Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors Reviews

4.6 Rating 711 Reviews
93 %
of reviewers recommend Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors
4.6
Based on 711 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
On-time Delivery
Greater than 94%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
4 out of 5
Read Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors Reviews

About Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors:

Industrial Scripts Reviews

Founded in early 2010 by a Warner Bros and Paramount script consultant, Industrial Scripts® is now one of the world’s leading screenplay and story analysis companies, backed by major entertainment companies and with over 1,500 verified client reviews.

Our script consultants have significant industry credentials, writing script coverage for companies and studios including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., Universal and many more. Working with screenwriters, authors and filmmakers of all levels and from myriad locations, we also deliver intensive training both online and offline.

Visit our site here >> https://industrialscripts.com/

Visit Website

Email:

https://industrialscripts.freshdesk.com

Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I think it's impossible for script coverage services to achieve a 5 out of 5 stars score purely because of the nature of the life experiences and tastes readers bring to the table. Case in point one reader was obsessed with a little-seen film from 2017 that was coincidentally similar to ours and marked us down severely for it and it seemed to shape their entire approach for the feedback. The purely anonymous process also means that readers don't necessarily know who they're writing coverage for, case in point one of ours read like something written for studio exec who is about to read the script for the first time rather than for writers looking for honing. But, in the final analysis, all of this feedback is still tremendously useful if you know how to read between the lines and Industrial Scripts as a service has achieved that in spades. They're a great service and we also really appreciate the emphasis they put on reminding everyone about subjectivity and even their guides on HOW to read coverage rather than simply take it at face value. They clearly care about their work and they want everyone to be better educated about the industry of writing for the screen and that's fantastic. Website and portals and store however -- really terrible. Dated, glitchy, buggy, tech support resource is not as sparse or useful as they think it is. We experienced a problem where we didn't get a login/password for DevKing and nothing in the tech support site provided an explanation that was specific to our circumstances. We applied for direct support, got a ticket, had it "resolved" (i.e. they gave us the information on the status of our scripts which is what we had originally wanted), but never resolved the login/password issue. After 1.5 weeks of attempting to log on, I was finally able to activate the password reset feature. The website presentation is also very dated, like something from the early 2000's, and its formatting and style feels like a scam than a trusted and professional site. We were skeptical about trying the service until we went through a LOT of reviews. Also a LOT of the various "contact email" points in the website are defunct. AND all of their sample scripts and sample reports are offline.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Industrial Scripts provided highly detailed and comprehensive feedback on a horror/comedy feature I'm currently working on. The script report did take a little longer than expected, but a satisfactory explanation was provided by their customer service. In addition to the script analysis, they also provide a section on the script's industry potential, including its potential rating if it were to be seen by a studio reader. I'd highly recommend Industrial Scripts, particularly to aspiring screenwriters.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
very thorough, constructive feedback.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very inspiring.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for using our script doctoring and rewrite service Simon, and so glad we could help get your script ready for the market!
Posted 2 years ago
Terrific work! The script coverage I received was prompt, comprehensive, thoughtful, and useful.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Excellent coverage.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
As usual, solid notes As usual, awful platform. You need to invest in tech peeps, it's letting you down ☹
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
A very helpful review with really constructive criticism and feedback. The reviewer clearly had read the script more than once and put a great deal of thought and effort into their feedback. The suggested fixes make perfect sense. To us and we agree! Thank you so much! 😊
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Your service has been crucial for me! Since English is not my native language, I am grateful for your assistance. I gave you four stars, but I would have given you five only if I could communicate with your team and the people who review the scripts. I could receive your emails but I couldn't reach you...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Great service, would recommend! I’ll definitely use Industrial Scripts again in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
