The Home Depot Reviews

1.6 Rating 809 Reviews
13 %
of reviewers recommend The Home Depot
1.6
Based on 809 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 27%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 52%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.4 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how The Home Depot made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Placed order fridge. Night before delivery when I hadn't heard anything about my delivery, I find out "systems failure" , order never went through. I was never told of this. Try to reorder on phone and link to pay by credit card does not work. Head back to store and wait about 45 minutes just to reorder. Fast forward to next scheduled delivery date, still never given any time frame for delivery. Get call from delivery guy claiming 30 minutes away. About an hour passes, no delivery. He claims truck broke down but that to stay close to home because he will call me when another truck comes to bail them out. Two hours later get call that delivery will not come that evening. Insist upon delivery next day. They still made me pick another 4 hour window even though in light of what happened I asked if I could be given two hour window
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Don't ever buy a Samsung appliance from home Depot. Once it's delivered home Depot could care less if you are happy. Bought a $2400 French door refrigerator/freezer that worked for 3 months. Not repairable so we are told and Samsung took 3 weeks to refund us. Then we had to hire someone to haul it away. Home Depot was no help at all. Nightmare experience
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
BEWARE! I purchased a Frigidaire refrigerator from Home Depot. Three months later my kitchen is german cockroach infested. I have quarterly pest control service (since 2021) and after two treatments, they now have to bomb my kitchen. Home Depot refused to replace the Frigidaire refrigerator and claimed that the refrigerator came straight from their vendor's warehouse. I've heard they do this often to pass the buck. Frigidaire said that it was Home Depot's problem. I only asked for a replacement, not to pay for the pest control that has now become quite costly. Do not buy large appliances from Home Depot.
The Home Depot 1 star review on 14th March 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Home depot needs to take a good look at it's customer experience processes. I ordered a last minute freezer due to my fridge dying out on me. I was promised delivery that day. The order came late in the night, but was completely damaged. I called to get a replacement for that day, they said they couldn't. I asked for a refund that they said they processed, but it didn't work. I had to call back 10 days later to get a refund AGAIN. Then they couldn't refund my delivery fee.... C'mon guys. This is ridiculous. You really need help here!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
No idea when my order will be shipped. The website says it will be delivered today, March 11, 2024, but doesn't say when it will even be shipped. Calling their 800 number just repeats the same info, saying the order was received, and I will be notified when it will be shipped. So, why does it show today as a delivery day when it is still in the "order received" status?????? And there is absolutely zero contact methods available to speak to someone about the status.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Bought ge profile washing machine. Does not provide enough water to clean clothes. HD howell was no help in rectifying my problem.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Buyer beware. When purchasing an extended warranty on appliances you pay for a 3-year warranty plan and the appliance comes with a one-year warranty from the manufacturer. We purchased it thinking we had 3 years after the first year was up which is the way it usually works and that is not the case with home Depot. As far as I'm concerned this is consumer fraud. We probably would have bought a longer warranty also had me known this because it's usually about 2 to 3 years in when you start having problems mainly with the ice makers.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
On January 19, 2024, I was told by a Home Depot Representative the balance of my account, I wrote a check for the full amount and mailed it to the Home Depot Credit Services because a Representative in the East Hanover Store where I went to pay my balance did not tell me you can't pay with a credit card that does not have a pin and I tried 3 times and each time it was denied. So I decided to mail in the payment to Philadelphia, PA. I paid my balance in full and closed my account & shredded the Home Depot Card I had. Then I received a bill for $85.19 in March,2024. It took me over a week to get the opportunity to speak with someone. Their phone service is horrible. So they ended up charging me a late fee because it took 10 days for them to received my final full payment. Why did I even get this card because I thought you would receive a discount, but this card only gives extra money to Home Depot. I was told the payment sent prior to my final payment was received after the due date and I was charged a Late Fee twice. Think twice before ordering anything through Home Depot unless you can pay CASH! When I pulled up to add this review I was not surprised to see their rating of 1.6.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
They dont have dryers to look at in store prior to purchasing. I had to purchase one online, i received it and it doesn't get warm to dry. I didnt notice this until a week later, i thought i was using it wrong so o continued to use different settings and realized domething is wrong with dryer. Apparently you only have 24 hours to figure out your appliance or you cant return it. I have been without a dyrer now for 2 weeks. Home depot wont allow a return and i have to rely on samsung to get someone out to look at my dryer. The person they gave me us out fir surgey another month. All they say is someone will reach out between 24-48 hours. I woildnt have known this repair guy was out for surgery if i didnt reach out. Unbelievable. Now i sit and wait for someone to call. I wasn't given any information on who samsung is reaching out to. I will never purchase anything at home depot again. Very disappointed. We shouldn't be expected to pay hundreds of dollars for appliances that don't work. I should be acble to return this and find business elsewhere. Home depot sucks!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Went to local Home Depot to buy medicine cabinet. The one we wanted was out of stock. Checked all stores in area. Only available online but would not match the in store price. I was told they would price match from any other store BUT not their own..
