Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,524 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0344 892 2721 (Ext. 6322)

Location:

National Customer Service Centre | Rhosili Road | Brackmills
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 26th November 2022
Michael
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
Wickes 1 star review on 11th October 2022
Michael Picone
163
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Do not book through Wickes. We were told they were one of the better ones but have lied and been dodgy salesman throughout. The only reason they have a 2 is that the fitter was actually great (he wasn’t Wickes just works some jobs for them) Overpriced, lots of hidden costs. promised us 6 week to fit time, actually 4 months which we were only told about after they took our money. Deliveries turned up haphazard and several bits missing- I was having to carefully check everything and phone everyday to chase. Then several bits were completely wrong for the items chosen (wrong fittings etc). They also massively over calculated what was needed and we have ended up with lots of stuff to go back, some of which they are being really difficult over. We have also had to lug all this stuff back ourselves (huge boxes of boards and lots of boxes of tiles), they didn’t even help transfer it from the car park to shop. Passed from person to person throughout. Luckily the fitter seems to have done a great job (time will tell) so I just have to block the memory of the booking and wait out of my mind, but would never recommend them to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered a door which needed to be delivered as it was a bit bigger than average, paid for it in store and £41.00 & £7.00 delivery as they could not deliver to the store so I could pick it up, told I would get a text with a delivery time and that it would be delivered on Tuesday by Tuffnells, no text at all, at 11am decided to go through my emails to find one that said between 9 -1, at 4.45 a knock at the door and opened to no one there and a door standing against the wall and the driver sprinting to get in his van, on inspection found the side that had been facing the wall was badly damaged, hubby ran after him and told him in no uncertain terms that he could take it back to the answer of why! (think he must of noticed or Tuffnells have a blind driver). I called customer service on the Wednesday morning as soon as they opened to be told really sorry Blah Blah and a new one would be delivered on the Friday fine I said as long as it is in the morning as I have a dentist in the afternoon and guess what no door, called customer service to be told it is down for Delivery Monday I explained that is not expectable as I am out all day as it is my birthday so would never have agreed to Monday. I have now lost 2 days from work and still no bloody door. apparently Wickes do not have anyone to liaise with the delivery company on my behalf or just don't want to? so who took them on as contractors. they don't deliver on Saturdays or Sundays, asked for a call back from a manager to be told it could take 48 hours (but then how they going to speak to Tuffnells if they don't work weekends), ended the conversation with you will get a text on Sunday night with delivery time slot for Monday, never got a text last time so what's different this time and what part of I will not be there on MONDAY do they not understand. asked if I wanted to cancel the order YES I would love to but can not find this size door anywhere else. What a crock of S*** unless you can click and collect don't bother.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
First went to Wickes bathroom design department in December 2021. Ordered bathroom and told that the wait time was into May 2022. Accepted this and waited and waited. Contacted Luke our design consultant at the Folkestone branch and was told that I would hear and to wait. Three months on and had heard nothing. Seems we had been forgotten about and wait time was now at the end of August. Finally, after speaking with an operations manager and making a hefty complaint we were allocated a fitter, who came to inspect and told me that he would now not be able to fit my bathroom until November 2022. Met again with Luke and store manager who did not really want to know. Finally, I was matched up with a new fitter, first visit for inspection purposes, clearly, he had little idea of what he was supposed to do. Several visits on and date booked for 3 weeks in August 2022. Bathroom took over 5 weeks to install. (it's only small.) Fitter left end of Bath open, as it was close to window, they felt we would not notice it. Hole left open all along bottom of window, Tiles damaged, bottom of door sawn off, with sharp jagged edge when there was not a need to cut door at all, bathroom cabinet drawer would barely open, ripped finger nails off trying to open it, fitter told me he knew it was faulty but had to fit what Wickes supplied him with! Sink leaked into cabinet and would not drain properly, due to fitter tightening the seals too much and creating a vacuum, fitter's manager took over week to authorise cabinet replacement and to then authorise for fitter to remove faulty and put in new one. Now 2.5 weeks later the toilet