British Gas Reviews

1.2 Rating 2,651 Reviews
5 %
of reviewers recommend British Gas
1.2
Based on 2,651 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 6%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 79%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.2 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Read British Gas Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 980 6005

Email:

customerservice@britishgas.co.uk

Location:

PO Box 4805
WORTHING
BN11 9QW

Write Your review

Tell us how British Gas made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
British Gas 1 star review on 22nd March 2024
Lauren
British Gas 1 star review on 22nd March 2024
Lauren
British Gas 1 star review on 12th March 2024
Mr Brown
British Gas 1 star review on 6th March 2024
Warriner
British Gas 1 star review on 6th March 2024
Warriner
British Gas 1 star review on 4th March 2024
Emma
British Gas 1 star review on 10th July 2023
Anonymous
67
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Reply to Catherine who answered my review .dear catherine thank you for replying to my complaint on tripadviser but what is contact dm / on pm or x on face book ..I’m 80 next month double Dutch to me like British Gas bills Edward clark
Helpful Report
Posted 13 hours ago
Absolutely shocking company .. discusting corrupt thieving liars !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
We used British Gas in a rental property and left that property paid our final bill. A year later British Gas have started incorrectly sending automated final bills for a property we left 2 years ago. Every couple months we get a new bill, we then call and get it revoked due to system errors. They have causes great distress to me and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Following on from a previous review I have came to the conclusion that monkeys at Edinburgh Zoo would perform better with general complaints than the personal they have working for BG 5 times I hs e informed they they have the wrong name and wrong account details yet still send out the automated response with s change of date. They do not read letters or bust ignore the basic facts.Bigger is not always better I would renationalise this company as the care very little of the customer. Apologies to the monkeys at Edinburgh Zoo for the remakes they are far more intelligent.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
I have been with british gas for over 40 years and never had a trouble until they changed the system I can't remember how many timesi have called them , I have not had a gas bill since last October it seems that they really don't know what they are doing what's going ON BRITISH GAS
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Worse ever customer service. Impossible to get in touch. Even if you do no one knows anything. One agent says one thing other says other and no one kbows who is right. Been with them for nearly 2 years and apparently they didnt have my gas meter reading even if they sent a person to check our meters. In the end when i left they decided that readings they got was wrong so they can charge me money. Worst ever experience wouldnt recommend it to anyone
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Paid a bill on 28th of march. 15 days later saying it hadn't been paid. So stressful for an elderly lady and for me as I paid her bill online and have proof in the form of her account. Answer was for her to phone them she's 99 soon. Or contact them on twitter or Facebook. She's 99 soon. Same answer to every review. So shall I get her the internet then join x then Facebook get her a smart phone. How ridiculous . They don't read the reviews properly just give the same silly answers to every query. No need for all this stress if they did their job properly. Account has been paid so not more silly letters please saying it hasn't.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
So very disappointed with British Gas. What a bad system they have created. Have been on live chat for a month and now phone call. My account says I have no account or direct debit for some reason. Nobody can sort. Ended up calling in hope voice connect may help. Was sent twice to different dept to be told after many questions advisor will sort while I sat there. 20mins later suddenly ended up back in a queue at the start again .this time had to start whole process again.. I might not renew end of my contract time. So very upset with them
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Avoid like the plague! Since BG changed their system over in Oct I have yet to receive an accurate bill without having to phone them each time. When migrating to the new system (of which I knew nothing about) BG created an end reading which was over 2000kw less than I had already paid for. Each time since I have had to phone up to correct these readings in order to receive an accurate bill - I then pay the bill based on the accurate readings and within a week the old bill is cancelled and a new bill is created, again using the fictional starting point. I have made endless phone calls and eventually got so fed up of going round in an endless loop of misery that I contacted the Ombudsman. In Feb BG contacted me at the start of Feb to say they had made a mistake, offer some compensation and assure me that bills going forward would be accurate. I waited with