Starwood Pet Travel Reviews

4.9 Rating 3,969 Reviews
98 %
of reviewers recommend Starwood Pet Travel
4.9
Based on 3,969 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
98%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.9 out of 5

Write Your review

Tell us how Starwood Pet Travel made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 20th November 2023
Maryam Q.
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 14th September 2023
Jihoon
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 16th July 2023
Michaela G
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 16th July 2023
Michaela G
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 28th April 2023
Shaun Flynn
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 31st March 2023
Angela
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 14th December 2022
Rosneathian
576
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I don’t think that my words can describe how I feel about Starwood! From the questions about … what if .. I will move over seas.. and how can you help me, move my two cats ? To actually, happening! The agent, Kirsty, the entire company truly cares about the whole process!! I moved from USA to Sweden, from the initial email to the delivery of our furballs! It was nothing but keeping us updated!!! I absolutely!!!!!!! Recommand this team !!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you so much for your review, Eva! It was our pleasure and we're so glad you had a positive experience. We hope Chips & Salsa are settling in well! :)
Posted 1 month ago
I have been requesting quotes and comparing prices for transporting my cat, Gigi, from California to Australia. The process is very long and complicated. Working with Ross has been pure joy. i have had a plethora of questions and concerns which Ross answered quickly, and he graciously provided counseling and recommendations on which steps to take first and how long each obstacle should take to be overcome. The quote I received from Starwood Pet Travel was slightly higher than the other international pet transportation companies that I contacted, but the service offerings from Starwood, including door to door pickup and delivery, were far superior to all of the other companies. I give the highest recommendation possible for Ross and his team at Starwood Pet Travel. Thank you, Ross and your team at Starwood.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I want to say that bringing my Scottish Terrier pup to Australia from Minnesota USA has been a huge process for me - having never anticipated relocating and never having done anything like this before. However I am so pleased I trusted Starwood with this process - wonderful, caring and timely support and communication. I highly recommend Starwood and my vet was similarly impressed and commented that they would recommend Starwood for their clients.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you so much for your review, Susan! We are thrilled you had a positive experience. We hope Echo is settling in well! :)
Posted 2 months ago
The process to bring a dog from America to Australia is complicated and time consuming. I was so thrilled with the service that we received from Starwood. Molly was always so responsive and helpful. I was so glad that she was there to make sure every box was ticked and nothing left to chance. Our beautiful dog Misty arrived safe and sound in Melbourne last week, she was happy and healthy and thrilled to be home!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The process to relocate your dog from the US to Australia is very complicated and they were very good at explaining exactly what I had to do at every step in the process. Molly was my handler and she was so helpful and patient with me during the whole process which was a 10 month marathon! Any problems that were not anticipated were addressed very quickly and many were avoided due to extensive knowledge of the whole process. I could not imagine handling this on my own. Thank you Molly and Starwood Pet Travel!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thanks so much for your kind words, Maya! We truly appreciate it! We hope Elton is settling in well! :)
Posted 3 months ago
This place is a rip off
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Greg - We understand your concerns, and we strive to offer competitive prices while maintaining our high service standards. Please reach out to us at info@starwoodpet.com if you'd like to schedule a call with us.
