Balsam Hill Reviews

1.30 Rating 44 Reviews
5% of reviewers recommend Balsam Hill

Write Your review

Tell us how Balsam Hill made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Courier, Postal Service
delivery methods
Greater than 68%
on-time delivery
Greater than 63%
accurate and undamaged orders
Customer Service
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
"Avoid using Balsam Hill. This company is all about the slick marketing with no customer service to back the product. These are very expensive trees. Our tree arrived in a wet box that can no longer be used for storage. The bag to store the tree is too small and ripped. A wheel on our flip tree version broke on first use with the ball bearing dropping all over the floor. Customer service has not resolved any of these problems. They want to send me the parts to rebuild the defective tree they sent me. I was told I would receive a returned call to resolve. No one ever called. Save yourself a lot of hassle and expense and buy your tree from Costco."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
"HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE- would rate a 0 if I could......2 agents told me I would receive a refund for damaged products sent to me. Now I'm being told the refund will not happen due to time. And I'm stuck with damaged goods. Never received a run around quite like this! I WILL NEVER PURCHASE FROM BALSAM AGAIN!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Tree has never worked Called 9 times different story every time Will never buy again"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I ordered two Christmas wreaths from Balsam Hill. the 24" Norway Spruce one is excellent, realistic and well made, but the 18" BH Fraser Fir one is very different. It is sparsely made and looks very plastic and artificial. I could not even give it away to a friend or my daughter who both saw it before I sent it back. To add insult to injury I have had to pay return postage on this unsatisfactory wreath. I'm very happy with the 24" wreath but not the other and their Customer Services are unhelpful and intransigent. I should not have to pay postage on a product that in real life is very different to the picture online. I would be very wary of buying anything from Balsam Hill as you will have to pay for any return in the event that the product does not live up to your expectations. Also it took 8 days for the wreaths to be delivered."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I wish I had read more reviews before purchasing a tree. I bought a tree very late and did not read the fine print on the return policy. Tree was received on 12/22 and unboxed on evening of 12/24. One screw would not go into the stand and a number of branches permanently bent. I emailed Customer Service the next day and was told the item was not eligible for return -- apparently that meant prior to 12/25. What a ripoff. Do not do business with this company!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I wish I would have read all of the other reviews before placing my order. I wanted to return 3 items (out of 15) I had ordered and I did not realize they had only a 30 day return period, EVEN IF items are found to be defective. During the holidays time flies, so at 33 days I tried to return the defective items and was told it was "outside our guarantee period". I spent several thousand dollars on Christmas items with them, and I wish I hadn't spent a dime. This is the last time I'll be ordering from them."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I have a Nantucket Blue Spruce tree I purchased in 2015. (Order 711492.) There was a dead strand of lights in the middle section from the first year. They told me to replace the master bulb. That did not work. This year the connectors between the sections would not work. Only the bottom section will light up. I called and cannot even purchase replacement parts for the pole connectors. For the price of the trees, the quality of the product should last longer. It is disappointing that they basically said there was nothing I could do other than run an extension cord through the tree and buy a new strand of lights. The whole purpose of purchasing a higher end tree was to eliminate the hassle of having to put on the lights every year."
2 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Middle section of lights lasted 2 weeks, they said they would send a new section out....I should see it by Labor Day. Very bad customer service, worse warranty. Christmas is a very short season, why waste it dealing with a company like this. Do yourself a favor and buy from Home Depot."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"HORRIBLE customer service. HORRIBLE product quality at a CRAZY high price. Product arrived badly damaged; no one cared - said it was not their responsibility!!!!! Ruined my Christmas and cost me $600!!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Balsam Hill is not customer friendly and over priced. The customer service representative that I contacted refused to provide a price adjustment for items ordered that went on sale within 48 hours after I ordered them. Most retailers provide price adjustments for items purchased within a 7 day period. I had requested that they cancel the order for an item hadn’t shipped yet and the representative said it couldn’t be done. Again, poor customer service - most retailers have the ability to cancel items not yet shipped. It seems no effort was made to retain or satisfy the customer. The primary message that I received from my contact with customer service was “it can’t be done”. With so many competitors, I would expect Balsam Hill to have policies that satisfy their customers in order to retain them vs. driving them away!"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"We bought a tree about 5 years ago. We bought from Balsam Hill because we thought we were getting a premium tree. With a premium tree I would also expect premium service. My tree has all of the sudden gone dark on me. Bulbs burning out left and right - now only about half the tree lit. So I ordered the only bulbs that looked like what I had on my tree, only to discover that they don't fit my tree. When I called they told me it was because they had completely run out of the proper bulbs for my tree. How could a company let that happen? Why wouldn't they have hundreds of thousands of bulbs ready for trees that they sold less than 5 years ago? Unacceptable. The customer service person was just barely intelligible, and didn't even apologize for my inconvenience. The sad thing is, there's nothing wrong with the tree. It's a pretty nice tree. But if you can't keep it lit, it's not a good value. I am tempted to think that they're trying to motivate me to buy another tree. If that's the case, they've failed because I won't be buying another Balsam Hill."