through the small print to find their phone number!
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Terrible company. Been with them one day and driving over the limit once gave me a terrible score. Also the road I drove on is private and therefore “unnamed” which meant my score went down hugely. Very disappointed. Never should’ve gone with them
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I have had no dealings with this company to make a comment
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
DIABOLICAL!!! One star is too much and I believe this company to be fraudulent. I have been ripped off!! My policy was cancelled and I was charged for the pleasure, despite uploading my no claims proof via the automated website service following a reminder. No email trail available, therefore I am out of pocket and annoyed!! I was hoping for a response from them as I wanted to discuss my policy URGENTLY. I found myself uploading typed letter to the company via the document upload facility, which fell on deaf ears! NEVER EXPERIENCED CUSTOMER SERVICE LIKE IT IN MY LIFE!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Unable to contact anyone with regards to an urgent matter regarding false claims on the black box fitted on our car. no response to emails apart from the automated response of 48 hours. very unhelpful when the matter is URGENT. poor customer service. will not be reccomending
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I know it's a online insurance, but I find it strange how it take 48 to respond to your emails send directly to them, but respond to reviews on here straight away. when I asked for a phone call to discuss some issues with my account, I got an email back to only tell me they won't have a number to call on as it's all done online. However my issue was that they have put me down as 3 claims, when it was 2 (1 I wasn't even in the car of, but because it was a hit and run situation they said it needs to go against me?!).. is all i wanted was to speak to someone to get the issue sorted. Also wanted a quote assessing before I brought a new car but again, has to be online...therefore you can't ask any questions with the price. Every reply you do to the emails they finally send you, you have to wait another 48 hours for them to get back to you. If you don't need to speak to them at all then they are perfect as they are cheaper than some,but when you have an issue, accident or query they are rubbish unfortunately. They are no help whatsoever. The second my insurance is up I shall be moving. I'd rather pay a bit more than be worrying non stop whether my information is correct and know I can speak to someone to actually resolve it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
GA were very quick to respond to my claim and settled in a very short period of time. I was pleased with the amount they offered and would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Hi Ronnie, I'ts great to hear you're feedback! We hope to see you back at GoCompare soon. Thanks, Jenna.
Posted 3 years ago
So far so good
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Hi Norman, Thanks for leaving your review! We hope you'll visit again soon. Kind Regards, GoCompare.
Posted 3 years ago
Avoid!!! Disgraceful service no phone help or assistance... plenty other companies out there who will take my cash.... terrible website too
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Shocking service takes ages to reply As no phone contact cant even change dd date
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Simply impossible contact! I can't login to amend my policy or cancel it, but can get a new quote using my existing details. Absolutely abysmal service. Tried email, live chat, even desperate attempts to find a phone number all of which end up in claims dept who wont talk to you!! And this is how your treat loyal customers 😡
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Haven't had any problems with this company. However, I have never needed to claim.
Helpful Report
(Car Insurance) - Posted 3 years ago
Don't make the same mistake as me As a first time driver, general accident was the cheapest option so I went with them despite the poor reviews I had read online. - I repeatedly received texts informing me I had been speeding, including one informing me I had somehow gone over 70mph on a day when the only driving I had done was a 5 minute Tesco run. There is no way to challenge these claims as it is not possible to contact the company after the first month of your cover. -My insurance ran out recently, I received no communication whatsoever and no renewal offer. My policy documents simply disappeared from the 'my account' page and that was it. - The app that is meant to be used to track your driving is horrendous, it constantly crashes and the information is not presented clearly which makes it very difficult to improve your driving to earn a better score. In addition, the scoring seems completely arbitrary I can drive like a saint and still earn poor scores. Edit: My policy just got cancelled for speeding, exactly seven days before it was due to end. Out of the kindness of their hearts, general accident is covering me for the next seven days (which I will have to pay for of course - as well as a £125 'administration' fee). I thought my opinion of this company could not get any lower but they are complete scum. I'll put the same information as my complaint below: My policy has been cancelled for speeding, suspiciously on the same date it was already due to end, the only difference now being I have to pay a £125 cancellation fee as well as the price for the next seven days of cover. I do not speed and after receiving the second notification on the 5th of March I sent an email to your customer support to find out when and where you claimed I was speeding I received no response I followed up this request for more information yesterday and was sent a cancellation email today. If I was speeding (which I am sure I have not been) a time and date would have been useful to help rectify this issue, simply telling me I was speeding 'at some point over the weekend' is useless in actually helping me address the issue, but I suppose that's the point. You are simply looking for a way to cancel the policy, charge the cancellation fee, making yourselves as much money as possible since you were already aware I would not be a returning customer.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
General Accident is rated 3.0 based on 557 reviews