is leaking, it turns out it was leaking when the fitter installed it, but was told by his manager to add lots of old washers between the cistern and the bowl and I have now been told that I should be grateful that it worked with this bodged repair to a new toilet for over two weeks! Evidently, everything purchased through Wickes and fitted by them has to fail twice before they will replace it, even if it is faulty. Leaking started last Friday, I have been told that they ordered new one on Tuesday and they cannot deliver the replacement for two weeks. The fitter will not come out, as he does not get paid to do so as his manager will not authorise it, I have a leaking toilet for two weeks and the nameless fitter's manager does not care! So I hope the leak does not get worse and destroy my bathroom, my downstairs ceiling, etc. It's ridiculous. They take your money and they just don't care. My advice, as so many have written before is to stay clear of Wickes. Their utter incompetence and lack of both customers and their properties astound me. They truly deserve a 0 rating.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Our wet room, designed, purchased and installed by Wickes in September 2019 has leaked into the room below, (kitchen , just one year old). Our Plumber has inspected and advised the the wet room was insufficiently tanked. Customer Service advised, no reply, further contact, store manager,(Milton Keynes) is aware of problem but hasn’t got in touch,(blaming Installation Team). Our only recourse may be to claim under Section 75, Consumer Credit Act 1974, from the credit company that they insisted we sign up too, even though we were paying in full via bank transfer. DO NOT USE WICKES
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Our wet room, designed, purchased and installed by Wickes in September 2019 has leaked into the room below, (kitchen , just one year old). Our Plumber has inspected and advised the the wet room was insufficiently tanked. Customer Service advised, no reply, further contact, store manager,(Milton Keynes) is aware of problem but hasn’t got in touch,(blaming Installation Team). Our only recourse may be to claim under Section 75, Consumer Credit Act 1974, from the credit company that they insisted we sign up too, even though we were paying in full via bank transfer. DO NOT USE WICKES
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Where do you start with Wickes, from start to not yet finished they have been a shambles, if I could give less than 1 star that still would be too much for them. We ordered a bathroom at a high spec last Sept from Guildford, with the plan to get it fitted this Easter, they turn up, rip out the bathroom and leave, what should have been a 2-week job, turned into a 5 week later project, the builders they use and that's if you want to call them that, are a joke, complete jack the lads their approach to everything is nothing is there fault if a tile cracks or something doesn't fit. We find we have to chase Wickes Guildford all the time, their customer service is poor, to say the least. We believe that we have been assigned someone to handle the issues only in the last few days, but we have been told there has to be an investigation on what has happened, well if someone actually visited us we could show them that our bathroom is not finished and that we have a good dozen outstanding items that need sorting. Once we are finished and paid up, we will certainly never use or encourage anyone to use Wickes as a company. This is the short version of our complaints to Wickes, got tired of writing emails and reviews which clearly don't make a difference to this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Cannot even rate this 1, basically paid in full 8000 + for a kitchen designed / fitted. Came back off holiday to find the kitchen an absoloute disgrace, items missing and very very poor shocking workmanship . 5 weeks on and no further forward, poor customer service when they have your money they don't want to know, Do not order a kitchen from Wickes 100%
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Update your system showed items in stock in your Loughton store drove up there from Waltham cross said they had them got their no in stock was told haven’t had any for weeks same at WX need items to finish job was even told go to toolstation next door they might have them
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Had my bathroom fitted in February this year. Tiles were badly fitted. It took the 3 weeks before the fitter could workout why the drainage in the shower was not draining properly - infact, the water was building up to overflow. It was with my son who made him realise what the problem was. I was promised professional and good work by the designer, when I asked him about the the engineer. No one visited to see how the job was developing and when I went to the shop to complain, they sent the designer, who's remark was_ I don't know anything about plumbing, I'm just the designer. How many months later, after three sets of toilet seat, I am still using a toilet without a toilet seat,because each one that has been fitted, have broken down. I've paid good money for a new bathroom and have been very disappointed with the quality of work. I am ashamed to have anyone to my place because there's no toilet seat on my toilet - a brand new toilet! This has been and still is very stressful experience for me. Please don't let these people do any work for you. They're only interested in taking your money from you- which they insist that you pay before they do any work - even when I brought it to their intention, that rightly, I shouldn't be paying them any money, until the job is completed.