Groupon Reviews

2.08 Rating 979 Reviews
26 %
of reviewers recommend Groupon
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 34%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 60%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.25 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better

Write Your review

Tell us how Groupon made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
The customer service is non existent.

I have been a customer for many years and have become very dissatisfied with them so stopped ordering.
Unfortunately I decided to give them another chance but the website crashed while ordering. The items weren't in my account so I reordered...5mims all the items turned up in my account.

I contacted customer service immediately and was told I'd get a refund. Next thing I get an email saying I would get groupon credits instead, I sent a reply saying that wasnt acceptable and had no response.
I contacted customer service the next morning and was told the items were ALL out for delivery and I could return them for groupon credit once they arrived.

How dare you keep my money!! Customer service is a joke!!
I will never, ever order anything from you again.
Posted 4 hours ago
Booked a haircut and colour through groupon - haircut was awful and hairdresser did not comply with social distancing guidelines - contacted groupon to advise this and to refund me as was not happy with it - all they did was give me £10 groupon credit - asked for my complaint to be forwarded to a manager but didn’t even get a response!
Posted 4 days ago
I bought a Groupon after calling Bike and Kayak to ask if they had an opening for a Groupon deal on a particular day and time. When I attempted to redeem the offer, I got the redemption code and I was unable to use it. When I called Bike and Kayak, they said they only allow a few Groupons to be redeemed on weekends and I should try a weekday. That wouldn't work for working people. I then contacted Groupon to try to return the coupon, but since I had gotten a redemption code, they wouldn't let me return it. The entire fiasco took me hours to work on and I have been fuming about our ruined trip for days.
Posted 1 week ago
Purchased a voucher for a haircut at the start of August and was informed by the salon that it was not valid - a fact that Groupon had been aware of for months now. Groupon refused to take responsibility for this or offer a refund. Instead I was passed to a new member of the team every time I contacted them, meaning I had to waste time explaining the situation on multiple occasions. After nearly 2 months of back and forth I was offered £3 in 'Groupon bucks' as compensation for the trouble. I eventually had to accept that I couldn't waste any more time or effort arguing with a company that clearly had no intention or returning the money they stole from me. Disgraceful customer service and a horrible experience, avoid at all costs.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Booked to go to shrigley hall in macclesfield weekend spa break was not told by groupon we had to pay extra £49 per person to use the pool our room was dirty lovely views and lovely food but spoilt by state of our room and didn't know extra swimming cost
Posted 1 month ago
Quality of every single product I ordered in last few months has been absolutely cheap and tacky!! It’s states in all groupon items that they are slashed down in price with huge discounts !!’ False advertising !! The items are not worth the money you pay !! Would not recommend this online shopping whatsoever !!! I’m extremely disappointed !!
Posted 1 month ago
Groupon was not honored by merchant. Groupon refused a refund. Have to file fraud claim with bank.
Posted 1 month ago
I wouldn't even give this company one star if I had the choice.
I have written a bad review about them previously and now have another.
Due to a previous bad experience, I was given £140 in Groupon credits (after they wrongly took my money and would not refund me).
I was not informed that my credits would run out within 12 months (which would have been in July 2020) and have now been told that my credits have expired and that I am not entitled to an extension of any kind due to the pandemic.
This company are absolute crooks and I strongly advise everyone to steer clear of them. Its nearly impossible to get them on live chat and so many bad reviews!!!! Mine is just another to add to the list.
Posted 1 month ago
I purchased a Groupon for the Chattanooga Ducks (boat ride) for a trip my family was taking. I purchased it two weeks in advance. When I bought the Groupon, it said to go online to the merchants website and purchase tickets with a coupon code Groupon provided. The coupon code did not work. I contacted customer service and they told me to contact the merchant. The merchant never contacted me back so I contacted Groupon customer service again and they said they would "escalate the issue" and to wait 24-48 hours for a response. I waited 72 hours and heard nothing so I contacted customer service again two days before our trip and they said they would escalate it again and to wait 24-48 hours again. I told them I didnt have that long and I wanted a refund. They said they dont give refunds once the confirmation is opened for redemption. I never got to redeem the Groupon so I paid for a useless Groupon AND paid full price for the duck boat tickets. Groupon customer service is polite but extremely USELESS and Groupon is completely USELESS. NEVER BUY FROM GROUPON. Safe your money!
Posted 1 month ago
Groupon sent the complete wrong type of bamboo - two very damaged clematis and a bent and damaged out door storage item - so none of these items are any good the bamboo is invasive so I can’t plant it where I’d planned - the clematis are half dead and so damaged they are much shorter then advertised abs the storage item is only fit for the tip- been trying to arrange with groupon to takes these items away ( too big for me to try and return on foot) I don’t drive ! I just want my money back it’s £78 combined and I’ll need to go elsewhere to buy it all again all they keep doing is telling me to print off labels and return these myself - I don’t own a printer - COVID 19 means I can’t do this elsewhere and no I’m not struggling with two massive boxes - Groupon you the company have made the errors I’m the customer and I’m simply want my money back and for you to arrange for these items to be taken away !
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible customer service
Posted 1 month ago
We booked a Creek Cat Tour through Groupon for our recent trip to HHI. The company called us three days after original booking to tell us that when we booked their creek cats were down and that on that date, they were STILL down. We cancelled immediately, received a cancellation notice and requested a Groupon refund to the credit card issued within an hour of the cancellation. Groupon claims that the voucher was viewed and despite the cancellation notice, they refuse to issue a refund. I have informed them that the card used was not mine and that my boyfriend would like to be refunded in full. They will only issue Groupon bucks despite me telling them that after this ordeal I NEVER plan to use their services again. Do NOT use Groupon. If the company cancels due to COVID19 or maintenance issues after a certain time period (usually too late for you to do anything about it) they will NOT issue you a refund in full which will tie up your funds. Their customer service is the worst and they are not customer friendly. DO NOT USE GROUPON!
Posted 1 month ago
DO NOT use groupon! I purchased a couple of car detailing vouchers totaling $160. After speaking with the business owner, turns out they were not accepting groupon vouchers! Groupon has a 3 day cancellation policy (which is a scam) so I was unable to get my money back!! (It's been 2 weeks since I bought vouchers) They refunded me in groupon bucks. Shady & scamy!
Posted 1 month ago
Shipment was damaged enroute and returned to merchant, who same day refunded my shipping costs. Groupon would not refund my purchase and says i can only take groupon bucks,
Entire customer service center is in INDIA and emails to groupon customer service come back”address no longer valid”
Avoid these folks
Posted 1 month ago
So disappointed in Groupon. Following all the rules for cancelling a hotel stay at the Sirata resort in St Pete by contacting the hotel and Groupon both with more that 24 hours before my stay per the hotel covid exception they refused to refund my purchase. I was told sorry I didn’t like the ending decision and they closed my case with no other way of contacting any else. I wasn’t offered Groupon bucks or a partial refund. I won’t be using Groupon again and have made sure I have advised family and friends not to either. I was such a fan of Groupon and never had a problem being assisted with issues but especially right
Now with being a single mom with hours severely cut from my job due to covid pandemic I am no fan anymore. I live in Florida where case rates are going up by the thousands daily and once again followed the steps to cancel my hotel stay in the appropriate amount of time and was denied. Disappointed, disappointed you have lowered your values in this difficult time.
Posted 1 month ago
I recently purchased a Groupon for a Valvoline Instant Oil Change in Rochester, NY. I went to use it and was told it was not valid. Apparently the Groupon I was sold was only valid in Maryland? I am not sure why or how I would have been sold something only valid in Maryland, so I contacted Groupon. They refused to issue a refund, blaming a change in their policy due to Covid-19 (the catch all excuse apparently). I was hung up on (via chat) 2 times. I requested to speak with a supervisor and was told due to Covid-19 they could not do that. Beware of Groupon, it would have been one thing to issue a refund and acknowledge the issue, but to keep my money leaving me with an invalid coupon is unacceptable. If a deal is too good to be true, it probably is
Posted 1 month ago
I bought a groupon for a retail store. When I tried to use it the same day the retailer said I was ineligible and could not use it. After much time I finally was able to get on a chat. After explaining everything to her she told me I would get a refund within 48 hours. The next day I received 2 emails telling me I had to get the refund from the retailer. I paid Groupon, not the retailer! Their refund policy stinks.
Posted 1 month ago
I have used Groupon for years and would previously have rated them highly. However, they have recently shown themselves to be very incompetent in many ways.