Posted 4 months ago
We moved from the US to New Zealand and that involved bringing over our three Dobermans. Reaching out to several Pet Transport Companies, Starwood was the first to respond. From the very first "hello" it was clear that choosing them was the right thing to do. Overall, this was a GREAT experience and I cannot imagine how one could possibly do this without a professional team that takes care of things. Here are the things that stood out to us 1. Having a dedicated travel coordinator that is assigned to the case was really great because it made communications fast, easy and efficient (easily 5 stars) 2. When it became clear that we could move much sooner than we originally thought, everybody at Starwood stepped up to the challenge of getting all the vet work, permits and flight reservation done before MPI and quarantine in NZ shut down for the summer holiday break. This was a bit of an emotional roller coaster since everything got quite close to the final deadlines for 2023. In the end it all worked out smoothly, and Molly - our coordinator - was fantastic with putting us at ease all the way. (easily 5 stars) 3. The dogs were taken care of really well on the day of the flight and a good number of photos + flight tracking information put us at ease, knowing that the dogs will be ok. (easily 5 stars) 4. The communications between Starwood our Vets, USDA, NZ MPI, Quarantine Facility and Air NZ all were in the background and expertly taken care of. The instructions for the final vet work up at home were great and very clear. The dogs were fully compliant with the strict NZ requirements. (easily 5 stars) Things to consider: we moved from Chicago. Flights to Auckland are only available out of San Francisco and Los Angeles. We chose San Francisco. This left us with the task of getting the dogs to California. Fortunately, our local boarding facility staff was willing to do the drive to San Francisco (flying was not an option in December). That added some complexity, but Starwood was as supportive as they could with flexibility in the exact arrival time at the boarding facility in San Francisco. That said, if it were at all possible for Starwood to form an alliance with a domestic transport company, that could make things easier. But in the end, this is no more than a suggestion. Another point to consider: for the final stay before travel, Starwood has fewer boarding partners in San Francisco than Los Angeles (and fewer flight slots out of San Francisco too). Our dogs were booked into the Wag Hotel in San Francisco. This short stay prior to departure was the only negative experience because that particular boarding facility does not know what they are doing. If you send your dogs through San Francisco and get assigned to that boarding facility, we would recommend you request an alternative. We relayed our concerns to Starwood, and they were very responsive and promised to carefully review this option. Quarantine: we chose PetHaven. Overall great experience. They communicated well and provided regular updates with photos (which made it easier for us to survive those final 10 days). Pricing: competitive; we took out the Starwood Insurance option (to cover costs if unexpected delays occur). We recommend this, especially if you are not within easy driving distance to LAX or SFO. Travel Crates: great supervision from Starwood in choosing the right size. Summary: overall this was a great experience that we can recommend without any hesitations.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you so much for your thorough review, Vinzenz!! We truly appreciate your feedback and it was a pleasure working with you. We hope Shadow, Fritz, and Hannah are settling in well!
Posted 5 months ago
Moving is never easy, much less with pets. Even less than that is if the move is international! Of the pet travel companies I was recommended, I selected Starwood Pet Travel and am beyond glad that I did. A tried and true element of operating a business is providing exceptional service, and Starwood Pet Travel exemplifies this. My travel orders took months to complete, but Starwood Pet Travel kept in contact, periodically checking in with me and marking off what needed to be done as my moving day approached. Alas moving day came, but circumstances beyond my control required me to fly out first. This is where Starwood Pet Travel, specifically Sage Ingle, the senior customer care coordinator, really shined. My two cats were to reunite with me in Hong Kong. Due to the airlines' policies, my cats had to have a layover in Germany. This complicated things, as my cats now needed a health certificate for both Europe and Asia. However, Sage was able to coordinate all parties while I was halfway around the world. This included health certificates for my two cats, which had to be done two days prior to their travel. The pet hospital I used gave me some pushback, citing the short-turn around time needed for a signed copy of the health certificates. However, Sage held firm with my cats' appointment times and working behind the scenes to get a FedEx overnight delivery of the health certificates. The certificates were supposed to come on the day before travel, but something went awry. With a feeling of despair, I called Starwood Pet Travel, including one of their management staff in one of my earlier emails. I also found an after hours phone number to which I left a voicemail on and promptly received a callback a few minutes later. Although I forgot the name of who helped me, she was was able to provide me an update of the health certificates, which was scheduled to arrive before 9:30AM on the day of my cats' travel. I waited anxiously and sure enough, my cats' health certificates arrived before their flight. This was the first of two stressful issues that Starwood Pet Travel overcame. The second issue occurred right after. The air conditioning of the plane's cargo hold was broken and therefore my cats would not be able to fly that day. This was really distressing because the health certificates were only valid for so long. Without another flight, I would have needed to spend another few hundred dollars on a new set of health certificates. Fortunately for me, Sage was the heroine of the day again--she was able to rebook another flight the very next day, thus saving me the trouble of needing another health screening for my cats. This was the second stressful issue that Starwood Pet Travel overcame. My cats eventually made it to Germany, with Sage updating me of their journey. I was able to track the flight from Germany to Hong Kong, where I was almost reunited with my two cats. Because of the plane's air conditioning debacle, I now had to clear the cats myself instead of the local agent that Starwood Pet Travel had originally tasked. I was able to get the paperwork from the local agent and arrange transport myself. Luckily I had a friend with a van that could fit my cats' kennels. The final step was to clear the documents with Hong Kong officials. As a government worker myself, I know things can go south extremely quickly if there was any error. My heart was racing quite a bit as the worker kept asking for a form, which I had already given. Luckily the form was there--after a few more minutes of checking, my cats were finally released to me. I could not have been any more relieved! I took my cats to our new home. They were exhausted from the whole ordeal--I let them plop on the floor the first night before showering them the next day. I cannot stress how absolutely magnificent and easy Sage and Starwood Pet Travel made things for me. There were many firsts for me--moving, having cats, and clearing them with a foreign government. And not to mention the issues I had with the FedEx overnight delivery and the rebooking of my cats' flight! Yes, I know it's possible to have done everything myself but with everything that happened, I am so glad I used Starwood Pet Travel. Sage even informed me that she would refund some of the charges because I had to go pick up my two fur babies myself. This honesty, along with their impeccable service and attention to detail, is what will make me recommend using Starwood Pet Travel to anyone and everyone that I know who require their services. I know exactly who to call when I move back to the US! Sage and Starwood Pet Travel, I am truly thankful for each and every one of you! Happily reunited, Sofii, Khloe, and Henry
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thanks so much for your review, Henry! We're glad to have been a part of your team in getting your fur babies to Hong Kong, despite a few hiccups. Wishing you and your family all the very best!
