My Food Bag Reviews

4.71 Rating 2,454 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend My Food Bag
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.53 out of 5
Read My Food Bag Reviews

About My Food Bag:

We're your answer to "what's for dinner?" with fresh ingredients and easy recipes to cook delicious dinners, delivered to you.

Visit Website

Phone:

0800 469 366

Email:

hello@myfoodbag.co.nz

My Food Bag 5 star review on 7th April 2021
Sue
My Food Bag 5 star review on 7th April 2021
Nicole
My Food Bag 5 star review on 17th March 2021
Amee
My Food Bag 5 star review on 17th March 2021
Amee
My Food Bag 5 star review on 17th March 2021
Amee
My Food Bag 5 star review on 17th March 2021
Amee
My Food Bag 5 star review on 17th March 2021
Amee
37
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Hey guys - no kemongrass paste in today’s ready in 20 box 😫😤
(Ready In 20 (3 Nights For 2)) - Posted 1 year ago
We enjoy having different meals each week, but recently I've found some meals have been too spicy for my family to enjoy and we have thrown out ingredients we didn't use. Some recipes include new and different vegetables that my family don't even want to try, such as fennel bulb. I feel a bit like the recipes are not aimed at family's, I have 2 teenage children.

Also the meat isn't as good a quality as I would normally buy, I regularly have to trim the fat/gristle off.

Ready in 20; 3 nights for 4 people.
(Ready In 20 (3 Nights For 4)) - Posted 2 years ago
Enjoyable and convenient . But some things not too good... we had a black butterfly in our last lettuce delivery.Being from the lower south island we enjoy cold water fish with more flavour...salmon is beautiful at any time.Overall your service is very good.Thanks.
(My Classic (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 2 years ago
My husband and I have been getting the light meals for a couple of months. A lot of the recipes are very repetitive. Spinach, carrot,red onion,courgettes ,feta cheese are almost part of every meal along with bulghar wheat and brown rice. More variety is needed
The recipes are very easy to follow and quick to make.
(Fresh Start (5 Nights For 2)) - Posted 2 years ago
I am loving My food bag but we have found sometimes that we haven’t been provided with some of the vegetables or the fish has been quite plain. Other all we are happy though because we still get it! He best thing I’ve ever eaten in my life was food bags mexican jackfruit enchiladas 😍 could eat them every day!
(My Veggie (3 Nights For 4)) - Posted 2 years ago
We have enjoyed the range of MFB meals for many months now. Over the last two months however we haven't had the freshest ingredients: 2 lots of the fish have been really strong-smelling when we opened the packet (ie definitely not fresh) and we have had sprouting potatoes twice, mouldy onions three times, a mouldy apple, and twice had tomatoes that went mouldy in the pantry before we were going to use them.

Aside from that we have appreciated the gluten-free options, and the range of food options.
(My Gluten Free (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Clare,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and experience - we really love hearing how we can improve from our Foodies.

I'm sorry to hear that the fresh produce hasn't been up to our usual high standards! Please do get in touch with our Customer Love Team if you ever have produce you're unhappy with so we can review the product and go back to our suppliers right away to remedy the issue. We're really saddened to hear that this has been the case for you and want to make sure you're getting top-quality produce - it's important to us so we're disappointed to hear your feedback.

Thanks again for sharing these comments with us - we really appreciate you taking the time to do so so we can continue to improve and learn from our Foodies.

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
Needs to have a bigger range of variety of meals as every week the meals are quite similar. Would be good if you could select what menus you want each week as some we really enjoy then others are not to our liking.
(Heat 2 Cook 2 (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Vicki,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and experience - we really love hearing how we can improve from our Foodies!

I'm sorry to hear that the meal variety isn't meeting your expectations - it'd be great for you to communicate with our Development Kitchen staff by rating your recipes/giving recipe feedback from your account section so our team can ensure they're hearing your thoughts per recipe (this feedback really does influence future recipes they create).

We love your meal-picking suggestion - thank you! We'd love to be able to offer Foodies greater variety in meals in future. At the moment, to reduce waste and avoid more packaging we share ingredients across recipes. We'd love to work towards greater flexibility and also maintain minimal waste/sustainability so we will absolutely keep working hard to be able to offer this to you in the short term!

Thanks again for sharing these comments with us! We really appreciate you taking the time to write your thoughts, so we can continue to improve and learn from our Foodies.

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
Generally good, like the convenience. However find the meals quite similar. Ie varying spice on meat, a carb of some type ie roast veges or grain then basic vege, lots of spinach.
My last order the two carrots were old and the spinach also. Very poor, considering most of the fresh veges have been good.
(My Classic (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Janine,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and experience - we really love hearing how we can improve from our Foodies!

I'm sorry to hear that the meal variety isn't meeting your expectations - it'd be great for you to communicate with our Development Kitchen staff by rating your recipes/giving recipe feedback from your account section so our team can ensure they're hearing your thoughts per recipe (this feedback really does influence future recipes they create).

