Direct Line Reviews

2.09 Rating 103 Reviews
27 %
of reviewers recommend Direct Line
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email

Write Your review

Tell us how Direct Line made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Awful company. Lied to by them. Told I had no outstanding payments due until this month but now they decided to cancel my policy for a missed payment. Out of order. Stranded at a hospital car park with my 11 month old baby. Drove my car uninsured as I wasn’t aware they cancelled it. Too scared to admit their own faults. Terrible. Don’t use direct line for ANYTHING. WASTE OF SPACE COMPANY. Wouldn’t trust anything they say. Gone a f’d us over basically. Anyway. Any ‘outstanding’ payments we might owe them they can go do one.
Posted 1 year ago
Only a few questions with multiple detailed answers for some of them.
Posted 1 year ago
Dont believe what they tell you on TV! They will try every way not to pay out. My boiler has broken down, which I ended up with a £1600 bill that Direct Line didnt want to pay, as the water was merky in the boiler! They blamed that on a split Pressure Vessel! So Ive gone back to Towergate Insurance! So pleased I didnt move the rest of my portfolio over to DL!!! Stay well away!
Posted 1 year ago
Used to think they were good but my insurance has gone up massively despite having 9 years no claims. I found another insurance company offered the same benefits for half the price
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely dreadful experience getting a quote. Then finally after paying for insurance they added £103 as they said I had falsified information. Tried to explain over the phone about the misunderstanding but they weren't interested. Don't use them, ended up costing a fortune, they have you over a barrel once you have paid
Posted 1 year ago
Told on Monday l would receive £1200 for my car £950 paid into my account the next day.No correspondence from them to say why. No contact from them regarding my injuries No updates from claims department. Never again
Posted 1 year ago
I can't give no stars but would if i could Mis Sold insurance for my van wanted social domestic & pleasure which i was quoted for only when van was broken in to did i find out that i was sold business insurance which they switch you to automatically once you have paid, (but don't tell you) because they don't do social domestic & pleasure for vans leaving you under insured. and laughed at, also been refused information when i requested it under the subject access request. DO NOT GO TO DIRECT LINE GO ANYWHERE ELSE you do actually get laughed at.
Posted 1 year ago
Their inibilty to support their customer when they are 100% not at fault and not even listen to evidence or acknowledge photographic evidence. A very poor claim structure and legal department.
Posted 1 year ago
Awful absolutely awful.
Posted 1 year ago
Do not even try to get a quote from Direct Line Insurance if you value your sanity. Unfortunately, I realised the extent of dissatisfaction of their customers and potential customers when I read the comments of their customers. This was after I tried to get a quote from them and to my horror they declined to give me a quote! Then patronised me by saying that of course I can apply again when my circumstances change. When I asked them what circumstances had to change, their unbelievable answer was that their decision is based on their underwriting criteria and I was not allowed to know the factor or factors that resulted in their decision! In other words I can reapply when these factors personal to me which are secret to me change. No doubt any sane and reasonable person can see the ridiculous, unfair and stressful position forced on the unlucky people who try to get a quote from them. Whilst I accept that they have a right to offer insurance (Or not) to whoever they prefer, it is their total disregard for the impact of their decision on their potential customers and their refusal to concede that people should be able to ask on what basis a decision has been made that may have potential impact on their future insurance application
Posted 1 year ago
Good afternoon Following your previous conversation with Colin, the claim has now been returned to me Attached is a copy of the confirmation of cover provided to your mother when the policy was taken out. You will see from this that there is no cover for outbuildings. I am sorry therefore but as the garage which has suffered damage is clearly an out building, I cannot make a payment in respect of this With regard to the rear wall, I note from our conversation following my visit, that you feel that this had been weakened over a period of time by the fact that it was connected to the garage which had had a roof collapse (which had been removed at the time of my visit) although the section of the wall forming part of the garage is still intact. I would agree that the wall has deteriorated over a period of time and the remaining section is showing signs of wear and tear with roots growing through it Unfortunately the policy does exclude gradual deterioration and whilst you did initially report the cause as being storm, there have been no recorded weather conditions of storms of significant strength to bring down a brick wall for some months prior to the incident. For these reasons I am sorry but I am unable to consider a payment to your mother on this occasion. I realise that you will be disappointed by this decision but I do hope that the reasons for this have been made clear for you Regards Christine Lawson Commercial Property Insurance Advisor Bromley Scan Centre Mail point 49 Floor 0 Phase 3 Westmoreland Road Bromley BR1 1DP Tel 07714 223601
