British Gas Reviews

1.29 Rating 1,100 Reviews
6 %
of reviewers recommend British Gas
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.30 out of 5
Read British Gas Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 980 6005

Email:

customerservice@britishgas.co.uk

Location:

PO Box 4805

Write Your review

Tell us how British Gas made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Awful. They owe me £375 and will not pay it.
They paid it to an account that has nothing to do with me but will right their wrong.

Genuinely stealing
Posted 1 day ago
I have had no heating for weeks. British Gas finally sent an engineer today, who said he had fixed the problem. After he left I turned on the heating only to find it was still not working. Immediately rang B.G. to get engineer back only to be told I have to wait another 2 weeks before they can fit me in. Disgusting service and way too expensive.
Posted 4 days ago
British Gas has raised my Direct Debit from £65 to £102.29 pm and yet I am not in debt.
Posted 5 days ago
Dreadful company. Multiple engineers for a boiler fault, still not fixed. Multiple appointments where engineers failed to turn up or cancelled at last minute. Heating engineers don’t diagnose the problem, they guess what it’s likely to be, replace the part / component and then leave saying it’s fixed when it’s not. Save yourself the stress and pain, use another company.
Posted 6 days ago
Worst energy company I've ever experienced. Getting them to pic up anywhere in the world is impossible.

I'm not exaggerating. Everything is wrong with Brit Gas. = Terrible customer service. Over pricing and wrong billing. I'm now well overdrawn because they are asking for payments for energy - gas and electricity which I've never used. Then threaten with bailiffs.

A nightmare uncaring company who, in reality don't want houshold customers because they really want industrial customers.

I can't wait to leave. If you take my advice stY well clear.
Posted 1 week ago
I have been with British Gas since 2019, had smart meters installed and paid by direct debit. Every bill I received said that my payments are on point to cover my usage so I thought nothing of it and continued to let my direct debit continue out of my account each month. I have recently changed supplier and got a bill of £900+ from BG saying I was in debit. When querying it, it turns out that there was a system error and my quarterly reviews hadn’t been carried out. I have permission for them to speak to my mam on my behalf as I work during the week and they have promised her at least 3 calls backs, two weeks later we haven’t heard anything and when she calls to ask what’s going on, they’re now refusing to speak to her. I finish work at 4:30pm everyday and their wait time on a call is 35mins, since they close at 5pm, I can never speak to anyone.
I have been left with a debt of over £900 through no fault of my own and have no one I can speak to about it. I am absolutely disgusted by the service we have received and I’m a loss with what I’m supposed to do now to resolve this issue.
This company is expensive and their customer service is shocking
Posted 1 week ago
My elderly mother has a (expensive) service contract with them which is meant to include an annual service. It was booked last year and they phoned and cancelled, emergency calls only and they would credit £60 to her account. They didn’t. Letter arrived informing that a service was overdue and essential and needed to be organised. The normal challenge to get through but eventually organised it for Jan this year. No one turned up. Now April, still no service. Given up.
Posted 1 week ago
Completely useless support. Haven't a clue how to resolve issues and just guess if they don't know the answer. Now changed to professional provider.
Posted 1 week ago
I received a letter from debt collectors relating to a property I sold 4 years ago. They are demanding an amount of £651.75, which they claim I owe British Gas. I paid this when the house was sold. I now have to provide Bank Statements to prove this and I am appalled.

In four years I have heard nothing from British Gas and the first I knew was a letter from Debt Collectors - disgusting.

Steer well clear of British Gas - they are a disgrace.
Posted 1 week ago
Booking a service on line is very good. But booking a repair is a night mare as the dairy is six or seven weeks waiting. We had a leek in the boiler and a bucket collecting the water under the boiler. It was a hard trying to explain on line that we wanted a repair ASAP and its also bank holiday. I phoned on Tuesday and spoke with a human who was very apologetic and undstanding an engineer was at the house within a hour and the job was fixed in a couple of hours. Well done BG
Posted 1 week ago
Quite possibly the worst experience I have ever had in my life. Bought a property where the meter had been removed. So far, spent almost two days on hold to these loons and nobody seems to have a clue that they're doing. I must have spoken to at least 15 people in the UK, India and South Africa. Literally nobody has a clue. And they must be the only power company who close their call centres at 5pm. Completely bonkers. AVOID!!!!
Posted 1 week ago
Have home care 400 not had a service in 2 years constantly breaking Dow from lack of service keep calling they never show up so boiler packet up called by they came next day to replace boiler as spending £3500 but won't honour there contracted servicing and repairs which your paying for monthly
Posted 1 week ago
I have had another hapless experience with British Gas whom I have been with for 25 yrs - so much for loyalty! If Covid 19 is causing so many delays, and British Gas can’t provide proper service, why aren’t we given a discount? My employer gave a discount to customers.
If I have to listen to that automated service on the phone again, I’m going to go nuts!
These ‘windows’ of 6 hours ( and in my case tomorrow it’s 12 hours) are just not workable for customers in employment and it’s surely only people in employment who can afford the huge cost of Homecare!
I have no heating and no hot water and the first appointment I was given was five days from now.
I’ve now managed to get an appointment tomorrow. However the 1st service appointment I can get is the end of May..... What a nightmare!
Posted 1 week ago
Absolutely shocking service. I don’t think anyone in this company cares if they do a good job or not, total shambles and has been for a number of years now. What is the CEO here do. I can understand why they promise so much and deliver so little. This company is going to go to the dogs, sell your shares now!
I can understand how they can. Make so many simple, errors so frequently.
I had a boiler problem and they sent Dynorod? You could not make this up .
Posted 1 week ago
Phoned to book Homecare appointment. Told best do it on line. Then spent over an hour trying to get website to recognise my details, despite being a customer since gas was first discovered. Unbelievably unresponsive and clumsy. Why is the Homecare account number alone not enough to access the site? I only wanted to book a service visit. Awful, awful experience. Make your web experience better if you want customers to use it, or if you want customers at all.
Posted 2 weeks ago
they are liars and thiefs,just love stealing yer money,and they hang up when they know your right.
Posted 2 weeks ago
2 problem's - Have 2 homecare service presently trying to get a gas safety certificate appointment is useless, the online booking system allow for gas repair or gas service, cant find the link to landlords for gas safety certificate, have called them out on other jobs, but always refused to carry out the job because of other issues. 2nd problem, due to COVID - 19, or any other excuse, will not come out, finally they agreed to come out between 12 - 6pm....as predicted nothing happened - That's the final closure - no more wasting £500.00 for what?? Good Bye, somebody should be held culpable, but that wont happen. Don't ever sign up for this terrible company.
Posted 2 weeks ago
I am so angry with this farcical company I can't put it into words or perhaps the words that describe them haven't been invented yet???
Posted 2 weeks ago
Awful , scammers
Posted 2 weeks ago
When will you ever get your app to work properly. I had my smart meter installed and was told to wait two days before the app would be able to show my energy usage. The closest I ve got is Ooops, something went wrong, lets try again. Well two plus weeks later, it still Ooops. I tried the on app help which resulted in two hours of wasted time and effort. For some strange reason I was asked my 'date of birth' I told the 'advisor' they did not need that and they continued happily. I suggest a backroom scammer gain info on people. Why is it that British gas app never work properly until the next version and then a new problem arises. P.S. I am now wasting 30 minute so far online trying to get help. Think I will prepare an online complaint and when my term is up, move onto a supplier who cares.
Posted 2 weeks ago
British Gas is rated 1.29 based on 1,100 reviews