Posted 7 months ago
Starwood has been nothing short of phenomenal. We first contacted them over a year ago to get a quote for booking travel and quarantine for our two cats. They emailed us a quote specific to our two cats, including adjustments for things like medication/boarding, etc. They worked with us on setting up a payment plan for the entire cost and adjusted as necessary. They have a number of staff dedicated to specific parts of the process, as well as teams specializing in each country to which they provide travel. They are extremely (and thoroughly) communicative and can (if needed) walk you step-by-step through the entire experience. We had hundreds of questions, and they answered each one of them so patiently and thoroughly. They will even bring up issues you might not have considered and talk you through those as well. They gave us numerous tips and suggestions on preparing our cats for the trip (desensitizing to the crates and noises, etc.) My wife and I were quite nervous about sending them on their own and having them travel in cargo, especially as none of our usual go-to safeguards were allowed under the circumstances (air tags, toys, calming devices, etc.). Our dedicated advisor told us what we COULD do to help both humans and cats lessen our anxiety. During the preparation process, unfortunately our older cat passed away, and Starwood was very thoughtful and understanding of our loss; they were even specifically concerned about how the loss would affect our younger cat, which I found very unusual (in a good way) for any company. They gave us space and time to grieve, while maintaining presence on the peripheral when we needed support or if any issues arose in the interim. They coordinated seamlessly with our veterinary care staff, at multiple facilities, to ensure compliance on everything medially necessary for travel. They even worked out accommodation for an alternate quarantine that would better fit our needs at the time, with our oldest cat. Once our older cat passed, Starwood handled the switch back to the previous quarantine and adjusted costs based on the circumstances. Anytime anything (procedural or monetary) required any change, the staff immediately communicated the changes, telling us both what was changing and WHY it changed, along with noting any options we had in how things changed. They explained the flight booking and each step in the actual transit and transfer between facilities clearly and gave us individual updates on each leg of the journey as they are technologically able. All of the third party services they use in the process (animal cargo companies and boarding facilities, etc.) are thoroughly vetted throughout Starwood’s years of experience with pet transport, and all of them were just as communicative, patient and thoughtful as Starwood staff. My wife and I were very nervous and concerned through the entire experience, but Starwood did (quite literally) everything they could do to help. We could not be more impressed by their work and commitment to ensuring the safety of our kids on this journey, and cannot recommend them highly enough if you ever find your family in need of pet transport services.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Hi Ruben! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you had a great experience and it was truly a pleasure working with you. We hope Boo is settling in well! :)
Posted 7 months ago
Starwood is an amazing place to go to if you are looking to ensure that your pet travels across the globe is seamless. They literally took care of every minute details when it came to my two persian cats Lexus & Mercedes who were being relocated to Dubai. Ryan is an amazing coordinator to work with. She is patient and explains everything cohesively. She is available on chat if you need immediate information. From the moment we sign up till handover of the pets, there is a special attention to detail. They keep you updated on everything! You really won't be disappointed as they are professionals and know what they are doing. If i could give them more than 5 stars, I would give them 10/5. I'm super glad I entrusted my kitties to starwood.
