Wickes Reviews

1.54 Rating 1,389 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0344 892 2721 (Ext. 6322)

Location:

National Customer Service Centre | Rhosili Road | Brackmills

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My wife had a call from a 'kitchen specialist' re an appt so we can choose a new kitchen, the advisor from a local North East store was obnoxious, rude, and very disinterested in what we are looking for, asked why would he spend 4 hours in our house??? Disgraceful, it's a shame, we have money to spend but Wickes won't be getting our business now, very poor..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Wickes has made my year a nightmare with my new kitchen. Three months ago my so-called installer (he was a second rate handyman at best) said he didn’t have time to finish my installation and had to go to another job. He said he’d be back in ‘three or four weeks’, leaving me with a half-completed kitchen. He dragged my old appliances down to the end of my street and dumped them on the pavement (so much for eco-friendly trash removal), he left my fridge cabinet propped up on a screwdriver, no lighting, no tiles, damaged skirting boards, damaged window frames, missing cabinets, doors and baseboards. It took two months for me to get to customer services and still they have not given me any indication how long it will be before they get it finished. Absolutely the most horrible experience I have ever had and I have made it my quest to warn as many people as possible about the abominable service they offer. Six week's later: Update. The CEO's customer service team took over my case and I now have a designated contractor who will finish my kitchen. No work has started yet but we have a tentative date for next weekend (as long as there's no rain in the forecast!) The electrical work and tiling will follow later. Will I get my kitchen finished by Christmas? Watch this space. Well, I did get my kitchen finished this week. It took six months. My kitchen is 5 x 3. And after all the hell we have been through, today I was offered my 'compensation'. A refund on my £420 out-of-pocket expenses, £15 per week for my twenty-week delay = £300, and a refund of £130 on some lights I changed. Basically, they gave me £300 on a £15,000 kitchen and put me through the most miserable experience of my life with any company. They couldn't even attempt to 'make it right'. Not even the CEO was prepared to do that. Shame on Wickes. Ding, next gullible customer!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Had a lovely bathroom fitted in June, which was done brilliantly but now the pump won’t turn off. We have emailed, phoned and also contacted online customer services and had no one contact us. It seems that once they have your money they aren’t interested in problems that happen after installation even although it is only 5 months since installation. I’m hoping if Wickes read this they may even get in touch.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Promised delivery, never arrived. No tracking information. Delivered late and as I wasn't in they left the item. No refund has I didn't refuse at the door, how could I if I wasnt in! Wouldn't collect therefore no refund. Very poor service!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Still waiting on bathroom parts 7 months after I ordered them. Was told my bathroom would be down with 2 months. Only went with Wickes as I wanted not to have to project manage, but with installers who quit and don't tell anyone, designers who don't email back, it's been one disaster after another. They pushed back my installation further as the bath had to be specially made (as if they didn't have enough warning) and it still wasn't delivered. Found out this morning another item was missing and they just hadn't thought to tell us, I guess that'll just push it back further. We're still waiting on compensation, but I doubt they can compensate for all their mistakes. Save your money and go elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Does not even deserve one star ! I ordered 2 basic items from Wickes, to be delivered. The delivery company did not inform me of when the items were to be delivered, I was on the phone when they came, they took the items away and claimed to have delivered them. After half a day of trying, I finally managed to contact Wickes who refused to provide a refund. Subsequently they agreed to cancel the order and provide a refund. The delivery arrived again the following day without notice ! I therefore sent it away, explaining I had cancelled it with Wickes. I e mailed Wickes again to explain what had happened, Three days later I received an e mail from Wickes saying they were 'awaiting a response' and could not progress the matter. Every time they agree something with me, they do the opposite, have wasted hours and hours of my time, left me without the goods and refuse to return my money.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Unlike most of the reviews here, mine is not based on the service of staff but on the quality and value of their products. I purchased two 1000 wall units from the flat pack range. We moved into our house last year and although the kitchen is functional, we will be changing it. There were no wall units fitted so we wanted to add some as a temporary solution pending a complete refit. The quality of these not inexpensive units falls far short of expectations. In short, the carcasses edges do not align properly and when assembling and do not hold their form after fitting. They are not strong enough to hold their shape and sag in the middle once the shelves are loaded. (No. Not overloaded) I would not consider purchasing from Wickes when it comes time to refit the kitchen.