The Home Depot Reviews

1.6 Rating 805 Reviews
13 %
of reviewers recommend The Home Depot
1.6
Based on 805 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 27%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 52%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.4 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how The Home Depot made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Placed online order on April 7 2024 for building materials. Heavy order so I pay extra for the delivery. Online sys everything in stock & able to deliver 4/11/24 between 6am & 8 pm. I set it up with no signature required. Placed ored through one Home Depot in Northeast Philadelphia. Turns out it is being delivered by the Roosevelt Blvd, Northeast Phila. store. On the day of delivery I get a notice of missed delivery. I immediately call. After forever on hold I ask how cold it be a missed delivery if no signature is required. i am told that it is actually being resceduled becouse one small item has to come from another store and it will be delivered on 4/12/24. No delivery 4/12. On 4/13 the small item that was holding tup the order is delivered by itself. The rest of the order is rescheduled for 4/15. On 4/15 I call and after holding for ever and a 1/2 hour on phone and a bunch of appologies I'm told it will be delivered between 6 am & 8pm on 4/17!!!!. Today 4/17/24 tracked my order several times online and still didn't say that it was out for delivery. Around 1pm I call up to find out what is going on. 800 # transfers me to the store. Store says everything is in stock and she will have the shipping manager call me directly to update me. Suprise no call. Called the store directly when I got home at 6:30. Got ut through to shipping. This guy doesn;t know anything. The guy who knows (and did't call me) left at 5. Call back tomorrow at 8. Still no call or text or email to update me about any changes in the delivery today. Maybe they will contact me in July to try and deliver. What a way to run a bussiness. !!@#$$^^$**%%(&)*&X#%$X#$()_!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I would strongly suggest not ordering online. My delivery boxes had large holes in them. The shower stall was severely damaged. When you finally get someone on the phone. You will get a call within 2 business days. Package will be scheduled for pickup. Then you will be refunded. Then you can reorder. Mean while the contractor has to go to other jobs. So, I don’t know how long to receive another shower. Then reschedule the contractor. May be a month or longer. Clearly it was damaged during shipping. No pride in their work. I was told by the customer service supervisor, we can’t have pride anymore. I strongly disagree. Meanwhile I will go get a shower from another company. Maybe by the end of next week, I may have my refund. Very poor service. I have pictures. Don’t see how to upload them. Good bye Home Depot. My solution was to ship me another shower today and pick the damaged one up. Customer service said it doesn’t work that way.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Home Depot has made it very difficult to manage my account online. They have increased interest rates on their Home Depot card. The products in the store are way more expensive than Lowe’s their competitor. Take my advise pay off Home Depot shop at Lowe’s way more professional and friendlier service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
No help putting 150 lbs package in my truck. In fact no one helps when you walk into the store.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
No help putting 150 lbs package in my truck. In fact no one helps when you walk into the store.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We would like to express our experience with the glouster location appliance person Paula Boyd. She has gone over and above to keep us informed on our appliance deliveries she gone above and beyond to get our appliances to us. Thank you.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I just want to say how much I appreciate all the help and support I got at our local Home Depot in Butler, Pennsylvania from assistant manager, Lisa! She went far above and beyond to help us with a couple issues we had with a newly purchased washer & dryer set. The delivery team dropped the ball on this one, but Lisa picked it up and ran for a big score! She is a wonderful and compassionate lady and the Butler Home Depot is very fortunate to have her on their team.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I bought a stove and refrigerator from the Lorain Home Depot store, the deliver company to drop off the frig yesterday, the water line was still hooked up so when I went in the basement to turn the water off the delivery guys freaked out. I explained to them the new refrigerator does not have an ice maker so I was doing away with the line not to worry about it. When I went to the basement they just left, Did not tell me they were leaving. Just left the new frig in the dinning room and the old frig that was already unhooked from the water line. Now I have 2. So I look and they have scratched the new frig up so bad I guess they decided to scoot before I saw it. So I call the store and spoke to Eric, he said Sorry, we cant help you, call the delivery company! Excuse me, I bought it from you!! So I did, they said the best they can do is come back Friday and get the new frig out of my living room and return it to the store! Needless to say I went back to the store got my money back for the stove, and as soon as they pick the new POS up out of my dinning room I will get a refund on that too! Totally unprofessional! You can see from the pics how close they were to the kitchen, no excuse for leaving the damaged frig in my way! Well this will not let me upload more than one picture. And this is just one of the many scratches and dents.