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
You all need to update stores and get Apple Pay
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
If I could rate this location 0 stars, I certainly would! Considering window installation or any other services in the Bay Area, SF, or East Bay? DON'T DO IT. We ordered new windows from Home Depot (HD) with installation included. One of the windows, an expensive Andersen window, was poorly installed and is leaking in the middle. We reported the leak in November 2023, and as of March 1, 2024, we still haven't received a resolution or service. It's been constant ignorance from them. We managed to get Home Depot to move after reporting the issue to the BBB, but their response has been painfully slow, and the local installation team management continues to ignore us. Spend your money elsewhere, not with people who couldn't care less about their reputation, or Home Depot's for that matter. And to top it off, I can't find a way to post a service review on Home Depot's windows installation website. There's no button available even when I'm logged in.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Beware of the Home Depot installation scam. They tell you that they have a contractor that does complete bathroom remodeling. (It's a guy at a podium at the front door). They say that you can get Home Depot product selection and that their contractor will call you to set up an appointment. You expect an independent contractor, but it is MaxHome trying to scam you into their significantly overpriced shower installation. You ask about the Home depot part and it's like, well yeah, they do like a referral. The Home Depot rep was not honest, MaxHome was a bait and switch, and MaxHome is a typical con job offering you a 20% discount if you buy today only. I don;t buy Kirby sweepers, rainbow vacuums or any of the other door to door scams and I can smell them a mile away. Finally, next day I get a survey call, the guy says he is from Home Depot, I give him my feedback, which he isn't really interested in hearing. Then, like the dot the Iand cross the T person that I am, I call back the number of the supposedly Home Depot representative that did the survey and guess what? they answered the phone, MaxHome, how can I help you !!!. Home Depot used to be my go to place for all of my materials and they will never see me darken their doors again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I tried to get a refund for installation of an over the range microwave. It was delivered but the vent needed modifications. The Home Depot installers said they were not allowed to make any customization They said they would refund the installation fee. After 3phone calls to Home Depot customer service Iwas finally told that I had to go to an actual store to get the refund even though I purchased everything online. Very frustrating. NEVER AGAIN WILL I BUY AN APPLIANCE FROM HOME DEPOT.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
De verdad Home Depot logra q salgan los demonios más ocultos q tiene el ser humano. 3 días llamando para saber si una orden q debería estar lista prontamente lleva 9 días y no hay Dios q cuando atienden el teléfono te dejan hablar porque de inmediato te ponen en espera para q mas nunca te atiendan. Basura de compañía q solo tiene empleados mediocres q no tienen ni les enseñan el sentido del customer service. Las autoridades competentes deberían multar y cerrar empresas como estas q solo saben dar dolor de cabeza.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
If anybody is looking for a new appliance, do yourself a favor and avoid The Home Depot at all costs! Ordered a new Refrigerator on 2/9 and after 4 attempted deliveries it still has not come. The first time it came damaged, understood. A week later the "truck broke down", the 3rd and 4th time Home Depot failed to confirm with the delivery company even after we call the night before and confirm the delivery. They dont provide you with a delivery window and only tell you, "you don't work within 30 min of the phone call to be home for the delivery" which we know very well isn't even going to happen. And the best part is, their idea of compensation is $150 off which is essentially the cost of the delivery and haul away. Do yourself a favor and support a small business, The Home Depot at all costs!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
it sucks close down everything please the service is horrible
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Went in to home depot on a Saturday and no one was available in appliances. They said they were on their HOUR lunch break. So some kid who wasn't an appliance expert came over and tried to help me. Tried his best, but pretty tough experience. Went back and forth with another person asking questions. Supposed to be a rebate, but couldn't figure it out.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
This review is concerning a refrigerator I purchased online and had delivered to my home. The delivery company that home depot contracted with was absolutely horrible. They made excuses for why my refrigerator would not fit. They left it on my porch. They sat at the corner as if they were still working on my delivery while we tried to get it in the home and set it up. This was the second attempt for this delivery. I want them to just tell them to come get it but I am just so tried of the back and forth. I just want a working refrigerator. I am so disappointed probably wont order from them again. Beware you probably want to go to lowes or a private company to buy your appliance and get your own delivery and set up with someone you trust.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dishwasher delivery w/ install service. Two days before delivery, got an email that there was a problem with my delivery. They rescheduled it over three weeks later. Day of delivery got a 30 min courtesy call, showed up over two hours later. Tried to tell me that the black wire was hot and the white wire was cold so they would need to cancel the install since they weren’t the same. If you know anything about electrical then this is someone trying to get out of work. Came to find that there was a major dent in the front of the dishwasher so they had to cancel anyway. Still don’t know when or if I’ll be getting the dishwasher I paid for almost two months ago.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The Home Depot is rated 1.6 based on 809 reviews