Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors Reviews

4.69 Rating 622 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
On-time Delivery
100%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email
Read Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors Reviews

About Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors:

Industrial Scripts Reviews

Founded in early 2010 by a Warner Bros and Paramount script consultant, Industrial Scripts® is now one of the world’s leading screenplay and story analysis companies, backed by major entertainment companies and with over 1,000 verified client reviews.

Our script consultants have significant industry credentials, writing script coverage for companies and studios including Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., Universal and many more. Working with screenwriters, authors and filmmakers of all levels and from myriad locations, we also deliver intensive training both online and offline.

While our OVERDRIVE and Talent Connector programmes hone and promote writing talent to the industry, our popular blog – Character-Driven – educates, informs and entertains. We believe that rigorous script development is the foundation of great cinema and TV and is, indeed, essential – without it, the end product is certain to fail…

Visit our site here >> https://industrialscripts.com/

Visit Website

Email:

https://industrialscripts.freshdesk.com

Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors 5 star review on 11th December 2019
David Worth
Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors 5 star review on 11th December 2019
David Worth
Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors 5 star review on 24th January 2019
Gordon
Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors 5 star review on 27th December 2018
John
Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors 5 star review on 3rd March 2018
Alexander
Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors 5 star review on 10th August 2017
Steve
Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors 4 star review on 8th July 2017
Judith
3
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
As an independent filmmaker writing scripts, I've had reader reports from competitions I've entered and paid for a few consultations with script consultants. They've been of variable quality. Industrial Scripts' script analysis is far and away the best quality analysis I've had. All the anxieties about: is my script good enough? or am I a good enough writer? just fell away because the analysis was focused so well on actions to move the script forward in the next draft. The scoring system is excellent because it gives you a benchmark, an easily understandable sense of where you are up to, and focuses you on where you need to get to next. The editor's comments were always insightful and constructive, and they were very generous in sharing suggestions that were really smart to make the script better. The tone of the analysis was respectful of the time and effort I'd put in. And the rate is affordable if you are self-funding like me and writing on spec, and superb value for what you get. If you've been spending your limited funds on competition entries as I was, I think you will get a lot more value out of working with one of Industrial Scripts' editors. Highly recommended.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
After examining other reviews of their script doctoring and rewriting service I decided to take the plunge and ask IS to rewrite my short, Cruelty. As others have said while communication exclusively via email is a bit unorthodox, I do think it adds some discipline and focus to proceedings that you don't usually get face to face or on the phone. Having been burned hiring only-vaguely-interested screenwriters, repped by only-vaguely-interested agents in the past, I LOVED the IS process which is quite different (you don't know anything about your script doctor, for example), but was FAR more professional, streamlined, and focused. Of course, the other big thing is that you have the safety net of being able to hold an actual company to account, whereas when I hired writers via agents before it was very much a shrug at the end and a "oh well that didn't work out, but now we've got your money" type vibe. Ultimately, I always felt throughout that both IS AND their script doctor were really invested in delivering for me. If you're struggling with a script, then, and have a bit of budget to really move the needle, I'd highly recommend IS' rewrite service.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
First off, it is VERY hard for me to give anyone a five-star perfect rating as it implies there is no room for improvement. I think there usually is and no exception here. I discovered this service after working on a transition of my stage play to a screenplay during the pandemic. Part of the fun for me has been learning the ins-and-out of formatting, the primary purpose of which is to make the reader happy. I see the value of it but really only partially. That said, my consultant did say that "formatting does not typically make or break a script." That says a lot -- to me anyway -- that they were not ever running a thumb down the page looking for formatting mistakes. Yet, there was a list of those mistakes, which suggested that they did burn their retina a little bit. I have not used this kind of service much, but harping on formatting I find really annoying. So happy that was not the case here. The other thing where I see red flags is a page or three of "statistics." Or maybe a chart. My report says, "Whilst we appreciate that the statistical performance of your script is important to you..." It isn't important to me. At all! These scores seem arbitrary, meaning less and simply a way to get a page count. I find them totally useless. I got 9 and one half pages of anything useful. What I did get, however, IS USEFUL. My screenplay is an historical drama. I got a clear sense that they checked out at least a little of the historical facts (easily found on Wikipedia) and so had a clue what I am trying to say. This is -- well this is what I think is the whole point of writing anything: What are you