I'm also really sorry to hear your carrots and spinach wasn't in good form in your last delivery, please get in touch with our Customer Love Team if you ever have produce you're unhappy with so we can review the product and go back to our suppliers right away!

It's important to us we give you the best products and service, so we're disappointed to hear that the general variety and your last delivery's carrots and spinach didn't meet our high standards.

Thanks again for sharing these comments with us - we really appreciate you taking the time to do so, so we can continue to improve and learn from our Foodies.

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
The convenience and variety are really good , despite the pricey factor you can’t beat it. I just get disappointed with the meat which is usually not the best cuts and therefore pretty hard to cook well.
(My Veggie (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Sarah,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and experience - we really love hearing how we can improve from our Foodies!
I'm sorry to hear the meat isn't meeting your expectations - please get in touch with our Customer Love Team if you ever have produce you're unhappy with so we can review the product and go back to our suppliers right away. It's important to us we give you the best products and service, so we're disappointed to hear that the meat isn't meeting our high standards to you.
Thanks again for sharing this with us - we really appreciate you taking the time to do so.
Posted 2 years ago
Sometime it’s good, sometimes it’s not, the recipes are quite repetitive. The quality of meat and produce though is really good!
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Olivia,
Thanks for taking the time to rate us and share your experience with us - we love hearing from our Foodies!
I'm sorry to hear we haven't been able to meet the mark every week for you, we really do try to listen to our Foodies and give them what they want - rating your recipes each week helps us immensely so we can make sure you have the best possible meals, as we want you to have the best dinner every night! We're thrilled that you're happy with the produce and though! We'll let our suppliers know the positive feedback!
Have a great week, and please do let us know which recipes are winners in your account area so our Development Kitchen team can keep improving! Happy cooking!
Posted 2 years ago
I really love My Food Bag! The meals are incredibly delicious. Unfortunately their food quality has dropped a bit recently. Have started to get a couple of ingredients which are starting to rot, and delivery drivers can cause a few headaches. Would be 5 stars if these two things were fixed up
(My Veggie (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Scott,

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us some feedback - we really do appreciate it and suggestions on board to improve our service!

I'm really sorry to hear that the quality of the produce you've had on a couple of ingredients wasn't up to scratch, we'll take this up with our suppliers to make sure that it meets both yours and our expectations.

I'm also sorry to hear that you've been having some driver challenges - I'll take a look into this for you and see what's been happening for you.

Thanks again for taking the time to message us with your feedback and for being a wonderful Foodie!

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Food bag team,
Firstly thanks for providing an avenue for customer feedback!

We have really enjoyed the food bag experience, we have journed with you for a year now:
Loved the bbq bag
Loved the winter meal

However in recent time switching to the heat two cook two we have found there to be too many rice related recipes and have actually switched out to other options - vege based and pasta based....

We have also had dramas with our delivery- not dropping at the front door, instead a side road gate entrance that is not connected to the entrance of the house or driveway and one occasion losing our food bag delivery....last week the box was delivered wet (yes we did have heavy rain in chch over the weekend) but our front door wasn’t wet...? And the box fell apart when picked up? With the pasta sauce smashing on the front door step.... the behest were also in a bad state.... which we simply had to throw out.... so....

We love the idea and concept, and want to continue to support a fantastic idea, but from a small business owners experience.... it’s all in the delivery!

Thanks and best wishes hopefully with a good foodbag experience this week to come.

Cheers Sutton family
(Heat 2 Cook 2 (4 Nights For 4)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Davina,

Thank YOU for taking the time to do so! We really appreciate feedback so we can continue to improve and provide a service relevant to our Foodies. We really do take this seriously, so thank you for writing your thoughts down for us!

It's really great to hear your thoughts with regards to the Heat 2 Cook 2 carbohydrates. We can certainly review our usage and make sure we offer that variety that you suggest. The Fresh Start options are carb-lite so you may like to mix it up every other week, but I know this doesn't always suit our Foodies, so we can certainly look into the variety of our meals in the Heat 2 Cook 2! I'll be sure to pass your feedback on to our development Kitchen for improvements.

I'm really sorry to hear about the disappointing delivery experience! I can see you've raised this with our Customer Love team who have escalated the issue, so I hope that issues have been resolved! This doesn't meet our expectations and we're not happy to hear it has been less that fantastic. We will be looking into this further to avoid anything like this in future.

Thanks again for taking the time to talk with us - it's really valuable for us to hear your thoughts to be able to improve.

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
I’ve loved/ I’m loving not having to think about what to eat or shop for, having had a difficult year, and knowing the family will be well fed,
However we are finding the variety is not quite there- shame we’ve had to lose the fish with going to heat and eat option. Also wondering how the heat meals will go through the summer. Will probably need to reconsider our options for the summer.
With the cook meals, the flavour is not always there for us.
The service has served s need, but may not meet our needs ongoing.
(Heat 2 Cook 2 (4 Nights For 4)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Priscilla,

Thanks for taking the time to review us and provide us with some valuable feedback.