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"My 7 year old White Christmas tree whic is used for 5 days a year is turning yellow! At no time was there any information given to me at the time I placed my order on this problem, warranty is a joke. The put the blame of my tree turning yellow on me, telling me I must live in a high humidity state and stored my tree in a area that is humid. So apparently my bedroom closet is a humid area and the state of Maine is a humid place. Customer service is a joke, I was offered 10% off another tree, seriously shoe e your 10% up your back side. NEVER buy from Balsam Hill...rip offs"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I paid $1299 for a 9ft flip tree. When I received it in 2016, right out of the box the bottom section lights did not work. I called the next day and they said they would send me our a replacement. Since it was after Christmas I left the new box unopened and put it in the garage until the following year. but when I opened the box the next year season the replacement was ONLY the chunk of a tree without any frame or flip mechanism. I called to complain and the first rep told me, a disabled veteran, I could easily tear it apart and swap the bottom section myself. I told him he was crazy and asked to speak to supervisor."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Balsam Hill is the biggest holiday scam on the planet ! Trust me steer clear of this Christmas tree scam ! If you want half of what you paid for, offer up your credit card number sucker! Prepared to be ripped off !"
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I would give them zero stars I would give them zero stars if that’s an option. I am in day 11 of what another reviewer aptly named by balsam hell. I received half of my tree 10 days ago (the other box never shipped). I have been speaking with customer service about every other day. I have received numerous false promises guaranteeing my tree delivery within two business days. One supervisor even said she would call me back later on in the day to confirm the progress and never returned the call. The next time I spoke with a supervisor they were rude and uncaring about the situation. Currently I have half a tree, no tracking number for the other half and nine days till Christmas, balsam Hill has over $600 of my money. I am starting the return process now I am dreading the upcoming experience. In short, the over promise, lie and don’t care about their customers. Super bummed because the parts of the tree that I have are beautiful."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Lights do not last and they will not replace. Poor management."
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Don't do it. Horrible customer service. "We'll call within 24 hours from our back office" - NOPE! "We'll send an email with your new tracking number" - NOPE! "Your tree is on the way and will be delivered tomorrow" - NOPE! "It's Fedex's fault" NOPE! Of course, they have already charged our credit card. Sometimes problems occur with shipping, etc., but when a company lies over and over to cover their mistakes, it's time to move one. They do not have this e-commerce thing down at all. Take your money somewhere else and put this company out of business."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Lights don't last Lights don't last. Year after year I was getting so frustrated with my Christmas tree lights going out. I decided to pay extra to get a good quality tree that the lights would stay lit if one burned out After doing hours of research, I settled on Balsam Hill. I purchased a 9' tree for $749.00. (Way beyond what I have ever purchased an artificial tree for.) They have a 3 year light warranty. Well, the lights lasted 2 years. A whole section went out and I spent hours trying to get them to work. (So much for staying lit.) I called and they sent me a string of lights. For as much as I paid for this tree, they should have replaced it! Restringing lights was not what I had in mind for such an expensive tree. It was so frustrating and NOT an easy task. The next year (3rd year) another section went out. And the following year another section. So, if you want a tree that the lights DON'T stay lit, shop Balsam Hill. Otherwise, you will be restringing lights year after year. And again, for the price, that should not happen!!!! I also purchased a tree after Christmas the year I bought the tree for my daughter. Her tree also did not last "light-wise." 1/15/2018: Received a message from Balsam Hill to contact them. Tried sending an email to the contact information posted and it came back as not a valid email address. So much for their attempt to reach out."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"I ordered a 6' garland on 11/18 and paid for 2 day shipping (it was only $2 but still). My credit card was charged the following day. I still have not received it!! I have called 3 times, opened up two cases (which is all customer service says they can do), and spoken to a supervisor once. In all cases, they are blaming it on either the warehouse or FedEx. I was holding out because the product appears high quality, but I guess I'm done and will cancel my order. Interestingly enough, I got an email to post a review, which said it would take 48 hours. I wrote the same review as this one. That was 5 days ago, and it still has not posted, hmmm..."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
"Do not order Balsam Hill pre-lit trees. Ours lasted 2 years. The warranty support is a joke. They sent us a strand of non-matching lights. Not even the same color! As bad as their product performance is, their customer service is worse. Save your money. You could buy a store bought tree and throw it away every single year, and still come out ahead!"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Balsam Hill is rated 1.30 based on 44 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on +1 213-325-5109 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support