My Food Bag Reviews

4.71 Rating 2,243 Reviews
97 %
of reviewers recommend My Food Bag
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.53 out of 5
Read My Food Bag Reviews

About My Food Bag:

We're your answer to "what's for dinner?" with fresh ingredients and easy recipes to cook delicious dinners, delivered to you.

Visit Website

Phone:

0800 469 366

Email:

hello@myfoodbag.co.nz

50% fantastic. 50% not enjoyable recipes.
(Fresh Start (5 Meals For 1)) - Posted 3 weeks ago
Kia ora Amanda! Thanks for leaving a review, we're pleased to hear that 50% was fantastic! We have a team of chefs who work hard to use seasonal produce and make delicious meals that the majority will enjoy. Remember to rate your recipes each week, as this feedback goes directly to the chefs and they do read it each week! It is really helpful when planning the upcoming menus to know exactly what our Foodies are really enjoying, and what they're not. :) -My Food Bag
Posted 3 weeks ago
The quality of food is high, however unfortunately there are too many spicy meals overall.
(My Gluten Free (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 1 month ago
Enjoyed most of the meals but the steak cut of meat let it down.
(Fresh Start (5 Nights For 2)) - Posted 1 month ago
Its a great idea and experience. We have had n o issues with delivery or missing items so have been really happy with that side of it.
Its been great for eating more variety of vegetables, portion control and learning new meal techniques and ideas however, we have had a number of meals that were pretty average that my partner just refused to eat (if they are spicy or healthy THEY NEED TO BE TASTY!!)
If this wasn't the case we'd probably stick with it but as we are going down to one income soon, the price makes it prohibitive.
(My Choice (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 1 month ago
Have been disappointed lately with the quality of some of the vegetables. Particularly the green beens that have been very blemished. Carrots and parsnips have been a bit limp too.
(My Classic (3 Nights For 4)) - Posted 3 months ago
We have ordered most of your selection of food bags over the past few months and we have liked some and not so keen on others. Too many of similar recipes. We thought the extra paid for the gourmet bag wasn't worth it. Sometimes the steak and lamb is very fatty. Probably our favourite is gluten free. The vegs are mostly fresh. We have enjoyed experiencing different dishes that we wouldn't normally cook though.
(My Gluten Free (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 4 months ago
Hey Nanette,

Thanks so much for your feedback, sorry to hear that you have found the steak and lamb fatty, we will pass that feedback onto our suppliers! We are glad that you have gotten to try some dishes you might not have had otherwise :)

Thanks again! - Mel Mozzarella
Posted 4 months ago
I love the recipes, quality of food and convenience of MFB. However this has been tarnished by missing items, one delivery completely missed, and another one missing until 4.30pm - arriving after I had bought alternative food and started cooking dinner for my kids.
This would all have been fine if I felt the customer service team where there to help. Unfortunately it took 4 phone calls and lots of patience before I got some action.
As a new customer I'm not entirely happy with MFB. I'm giving it another chance before I decide if I want to go with an alternative.
(My Family (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 4 months ago
Hey Haley, We are really sorry for your recent delivery experience, we have our operations team following up with NZ post so will get this issue sorted. Thanks so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it! We hope to make this up to you moving forward :) -Mel Mozzarella
Posted 4 months ago
Having had it for few weeks now starting to find it a little repetitive, good flavors but getting very tired of broccoli, baby spinach and slaw. Feel that the veges could be changed up a bit. Seasonal I would have expected inclusion of pumpkin, beetroot, kumera etc
(My Classic (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 4 months ago
Hi Jan,

Thanks so much for taking the time to send us a review. We are sorry to hear that you have found some of the meals repetitive.

We always appreciate hearing all feedback good or bad, as it lets us know what we can change moving forward.