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Have to commend wickes service.my orders were quite heavy and both were carried into house for me by extremely polite well mannered gentlemen this morning.well pleased.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Disgraceful!!!!! Do not use Wickes to fit your kitchen, I would have left minus stars if there was an option to do so. I have paid £12,000 to Wickes and have been left with an unfinished kitchen which is not functional, the kitchen fitting that has been completed to date is of an extremely poor standard. In addition to this the kitchen fitter carried out gas and electrical work that he was not qualified to do, which is a clear safety issue, Wickes know of this issue and they did not send a qualified person to my house for over a week. Customer Services say that they are working on a new fitter to complete the kitchen, however this has not materialised and there is no date for work to commence. Wickes guarantees state: "Our experienced installers will fit your kitchen to the highest standard, whilst adhering to additional safety measures we've put in place. So you can relax knowing that your kitchen is in safe hands." And "We want you to be completely happy with your installation, knowing that everything has been fitted safely and correctly. Once it's been installed, we'll provide you with a 2-year workmanship guarantee on top of any product guarantees." In my experience neither have been the case, the fitter presented as inexperienced and did not do the job safely or correctly. Wickes has wasted my hard-earned money, time and effort. Wickes has left me with a kitchen which I am unable to use and with no guarantee as to when this nightmare will end. I recommend that customers go elsewhere and disregard the guarantees and promised made by Wickes, it's not worth it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Disappointed really
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely shocking company we paid about 12 000 to have a bathroom put in which was delayed by 3 weeks he took about 5 weeks to put in in then when he said it's all finished and done the water was coming out from the shower the toilet is leaking and the grouting is terrible so after 6 months of not having a bathroom not being able to have a shower they finally get the installation manager to see for his self although we have sent video after video and having different installers come see it he shows up and says well we will fix it for you but you can't claim compensation what a absolutely horrendous company I suggest to everyone stay away
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Update: Basically Cowboys I genuinely feel like I've been dealing with cowboys I've had such a poor experience with Wickes's bathroom installation. Initially, I chose Wickes as I wanted to go with a reputable company. I was aware this would mean a higher cost and perhaps a longer waiting time before the installation would start. Initially the experience was good, the design consultant at the Cricklewood store was very nice and drew up an amazing bathroom design I was really happy and genuinely excited for. We were told we'd receive a call within ten days to book in the home visit to measure things up. This took six weeks and I had to chase multiple times. Once this was booked I was pleasantly surprised by how quickly they were able to fit us in. The delivery seemed well organised but this was a ruse. When the contractors were onsite the experience was relatively good, they were helpful and worked to the schedule they said they would. Unfortunately they found that wickes had misdelivered numerous items and missed lots out all together. Wickes had delivered a bathroom without: a shower enclosure, a shower door, a toilet cistern, an extractor fan (a fancy one the design consultant had specifically upsold us to), a towel rack and a cracked mirror. The store rang me to inform me that I needed to send evidence of the incorrect parts, I was at work and confused - the design consultants had ordered the parts, I didn't know what was right/wrong - I said I believed they should be able to revisit the original booking/quote and order the correct parts. I then asked if this would delay completion of the project and the store said no but when I asked if the parts would be delivered today (as it was the scheduled completion day) she put me on hold then hung up. The store then didn't answer when I called and I send my design consultant multiple emails to no reply. The builders had to leave me without a working shower, no extractor fan and a bucket to flush the toilet with - not what you want when you've spent almost £10,000. I then received no correspondence for 5 days, when I spoke to the head office team out of desperation was shocked to learn that the parts hadn't even