trying to say? We are dumping our story through the "plinko" game of screenwriting hoping that the reader ends up with some collection of thoughts similar to mine. I really did think "jcs" did that. I don't give a damn about page counts. I think that's what matters. I really, really wish I could have some follow-up discussion with them because these notes gave me a glimmer of what has been driving me freaking nuts sending this thing around is the absolute 0-10 difference of opinion of what is "good" and what is "not." I KNOW MY STORY IS GOOD. It's only structure a.k.a. storytelling holding it back. I am going to think about these notes for another week or so, but I think I've got something useful. Frankly, it was rather cheap, too. I have a friend who is a screenwriter that has won some nice awards who charges A LOT more (not to me thank god!) and I doubt if he would say anything much better. In fact, what he has told me is just to "tell the damned story," which I think is pretty much what I was told by "jcs." Get rid of the scores. Add some non-public discussion option. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Excellent and insightful coverage. By far the best out of a couple of different companies I used. Reader gave precise instructions on what and how to change.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Best notes I have ever received. Thorough, analytical, constructive. Will definitely use again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I had a very positive overall experience. Kieran was thoughtful and creative and helped to streamline many aspects of the script, specifically fleshing out several more ancillary character arcs. We spent quite a lot of time discussing the vision for the project and I feel like he was on board with the overall goal, and I feel that that is reflected in the delivery draft. If I had to point to any areas of improvement, I would say that I think he over promised slightly what he would be able to accomplish in the time allotted. But that is also just part of the creative process. One specific of this, is that I was very clear about the length of the script I wanted but unfortunately we were not able to stick within those confines even at the end of the process. Again, not the end of the world, there was still much editing to be done even after the delivery draft and I have been able to truncate myself even further. But overall I had a very good experience and I think the draft is much improved thanks to Kieran's help with his set of fresh eyes!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
There should be some rule for coverage companies: "Don't send out a request for a review five minutes after the coverage lands in the screenwriter's inbox." You're still reeling from (what often feels like) a kick in the gut - my great first draft isn't quite as great as I thought a week or so ago - "they hate my baby!" But writers sometimes need a (gentle) kick in the gut. Or nudge. Your friends all 'love' it, give a few useful notes, most never finish it, fellow writers are helpful and actually read your script but don't deep dive, the rest of your pals never get through it. My wife got about 30% through my latest draft and moved back to her kindle. Writers' spouses are long-suffering and not the place to place your first or even second draft. So coverage is offered by concerns such as Industrial scripts to put some teeth into literary feedback but sometimes it feels like it's all too easy to become the Lord of all Writing and the God of Screenwriting when reviewing someone else's work. (I know, I've done coverage myself, back in the day). "Hell, My scripts are brilliant...which is why I do paid coverages...." Anyhow, I digress: I wasn't familiar with Industrial Scripts as a coverage resource so I sorta stepped in with trepidation. I've been reading the blog and newsletter for quite a while so I thought I'd give them a try covering my 1950s LA noir-ish thriller. Every coverage writer has a pet peeve or bone to pick I think and my coverage's bone was "making each scene feel like and look like 1950s LA." EXT. HOLLYWOOD AND VINE - WE ARE IN *STILL* IN 1950s LA - DAY. I'm not quite sure what to make of the note about "it’s hard to distinguish whether we are in 2021 Los Angeles or 1950s Los Angeles." "There is a lack of specificity". OK, Scene 22, we are STILL IN 1950s LA. ;). We're in 1959 LA, OK -- I'm not a set designer. And I'm skimming through "Chinatown" again as I write this. I don't THINK Robert Towne was describing LA in the late 40s in every setup scene. Or was he? At some stage, you just have to use your imagination and say: "This is set in 1940s LA." There were also some weird typos: like: "DIALOUGE" for "DIALOGUE" and "inn" for "in". (..."what being inn an...") which led me to believe the coverage writer had used transcription software or just not spell-checked before sending it out. Not a big deal. But overall this was an EXCELLENT bit of coverage. They seem to have great intuition and a clear understanding of the racial themes and challenges to the characters. They understand how my structure needs to work and painted a pretty good roadmap for my next draft. So good. There were some extremely useful suggestions. It seems the writer actually read the whole script and got most of the characters' names right, they had some great suggestions, clearly understand the biz, and 4.5 is probably fairer than 4 but there was that weird note about the setting (how much ink do you devote to reminding people of the era??) The script is set in the late 50s OK! Neither of the other TWO coverage writers picked up on this so I should probably get over myself. And then there were those bizarre typos... Yeah, I'd use Industrial Scripts again - hard-hitting, quirky, diligent pros who don't pull punches. But please use spell-check next time ;).
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