Don't forget to login to your account and rate your recipes - this feedback goes directly to our Development Kitchen team and helps them to plan future menus. We hope you enjoyed the other recipes this week and thank you again for the feedback 😊

-Angie Acai
Posted 4 months ago
The food is mostly quite good however the vegetarian lasagne was gluggey this probably should have been cooked first.
(My Veggie (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 6 months ago
Hi Rowena, Thanks so much for your feedback, we will pass this onto our development kitchen! We do recommend rating your recipes as you go so our chefs can continually work on improving our recipes 😊 - Gemma Ginseng
Posted 5 months ago
Love the idea that a bag of food gets delivered every week with recipes. BUT
the white fish is usually old and smells terrible, i usually end up throwing this out. Would be great to get salmon instead or the option for another meat meal.
The meals take way longer to cook than the recipe.
The sauces are usually super nice.
50/50 are whether or not the recipe is nice. Would be great to have an option to pick what you want.
(My Classic (5 Meals For 1)) - Posted 6 months ago
Hi Kate,

Thanks so much for your feedback, we will pass this onto our development kitchen! We have had a lot of similar feedback from foodies wanting to pick their own recipes each week, so we are excited to say we will be bringing back our My Choice range as soon as possible! We will email you once this is available :)

Kindest,
Mel Mozzarella
Posted 6 months ago
Sometimes items are not put into box
(My Classic (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 7 months ago
Over the last few weeks we have had some meals which were not up to my liking. The frozen bags of corn have come thawed so we did not use them.
I like the idea where you can pick and choose meals with Hello Fresh so I am trying them to see how the meals are.
(My Classic (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 7 months ago
Kia ora Garry! Thanks for leaving a review! We're sorry to hear you haven't been enjoying all of the meals. With an active subscription you are able to preview the menu for up to two weeks in advance, so you can choose the menu for the bag that best suits you. We do expect the corn to defrost on it's way to you, it is totally fine to be popped straight into the fridge or freezer until needed. We'd also really encourage you to rate your recipes with what you did and did not enjoy as this feedback goes directly to our chefs and helps them to plan upcoming menus! We hope you'll try us again in the future. :) -The My Food Bag team
Posted 7 months ago
While I enjoy some of the meals, I feel they get a bit repetitive and sometimes like not a lot of thought goes into the recipes. The meals all start to taste the same. I also think more of an effort could be made to use sauces with less additives and nasty's in them.
(My Veggie (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 7 months ago
Kia ora Emma! Thanks for leaving a review. We're sorry to hear you're finding the recipes repetitive. We'd really encourage you to hop online when you get a chance and rate your recipes! You can leave feedback here that goes directly to our chefs and helps them to plan upcoming menus. :) -The My Food Bag team
Posted 7 months ago
Delivery was late, contact food bag. New delivery never arrived.
(My Classic (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 8 months ago
My Fresh Start is great for meal prep time mostly can be prepped in under 30 mins. After several weeks it gets all a bit same same with the recipes i.e. 1 fish meal two chicken and one other type meal and sometimes the portions are a bit lean generally happy with it
(Fresh Start (5 Nights For 2)) - Posted 8 months ago
Vegetables are often yuck, not fresh. Nice and easy recipes, it’s good not having to think of what’s for dinner every night. Heat and eat meals tend to be the best.
(Heat 2 Cook 2 (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 9 months ago
1st Was a little disappointed that the lettuce didn’t last until the 4th day was slimy around the edges. 2nd week on the 2nd day some of the cherry tomatoes were shrivelled up. But overall meals are nice.
(My Classic (4 Nights For 2)) - Posted 10 months ago
3 stars, 1 for the convenience, 1 for the exposure to new food and recipes, and 1 for teaching us new skills in the kitchen.

after using this for a few months now 2 stars are lost. 1 for the price and 1 for the repeatative meals each week.

overall we enjoy it.
(My Family (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 10 months ago
Love the concept and the meals. Always feel like I am eating nutritious meals. I have only given 3 stars due to issues with quality of produce and delivery of the wrong box, I was sent box for 2 people but ordered a 4 person. I did complain and the guy that took my call was very helpful, but I use my food bag for convenience and having a 2 person bag was not convenient..
(My Classic (5 Nights For 4)) - Posted 10 months ago
I switched to fresh start for this week and every meal has meat in it. And three of them heavy red meat. No fish at all.
As one person I only have two options for my food bag. However my preference is to eat far less red meat if possible.
Am considering going to change back.
(Fresh Start (5 Meals For 1)) - Posted 10 months ago
My Food Bag is rated 4.71 based on 2,243 reviews