now been ordered so there was no end in sight to the struggle. A week after the builders had left I was told the parts would be delivered the following week apart from the shower enclosure which once again required me to send a picture of it being incorrect to get the right one. I was emailed at 1:41pm saying if I could reply by 2 they could get it by Tuesday. Sadly I was at work so this wasn't possible so now it seems as if these works will be pushed into a fifth week. I am currently dealing with this with Wickes and am looking forward to what I can only assume will be a substantial discount due to this series of errors but just wanted to warn anybody, please don't use this company if you want a bathroom with a shower and toilet. I understand mistakes happen but I'm exceedingly shocked at the lack of urgency demonstrated by Wickes once these mistakes were identified. This is the Cricklewood store - one to avoid!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Why is it each time I visit Wickes to ask for a particular colour of paint to be mixed the answer is sorry our mixing machine is " out of order". Shan't be going there again , back to my first choice! Last visit Saturday 10th Sep.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We tried to get some quotes from other companies and tradesmen for the work we needed doing to our bathroom and kitchen. Four came, and not one of them returned with a quote. In the end we realised they didn't want to do the works because we has so many tiles in our kitchen and the floor needed a large part replacing. It was too many tiles for them, and as there is so much work about they are able to pick and choose which works they take on. In December 2021 we gave up trying to sort the tradesmen out ourselves and decided to give Wickes in Ashford a try. We met Paul in the showroom who quickly came out to measure up. We then returned to the store to pick our kitchen and bathroom units. We was then given a date which was a few months to wait for the right fitter for the job. We didn't mind the wait as we had been messed around so much trying to sort it out ourselves. We had already wasted 18 months. When we got to meet our fitter, we instantly liked him, and we hoped he wouldn't let us down when the time came for our installation. About three weeks before the start date, we changed our mind about lots of things and asked to see Paul in the Ashford store again. He could not have been more helpful, and we didn't make his job easy. We changed the bathroom sink, the bath and the toilet, All the kitchen kitchen units were changed, and even the colour. Paul could not have been more helpful and made the whole process very easy. When it came to delivery, the units were on time and as described. We then waited for our installation date. When Gareth our installer came on time it was a huge sigh of relief. Gareth was an absolute star. He worked through that 40 degree heat we had recently. It was an absolute pleasure to have him in our house from start to finish. We added more things for him to do and he never complained once. The standard of his work was absolutely first class. We really could not be happier with Wickes and the whole team. We are so happy that the previous tradesmen had let us down because then we had so a wonderful experience with the whole team at Wickes. They even arranged zero % finance, so we get a whole year to pay as well. Thank you so much to the whole team.. I have added some pictures and a couple of videos of the works that were carried out. The pictures don't do it justice, but I think you will be able to get an idea of the quality of the works carried out. We would not hesitate to recommend Wickes to anyone.
Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022 Wickes 5 star review on 29th August 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Great service to begin with. Over ordered some flooring, returned some. Refund fiasco. Meeting with the Manager at Newmarket very entertaining. He gets 5 stars for sarcasm.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Ordered £400 of timber a week ago. Was supposed to receive a text the night before delivery. Didn't happen. Rang the rotherham store at 7am when they opened to be told Citysprint would be delivering and i would get a text when they were loaded. Didn't happen. Had a day off work for absolutely nothing.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Bathroom Installation and Design Excellent from start to finish I am thrilled with the result and would totally recommend this service. thanks to Jake Pete and the team for an excellent result
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Jon a designer came to look at my kitchen with a view to doing a design for me. He was extremely rude, sighed a lot and complained about my kitchen being small. Laughed at me. Then insulted me by asking did I have money to pay for it. He actually asked if I had the money, three times. Very intimidating and uncomfortable. Immediately reported him. I’m a single women and I felt embarrassed and uncomfortable. The customer service girl, Chloe was lovely when I rang up to complain and say I would never use them. The designer was arrogant and intimidating.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,524 reviews