For starters you should know that I have been breaking down and giving script notes to writers/producers for a very long time and at a high level in the unscripted/documentary world so I know basically what goes into this. With that in mind I was impressed, even pleasantly surprised, with the detailed and thoughtful coverage that I received on my script. The coverage helped me in two key ways; it suggested that I can indeed write a decent script in the fiction space (something I wasn't sure that I could do here in my first foray into fiction screenwriting) and it gave me constructive and specific suggestions of how to improve my first draft. The only thing that I wished the reader had included in their coverage was thoughts on the final scene that contained a rather "out there" plot twist that I was hoping to get feedback on. Because it almost borders on the bizarre, the lack of comment on it made me wonder if the reader never quite made it to the end or if it's just my own skewed view that the plot point is indeed "out there." I'm curious what you offer if I wanted to have the same reader review my next draft once my revision is complete?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I love their honesty. My reviewer explained to me what elements my loglines were missing, which in turn will help me write a better script. I am more than pleased with their service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have sent the same script to 'Industrial Scripts' and to 'We Screenplay'. The discrepancies between the two feedbacks are HUGE. 'We Screenplay' sent me a very superficial feedback, with very few solid points. No constructive criticism, of any kind. To my enormous satisfaction and surprise, 'Industrial Scripts' sent me a brilliant feedback. A VERY CONSTRUCTING FEEDBACK. Yes, 'We Screenplay' sent me the feedback after five days, but I had to wait 2 whole fricking weeks for the feedback from the'Industrial Scripts'. Believe me... - IT WAS WORTH THE WAIT. A very precise and to the point constructive criticism. Thank you. Livio G.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
While the analysis was detailed, I will not criticize your analyst for his scores, but for one. He/she said my dialogue "excels" and yet only gave me a 63. By my definition, an excellent score should be at least a 90. Structurally, I don't feel it's fair to compare writers' scores with the five chosen scripts, certainly not in context, for two reasons. One, in my case, none of them are medieval period pieces, hence direct score comparison isn't valid. Second, it also seems unfair to compare blockbuster and academy award winners post knowing of their box office revenues and awards. This is like betting on point margins of victory of games after you know their final scores, as with the "Back to the Future" sports almanac. I never criticize without a suggestion. First, assign genre-experienced analysts. Second, if your editor/analyst is seasoned, provide percentiles of the script being analyzed against the hundreds or thousands of scripts they're rated historically as We Sreenplay does, or at least claims they do. A reply would be appreciated.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
My review was thoroughly professional, with plenty of supporting detail permitting me to make meaningful changes in my script. Having experienced the usefulness of Industrial Scripts' review, I wouldn't turn anywhere else in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I wrote a musical some time ago that was by far the most time-consuming project I have ever written, knowing fully that musicals are not really in demand, to say the least. However, this particular project was for my own satisfaction more than for screenwriting contests or professional advancement. My screenplays are based on my own stories, my own experiences, my own real-life observations, and I write them because I love to write. This musical, the only musical I wrote, has been “dormant” for some time because I know that it needs some improvements, but I was not able to pinpoint what exactly needed to be improved. I did not want to give up on it either, mostly because I spent a long time composing the music and the arrangements, and I spent quite a bit of money having the soundtracks recorded professionally. Also, I produced it as a stage play and received some awesome feedback on the music part. That said, I decided to bring it back to life, and I contacted Industrial Scripts to read it and analyze it. The report that I received back from Industrial Scripts was phenomenal – From the general comments all the way to the line-by-line details, the work is extremely thorough and professional, very helpful and, although critical (which is what I needed), it is very constructive. The reader gave me some ideas and pointed me to the right direction. I feel encouraged to rewrite the story and confident that I can give it another dimension. The service exceeded my expectations.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Good Coverage is hard to find. YOU LOVE the story, and ANY criticism feels like a personal attack. But.... You shouldn't be looking here for personal validation. How does a Reviewer get past hurting your feelings and still providing useful observations? Usually, they write a paragraph of "nice" and then a paragraph of "needs improvement". So, as a writer, concentrate on the second paragraph and get back to your keyboard! I submitted a brief Series Bible. The Coverage came back quickly and contained both insight and actionable criticism. It was helpful Was it worth the investment? Yes, I think so. Will it help me sell the project? Probably not, but that's my job anyway. And, it will help me getting the Story ready to show to industry professionals. So, if you're looking for personal validation, you probably won't find it here. If you think this is a path to break into the business, it's hard to buy your way in. If you're looking for a new perspective and fresh eyes on your project at a reasonable price, this is the place to be.