Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,658 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 123 4123

Email:

enquiries@wickes.co.uk

Location:

Wickes Building Supplies, Rhosilli Road
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I went to wickes to buy several things including plywood, door hardware, bolts and studwork. Ive previously ordered from them to have things delivered and it was a mixed experience as alot of the beams i ordered were warped. However i was sure to pick out the good pieces going to the shop. Some of thier C16 studwork is as good as C24 and they go cheaper than most places. Thier non structural plywood, although made with a pressfit techique that leaves some tension within the sheet, has a good veneer surface that is stainable. I laminated it and used it to make my kitchen countertop treated with wood stain and furnature wax. It looks and feels amazing and has been up.fpr 6 months and has lasted through yhe abuse it goes through.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Staff are friendly. My local store is situated in an easy to reach location.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Pros: Item as described, clean and tidy store Cons: Ordered online, it took 15 hours to receive ready to collect sms, instead 1 hour. Tried to call the store about 6 times - no answer. Only 6 months warranty
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Item required was not available but staff helpful
Helpful Report
Posted 6 years ago
Excellent customer service from Wickes !! Got my refund even with no receipt
Helpful Report
Posted 10 years ago
Terrible customer service We placed the order on the 16/7/23 at Wickes, Waltham Cross. We were told that it would take 8-10 working days to complete kitchen install. The install was booked for 23/10 with delivery of kitchen booked 17/10. The kitchen delivery was cancelled on the due date with no explanation, and re-booked 21/10. The installers asked if they could start on 20 October to remove old kitchen. The kitchen was removed and placed in our front garden, was due to be collected 23/10. This collection was cancelled due to cost, and sat outside the front of our house until 27/10. We could not get into our rubbish bins and missed collection of household refuse. When the old kitchen was finally collected, the van sent was not large enough to clear it, so we still had a large amount at the front until this was collected nearly a week later. 26/10 fitters informed us there were items missing from delivery, and also damaged items. They were re-ordered to be delivered 3/11 but not fitted until the fitter could fit in visit to do this. Template measurements for the worktops were booked for 1/11 but received a phone call on 30/10 to say it had not been booked, and would have to wait until 7/11. We knew that from date of templating until actual installation could be up to 10 days. This meant we were going to be without proper worktops for a week longer than expected. On 1/11, a rep from Marble Building Products arrived to start the templating even though we had been told that this date was cancelled. We were not ready and had to rush around removing everything from worktops. We were in as this was our lunch break, otherwise he would not of been able to gain access. On 10/11 the fitters removed temp worktops, tap and hob in prep for install of worktops. Work surface fitters arrived and brought all four worktops in. It was clear that the main length of worktop for sink and drainer had been measured incorrectly by nearly 1 inch. After consulting with office, it was decided that 3 worktops in the cooking area had to be returned to the factory, so the main sink section could be remade with the correct measurements. The kitchen fitters had to refit all the temp worktops, tap and hob. When delivery of missing and damaged parts arrived there were still items missing. The fitters then re-ordered them for the third time and we still had cupboards that were unusable. After a phone call to Wickes Customer Experience Centre, I was advised to email any further issues/complaints and to say that it was an official complaint. It was at this point in our emails that we did this. Also, when we were quoted for the installation at Wickes it was not made clear that the dry fit was not the total installation cost. This turned out to be another £3000 extra paid directly to the installers. 17/11 the work surface installers scheduled to arrive between 8am - - 10am. Kitchen installer arrived at 7.30am to remove temp worktops, hob and tap. He left to go to another job. When they had not arrived by 10am we rang the company to be told, actual appointment was between 10am -2pm. Had to inform kitchen fitters this so they did not waste their time returning until they had been fitted. When installed it was too late for kitchen installers to return that day so we were without water and hob in kitchen that evening. The installer returned the following morning to re-fit tap and hob but could not commence with the tiling due to other work commitments. He did not return until the 27/11 and spent the next two days tiling and completing the install of the missing parts that had arrived. On 2/12, removed the plastic protection from the kitchen doors to find damaged drawer front. Contacted customer experience that day and new part was ordered, this arrived on 6/12. We opened the package before asking the fitter to re-fit part, the wrong part had been ordered. Partner had to contact them again to re-order the correct part which arrived few days later. Fortunately, our fitters who throughout the process have been nothing but amazing agreed to return to swap the part over even though the job had been closed off.Overall, install has taken over 8 weeks and we have received dreadful customer service throughout which we feel justified to request adequate compensation. Wickes have offered us a full and final offer of £325, which is pitiful when you think that the kitchen has cost us in total £26,000 including the £3000 paid directly to the kitchen installers. Not only this, it has been extremely stressful and we have had to take annual leave at short notice which is not easy for either of us and spend money on takeaways that we did not need to.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I get wicks pizza because it used to be the best. Except for the last two times I have been very dissatisfied, I got 14in.big wick its was dry and burnt. I won't be going back.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
I've bought the Wickes Exterior and Interior Waterproof PVA. Reading the limitations on the back, it states 'do not use in temperatures below 10C. How can it be considered an exterior Waterproof PVA, when it can't be used in temperatures below 10C?.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