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 20th November 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you so much for your kind words, Maryam! Ryan sure is a rockstar! We hope Mercedes and Lexus are settling in well! :)
Posted 7 months ago
I moved my dog, Chopper, from California to Melbourne, Australia, and Starwood made the entire process much less stressful. It is definitely pricey but considering that the cost includes costs I would have had to pay if I had to do it on my own (permits, flights, etc.) while saving me the time and headaches of figuring out if I am doing everything correctly and the possibility of making a mistake, it was more than worth it. Molly from Starwood was amazing throughout the entire 7 month process. I am incredibly happy I chose to go with Starwood Pet Travel for our big move!
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 14th September 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
Thank you so much for your kind words, Jihoon! It means the world to us and we are so glad you had a positive experience. We hope Chopper is settling in well in Oz! :)
Posted 10 months ago
We used Starwood to transport a 25lb 4y.o. dog and a 13lb 10y.o. cat to Denmark from the US. Our total cost from Starwood for the mid-tier package (not including vet costs) was just shy of $6,000. Given how stressful the entire move was, this was worth every penny. The animals arrived safe and healthy, delivered to our new front door. We received updates throughout the process, and they had layover time in Germany where they were let out of their crates to stretch their legs for a few hours before their connecting flight. We tried coordinating the process by ourselves before we decided to use Starwood, but correct/up-to-date information is very hard to find and would have made for a much more difficult experience for all involved.
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 16th July 2023 Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 16th July 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your review, Michaela! We're so glad you had a positive experience. We hope Stormy & Yoshi are settling in well! :)
Posted 1 year ago
I am so disheartened by my experience with Starwood, and would highly caution any others use their services. I paid for a business class package to have my 11 year old pup transported from NYC to London, as I was worried for his health and anxiety as a senior dog. I arrived in London a few days prior to Cooper's scheduled arrival - Only for his flight to be cancelled, for which I did not receive communication on his whereabouts or wellbeing/ care for over 12 hours. I was left in the dark on Cooper's whereabouts and health / safety, and he was left at JFK for 24 hours before being put on another flight. Communication to me during those hours was non-existent outside of the first call in which they notified me of his cancelled flight, despite my efforts to have Cooper placed on the next flight out of JFK. I felt entirely helpless and incredibly guilty for leaving Cooper in that situation. On top of that, by the time Cooper was returned to me in London, his belongings were soiled in feces, indicating he had not been cared for in the way Starwood promises on their site and marketing. Please be cautioned that Starwood is not communicative, and coming from my own experience, I would highly recommend any loving pet owner seek another mode of international pet transport.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sarah. We are very sorry that you did not have a positive experience with us. As we have already mentioned, the night of departure, the flight was initially tracking as being on time. As soon as we had any information about the flight cancellation, we reached out to you and let you know the flight had been canceled overnight and that we'd be reaching out with more updates. When a pet checks in for their flight, that's when the airline takes over. So without British Airways providing their due diligence with updates, there wasn't a way for us to know or alert you sooner. At a little after 1 pm, we explained that Cooper was at the JFK ARK being cared for by the pet handlers there. We made sure we received multiple photos from the ARK, and we emailed those directly to you along with information regarding his stay at the ARK. We then provided you with updates as we received them from BA regarding bringing Cooper over and when the flight was taxiing for take off. As explained in emails the day Cooper departed, BA actually let him stay in the comfort of the ARK where he could get walks and specifically not be in his travel kennel for as long as possible. While the majority of pets do arrive clean and dry, unfortunately sometimes pets do still end up soiling their travel kennels. As a senior dog, it was probably a bit tougher to make the long trip without the ability to have a bathroom break. The cleanup done by our UK partners was as thorough as could be - they cleaned him and his kennel to the best of their abilities and said they alerted you to the fact that some of the belongings he traveled with were soiled. As discussed, we have provided you with a $150 refund. We understand that pet travel can be very stressful for both pet owners and pets and we do our best to come up with solutions when things do not end up going as planned. We hope Cooper is settling in well and wish you both all the best!
Posted 1 year ago
The driver did a wonderful job delivering our new puppy, thank you so much!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Great service and team. Our Golden Retriever Wally traveled to Italy and then back to the US after an extended stay. Arrived happy and healthy both times.