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I am very pleased with the IS script coverage I received. I am left feeling very invigorated and confident in my writing. I received commentary that indicated the reader really 'got it' while providing positive recommendations for making just 2 tiny aspects more clear and I appreciated that a lot. I immediately could see what the reader was getting on about and easily revised my script to ensure these elements were clarified. The reader's notes did make a few incorrect assumptions, however, but they were extremely minor and could be ignored. Such as mentioning the script was part of a 2 part pilot. I couldn't really understand as to just why this assumption was made- it was nothing negative- just an odd thing to come about. The other comment was a very positive remark that it would make for a 'well-regarded, long running TV show.' but it is actually a limited series, with a defined beginning middle and end so that was actually incorrect- yet, the comment was still a very strong compliment regardless and I'll take it :) My only 'negative' reaction was that the commentary seemed to be exceedingly more positive than some of the scores left- which just seemed a little bit contradictory- considering how the reader does remark upon it's strengths in highly favourable words throughout. In the end, the score came just shy of a 'recommend' which was a tiny bit annoying for me. Most of the scores were on the high end, but a few of them just seemed oddly just low enough to rob me of a 'recommend' :P But those remarks I leave aside, considering they are irrelevant to the real takeaway -the reader seems to have loved it, and had zero complaints or negative criticism at all. Overall I am extremely happy with this reader which brings me to the thing that is upsetting for me... I wish I could send the updated script to the same reader, along with the remainder of my limited-series scripts for complete coverage. The reader did seem to be very much 'into it' and I cannot help but feel that this person would be an excellent choice for full coverage of all 12 scripts, but it seems that IS does not make this possible, based on exhaustive searches on the website. The reader's ID number appears nowhere in DevKing, so it appears that I may be entirely out of luck with making that happen. DK appears to be independent of the service I received? So, the reason I provide 4 and not 5 stars isn't so much because of the reader but because I wish that IS made it possible for me to provide all my scripts to this reader, whoever he or she might be. I have no need or desire to know the person's name or private contact information, I leave such requests to unprofessional types. I just want to send all my scripts for coverage to this reader. But it appears to be impossible. If it -is- possible, IS does not make this information clear in any way. Because IS does not really have a comprehensive communications channel for help (just the FAQ page where most support tickets end up being rejected despite the lack of an answer in the FAQ's) I am left thinking I have little recourse. I found a reader out of sheer luck that I feel I can trust for excellent professional feedback and am left with no way to get more from this same reader. So, that is on IS to make better if they want more business from me ;) So to reader 95A59: HUGE thanks for your coverage, I would LOVE to provide you my entire limited series for your feedback.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The reviewer was insightful and effectively critical. I wanted to find out what was wrong with my script as it has not done well in competitions. Not only did the reviewer point out areas of need, but they were also supportive of what worked. In other critiques of pilots I was often left feeling; yeah, but that’s cleared up in future episodes. Not the case here. The reviewer got what I was trying to do. I was pleased (and a bit surprised) to get a “consider.” The review will be very helpful in a rewrite. The only less-than-positive thing I’d say is the numerical grading covered a lot of (too many?) categories. Ver grateful for the feedback.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
A very fruitful, inspiring and pleasant collaboration - and a tremendous result
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The reviewer was spot on in his or her assessment of weaknesses in my script. I agree with virtually all of what the reviewer says, especially the need to hone in on the core relationship between Angela and Althea, clarify their story arc and not let other relationships and side stories bog it down. This was a super helpful evaluation. I'm working on the rewrite right now.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Based on my experience with other review and analysis services, Industrial Scripts is the finest. So far, I and my partner have used the TV Pilot Script Analysis and Logline services. The script analysis was thoughtful, thorough, well-written--very professional. We received a very good overall score, and revised the script in the areas suggested. This has led to our script being selected by the 2021 Vail Screenplay Competition, and we are waiting for news about our submission to The Titan Awards (2021). T Also, we submitted our logline for analysis, and are grateful that our favorite is also the one recommended by Industrial Scripts. Next, we plan to submit our series bible for analysis. So, Industrial Scripts is our analysis coverage choice for all services!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We very much enjoyed working with Industrial Scripts and found it to be a constructive and effective process. Limiting ourselves to written communication was challenging. However, we came to appreciate the efficiency of this method alongside the clarity it created for both sides and the avoidance of misunderstandings that so often occur. Working with our script doctor was a pleasure and we found him to be open and responsive to our aims for the script. He offered suggestions and potential solutions whilst being sensitive and flexible to the overall goals we wished to achieve. He had a very solid sense of structure which was one of the areas that needed attention. His response time to notes was fast and his patience endless! We highly recommend Industrial Scripts and we look forward to using IS services again – earlier in the process next time!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I ordered coverage from five different review services and Industrial Scripts was the best.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Industrial Scripts - Screenplay Editors is rated 4.69 based on 622 reviews