three years ago we purchased a top of the range kitchen, Wickes were really helpful until they had our cash ! The kitchen fitter was Aurora Kitchens employed by Wickes, we were very pleased with our kitchen at first until an empty wall unit fell off the wall, the corner carousel fell off and the floor started cracking, we called the fitter numerous times and eventually after we contacted Wickes he came back, looked at it and said ' yes it is because I laid it over existing ceramic tiles, it should have been screeded and that is why it is cracking along the ceramic tile joints, I will put it right, trust me I will call and put it right ' a year later he hadn't and would not reply to messages which taught us that we can't trust Aurora Kitchens. Next we contacted Wickes asking for a refund and the cost of replacement, they said it was the fitters fault and the fitter said it was Wickes. We felt that our contract was with Wickes they said it wasn't so we contacted the FHIO ombudsman service who were brilliant and after 2.5 years in total of trying to get it sorted they decided that we were right and it was Wickes who were responsible, even then there was a long delay of about 6months with them sending the cheque the first one was for a much smaller amount saying this is the cheque, back to FHIO and they told them that the full amount agreed must be paid immediately which they did. Horrible service from both Wickes and Aurora Kitchens which is such a shame as it is a lovely expensive Azure kitchen and the enjoyment of it has been ruined. My advice to anyone reading this is to avoid Wickes product are fine service poor and Aurora Kitchens, trust is so important and as has been proved you can't trust either of them, pay more if you have to get everything in writing
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Do not book through Wickes. We were told they were one of the better ones but have lied and been dodgy salesman throughout. The only reason they have a 2 is that the fitter was actually great (he wasn’t Wickes just works some jobs for them) Overpriced, lots of hidden costs. promised us 6 week to fit time, actually 4 months which we were only told about after they took our money. Deliveries turned up haphazard and several bits missing- I was having to carefully check everything and phone everyday to chase. Then several bits were completely wrong for the items chosen (wrong fittings etc). They also massively over calculated what was needed and we have ended up with lots of stuff to go back, some of which they are being really difficult over. We have also had to lug all this stuff back ourselves (huge boxes of boards and lots of boxes of tiles), they didn’t even help transfer it from the car park to shop. Passed from person to person throughout. Luckily the fitter seems to have done a great job (time will tell) so I just have to block the memory of the booking and wait out of my mind, but would never recommend them to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered roofing felt, clout nails and adhesive told delivery between 7am-7pm. today 25th March. Would be given window for time.Delivered by Tuffnells , no contact ,just arrived at door with clout nails and adhesive, not much use without the felt. Phoned Wickes to be told it had not been put on van, expect it Monday , means another day staying home in case they do send it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Would give even zero for their online shop. As a first time online order it can't be processed online because billing address is not matching with delivery address. I'm ordering for my client. What should I do with the fence panels delivered to my flat? Carry them on by hand across London or order another delivery from my home to the client. Does not makes any sense totally.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The wrong parts sent with the kitchen. They did resolve it at the end but the Wilsonart Zenith Crystall 12.5mm worktop described as super tough started to bow both longitudinally and transverseley Manufacturer was resisting a replacement given the length of time after purchase/storage. Nothing in the T&Cs. Fobbed us off at the end. I won't be going back and won't be recommending them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Unlike most of the reviews here, mine is not based on the service of staff but on the quality and value of their products. I purchased two 1000 wall units from the flat pack range. We moved into our house last year and although the kitchen is functional, we will be changing it. There were no wall units fitted so we wanted to add some as a temporary solution pending a complete refit. The quality of these not inexpensive units falls far short of expectations. In short, the carcasses edges do not align properly and when assembling and do not hold their form after fitting. They are not strong enough to hold their shape and sag in the middle once the shelves are loaded. (No. Not overloaded) I would not consider purchasing from Wickes when it comes time to refit the kitchen.
Wickes 2 star review on 21st November 2021 Wickes 2 star review on 21st November 2021 Wickes 2 star review on 21st November 2021
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
After spending almost 8k of my inheritance on a bathroom installation. My partner is having to rectify badly finished areas, of which there are too many to list. For the amount paid, 6k of which is the installation fee, I'd expect perfection, not rushed jobs. The work was done in a rushed and untidy manor, with little respect for the materials the installer was working with. If we'd have known in advance that we would have to put right, wrong doings we'd have found local firms to do the job. Unless you want to waste money avoid Wickes installation like the plague.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Delivery company was effective and helpful. However, this is the worst quality plywood I have ever seen. All three sheets of 12mm ply (over a hundred pounds) were delaminating and full of voids. Every time a piece was cut more faults throughout the sheets. Poor product Wickes!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Went to the Rushden branch and got a detailed plan for my new bathroom.The plan was to strip everything out and start anew.The price was approx £3000 for fittings excluding tiles,and approx £5000 for fitting. I said i would go ahead and was happy to pay for the materials now,but was told company policy was 100% payment in advance despite installation would be november ish but before christmas. Never heard of a company doing this,my worry was the fitters are not employed by wickes. Iwas told i could take out a credit agreement and pay 10% now and balance on completion ,which i rejected. For example just ordered solar panels,total deposit zero on £7000 order
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Poor online delivery process. Items did not get delivered on time and certain items went missing. Spent 2 days on the support chat trying to work out where my items were and nobody had a clue between several people. I had to keep repeating myself. Never once did I feel I was the customer that followed a process only to be let down. No urgency from anybody.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Asked what the price was for a basic kitchen with 6 cupboards (including fitting). From £6500, appliances not included. Wickes clearly did not want my custom. I'm now glad they do not have my £6500!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I have received multiple delivered orders from Wickes. Generally the quality of the products are quite good for the money. What is however very frustrating and something they need to fix is the fact that it is very rare for an order of multiple items to be delivered in one batch. My latest experience of this has put me off for good. A basic order of some items to build some garden fencing - started as two deliveries on the same day. OK. Then it became 4 deliveries on 3 different days. Then the 4th delivery never arrived. Still nothing after 3 interactions with customer services. Very poor and I can't start the work!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,658 reviews