It's great to hear that our service has been able to help you out in your life with regards to convenience and removing one more thing to think about on a weekly basis!

I'll be sure to pass your requests for fish in the Heat 2 Cook 2 option to our Development Kitchen for consideration. It's nice to mix up proteins and I know that it may be coming up in future! Your request has been heard! :)

You're welcome to swap out to try different bags on occasion to mix up the variety and meal types, I hope this is something that would meet your family's needs in future and would allow you to enjoy different types of produce throughout different seasons.

Thanks again for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and for being a fabulous Foodie!

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
Having been a customer of My Food Bag for many years, it does simplify my life no end. But I have noticed the portion sizes are getting smaller. We are a family of 5 with three girls aged 13, 11 and 9yrs and we are not huge eaters. Would be good to see more generous portions.
(My Family (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Karen,

Firstly, thanks so much for taking the time to give us some feedback - we appreciate hearing your comments and suggestions to be able to improve our service.

Secondly, thank you for being such a loyal My Food Bag Foodie! It's fantastic to hear you've been using our service for a long time.

I'm really sorry to hear that the portion size of our meals hasn't been enough for your family. The Family Bag is designed for 2 adults and 2-3 kids, but don't really define what 'kids' are - so we can certainly be clearer, whilst it is subjective! Our team suggests 'kids' are really up to 10 years of age, but we definitely could specify this and be clearer to avoid a similar instance occurring. Please accept my apologies that we haven't clearly communicated this. May I suggest reviewing the Classic Bag options or the Bargain Box Regular 5 options to better fill your family's tummies?

This has been really valuable feedback we can make improvements on, so thank you for taking the time to complete this review for us!

Thanks again for being a wonderful Foodie!

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
I feel like the quality of the fruit and vege has been dropping recently. I was also not pleased with the quality of the minced beef as it was very fatty. I would never buy that grade myself.
(My Classic (3 Nights For 4)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Janine,

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us some feedback - we really appreciate hearing your experience with our service!

I'm really sorry to hear that the quality of the produce you've been receiving doesn't meets your expectations! We'll take this feedback to our suppliers so we can make sure that this isn't the case going forward! We have high expectations for the products we send, so it's disappointing to hear this.

Thanks again for taking the time to message us with your feedback and for being a wonderful Foodie.

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
I found this year the quality of some of the meat and fish has declined. But recipes have improved greatly.
(My Family (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi RA,

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us some feedback - we really appreciate it to be able to improve our service.

I'm really sorry to hear that the quality of the produce you've had hasn't met your expectations. We'll take this up with our suppliers to make sure that it meets both yours and our expectations going forward, as it's really important to us that you get a high quality experience.

It's great to hear that you've been enjoying improvements to our recipes, our team will be thrilled to hear it!

Thanks again for taking the time to message us with your feedback and for being a wonderful Foodie!

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
Family bag is a bit too challenging at times for kiddies. More wraps, pitas etc would be great.
(My Family (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Aimee,

Thanks for letting is know your thought on the Family Bag!

We really appreciate feedback from our Foodies so we can continue to make improvements. We started pre-preparing some of the ingredients to help reduce meal prep time in our Family and Express Bags, but we can always look to include more quick dishes like wraps and pitas. I'll pass your ideas onto our Development Kitchen team for future consideration in the Family Bag recipes.

Thanks again for being a fab Foodie, we love hearing from you.

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
My Food Bag is good most of the time. The great things are that it saves me going to different places to get good quality ingredients and keeps weekly meals interesting. It also means teenagers in the family don't have an excuse not to make dinner once or twice a week! We get the lite 20 which suits all the family as the boys can have an extra potato or a roll to fill them up - I find it versatile and suits everyone.

Sometimes though the meals can be a little lacking in flavour and lately some of the vegetables have not been very fresh. The protein is generally good, but the beef can be tough and sometimes there isn't much fish - and would like salmon more! Often the garlic and ginger can be a bit rotten, and I have had rotten or slightly mouldy items too, eg like herbs, cauliflower, mung beans.
(Fresh Start (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 2 years ago
Hi Shelly,

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us some feedback - we really appreciate it!

Great to hear you've been enjoying your Fresh Start Lite 20! It's a fantastic option that I'm happy to hear your family has been getting involved with.

I'm really sorry to hear that the quality of the produce you've had with some of your vegetables, we'll go back to our suppliers make sure that it meets both yours and our expectations in future. We're recently been reducing our plastic use and have found that for some items, not having plastic wrapping can effect the life-span of the products so we're continuing to work to keep items fresh and reduce our plastic options.

Salmon is delicious! I hear you - it's always nice to have some salmon in your weekly cooking! I'll pass this request onto our Development Kitchen for you. They'll be able to review how to incorporate into a under 450 calorie meal in the Fresh Start plans.

Thanks again for taking the time to message us with your feedback and for being a wonderful Foodie, Shelly!

Cheers,
Casey Cocoa
Posted 2 years ago
My Food Bag is rated 4.71 based on 2,454 reviews