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Purchased a kitchen 2005 with a 10 year guarantee (what a joke), during Lockdown I noticed a defect on the fridge door, on closer inspection there were a few doors like it. I waited to contact the store when Lockdown was lifted, the Store and Head Office was contacted only to be told the Atlanta White Range they no longer sell or make, and the guarantee on the doors is only 5 years. I have been passed around, So basically they do not want to know, had I know this I would have contacted Wickes straight away and that would have been 4 years. No one has been to inspect they have said i have used products on them and not wiped it off. I know I have not because with gloss you have to buff it straight away or it looks a mess. The guarantees are a waste of time. It is not my problem that products are not available, they should not commit to guarantees if items can become obsolete/no longer available. Do not trust Wickes.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We had to move out of our house because the toilet never arrived after many calls to the office. Also still not had the refund. Toilet was ordered 10 weeks before
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The most awful experience trying to get an office design. Raised concerns with Customer services who didn't want to know. As the first interaction and a potentially new customer I am shocked. Avoid!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I couldn't believe how Rubbish Wickes has become. I only had a small order two plaster boards some adhesive, a oval clothes rail and two clips. The delivery van arrives with the clothes rail and clips missing. The driver said the abort the delivery and get hold of customer support an hour later I thought it was sorted. A day before the re-delivery I get a phone call from the Wickes store saying the adhesive is out of stock, hmm it was in the van a day before okay no worries I can manage without it. The re-delivery came but we're now missing the two clips that hold the clothes rail to the wall. This time I spoke directly to the store. The chap was quite helpful and he said his manager would drop them off.. Surprise nothing turned up, looks like I'll be ringing them in the morning the hear more stories. I doubt I'll be buying online from Wickes after this performance.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
book a kitchen designer visit to home which the designer didn't turn up. when I phoned him he said he didn't mean to come. it was misunderstanding I thought he would visit on the date and time I have confirmation email from wicks. he called me back and said he can design without seeing our kitchen and asked me which product I want. so I said I wouldn't know which Wicks products suits my kitchen without his advice and then he started shouting at me blaming why I chose Wicks anyway. so I hunted up his call. totally waste of my time.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
A big shout out to Jim from Carlisle store. Fantastic customer service from him today.We wanted to purchase 24 large plaster boards.He helped my husband load them all.onto a trolley in 2 loads and onto out trailer.Well done to this young man an asset to the store.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Avoid if possible - at least do not buy online! After more than a month after the order and after three online complaints and calls, I was informed that the item I bought is out-of-stock. Therefore, my order was cancelled but I did not receive my money back!!! They did not return the delivery charge that i paid!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Avoid,had a shower,sink and toilet installed.The workmanship by the fitter was shoddy.Plastering was sub_standard ect.No mortar was replaced around the outside pipe work.The driveway was left stained and marked from plaster and debris,once your money has been taken Wickes are not bothered about the poor standard of workmanship
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Bought 2 Keter ‘Store it out Max’s’ costing around £300. One was fine the other the hinges were faulty on the lid. Went back to Wickes who told me that I had to contact Keter direct myself. I have written 3 emails to Keter over a period of a month asking for replacement hinges, but I have not even had the courtesy of an acknowledgement, let alone a response. Hopeless Customer Service from both Wickes and Keter.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
When things go wrong what defines a company is how well they accept their responsibility and resolve the problem, so having been assured by Wickes CEO David Wood that their “number one priority” was to “provide the best possible service to customers” I felt confident that they would make good all the issues I have with my new Corian worktops. What a fool I was ! The initial issue was the poor quality of the Corian they fitted. After several missed appointments to fit them, citing quality concerns, they were finally installed. Unfortunately, they were far from seamless, had lots of visible silicone sealant, the wrong sink and within a week were a mass of scratches. All these defects are the responsibility of Sheridan, the company Wickes use for their Corian, but Wickes have gone out of their way to discourage me from contacting Sheridan and in turn Sheridan have gone out of their way to ignore me. This would be fine if Wickes were making any noticeable effort to resolve the issue for me but they are instead hiding behind a convenient get out clause that despite there being no doubt I am the end Customer and the issues are genuine, my order was raised by my builder rather than myself and this allows them to play a childish game of completely ignoring me or on occasion replying to my builder who then has to forward it to me. It would be unprofessional to mention by name the representative from Wickes who is behaving in this way but following my