Policy Expert Reviews

4.7 Rating 18,344 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Policy Expert
4.7
Based on 18,344 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.7 out of 5
Read Policy Expert Reviews

About Policy Expert:

Our customers are at the heart of everything we do, and our team of experts have a real passion for making sure people get the right cover for them.

Policy Expert is driven by a desire to help our customers find not only the best value insurance, but the right insurance for their individual needs.

Our dedicated Experts are always on hand to help - either online or over the phone. Whether you want assistance in finding the right policy or even handling a claim, we make sure it’s all handled by experts.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 0600 600

Email:

ask@policyexpert.co.uk

Location:

352-390, Silbury Boulevard, Milton Keynes

Write Your review

Tell us how Policy Expert made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Policy Expert 5 star review on 11th June 2022
Stephen J
Policy Expert 5 star review on 9th March 2022
Anonymous
Policy Expert 5 star review on 25th January 2022
JOHN O
Policy Expert 5 star review on 18th January 2022
Simon
Policy Expert 5 star review on 3rd September 2021
Easterine M
Policy Expert 5 star review on 14th July 2021
Anonymous
Policy Expert 5 star review on 26th June 2021
Bob H
10
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
We have an outstanding claim with them. Their initial response to this was impressive, however its been ongoing for almost 7 months now, and has become a very frustrating experience. They rarely call back within a reasonable time, and seem to take forever to review information and act on it. I've renewed with them simply because of the outstanding claim, otherwise I'd have spent the extra and gone somewhere else.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good morning, thank you for leaving us a review. I'd like to apologise for the fact that you've experienced a lack of communication from the claims team. We have been extremely busy to the recent weather and therefore, callbacks etc are taking a little longer than usual. I have forwarded your details over to the claims department and requested that someone contacts you urgently regarding this. Someone will be in touch shortly, if there is anything else we can assist you with in the meantime, please do not hesitate to get in touch on 0330 0600 632. Thanks, Hannah
Posted 4 years ago
Quite confusing customer service; I rang to extend my cover to include homeworking and a new policy has been set up, however the advisor has removed the Emergency Cover without my consent. Obviously I had to pay upfront but I am not satisfied that part of my policy was accidentally cancelled. If it was not a mistake, the advisor did not make it clear that he removes my Emergency Cover.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good morning, thanks for leaving us a review. I have looked into things for you and can see that you have spoken to us since leaving this review and that things have now been resolved for you. I'd like to apologise for any previous inconvenience caused but would like to reassure you that everything has now been sorted. If you would like to discuss this further, or if there is anything else I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch on 0330 0600 632. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 4 years ago
The phone lines shut at 8pm yet I was still on hold at 10mins past after closing when I called at 7.40pm. The phone calls either need to answered or an automated voicemail needs to be put on the line at 8pm.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good afternoon, Thanks for getting in touch, I am sorry to hear you could not get through to our customer service team, if our phone lines get particularly busy there is usually an option to leave your number to automatically arrange a call back. I would like to apologise if this was not the case, we will look into this further. I have sent you over an email to the registered email address on your account for further information. As soon as we have heard back from you we can assist you further. Thanks, Georgie
Posted 4 years ago
2 days after buying the insurance I was forced to agree and sign page after page after page of T & C’s. I was not told any of this during the purchase or the insurance, so it was therefore to late to decide if I actually agreed to the terms, as I don’t have the free cash to decline and have already committed to buying the insurance. its just Bad, not a reputable company with underhand tactics like this...
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good morning, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Whilst it is important you read through your policy documents, the only thing you would be required to sign is the direct debit agreement. When purchasing your policy online you are automatically emailed this information to ensure you are happy with your monthly instalments. If you have any further queries about your policy please don't hesitate to get in touch and speak with our customer services team on 0330 0600 632. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 4 years ago
Wrong information and advice by first advisor better from the second advisor it should not be my responsibility to chase up my needs your lucky I remain a customer-I don't agree with buying 12 months cover and cancelling existing why can't a policy be amended?????
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good morning, thanks for leaving us a review about your recent experience. I am sorry to hear that you received some potentially incorrect information from one of our members of staff. I am keen to look into this for you and have therefore sent you an email regarding things. Also, just to confirm, we are unfortunately, unable to amend a policy mid-term and we would therefore have to cancel the current policy and set up a new one to ensure that everything is on the correct basis. If you would like to discuss this further, or if there is anything else I can assist you with then please respond directly to my email. Thanks, Hannah
Posted 4 years ago
Price quoted didnt match the final price.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good morning, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. There are certain risk factors that can affect your premium. If any of the details listed within your quote change it can change the price of the policy. Please feel free to contact our customer services team on 0330 0600 632 or send us an email (ask@policyexpert.co.uk) if you wish to discuss this further or have any queries at all, we will be more than happy to help. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 4 years ago