After examining other reviews of their script doctoring and rewriting service I decided to take the plunge and ask IS to rewrite my short, Cruelty. As others have said while communication exclusively via email is a bit unorthodox, I do think it adds some discipline and focus to proceedings that you don't usually get face to face or on the phone. Having been burned hiring only-vaguely-interested screenwriters, repped by only-vaguely-interested agents in the past, I LOVED the IS process which is quite different (you don't know anything about your script doctor, for example), but was FAR more professional, streamlined, and focused. Of course, the other big thing is that you have the safety net of being able to hold an actual company to account, whereas when I hired writers via agents before it was very much a shrug at the end and a "oh well that didn't work out, but now we've got your money" type vibe. Ultimately, I always felt throughout that both IS AND their script doctor were really invested in delivering for me. If you're struggling with a script, then, and have a bit of budget to really move the needle, I'd highly recommend IS' rewrite service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
First off, it is VERY hard for me to give anyone a five-star perfect rating as it implies there is no room for improvement. I think there usually is and no exception here. I discovered this service after working on a transition of my stage play to a screenplay during the pandemic. Part of the fun for me has been learning the ins-and-out of formatting, the primary purpose of which is to make the reader happy. I see the value of it but really only partially. That said, my consultant did say that "formatting does not typically make or break a script." That says a lot -- to me anyway -- that they were not ever running a thumb down the page looking for formatting mistakes. Yet, there was a list of those mistakes, which suggested that they did burn their retina a little bit. I have not used this kind of service much, but harping on formatting I find really annoying. So happy that was not the case here. The other thing where I see red flags is a page or three of "statistics." Or maybe a chart. My report says, "Whilst we appreciate that the statistical performance of your script is important to you..." It isn't important to me. At all! These scores seem arbitrary, meaning less and simply a way to get a page count. I find them totally useless. I got 9 and one half pages of anything useful. What I did get, however, IS USEFUL. My screenplay is an historical drama. I got a clear sense that they checked out at least a little of the historical facts (easily found on Wikipedia) and so had a clue what I am trying to say. This is -- well this is what I think is the whole point of writing anything: What are you trying to say? We are dumping our story through the "plinko" game of screenwriting hoping that the reader ends up with some collection of thoughts similar to mine. I really did think "jcs" did that. I don't give a damn about page counts. I think that's what matters. I really, really wish I could have some follow-up discussion with them because these notes gave me a glimmer of what has been driving me freaking nuts sending this thing around is the absolute 0-10 difference of opinion of what is "good" and what is "not." I KNOW MY STORY IS GOOD. It's only structure a.k.a. storytelling holding it back. I am going to think about these notes for another week or so, but I think I've got something useful. Frankly, it was rather cheap, too. I have a friend who is a screenwriter that has won some nice awards who charges A LOT more (not to me thank god!) and I doubt if he would say anything much better. In fact, what he has told me is just to "tell the damned story," which I think is pretty much what I was told by "jcs." Get rid of the scores. Add some non-public discussion option. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Excellent and insightful coverage. By far the best out of a couple of different companies I used. Reader gave precise instructions on what and how to change.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Best notes I have ever received. Thorough, analytical, constructive. Will definitely use again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I had a very positive overall experience. Kieran was thoughtful and creative and helped to streamline many aspects of the script, specifically fleshing out several more ancillary character arcs. We spent quite a lot of time discussing the vision for the project and I feel like he was on board with the overall goal, and I feel that that is reflected in the delivery draft. If I had to point to any areas of improvement, I would say that I think he over promised slightly what he would be able to accomplish in the time allotted. But that is also just part of the creative process. One specific of this, is that I was very clear about the length of the script I wanted but unfortunately we were not able to stick within those confines even at the end of the process. Again, not the end of the world, there was still much editing to be done even after the delivery draft and I have been able to truncate myself even further. But overall I had a very good experience and I think the draft is much improved thanks to Kieran's help with his set of fresh eyes!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