Posted 1 year ago
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY, THE ADVERTS ON TV IS NOT THE SERVICE YOU GET,BEEN TAKING MY DIRECT DEBITS FOR 3 YEARS, HAD A LEAKING WATER TANK THAT LEAKED INTO MY LOUNGE BELOW, THE PLUMBER THEY SENT WAS CLUELESS AND LEFT AFTER 15MINS ,AND LEFT US WITH NO HOT WATER AND NO HEATING ,I DRAINED THE SYSTEM DOWN MYSELF TO PREVENT ANY FURTHER WATER DAMAGE, PLUMBER PUT IN HIS REPORT THAT IT WAS THE WATER TANK EVEN THO HE TOLD ME HE DIDNT KNOW WHERE IT WAS COMING FROM ,I GOT A PROFESSIONAL PLUMBER AND IT'S NOT THE TANK, A LOT OF REVIEWS SAYING THE SET UP IS GREAT AND NO HASSLE WHEN JOINING, WELL CAUSE THERE GONNA MAKE IT EASY THEY WANT YOUR MONEY, HOPE YOU DON'T HAVE TO MAKE A CLAIM, YOU WILL SEE HOW AMATUERISH THEY ARE AND NOT DO KEEN TO HELP YOU, I SHOULD OF LISTENED TO THE REVIEWS OF THE PEOPLE WHO MADE A CLAIM AND DIDN'T GET ANY HELP.
Posted 1 year ago
Despicable company. I called them regarding very inappropriate behaviour by a tradesman sent to remedy work that hadn’t been done properly a few months previously. I expressed my deep concern about his behaviour which left my partner extremely ill, they refused to take the matter seriously and chose to ignore my complaint. I would strongly advise against using this company, they have absolutely no regard for customers safety, in this case, a very poorly single mother.
Posted 1 year ago
Stay away from this company, the advertising you see on TV is different to the service they provide, had a leak from upstairs into my living room, the plumber they sent didnt know where the leak was coming from,and left after 15 min's, but put in his report that the tank was leaking, which proved to be wrong (independent plumber), we were left with no hot water or heating for two days, save your money or use a different company, Richard.
Posted 1 year ago
I kept seeing their advertisement on television. So l tried them for a quote and they were twice as expensive as other quotes I had received and they wanted £350 compulsory excess. What a joke claiming to be competitive. I won’t be bothering them again. Don’t waste your time , you can get insured for a fraction of their price and from reputable companies.
Posted 1 year ago
Parked my car in an empty carpark, when I returned some building materials had fallen off a 6 story building and landed on my car. So not my fault. Firstly it took Direct Line to weeks to recover my car from London (where the incident happened) to Nottingham. Causing longer than necessary delays to the repair. Secound, our car is a 4x4, they gave us a tiny city car as a replacement meaning we had to cancel holidays as my family couldn't fit into it. Lastly I had to pay £500 excess when my car was finally repaired, even though the building company responsible for the damage admitted fault, plus having a police officer and a hotel manager as witness. I have emailed countless photos of the incident to direct line yet they seem to have no record of them. They also seem to have no record of the phone conversation that they had with the police officer that attended. I'm absolutely discussed with them. I have 2 vehicles insured with them at the moment, however when those policies end I will never use direct line again... I wouldn't even give them 1 star if it was an option.
Posted 1 year ago
Direct Line offers premiums overpriced, and by the time you realize it and try to cancel the insurance they start to look for cancellation fees everywhere, never again Direct Line, different insurer company with even better breakdown cover and comprehensive instead of third party more than 60% less than Direct line... last time with that company in my life!! I'd give 0 stars if I could...
Posted 1 year ago
If I could give not stars I would. I feel let down and ripped off by Direct Line Insurance. Got car insurance payed up in full for the year on the phone and the same the year after. After the hike the third year chose to look elsewhere, suddenly I am chased down for outstanding payments and by debt recovery service as they automatically renewed my insurance without my consent. I have attempted to put this right and now paid up as honestly, I cant take the hassle and stress of going through all of this. My partner has house insurance with Direct Line and is cancelling due my appalling experience. They will do their utmost to take your money but no customer care.
Posted 1 year ago
Didn't even get a quote. I'm 50, Full no claims bonus, One speeding SP30, one old claim for key damage in a car park and I got a "sorry but on this occasion" message after 20 minutes inputting all my info. I'm also so sick of seeing their TV adverts.
Posted 1 year ago
AVOID AT ALL COSTS HEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY BUT PAY OUT NOTHING WHATSOEVER CANT EVEN GET A 30.00 IRON YET THE DIRTY SCAMMERS TOOK ALMOST 900.00 OFF ME,, I AM FUMING AND WILL TAKE THIS AS FAR AS POSSIBLE, GIVE ME MY 900 BACK SCAMMERS ITS MY MONEY AND NOT YOURS ITS TO BENEFIT ME IF I NEED HELP AND NOT YOU
Posted 1 year ago
Direct Line is rated 2.09 based on 103 reviews