Currys PC World IE Reviews

1.35 Rating 66 Reviews
9 %
of reviewers recommend Currys PC World IE

Write Your review

Tell us how Currys PC World IE made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I’m definitely not surprised that they have 1 star rating. I just spoke to a customer care agent requesting for a discount code as asked by another agent whom I spoke to some days back. She simply said she CANNOT give me the code because she can’t. That has got to be the most stupid answer to give to anyone. And she still was trying to shut me up when I was demanding an answer. Curry’s PC, change your staff or train them on how to talk to customers. They have been the absolute worst ever since my conversations with them. Tuehhh
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
I found the staff in PC World Waterford very helpful and very nice to deal with. Thanks Jennie for all your help. I'm delighted with the camera.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Very bad customer service. I bought a good laptop online from here and I called them before I bought it to make sure I could take out kit insurance on it as advertised. They said yes just take it to the nearest curry's store and they will look after it. I was shocked when they said I couldn't when I got there. They took a copy of receipt and said they'd call me when sorted. I went back next day and they said it takes a few days to show up on their system. It's been 3 weeks of endless phone calls to stupid people who know nothing. I've only 45 days from purchase date to insure it. This shop is useless and the staff. I'm sorry I bought anything here. Steer clear of these
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Bought a laptop from there carlow store staff were excellent when we brought back brand new laptop that stopped working after 20 hours no return offered to repair now broken again after using only a couple of days not interested in exchange or refund. Avoid curry's at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Young man very helpful, knowledgeable without being too technical and unpacked an item so I could view it as there wasn’t one on display
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Long-standing customer of the company having spent thousands of euro on both white and brown goods over the years. Purchased a fridge from them recently as our one broke down. Delivery team astonishingly managed to hit the new fridge and old fridge of most surfaces in the house in their haste to get it in and the old one out. We were surprised that they didn't remove the box, as usually they always do. We soon discovered why. The bottom door of the new fridge has two gouges in it close to the bottom. We called immediately on the 11th of August, just after the delivery to log a complaint. I spoke to a nice girl on their customer care team for over thirteen minutes, she said it was being escalated to a manager and expect a call within 24 hours. Today, the 16th of August I finally became tired of waiting. I call again, manage to speak to someone and get cut off. Then I re-call, manage to speak to a girl and she tells me the complaint wasn't logged. To be honest, the first girl I spoke to on the 11th was thorough, so I can perhaps accept that there was some sort of system issue. I explain that I am not happy, I am a longstanding customer and I want it resolved. Put on hold, expecting to speak to a manager, the girl comes back on, no manager. Offers me an exchange and twenty euro good will gesture. I don't want twenty euro, I want to speak to a manager who can explain to me why this has happened. I want to know why, their systems have failed, and finally I want to know how and when they can remedy this in the most efficient way possible. I just want the door replaced, I don't want a new fridge, I don't want the hassle of a new fridge. I don't want the hassle of juggling frozen food while I wait five hours for a new fridge to be ready. Terrible service, lovely customer care girl, but terrible service. Do they think they are the only outlet for white and brown goods in Ireland? Or is this just the way they treat all loyal return customers?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Shocking service from this company. Delivery of two damaged cookers and then do not take responsibility for it. They cannot even find the second cooker sent back with their team! Have been forced to get a refund and purchase somewhere else. WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Mg daughter bought a iPhone 11 for over €600 after just 2 weeks the camera stopped working ,I took it back to the shop a cpl of weeks later and they said they would send it for repair.waited over a month for any contact,got nothing.I tried the number on the receipt several times,,, there is no option for phone repairs so I was put throughto white goods repair in UK,they tried to contactthe shop on my behalf but again no response.I went into shop today to be told the phone was still there,,,it seems apples policy had changed 4 months ago and it was up to the customer to deal directly with them..at no point before purchase was this pointed out,even when phone was returned for repair they didn't say a word.I couldn't rate this shop any lower,You now have zero guarantee on these products from the shop,,Avoid Avoid Avoid
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I just spend 2h talking to customer service, 7 out of 8 people i spoke to were very nice but just keep telling me "i will transfer you to different department" got transferred 8 times each time i had to explain what's wrong and give all detsils (reciept no., branch no. Date of purchase etc.) Over and over again... 3/4 of the times the transfered my call it got disconnected so had to start all over again... you can't hear them at all over the phone so i think they might have to fix their own "technical issues ". after 2 hours they told me i have no insurance so there is nothing they can help me with. i bought the tv only 4months ago and its just a matter of a remote not connecting with tv but the issue was to big for them to deal with.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
When buying a new flatscreen TVs there were loads of choice and the sales assistant was very knowledgeable and helped us to find the tv that most suited our needs
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Distrubingly bad. Poor customer service performed by college students who just simply don't care. Never, never ever again shall I buy anything from this so called computer sale company. Buying a laptop turned into a 4hr wait to install a summer deal of virus protection, cloud and Windows. They just don't know what they are doing. Can't keep staff. Bad experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Tried to look at products on currys.ie and couldnt look at any of the product details, absolutly usless