email to their CEO he was asked to deal with my issue. All I can say is if he has autonomy in the way he deals with unhappy customers he is in the wrong job and if he is following Company guidelines on how to deal with complaints then David’s claims regarding Customer Service are laughable. At no point did anyone from Wickes look at the issue or even ask for photographs to help understand the issues. When I decided to send them some, these were largely ignored and I was told that the resolution was to remove and return the worktops for polishing. Explaining what removing them would actually entail - unplumbing the sink, disconnecting the gas and removing the hob, emptying and removing the newly installed kitchen cabinets that sat atop the worktops along with the associated electrics and other cabling they maintained this was the only option available to me. Despite my protestations that they should provide new worktops as polishing could not possibly solve all the issues, Wickes refused to consider this. At one point, to save me the inconvenience of having my new kitchen dismantled, I was offered a sum they claimed to be 50% of the cost of my worktops. This actually equated to less than 10% further highlighting a complete lack of understanding by them. When challenged we were told that this was actually 50% of the cost of the Corian rather than of what we had paid them, so apparently for every £1000 you spend on Corian from Wickes, £900 of it is either fitting costs or perhaps more likely, a very generous profit margin for them. The worktops were so poor that keeping them was just not an option, so I had no choice but to agree to dismantling my new kitchen to allow their removal. This was done by my builder at the weekend to allow the Corian to be removed on the Monday with an agreement it would be returned repaired on the Friday, my builder returning that weekend to refit the rest of the kitchen. On Monday the worktops were unceremoniously cut away and removed. Unfortunately the temporary worktops I was promised were not provided so I was left for another week with an unusable kitchen (not fun with a 3 year old child) though Wickes clearly thought this to be absolutely acceptable. The following Friday my worktops were indeed returned but had not been repaired as they didn’t have the colour in stock !! How they could remove them without first checking they could repair them is beyond belief. Two weeks later I still have my old but now cracked and broken worktops loosely fitted to my units. I have no splashbacks or upstands to protect the units underneath. I have exposed walls and electrics, the countertop units are still in my garage and I have wasted two weekends and taken two days off work to allow them to create this utter mess. Wickes are still ignoring my emails. The only offer they have made (via my builder) was telling me to choose another colour. When I did, I was told the one I had chosen didn’t form part of their contract with Sheridan and I couldn’t have it. Not wanting to choose an alternative and with Wickes unable to provide what I paid for I requested a refund. At time of writing (two weeks later) I am still waiting. I do hope people will take this review into consideration before doing business with Wickes. You may well have a different experience but should there be an issue with your purchase - I did warn you !!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
WICKES THE INCOMPETENT hy 666473010 ORDER NO. sku 173903 - - Wickes Seven Bottle Monobloc Kitchen Sink Mixer Tap - Chrome. ordered . paid. waited and waited. contacted them. their veiwpoint was about excuses to reject claim [they made mistake of including internal emails in reply to self]. many weeks past. eventually after i caught them out they wrote: 'Unfortunately we do not have stock of this and no due date at present, therefore I have cancelled this order and a refund will be issued. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.' 'Alison Jane Reid Wickes Customer Services'. weeks passsed STILL NO REFUND PAID OUT!!! HERE WE HAVE AN EXAMPLE of the Dunning-Kruger effect! Remember their 'motto',........ Wickes...do it right! Really? more like Wickes DO YOU RIGHT ........UP THE XXXXXX Wickes - its got our name on it........................ IF ITS GOT WICKES NAME ON IT YOU WONT GET THE ITEM OR REFUND
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I accepted that without the original receipt I would not be given a cash refund but to be told "No credit note" only to be told to look for something to the same value, UNBELIEVABLE. The Managers attitude (if he was the Manager) was, with a smirk on his face, that there was nothing he could do as "it is company policy". Having then returned home and telephoned "Customer Services" they told me that they would pass my complaint on and I would be contacted by 4pm that day. To date nobody has done so. Why should I be forced into buying something that I don't really want. I reiterate, I did not ask for a cash refund or expect one. BEWARE never displace your receipt. Totally Disgusted.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I have been liaising with #Wickes for the last couple of weeks regarding the products they delivered to me. Apart from the fact that the products were damaged or with missing parts, the customer service that I received both in person and through their chatroom is appalling. In addition, I requested for a refund which they have approved more than 3 weeks ago and still this has not yet been resolved. I strongly DO NOT RECOMMEND #Wickes to anyone. Their failure to deliver to their commitments as well as their terrible customer service makes them an awful company to be trusted in whatever form, shape, or manner. #poorcustomerservice #terribleproducts
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Wickes is rated 1.54 based on 1,389 reviews