The Home Depot 1 star review on 11th April 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I tried to make a simple call, about a product check. After being drilled with questions from the A.I guy...Then the wait on hold began I ended up putting up with over a half hour of the phone going through changes like it was lifted up and put down then I'm sent to another department eventually only to be disconnected I never did talk to so a called real person..I'm not going back there now anyway the service is getting way worse.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
What a great learning experience I had at the Highlands Ranch, CO Home Depot store, with Sussanne. Great teacher. She taught me a. how to make measurements for my kitchen so that I can pick the right cabinets b. Build a Wall Cabinet Floor Plan and a Base Cabinet Floor Plan c. Adviced me what the current trends and styles are. My old cabinets were the old style d. Showed me where to find my cabinets on the actual store and which ones to pick up. e. Showed me how to use the Home Depot WebSite to select different Cabinets. f. Showed me on her Cabinet Design Application how my kitchen would look like. g. She told me what the standard sizes are in cabinets. h. She showed me how to find a cabinet from the OMS ID. She delayed her lunch to help me. I went to my condo and took correct measurements. These are type of employees Home Depot make a difference. Because of the great service, help and education Sussane gave me, I felt confident to go and buy my cabinets and chosed Home Depot. I went to Buy and Build and Lowe's and also to another Home Depot store but was not well informed to buy with others. And went from an idiot in cabinets that knew nothing to now know how to take measurements and remodel my kitchen cabinets. Thank you Sussane, you are a great teacher!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The customer service SUCKS! We finally got in line because one of the stupid computers weren’t working, this lady opened another line for Card Only. We got in that line, waited a while and when it was finally our turn, SHE WENT AWAY! My father confronted her and asked if the line was open (because she literally only rung up one person before it was us) and all she said was “no. no. no. no.” OVER AND OVER AGAIN LIKE SOME BROKEN MACHINE. We left our cart and left. What a waste of time. Ignorant lady. I’d put zero stars if I could. TARGET IS BETTER HOME DEPOT CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Worst customer service at Home Depot Quincy Illinois. Ask me why. I will be honest and tell you.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
When an employee says something will come assembled, make sure you actually see it in print, instead of taking their word for it-before signing the order. Big lesson learned. Ugh…
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Horrible customer service. I asked for help in the power mower department because everything is locked up and waited for ten minutes and no one showed. Obviously they don't care about selling anything. They should realize that I could have purchased online somewhere else but wanted to buy local. Amazon here I come. Very disappointed. Won't be back.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Less Helpful Than a Blunt Saw Let's face it, tackling a home improvement project is stressful enough. You shouldn't have to dodge a customer service landmine on top of it all. But that's exactly what a trip to Home Depot can feel like. First, brace yourself for the ghost town effect. You'll wander aisles filled with question marks (because employees are mysteriously absent) searching for that specific screw or widget. And when you do find a rare employee, prepare for an unhelpful shrug or a mumbled direction that leads you on a wild goose chase through the labyrinthine store. If you manage to snag the right product (fingers crossed!), just pray it's not damaged. Reviews are littered with tales of dented appliances, scratched flooring, and lumber that looks like it went a few rounds with Mike Tyson. Apparently, quality control is as rare as a knowledgeable associate at Home Depot. But wait, there's more! The checkout line might be the biggest test of your DIY spirit. Be prepared to strategize your escape route like you're planning a daring heist. Those lines can stretch longer than a roll of unspooled insulation, and the cashiers move slower than paint drying in Siberia. Here's the kicker: even if you navigate this DIY gauntlet, you might still end up empty-handed. Multiple reviewers mentioned incorrect online inventory, leaving them frustrated after a wasted trip. Look, Home Depot, you can stock your shelves with all the hammers and drills in the world, but that won't build a loyal customer base. You need to seriously invest in staff training, quality control, and a streamlined shopping experience. Because right now, your customers are feeling more lost than a two-headed nail in a haystack.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered a saw blade from HOME DEPOT, the delivery comes on saturday morning 7am, the 3rd party home depot delivery person decides to come on my property instead of leaving the delivery in the beginning of the driveway (I have 3 signs that say dont past this point live the delivery here) but this delivery guy decided to pass the signs go by my garage and stand the for 15minutes until someone came out of the house and got the package... This is insane.. its not the customers job to come out of the house very time there is a delivery!!! HOME DEPOT USES 3RD PARTY SCABS to do their deliveries that dont even know how to deliver a package ( ZERO TRAINING) home depot does not think they need to send a professional delivery person to their customers, home depot thinks they can JUST SEND ANYONE WITH NO TRAINING TO YOUR HOUSE AKA (THE CUSTOMERS HOUSE)
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered a free standing tub from home depot on March 1st. Tracking stated it would be delivered on the 21st. No delivery. No update on the status of my delivery. Called Home Depot customer service over 10 times being lied to 3 times. A senior rep said she called the vendor and the tub was being delivered on the 28th. Still no tub, Called agin. This time being told the tub was still in production, This has held up a major renovation and cost me money. still haven't been told a delivery date!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
They don't stock many dishwashers any longer which is fine since the have so many. Their reasoning is because "the delivery is so fast". We picked a dishwasher and prior to ordering we asked how long till delivery. The salesman looked it up and said Tuesday BUT by the time he ordered it it changed to Thursday. That means a week. Their competitor said it would be the next day but as we were there, Tuesday was fine. I believe this is an intentional misleading practice for Home Depot. Then they can lock you into the sale and change the date. Pitiful.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I purchased a Karen kitchen sink and I love it ! 5 stars 😀
The Home Depot 5 star review on 29th March 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered a dishwasher. I wasn’t getting updates and I had accidentally entered the number wrong and they couldn’t change it which is weird. Then delivery guys came (very nice) and said they can’t install it because Massachusetts requires a licensed plumber. This info was not given anywhere in the purchase process. They said get a plumber then they will pick it up. I got it installed 2 days later and now they can’t pick it up for a week (the delivery guys says they would pick it up immediately. This was advertised as a quiet dishwasher. It isn’t. Not sure if something is broken or not as advertised. Bad experience overall.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The Home Depot is rated 1.6 based on 805 reviews