Monzo Reviews

1.9 Rating 51 Reviews
24 %
of reviewers recommend Monzo
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Monzo made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Monzo 1 star review on 12th December 2023
Filipczak A
Monzo 1 star review on 12th December 2023
Filipczak A
Monzo 1 star review on 10th August 2023
Yassin
Monzo 1 star review on 13th June 2023
Kahli McQuitty
Monzo 1 star review on 13th June 2023
Kahli McQuitty
Monzo 1 star review on 13th June 2023
Kahli McQuitty
Monzo 1 star review on 13th June 2023
Kahli McQuitty
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
DO NOT USE MONZO FLEX OR ANY MONZO CREDIT CARD SERVICES They do not have a legitimate nor functional dispute team to handle any disputes. It is an automated service which automatically sides with the merchant and never for the customer. All the merchant has to do is provide any kind of response saying a delivery has been made and the dispute will close. Any evidence you provide in your defence is not registered and completely ignored. There is no portal to supply evidence just the general customer service chat which is run by complete delinquents that aren’t really qualified to read the alphabet. Nothing you send will get taken into consideration. It does not matter if your purchase is world £1000s, Monzo DO NOT CARE. I am pretty sure this violates multiple regulations for a credit provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 22 hours ago
OK bank but keep an eye p a
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Staff are extremely unhelpful and hang up as soon as you get through! When you do get someone who can be bothered to deal with a customer they are unprofessional and better suited to a hair salon! All this rubbish about them being cool and the talk of bars and clubs is a load of old rubbish and absolute propaganda! Do your research!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
I urge anyone to stay clear of this bank and warn others to also stay clear. Especially if you are a vulnerable person, they take full advantage of this and have gotten away with it too many times. I’ve used Monzo as a main account for 3 years now with no issues. I fell pregnant and unfortunately that came with a lot of mental health problems that left me in hospital. I was awarded compensation from the financial ombudsman after a year of terrible living conditions and treatment that inevitably left me with severe anxiety and depression. Took a whole year just to be paid a liveable and survivable income, for Monzo to close my account without explanation. I understand the legislation however I’d just been housed and had to access to the internet. I’ve never lived alone before so I was focused on making my house a home. I didn’t receive a notification and I contacted Monzo. It was re opened as a “grace period” however specialists said they would tell before the account was opened. They just let me use it as normal and waited until the end of the week to close it completely. 10k inside and my benefits back pay for mental illness. I emphasised that I don’t understand the process and I was clearly in a state of severe panick as I was choking on call to wellbeing and they just hung up on me. Took them 5 days to respond. In that time I’ve lost weight and you can actually see the damage, I can’t sleep, my kitchen pipe burst and has flooded my kitchen floor and I’m scared it’s going to blow the fuses, I had no cash or access to money therefore I was forced to let my period just go all over me. I’m behind on rent, phone contract, my payments have been stopped and I now have to appeal leaving me with no income for the foreseeable future. 50 emails. All robot responses, every complaint has been rejected and ignored, Ive repeated the same email over 20 times each member of the Monzo team sending the exact same automated response. I had my emails restricted. To make this bank even worse. After I was honest I had a past with mental health but this experience has scared me and I’m worried for how I’m going to get by, a member of the wellbeing team rang an ambulance and I had to ring the ambulance service and apologise deeply for wasting nhs time. I’ve given them way too much personal information and evidence. I feel really embarrassed and worthless from this. I feel like I’ve just been made a huge mockery out of because I made a mistake and didn’t know a bank would call you randomly on a Saturday without warning. It’s like they set you up. I rang Santander once a specialist agreed to let me give another bank, Santander granted me access to my account that I opened and haven’t used in 4 years in 5 WHOLE MINUTES. Passed security, informed me on everything I need to know about large transfers, online banking, everything Monzo failed to do in a fraction of the time span. All calls are recorded. I was assured by a specialist that my funds would be transferred to my new account once I send them. She said due to the nature of this she can escalate it and fast track it. I send my details and what happens? We are back to the beginning as she failed to actually communicate this with her team. I’m then asked to send everything again, to be met with a completely new person asking for the same things and then again and then again until they ignore you or block you. Coming up to 6 days now and I haven’t had a meal or been able to take care of myself. The mental health charity Monzo have on their website contacted me and they’ve said they don’t even work with them anymore. They’re just profiting from the facade that they actually care for people 1 star because faster payments. Should be 0
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely terrible customer service set up. The bank works well when you do not require any assistance but as soon as you have any type of issue that requires customer support you may as well talk to a wall. You must use the in app chat to speak with them and you get passed from auto bot to auto bot, pretending they’re humans, constantly telling you how sorry they are in vague auto messages. Once you do finally speak to a person they’re never able to help you and continually pass the query to another person until you eventually get told they’ll resolve it via email within 12 business days. They don’t know their ar*e from their elbow and just simply aren’t equipped to help in any meaningful way when problems arise. My business partner had his phone stolen and debit card stolen so I tried to contact Monzo to tell them not to allow any transactions to occur on our JOINT business account. They refused my request and said he had to contact us through the app. An impossible request if you’ve had your phone stolen. So even though I informed them by chat and phone this allowed the person to spend over £1,000 on his card before it was blocked and thus far after 11 days we have still not had a refund nor any meaningful response to show they’ve taken any action. They continually refuse to speak with me on the matter, claiming it has to be the cardholder, even though it is a joint business account with 3 signatories so it isn’t 1 persons money lost it’s a limited company with 3 directors. They do not care and their customer service is as fake as it gets as an online business. Do not be fooled by the ease of certain aspects of this bank, when something goes wrong you will not get any help and be left to pay the price.