There should be some rule for coverage companies: "Don't send out a request for a review five minutes after the coverage lands in the screenwriter's inbox." You're still reeling from (what often feels like) a kick in the gut - my great first draft isn't quite as great as I thought a week or so ago - "they hate my baby!" But writers sometimes need a (gentle) kick in the gut. Or nudge. Your friends all 'love' it, give a few useful notes, most never finish it, fellow writers are helpful and actually read your script but don't deep dive, the rest of your pals never get through it. My wife got about 30% through my latest draft and moved back to her kindle. Writers' spouses are long-suffering and not the place to place your first or even second draft. So coverage is offered by concerns such as Industrial scripts to put some teeth into literary feedback but sometimes it feels like it's all too easy to become the Lord of all Writing and the God of Screenwriting when reviewing someone else's work. (I know, I've done coverage myself, back in the day). "Hell, My scripts are brilliant...which is why I do paid coverages...." Anyhow, I digress: I wasn't familiar with Industrial Scripts as a coverage resource so I sorta stepped in with trepidation. I've been reading the blog and newsletter for quite a while so I thought I'd give them a try covering my 1950s LA noir-ish thriller. Every coverage writer has a pet peeve or bone to pick I think and my coverage's bone was "making each scene feel like and look like 1950s LA." EXT. HOLLYWOOD AND VINE - WE ARE IN *STILL* IN 1950s LA - DAY. I'm not quite sure what to make of the note about "it’s hard to distinguish whether we are in 2021 Los Angeles or 1950s Los Angeles." "There is a lack of specificity". OK, Scene 22, we are STILL IN 1950s LA. ;). We're in 1959 LA, OK -- I'm not a set designer. And I'm skimming through "Chinatown" again as I write this. I don't THINK Robert Towne was describing LA in the late 40s in every setup scene. Or was he? At some stage, you just have to use your imagination and say: "This is set in 1940s LA." There were also some weird typos: like: "DIALOUGE" for "DIALOGUE" and "inn" for "in". (..."what being inn an...") which led me to believe the coverage writer had used transcription software or just not spell-checked before sending it out. Not a big deal. But overall this was an EXCELLENT bit of coverage. They seem to have great intuition and a clear understanding of the racial themes and challenges to the characters. They understand how my structure needs to work and painted a pretty good roadmap for my next draft. So good. There were some extremely useful suggestions. It seems the writer actually read the whole script and got most of the characters' names right, they had some great suggestions, clearly understand the biz, and 4.5 is probably fairer than 4 but there was that weird note about the setting (how much ink do you devote to reminding people of the era??) The script is set in the late 50s OK! Neither of the other TWO coverage writers picked up on this so I should probably get over myself. And then there were those bizarre typos... Yeah, I'd use Industrial Scripts again - hard-hitting, quirky, diligent pros who don't pull punches. But please use spell-check next time ;).
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
For starters you should know that I have been breaking down and giving script notes to writers/producers for a very long time and at a high level in the unscripted/documentary world so I know basically what goes into this. With that in mind I was impressed, even pleasantly surprised, with the detailed and thoughtful coverage that I received on my script. The coverage helped me in two key ways; it suggested that I can indeed write a decent script in the fiction space (something I wasn't sure that I could do here in my first foray into fiction screenwriting) and it gave me constructive and specific suggestions of how to improve my first draft. The only thing that I wished the reader had included in their coverage was thoughts on the final scene that contained a rather "out there" plot twist that I was hoping to get feedback on. Because it almost borders on the bizarre, the lack of comment on it made me wonder if the reader never quite made it to the end or if it's just my own skewed view that the plot point is indeed "out there." I'm curious what you offer if I wanted to have the same reader review my next draft once my revision is complete?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I love their honesty. My reviewer explained to me what elements my loglines were missing, which in turn will help me write a better script. I am more than pleased with their service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I have sent the same script to 'Industrial Scripts' and to 'We Screenplay'. The discrepancies between the two feedbacks are HUGE. 'We Screenplay' sent me a very superficial feedback, with very few solid points. No constructive criticism, of any kind. To my enormous satisfaction and surprise, 'Industrial Scripts' sent me a brilliant feedback. A VERY CONSTRUCTING FEEDBACK. Yes, 'We Screenplay' sent me the feedback after five days, but I had to wait 2 whole fricking weeks for the feedback from the'Industrial Scripts'. Believe me... - IT WAS WORTH THE WAIT. A very precise and to the point constructive criticism. Thank you. Livio G.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Twice now within the past year, I've paid by paypal and not able to download my script "Chivalry" by George Alexanian. This happened yesterday again where I paid $265 for expedited notes for a feature, but after paying found no place to upload my script, nor a contact e-mail. I want immediate assistance or a refund of $265.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors is rated 4.6 based on 711 reviews