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered a new MacBook at the end of February, and it was delivered within a number of days. However, it was faulty and had to be returned, which the company said was no issue, and was hence collected by dpd the following day. I was assured that I would get a new laptop sent out as soon as the old one was back in the warehouse and verified as faulty. However, a week later I learned, through contact with customer service, that they could confirm that dpd had taken the laptop off me, but could not confirm that it had been returned to the warehouse. Effectively dpd had lost the laptop. Every time I contacted customer services after that I was informed that the company was conducting an investigation to try and find the laptop that had been lost before sending me a new one, even though it was not my fault that the laptop had been lost. This continued for three months, with multiple calls and emails to the completely unhelpful customer services department. Finally, when shops reopened after lockdown, I went to talk to the employees in the carrickmines store, and they agreed that the delay in me receiving a replacement MacBook was completely unacceptable, and they attempted to advocate for me. However, they too had difficulties getting straight answers off the online sales department. It was only when the manager of carrickmines got involved that things started to happen, and eventually, little over three months after I had returned the original faulty laptop, I received a new one in the post. No apology from the company or attempt at compensation for what they had put me through
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Got my washing machine deliverd When they where installing it they forgot to connect hose pipe. The Water went everywhere. I dried the walls and floor up myself. Then when they left after 10 minutes I noticed the machine was damaged after they pushed the machine under the counter .I called the driver back I was told I have to call it in that he was finsed for the day. I had to drive upto currys to get it sorted. I have to wait 4 days for them to call out an engineer to repair or get a new one. I Will keep this review updated 👎
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I bought a laptop and requested Windows and internet security to be installed. I was told it would be updated in store within 2 days. I'm still waiting to hear back a week later for something that should only take 2 hours of work max. Disappointed. The phone number on the receipt connects to the UK who cannot help. I was told to wait for a call back.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
32 tv would not turn on after software update took hrs to talk to someone who arranged collection a month ago 1st I was told it needed new bord and would delay return fair enough now they tell me the sent a voucher to a different number that they said is the number I gave them thats odd as they have rung and text me on the number I gave them there customer care is atrocious just being told by them that my email adress is wrong so they can't talk to me small claims court is my next move and God knows where tv is
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely awful experience with Currys. I went into a store to look at fridge freezers for my new home. I explained to the staff member that it would be a couple of months before I could receive delivery as the house was being built; she told me that was fine. I paid in full. Unfortunately construction was shut down shortly after due to covid so my house was delayed. I received a text every now and then with a new delivery date but each time I rang Currys customer service and (after a bit of an arduous process trying to get through etc) got them to push back the delivery. All fine and no mention of an issue. I received a missed call from the store itself two weeks ago on a Sunday; I called the number back but there was no answer. I figured if there was anything important they would have left me a voicemail so I didn't think any more of it. Heard no more until yesterday, when I received a snotty voice message from a staff member in the shop advising me that they had tried to call me a few times without success and that they needed me to come in to the shop so they could refund my cancelled order. If they didn't hear back from me within "24-48 hours", they would refund me via a gift card in the post. I rang them back immediately and was told that they can no longer provide the item. I explained that I had paid for it in full and asked how they now cannot provide it; she could tell me only that they won't get any more of the fridges and they don't have one held for me. She told me the cancelled order is causing a system error for them and so I have to come in to the shop as they can't refund me without having my payment card there in person. I explained that I don't live in the county I had been in when I purchased it in and, due to covid restrictions on inter-county travel, I can't get to the shop for at least two weeks. She told me they wouldn't wait that long and would put the price on a gift card. I stated that under no circumstances did I want it on a gift card, I wanted the fridge I had ordered or my money back. She offered me the display model at a reduced price as an alternative. I arranged for a family member to go to the shop to collect my refund in cash, and I asked them to look at the display model while there, as I would have taken it if it was in good nick. It had a large scratch on the front, which hadn't been mentioned when I was offered it over the phone. My money was refunded but there was nothing by way of an apology or any effort towards goodwill- so basically the store had my €1400 for four months and made me feel like a nuisance when THEY had to cancel my order and refund it. I've heard a lot of bad about this company but can't believe that paying in full for something doesn't hold it for you, or that at least someone couldn't have given me a call to say they were running low on stock, something. The attitude is dreadful and the nonsense about how they tried to call me so many times, I don't believe. Also, my email address was also on my order and no one tried that! I will never step foot in a Currys store again, I can only caution people not to trust them!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Worst customer service. I bought a 75 inch Sony TV from Galway Headford branch and asked the sales person to include a kit insurance to cover accidental breakage. The guy first tried to add the cover and then said to me there is currently 'a glitch' in their system so he is not able to add the insurance for now, but he then assured me that their system will be fixed in a couple of days and I can come back any time to buy insurance as I have 45 days to buy cover from the date I bought the TV. However, it has been 5 weeks now and I visited their store 5 times (they can't be contacted via phone) but to absolutely no avail. Nobody in store was interested to properly talk to me, and no one seems to be in charge. I wouldn't have bought the TV with no insurance if I had known the issue can't be fixed in the first place. Very unprofessional and bad experience overall and I strongly would NOT recommend doing business with Currys.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
They call themselves, Team Know How - know how to irrate and frustrate, appalling customer service. Trying to get a refund since February. When I get through to customer service, give them my reference number, they ask me to hold and then dropped the call, this has happened 7 times! No replies to my emails. Like a previous review, I'd give them a minus score if I could.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
If I could give 0 stars I would! I bought earphones for my nephew for Christmas which were faulty. Contacted Curry’s “customer care” on January 1st. It is now almost April & I am still waiting for a refund. They have promised that DPD would contact me to arrange collection of items twice, I have heard nothing. I will never spend another cent with this company. All requests for a call from management are ignored. They are a disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Currys PC World IE is rated 1.35 based on 66 reviews