British Gas Reviews

1.3 Rating 1,793 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend British Gas
1.3
Based on 1,793 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Read British Gas Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 980 6005

Email:

customerservice@britishgas.co.uk

Location:

PO Box 4805

Write Your review

Tell us how British Gas made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
British Gas 1 star review on 2nd July 2022
Sharon
British Gas 1 star review on 2nd July 2022
Sharon
British Gas 1 star review on 24th June 2022
Barry
British Gas 1 star review on 20th May 2022
Taylor Crocombe
British Gas 1 star review on 20th May 2022
Taylor Crocombe
British Gas 1 star review on 14th May 2022
Warwick Heslop
British Gas 1 star review on 14th May 2022
Warwick Heslop
30
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Absolutely appalling I'm genourous to give it 1 star, big company and app doesn't even work, I was better off with eon. Even there advisors feel sorry for there customers they don't know wgats going on too. British Gas get a grip scrap your app and start again or ask other energy providers how they have got it right.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Booked a day off work for our boiler to be serviced needed an LPG engineer wrong engineer sent to us wasted day Complaing by phone difficult press 1 said no etc Web chat got £20 compensation for my wasted day holiday not enough Let's hope next booking goes well after all the cost of homecare service is expensive
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
i had new meters fitted on 1/7/22 inhome moniter not working they wont send anyone out to fix it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
If you a small business stay clear, customer service terrible.5022670086
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Billing Fraud. Every month bill is getting cancelled and replaced. Fortunately I have saved all the bills in my laptop. When I compared last month bill with present month bill. They are adding few kWh to months which we have already paid for and this is happening without our knowledge. This is my bill example: 5th May Bill Statement : 21 Oct 2021 - 25 Nov 2021 559kWh at 19.695p per kWh £110.10 25th May Bill Statement : 21 Oct 2021 - 25 Nov 2021 593kWh at 19.695p per kWh £116.79 How could 2021 meter reading will change in 2022 May month billing? Please someone government officers look into this issue.
British Gas 1 star review on 2nd July 2022 British Gas 1 star review on 2nd July 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
B .G has caused me & my wife who has stage 4 cancer .so much stress over 14 months ago when we made a complaint. even made her cry with debt collector threats. We made a complaint . About incorrect bill . Wrong info . etc.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
220th in the chat queue.?...Joined inJan22 but no bills available/ visible online. It is now July 22. I was with together energy but got moved to BG...I wouldnever have chosen BG.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
The government should be taken to task for enforcing this company upon us. Words cannot describe how awful their service is.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Nothing against British Gas but the APP is shocking always asks for password changes sends links that don’t work it’s absolutely awful . Please Please make it user friendly
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Theifs Theirs Theifs I was told service charge paid that no.gas they tell different things all the time when they do they steal.ypur money had no.gas for months.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hopeless 1 star is too good for them. Just moved into a house that is currently British gas electric They wanted a meter reading but took me two days to work out how to give it to them. The app is useless and I can’t get on my account Now they want another reading I am moving back to Scottish power on5/7 They are really on the ball Welcome pack already came in the post and call centre answers in minutes British Gas are a true embarrassment
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Other utility companies have really useful apps to help you understand your usage and spending. The British Gas App is a waste of time, it only shows your history of bills there is no current data displayed. And it is so slow. They need to look at their competitors and offer a better app for their customers. The British Gas app has been designed for themselves i.e. if you wish to purchase extra British Gas services and not for the benefit of their customers. Complete waste of time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I have been a British Gas customer for years and pay for boiler maintenance on a direct debit. In April I decided to have all my radiators replaced. The work was entirely satisfactory. When I received the bill I paid the full amount immediately by cheque. I received a letter saying money received. I also had verbal confirmation that money has been received. However, I keep getting bombarded with threatening letters saying I have not paid and the latest one says the bailiffs are calling on me in 7 days time. My bank confirm BG have received the funds. No one at BG can solve the issue and I fear a CCJ may be lodged against me even though I have paid. So, do not deal with British Gas, as although their engineers seem good, their backroom systems are inefficient.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Had the app for 6 months plus, must of the time just a list of what they do. Can’t get past it. Rubbish