I wanted to buy two policies one for daughter and one for me ...I tried to claim the referral fee but .....there were restrictions which are not stated on your information ..my daughter's insurance went through but I cancelled mine just hope their service is better
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good afternoon, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. There are terms and conditions that apply to our 'Refer a friend offer' which can be found on our website but I am keen to look into this further for you. I have sent an email to the registered email address on the account so once I have heard back from you we can clarify this. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 4 years ago
My Policy Premium quotation was significantly increased and the cover was reduced from last year. This is sharp practice on the Insurer's part and I needed to call to clarify this point. On investigation, I spotted that the Terms & Conditions have changed without highlighting the changes, so some 50+ pages will require reviewing in detail to try to identify changes. This is another example of sharp practice by the Insurer. This leads me to the view that this Insurer can't be trusted and it is therefore extremely unlikely that I will renew again when my yearly policy expires in January 2019.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good morning, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We send out your renewal invite around a month prior to your policy expiring, this document states any changes to the cover, the new renewal premium, when the payment will be taken and how to stop the renewal so I am really sorry if this was unclear. Please contact our customer services team on 0330 0600 632 or email us ask@policyexpert.co.uk if you have unsure about your cover, we will be more than happy to go through any queries you may have. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 4 years ago
You were aware the email address you held for my was no longer unavailable , you still continued re newing my police without my consent. Is this legal .? After aconversation with a member of your staff I agreed to renew my policy , then being told I’ve to wait three days before the initial payment to be paid back into my bank account. Luckily there were sufficient funds in my account to enable me to do this. This has never happened to me before. I’ve stressed I do not want money taken from my bank account then this policy is due for renewal this time next year.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good Morning Barbara, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, We let all customers know 30 days before their renewal if they are opted in to our auto-renewal scheme via email, I can see that you only let us know about an email address change after your policy renewed hence why you were unaware that this was going to happen. It is standard for all refunds to take 3-5 working days to process and I apologies for any inconvenience caused but I am glad one of our renewals agents managed to keep you on board for another year. Kind regards Georgie
Posted 4 years ago
After searching for a several hours trying to find the best deal, Policy Expert appeared to be good value at £24.40 per month. They were promoting their easy to understand policy. So I clicked to purchase, only to find my first payment was going to be over £70 pounds which when added to my further monthly payments meant I will be paying nearly £6.00 more than I had budgeted for. I believe the way the quotation figures were presented was very misleading.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Automatically renewed my policy 4 days before it was due to be renewed therefore forgoing my opportunity to cancel & use someone else!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good morning, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Around a month prior to the expiry of your policy, we send out your renewal invite by post and by email. This correspondence states the cover, the premium, when the policy will renew and when payment is taken. We take payment the week before expiry to avoid any payment issues preventing the policy set up and leaving our customers without cover. With all policy purchases we give a '14 day cooling off period' which means if you cancel during this time you would not be charged a fee but if you wish to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact our customer services team on 0330 0600 632 or email us ask@policyexpert.co.uk. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 4 years ago
I asked for contents accidental damage cover.Where is it
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good afternoon, Thanks for leaving us a review. I am sorry for any confusion caused by the cover you hold. I have sent you over an email with confirmation of the policy and where to find the optional extras included. If you need anything else just let me know and I will be more than happy to help. Thanks again, Vicky
Posted 4 years ago
Not happy that I got a bad report by their. Error over a non claim, they increased my premium!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good morning, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that this incident happened. Usually, if you report a loss to an insurer, regardless of whether you have claimed or not, this will be noted at your next renewal. I can see that you have spoken with us and that this has now all been resolved. However, if you wish to discuss this further, or if there is anything else we can help you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch on 0330 060 632. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 4 years ago