bated breath for my Feb bill and lo and behold there was a different system error. The efficient chat bot would fix the error and the bill would be generated. I was kind enough to advise them of the Ombudsman complaint to ensure I didn’t reenter the dreaded loop of death. I waited a week and still no bill. I contacted the chat bot again to be advised of the system error. This would be fixed and the elusive bill generated. It was generated for £2160! One month cost £2160. I got straight back on that phone again. I emailed the advisor that had ‘sorted’ my last complaint to advise that yet again my bill was generated from the false readings used in October and all sorts of cancellations and amendments were created on this new bill. I challenged the agreement that had been made through the Ombudsman of which a full investigation is now underway. The original advisor that sorted the mess called me to question the challenge. I explained that a bill for £2160 was not what was agreed on and therefore the original issue is not sorted. I was told that had been fixed so that complaint was closed! I currently have a ‘live debt’ which BG are threatening to send to a credit agency to collect within the next ten days despite assurances that my account was frozen. I did, in the meantime pay my Match bill as it was actually correct for the first time since the October system change. I will be moving suppliers as soon as this entire mess is finally sorted. Please check your readings and do not let big companies extort your hard earned cash!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Continually lied and made false promises Worst possible experience Kept billing me wrong for months and months I told them repeatedly that my mother had died and there was no one living in the property I gave them meter readings they still kept billing me wrongly then they sent letters from solicitors I said send the correct bill and I will pay i repeatedly explained the situation actually I sent pictures of meter readings because they didn’t believe me still wrong bills came for £1200 when it was actually £130 still the solicitors letters came I raised complaint first one they closed second on they gave me a number but they didn’t actually raise it they have repeatedly lied and broken promises I wanted to be cut off over two years ago because the property was empty and going through probate but they just continually avoid dealing with the issue I have had the phone put down on me at least 15 times after being in a queue for ages because it was a difficult issue They lied and made false promises constantly They can be bothered to read all the bad reviews I have about them, and post replies but, they cant be bothered call and try and resolve the problem. They offer help in their replies but they don't work. If they can go the the effort of reading the comments and replying why cant they call to try and help I will have to keep leaving these reviews on every platform i can find until they try and resolve my issue
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I had a letter today from British Gas Here is your Energy bill Firstly I have never had British gas or electric This fraudulent bill stated Please pay by 10/04/24. £120.30 Your account in detail from 02/05/23 Electric 02/05/23 to 16/0623 £82.49 Gas from 02/05 to 16/06/23 £37.81 Total £120.30 Along with a letter dated06/04/24 We hope your settling in well A warm welcome to British Gas You have probably got a lot to do now you have moved in In this letter you will find Tarif information Your terms and conditions What the is going on ? I have never asked or wanted to change from Octopus,who I signed with when moving into my present address, When I moved into my new address it had Utilita pre payment meter So I asked to change it to Octopus which was done Since changing my bill have been paid by direct debit and is in credit to £347 Back to BG The bill was estimated and only sent to me on 06/04/24 and it stated meter readings were from 02/05/23 until 10/06/23. 09078 My reading on my smart meter bill with Octopus from moving in were over 300 less than the estimated bill from BG and even in December 2023 were still below the estimated 0978. on 02/05/23 to 0942 final reading So how come even in December it was still less than that as can be proved by all my Octopus bills It seems like a scam to send a bill when I never had an account with BT and is a fraudulent attempt to get money under false pretence . Then 8 Months later you send a welcome letter to from BG with a bill which is obvious done when I did not have an account and gave false statement to obtain money from me I have and will not ever want to open an account with BG I will be reporting it to the Police Fraud Line and on there advice will contact my solicitor to take action in the Courts over this fictional account and fraudulent cost you claim I owe Take note from this and remove my fictional account from this date Anymore letters from you will go straight to my solicitors for action in the Courts I am 78 Disabled and deaf so only contact me once by letter informing me you have made a mistake with an apology in writing and no further action will be taken on this fictional account you have made up in my name and address . Do not use my name on this review My name is one of the highest rating ,and I do not owe any money to anyone You may check my rating and my good name I have never had a parking ticket Any points on my driving licence in 59 years. Not had any criminal convictions at any time And proud to say I have been on Jury Service at Crown Court And if you continue to try and destroy my good name and reputation it will be taken to the Courts . Don't bother with customer services because its not worth my time and money be wasted as proved on all reviews on British Gas Just get that letter of apology sent ASAP The ball is in your Court