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Stay far away from this company Monzo for absolutely no reason froze my partners account whilst trying to make a purchase. They have absolutely no explaination, no time line and absolutely no correspondence or help with this issue. We got the same message over again in the online app and the phone line customer service was absolutely useless and kept telling us that their team would contact us. Needless to say, we couldn’t pay any bills during this time and defaulted on a rent payment. This left us with no way to pay for food, transport, anything. I don’t think I need to explain how that left us feeling. During this period I found that we weren’t the only ones, this has been flagged up by multiple online sources forums and watchdog. This has happened to so many people and it is utterly cruel and sickening. If you want to join a bank that could cut off access to your own money for no reason at any time and no way of contacting anyone to help you then go for it. They offer no sympathy and I imagine there will be some lawsuits on their plates pretty soon!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Don’t put your hard earned money with Monzo if you don’t want them to freeze your account completely without checking first that you are buying a car with your insurance complaint money that had paid out for an accident ! Tgey have now left me high and dry
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
They provide the worst customer service ever encountered and then just escalate to a complaints team who hope you will go away given how long it takes for them to respond. When you do reach someone on their chat in app, all you get back is scripted responses. If you get someone on the phone they tell you they can’t help and mislead you into thinking they’re setting up a call back with someone who can. I had the misfortune of being on a call which was clearly a call centre and heard two of the team in the background verbally abusing a customer after a call and taking great joy in the fact that said customer had been shut down and knew nothing. Businesses like this are great until you actually need customer service and my experience has been utterly appalling. I’d advise anyone considering using them to look elsewhere as there are much better options available.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I attempted to open an account for my son in the autumn and then decided during the process to open an account elsewhere. Just after Christmas I tried to open an account in my name. Monzo have been able to separate my email from the original application. In fact it appears that the account is now a mixture of my son’s and my details as now neither of our ID matches the name or dob on the account. I’ve had lots of back and forth with various customer service reps who tell me to re-upload my ID and alternate between calling me my and my son’s name. It has been a maddening experience and perfect example of “computer says no”. I think I’m going to opt for a bank with branches and human beings now!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Monzo closed my account without telling me a reason i had my first Monzo card which i reported because i saw some transactions that was not me right then after they blocked it they sent me a second replacement card and for no reason they blocked it on the same day it arrived then they just let me know we are closing ur account then they send me a third replacement card and now i can't activate it because they have closed my fricking account Monzo this is unacceptable and disgusting of ur customer service terrible
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
A truly dreadful ‘organisation’ run totally by Artificial Intelligence. I had thousands of pounds taken from my account by a third party without my authority. Monzo allowed this to happen and despite 100’s of emails they do NOTHING. Do not risk your money with this lousy outfit.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Had issues with a basketball broadcasting service that took money from me and as I reported it as fraud and provided proof even of other people online all saying the same thing about it they just ignored me and said they can't help Skip to today 19/12/2023 Spending my money for whatever (dont have to tell them at all) and the blocked my account, after I told them I'm happy to prove to them who I am and even facetime they kept asking illegally about my spending.. so basically I don't recommend them as they really don't help you when you need them and they waste your time when you are using YOUR money 💁
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Aweful customer services,the app is so delayed each time you ask a question and they all seem to say the same thing and not know how to deal with basic things.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Ordered a product that was faulty was told send it back I’d get a refund but the seller lied took the return and stole my money Monzo refuse to open a dispute despite mountains of evidence showing it was returned and they would refund when it was returned, staff were extremely rude so contacted the ombudsman and am leaving this scam of a company
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Monzo have frozen my personal and business accounts with no explanation and given me no time frame of when this will be looked into.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Aweful service from this bank stay well clear. If you have problems getting an account try think money they are great
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
spend weeks to open account finally manage it start using account upgrade to premier put money to savings account ect And just mention I have company in UK but not living there I am living in channel island. So after using it for couple weeks get message from Monzo the freeze bank account to check as standard procedure which is fine I give them all info the ask I book boat tonight for trip to UK put all money for travel to Monzo and guess what the block the account and offering refund of my money in 2-4 weeks .what a joker bank waste of time nothing more 😡😡😡😡
Monzo 1 star review on 12th December 2023 Monzo 1 star review on 12th December 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
DISGUSTING AND DISGRACEFUL, closed my account and left me with zero money, I rang and ‘failed security’ because I couldn’t name a pot I created 4 years ago?! The South African lady helping me was so rude, she hung up. I am taking you to court. Absolute scum
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Awful waste of time. Denied me an account for reasons 'they can't go into' although my credit score is excellent and I earn a great salary. I guess I'll take my business elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Monzo shut my account down and have put something against my name for getting sent money from a friend. I have sent letter after letter to try and get this sorted. 3 years on and still hasn't been resolved. Absolute shambles of a bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Monzo is rated 1.9 based on 51 reviews