It is bad enough that insurance companies automatically renew policies rather than let the customer decide if they want to renew but now you renew it a week before it even expires! This resulted in me having a policy I didn't want and a charge on my credit card because I dared to leave it until a few days before the policy expired. If you must auto renew why can you not wait until the policy actually expires until you renew and take payment? Also why can you not offer me your best price upfront? When I phoned up a discount was applied and home emergency cover given for free but I shouldn't have to phone I should get your best price straight away. This is all designed to rip off customers who don't shop around or haggle with companies.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good afternoon Mr Abbott, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear this has happened. We send renewal reminders 30 days prior to your renewal date to give our customers time to notify us of any changes or whether they want to 'opt out' of automatic renewal. If we do not hear from you 5 days before the renewal date, the policy will automatically renew (as confirmed in your renewal correspondence) this is to avoid our customers being left without cover if there is a payment issue. The renewal quote you receive is based on the information we held for you last year, at the time of renewal, your insurer would pick out the best quote at that time and send it to you. As we are an insurance broker, we have a few insurers on our panel that may cover you for less which is why you would have got a better offer when you had called us. I hope this explains it and if you do have any questions or need any help with anything at all, please call our customer services team on 03300600632. Thanks Nisha
Posted 4 years ago
My credit card was debited automatically at renewal time. Although a lot of insurers do this I still don't understand why it is allowed. Also, the free extras used to entice customers are not continued in the following years.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good afternoon Mr Bowers, Thank you for your review. When our customer's policy is in the renewal period (30 days prior to renewal) we will send out renewal reminders by post and email to give our customers time to confirm whether they would like to renew or cancel their policy with us. If we do not hear from you 5 days before the renewal date the policy will automatically renew so that we can ensure the home is covered if there any issues with payment. The Home Emergency and the legal cover were free for the first year as part of an offer. I have emailed you directly with further information regarding the policy extras. If there is anything else we can help with or you have any questions, please call our customer services team on 03300600632. Thanks Nisha
Posted 4 years ago
Home insurance ok but wouldn't give me a quote on my car insurance
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good morning Mr Foster, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not given a quote for your car insurance, I have tried calling you to discuss this further but unfortunately, you were unavailable. I am keen to look into this for you so I have emailed you directly, please respond to the email at your earliest convenience and I will pick this up right away. Thanks Nisha
Posted 4 years ago
Although I have not made any claims the premium has gone up
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good morning, thank you for your review. Unfortunately, sometimes even if you have not claimed, a price increase at renewal is inevitable. Whilst we always try to keep prices down, sometimes certain factors do not allow us to do this. However, if you call our renewals specialists on 0330 0600 648, we will be happy to see if there is anything that we can do for you this year. Thanks, Hannah.
Posted 4 years ago
Advisers working to a script who: - read it very quickly and gave little chance to check understanding. - were mostly concerned with warning me that all my details must be accurate. - did not understand or answer my questions properly. - displayed no charm or warmth in doing their job.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good afternoon Mr Porter, Thank you for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear this has happened, We do have a duty to ensure that your policy is accurate, however, we would expect this to be done in a professional manner. I have passed this on to our quality team in order for them to listen to the call and offer further training if required. If there is anything else we can help you with, please call our customer services team on 03300600632. Thanks Nisha
Posted 4 years ago
I rang up to give a new card number for renewal. I made it clear that there were NO changes necessary. In spite of this I had to suffer 15 mins of going through the details at my expense. Had the card number been correct the renewal would have gone through automatically. He then wasted more of my time by trying to sell me further products which I had already said NO changes. If this is the way your staff are trained to act I suggest you retrain them to prevent them wasting time. No changes MEANS No changes. I hope this is helpful, however I will switch the policy if it happens again. T J Maguire
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, we are only able to automatically renew a policy with the original card you used previously. If we need to change or amend anything (including payment method) it would effectively start a new policy, this means that we would need to reconfirm a few basic cover details to ensure you are informed of the policy you are purchasing. I am really sorry if this was not a smooth process for you, we would always try and ensure renewing your policy is an easy task so we will listen into the call and offer further training where required, so thank you for your feedback. If you wish to discuss this further or have any queries at all please do not hesitate to call our customer services team on 0330 0600 632 and we will be more than happy to help. Thanks, Vicky
Posted 4 years ago
I already had a Policy Expert policy and I was happy with the renewal quote received through the post especially as I was offered renewal of Emergency Cover for £6.99. Having carefully checked the schedule I tried to renew on line but I could not find a way to accept the Emergency Cover offer. I phoned to renew and I had to go through every line in the schedule as if I was buying a new policy over the phone. It must have taken 15 minutes for a call that should only have taken two or three minutes.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Good morning, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the renewal process was long winded for you. We have a duty to ensure we are covering you accurately, however, as we aim to make the process as quick and smooth as possible for our customers, we would not expect this to take longer than a few minutes. In order to look into this further for you, please email us directly at ask@policyexpert.co.uk and put FAO Nisha and I will pick this up right away. Thanks Nisha
Posted 5 years ago
Policy Expert is rated 4.7 based on 18,344 reviews