British Gas 1 star review on 24th June 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
i regret my former energy company bristol energy went out of business they had a very good website british gas website don't exist
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
British gas were appalling during my customer time with them May 2021 to May 2022. They messed me around constantly, customer service was shocking especially a Becky in customer relations. I ended up having a final payment of over 200 pounds despite being consistent with meter readings and asking them repeatedly to up my direct debit to cover. Multiple hours spent on hold with them, hours of wasted time with no resolutions and a customer service assistant Aidan Abraham's who lied to me saying I owed nothing then a final bill came through a week later. I just felt so let down and will never ever go with them again, thieving nasty company that are only concerned with money not customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Been unable to log into my British Gas account for the past couple of weeks now, estimates for a new fixed account you sent me are well under estimated I know this because I keep a regular check on what I used, so I know that if I signed up for this new deal I’d end up paying a lot more that you quoted me. One of the worst companies I’ve ever delt with, as soon as the markets open up I’m off.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Worst energy company ever. Have only been with them 8 months after my last supplier went bust. In these 8 months I have had 6 bill reversals all to be replaced with bills in their favour, even though my meter readings have always been up to date, they never give an explanation as to why. For such a big company they seem to get the bills wrong an awful lot. If I could give 0 stars I would
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
One star is too many! Verbal dispute over bills. I maintain daily spreadsheet so know exactly how much I’ve spent. This last month, not for the first time, their bill doesn’t equate to my expectations. I call and discuss, yes there’s a ‘problem’ and they’ll amend it. Even that, they f... up. And double my expectations. To compound their incompetence they now send me a breakdown of usage of gas and electric and money they’ve received on my behalf BUT what they conveniently forget to include is the credit balance of over £200 they received from my previous supplier. I see a very long day ahead trying to reason with these goons.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Will be contacting the Ombudsman I agreed to pay British Gas £20 a month for a vacant flat I owned November 2018 Used no gas or electricity Paid £20 a month for 10 months..11th month get a bill for £56..so I cancelled direct debit paid over £300 although used no Gas no Electric as both off. Flat got let September 2020 I was receiving letters asking for money from British Gas asking me to pay money owed from November 2018 to March 2021 I spoke to someone at British Gas and explained no Gas could of been used and no electric..plus period they stated it was let out? My letting agent sent letting agreement to verify Women at British Gas said they would write off the £400 plus for the electricity?? There had been none used by me They appeared to be picking numbers out of the air Have since had 4 separate debt collection agencies harassing me 3 have gone the last one because o reported them to the Ombudsman for texting and leaving voicemails on my Ex partners phone?? How they got his number I don't have a clue..we separated in 2012..10 years ago It's since happened again by a debt collection agency called Pastdue They text my ex partner who forwarded it to me..they actually did not have my number?? I've explained everything to them and they want to letting agreement which British Gas already have. I've taken legal advice as I've never personally had an account with British Gas only found a letter from previous occupant who had vacated a year before I purchased the flat with no water supply at Auction. Since then I've had a letter from British Gas asking me to pay an electricity bill? Saying they've contacted me several times completely untrue The debt collection agencies were after Gas money My legal advisor is telling me that British Gas has breached the Data Protection Act by informing my ex partner of 10 years ago that I owe money.. I was mortified when I found out I don't owe any money..infact I've paid them £300 for an empty flat With no Gas or electricity used British Gas have always had a bad reputation estimating bills I will be taking this further..I've been continuously harassed..my tenant has been receiving letters..my previous address has been receiving letters relating to myself I will be seeking compensation for the distress caused having to be informed by my ex partner who I've not seen since 2012 that he was concerned I was in debt and felt it necessary to contact members of my family I'm so angry at British Gas they have broken the law They are not getting away with this
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
British Gas is rated 1.27 based on 1,793 reviews