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 28th April 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review, Shaun! We're so glad you were pleased with our services and we hope Wally is doing well! :)
Posted 1 year ago
Very chaotic. I thought I was paying good money not to have to stress or think too hard about this part of my international relocation, but it was easily the most stressful part of my entire move. Despite long-planned dates, they did not get the appropriate paperwork done in time for my cat, so I had to push back my own flights and find temporary pet-friendly accommodation at the last minute, as well as push back my work start date - all of which cost me a significant amount of additional money. Communication was extremely poor, they failed to anticipate and pre-empt basic problems, and my coordinator Sage did not seem to have answers for anything without having to ask others. My pet’s move would have completely fallen apart if my vet was not willing to bend over backwards to help and she was shocked by how bad this service was based on her experience with other relocation companies. My vet’s receptionist even felt so sorry for me, that she handed me a note - unprompted - with another company’s information on it “for next time”. It’s easy to get sucked in by their glossy website and automated emails, but I would not use them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Cassia - We're very sorry that you did not have a positive experience. Unfortunately, there was a delay in receiving the import permit from South Africa, and then the microchip was unreadable. We cannot control if the microchip cannot be read by a scanner. Due to the implant of a new microchip, the flight needed to change at the last minute because of the EU requirements for pets transiting. The EU requires that the rabies vaccination must occur after the microchip and at least 21 days before travel. We understand this is disappointing and stressful, but we do our best to come up with new solutions when things don't go as planned. We hope Shuri is settling in well in her new home.
Posted 1 year ago
I have moved from Mass, US, to near Manchester UK and had to wait a few months for my pets to come with me as my dog kept losing her chip. But through all the stress, and being so far, this team was able to help me so much in getting my babies home safe to me, they were with me every step of the way. Thank you so much.
Starwood Pet Travel 5 star review on 31st March 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your review, Angela! We hope your fur babies are settling in well!
Posted 1 year ago
I was freaking out about all the requirements to move my dog from the mainland (CA) to Hawaii. Working with Ryan and her team was amazing. They were always available to answer all my crazy questions. Ryan was so responsive in email and calls. Everything went very smoothly. The team worked with my family on the mainland and me on the island. It was organized and efficient. I could not have asked for better care to be given to my fur baby. I got pictures and updates during before and during travel. And my dog was delivered safe and sound to my house. Highly recommend Starwood.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your kind words, Andrea! We're so glad you were happy with our services. We hope Barnett is settling in well! :)
Posted 1 year ago
Starwood is the absolute best . But Ryan and her team completely made this move for my dog and I stress free . Ryan is absolutely wonderful and very responsive. Communication with everyone was such a breeze. They moved my dog from DC to Hawaii safely. They sent pictures, always kept me in the loop. And I’m so very happy. Money well spent and I would definitely go with them again and again and again . Thank you .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your positive, review! We hope Princess is enjoying Hawaii! :)
Posted 1 year ago
It's been nothing short of a disaster. I paid close to 8k for the premium service and have been left with one issue after another. Little communication on their part with me led to miscommunication regarding my dogs transport. I told them a specific hard date and they dropped the ball and did not schedule a plane to take my dogs until I reached out because I had no news on an itinerary. Luck I did because they did not schedule one and that led to my dogs leaving AFTER my hard date. This would have led to $50/day/dog boarding for an additional $300. I had to complain due to their mistake to get them to pay. Then I was told that my one dog would not be coming home and needed to be in quarantine for an extra 3 days on arrival. Then the AirTags and back pack full of dog toys were stolen by their associate. I say stolen because I had to confront them via text to ask where my stuff was as they didn't tell me before hand and only after I questioned where my stuff was it was stated that their associate Jodi has it! Not even done... When my other dog was delivered I was told Starwood would cover the $300 delivery for him and I would just pay the $50, no big deal, except that never happened and the delivery driver wasn't going to wait for his money so I paid another $325... Horrible and Unacceptable!!! Stolen Property and Robbed of more money- won't be using them ever again and I suggest anyone who does- go somewhere else!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Sarah. We're very sorry you did not have a positive experience. It seems as though there was some misunderstanding. Our team has already touched base with you to confirm that your personal belongings are being mailed to you in Hawaii, we are refunding you $325, and we are covering the cost of the extra delivery. Please feel free to schedule a call with us if you have any additional concerns so we can see how we can help.
Posted 1 year ago
Starwood Pet Travel is rated 4.9 based on 3,969 reviews