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
always take the money out before its due
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
British Gas is the worst company I have ever dealt with. I was automatically transferred when Together Energy went bust. I had a lot of credit. Once it was used up, British Gas have been sending me huge bills each month - £900, £700, £599 etc and there are is only me and my daughter living here. Although the people in the offshore call centres are very nice and try to be helpful, they are useless and there's no one I can talk to to explain my problem and get a resolution. This company should be fined and prosecuted. It is stealing from honest consumers
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I can't express how happy I am that I have managed to leave British Gas before my contract was up . It's been a nightmare also expensive for me . They made up a bill of £485 for one months energy . I'm in a one bedroom flat. I spent hours ringing ending up being sent on to different people. I know they reduced the high amount but they didn't reduce it to a normal usage , they still over charged me. The worst company to have changed to . Great news my new supplier is paying my excit fee. I'm really happy now I would never return to them. I know customers are leaving , three of my friend had the same problem. They may have overcharged me but I'm free of them..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
This is an awareness of an admitted System Error by British Gas. My usual 31 days monthly variable direct debit for March has been based on 43 days hence escalating my bill to an unexpected amount. Lesson learnt…. Always check your bill.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
This company' customer service is disgusting. It can't cope with a meter change, bill correctly or make account corrections. I loathe dealing with them. My bill is a big mess, there is £300 pound missing from my balance and my Meter readings are complete fiction. They will never be able to sort this out as they are all idiots from CEO to call centre.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Not had an electric bill since September 23.rang up to sort it twice, still not sorted. Go onto my account to make a payment, it goes to chat site and can, t get to accounts. You are a discrase. Don't tell me it is because I am using a mobile to access website as phoning yuo has achieved zilch. That's when you bother to speak to me.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Totally rubbish smart meter you add money and it changes several times a day GARBAGE I will be changing companies.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I joined British Gas on the 27th of January I explained that I am a 79 year old disabled pensioner who cannot read my gas or electricity meter and have to get some one to read them for me ! I sent first meter readings to them and they arranged a direct debit of £86 80 a month my sister in law took photos of both gas and electricity meters for me on my iPad so I have record of these readings I had two payments taken I then received my first bill for first 54 days which British Gas said came to £469 which is impossible amount I have a one bedroom bungalow with solar panels fitted and cannot use main gas oven so I use a small air frier .a woman names zebra claims I used £146 84 for 54 days and £302 22 for same period for electricity ? But the photo I have of my smart worktop reader says on the 28 th of March I had used £130 for the year and on the 31st of March photo shows I used £41 23 for electricity the month and £55 94 for duel fuel for that month so the bill British Gas sent for meter readings are totaly different to smart work top reader ? I ve had smart new smart gas meter fitted by British Gas and he worked on original electricity meter on the 22 nd of March and now both meters can be read by British Gas .but I am again disputing bill and taking advise as to how I can give all the details to the ombudsman’s. In the mean time I cannot leave brith gas while I’m still classed as being in debt I have had a futher bill for gas and electricity so I’m even futher in debt and will be even after next payment on the 7 th of this month .i am so worried about this bill I don’t know if I should turn off everything and live on sandwhiches. Or what to do ?edward clark
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Today I received a letter from British Gas, welcoming me to the smart meter family. This is despite the fact that I am still waiting for my gas meter upgrade. This has been ongoing since October 2023, and I have had so many conflicting communications from British gas. This is further confirmation that British gas is run by idiots.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
British Gas is rated 1.2 based on 2,651 reviews