At the end of July this year I purchased a voucher for a hair salon and used the Groupon booking tool to book and receive confirmation of my appointment. I turned up to my appointment at the confirmed time, 3 days after booking, to find the company closed. I know these are strange times, but I wouldn't have expected Groupon to be selling services that don't exist AND taking specific bookings and sending confirmations for it. The salon seemed to have been closed for several months so I really have no idea how/why Groupon were making bookings for them?

I immediately wrote to let them know, and they appear to have removed the service from their listing. They informed me that they would refund me - albeit not taking into account the time I wasted by going into the city, the fuel/parking, and extreme disappointment over it as I was left to stand outside an empty salon, having been looking forward to this very much.

What made it worse is that when I went to book a massage at a different salon (NOT a hair salon, and a salon with a totally different name, in a different town/county) which was going to be a birthday treat for myself, I discovered that Groupon had cancelled/refunded that and not the haircut voucher! (despite telling them the name of the salon that wasn't open and they can clearly see what I'd booked and had yet to claim).

Over 3 weeks and numerous frustrating emails later, I am STILL waiting for the original refund for the non-service, and for the voucher that THEY cancelled for no reason to be reinstated. It's hard to believe that they still haven't sorted it out or responded to several of my emails, and I can't get over the sheer incompetence of it all.

It is unfortunate that I will no longer be able to use them, as I did previously very much like Groupon but I can no longer trust them to check they are selling genuine services, or to get it right when there is an issue and they're refunding vouchers that shouldn't be refunded, which to me is incomprehensible.

The last email I sent was to ask that they make the refunds back to my original payment card rather than their automatic transfer to a Groupon credit voucher that expires after 12 months - especially as these refunds are down to their ineptitude. I will never use again.
Posted 2 months ago
I do not appreciate your costumer service. Rude snd impatient. Unflexibel when things go wrong. Your acceptance of the voucher process - are you sure- you can’t go back- process is ridiculous. Who on the world has time to figure out your system.

And your deals ???? I rather pay full price than waiting for an availability for two weeks.
I will delete the app.
Posted 2 months ago
Items never received. Tracking says delivered, but nothing ever came to our house. Contacted Groupon with no response. When we moved to AZ I updated my profile with a new mailing address. As I now see everything got updated except the mailing address. When I made the order, I checked the box: Mailing Address same as billing address. The system auto filled the mailing address with the outdated information. The purchase must have been sent FL. I will be challenging the purchase with American Express.
Posted 2 months ago
Groupon is rated 2.08 based on 979 reviews