British Gas Reviews

1.2 Rating 2,091 Reviews
5 %
of reviewers recommend British Gas
1.2
Based on 2,091 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.3 out of 5
Read British Gas Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 980 6005

Email:

customerservice@britishgas.co.uk

Location:

PO Box 4805
WORTHING
BN11 9QW

Write Your review

Tell us how British Gas made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
British Gas 1 star review on 6th January 2023
Tracy Hawksford
British Gas 1 star review on 28th December 2022
Steve Martin
British Gas 1 star review on 22nd December 2022
Close British Gas Down
British Gas 1 star review on 16th December 2022
Anonymous
British Gas 1 star review on 16th December 2022
Anonymous
British Gas 1 star review on 15th December 2022
Karen Murphy
British Gas 1 star review on 15th December 2022
Karen Murphy
53
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
£1600 for January heating when I already pay a substantial direct debit which BG increased recently without consultation. immoral.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 hours ago
I just had a final warning from these criminals threatening debt collectors and I have had 0 reminders from British gas. Proper scummy
Helpful Report
Posted 11 hours ago
I am extremely annoyed. Not only has my complaint not been handled I have no received a letter to say the case has been closed. I have emailed, called, left reviews what more can I possibly do. This matter is not closed and I expect Matthew illingworths manager to contact me with urgency to discuss how poorly I have been treated not only with the property damage but also this complaint. I have had zero contact other than letters saying you haven't heard from me when I have contacted and contacted with no response. This is disgraceful. And don't ask me to write on twitter or social media as I don't have it. My case number is 8014367267
Helpful Report
Posted 12 hours ago
Ah, what can I say about British Gas, or Brutish Gas as I affectionately call them? If you want to be bullied and harassed by a company, British Gas is the ideal place to go for your gas and electricity. It's full of staff who give you contradictory information, many of whom have the remarkable ability to talk out of their posterior while sitting on it. Did I mention this British icon's knack for sending dodgy bills that make no sense? And their communication skills are something to behold. Wrongly threatening you with court action and entirely unjustly adding charges to bills. That's just the kind of stress you're missing in your life. Being a customer of British Gas is quite the experience of incompetence or willful deceit (after over two-and-half years I'm still not entirely sure which applies, though I am increasingly coming down on one side), where important information is sent to the wrong address. Oh and they can gaslight you like the sleaziest of sleazy dates. Indeed, there are strains of domestic abuse in this relationship. One party has all the power; the weaker one begs them to be nice, play fair and not steal the money they're not entitled to. How do you escape this entirely imbalanced relationship? I'm still trying... It might take me some time, but I'll make it. To be fair, I have come across some kind, empathetic, knowledgeable British Gas staff who aren't rude and try to correct the work of more ill-informed colleagues. But my goodness, they are hard to get to. If this is what you're looking for in your energy company, go right ahead and sign up. If not, run like the wind and don't look back.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Oct 2021 sadly moved from Peoples Energy to BG, meter reading provided (have email confirming) Jan 22 bill raised and paid Feb bill raised and complaint put in electric meter proven to be 40% fail rate hence high electric bill. Smart Meters fitted gas and electric within 2 days smart meter box not reading failure to connect numerous calls to BG-switch it off turn it back on!!! They said not to worry as they were still receiving readings… fast forward to Jul smart meters not providing readings to BG estimated horrific bills raised, reversed sorted, raised reversed and confirmed correct by numerous members of the BG team. Finally a nice person Sept who reversed every single bill and gave me correct balance which was paid. New smart meters fitted 03 Jan 23 all seemed ok UNTIL bill they backdated my bill from Oct 21-Jan 23 over 7k leaving me a debit of over £3900 to be paid by Feb 14!! Back to back calls and was told well that’s what you have used however it’s 3x above the average household. Text yesterday stating debit would now be £2200 and they would call when bill went live. Bill went live £3200 tried to text back (chat closed) specialist team are looking at this and will be in contact 😭I have requested a Subject Access Request of all my calls/texts/complaints messages stating account is fixed and all is good now this. Payment plan suggests I start paying £765 per month starting 07 Feb and for 11 payments afterwards…. I have already paid nearly £500 for Jan. At a loss as can’t go to OFGEM without deadlock letter and every couple of days I receive a higher debit. The customer service have not been rude just incompetent for those with complex billing issues. Not having a smart meter that works for just under a year and that my bills were high as it was a cold winter run as fast as you can from BG and do NOT get a SMART meter
British Gas 1 star review on 1st February 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Absolute scum, lied to me and a friend regarding two different problems and they break into vulnerable peoples property to install prepaid meters! They are not charging £13 if you can’t pay your bill in full even though they have admitted tripling the bill whilst also admitting I used less than half this year than I did last year! Closed the phone lines to the number they sent in a message to discuss the charges!!! They need locking away for criminal activity!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
British Gas are acting like criminals, I share all the experiences below, can not get through, chat service logged out, I had bills recently for over 800+ and even get continously charged with an estimated bill for gas which we don’t use anymore, only electricity and even that bill is incorrect. I feel like driving to their headquarters and asking their staff if they really know what company they work for. Perhaps we should all tell our story to be listened? It’s not acceptable that so many people are put under so much stress because of British Gas. Something needs to be done.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Absolutely pathetic. Can't change supplier as the British gas meters I currently have are incompatible with other providers. 2 missed appointments 1 rearranged without my consent or knowledge. Over 30 hours on the phone and 60 on the chat to fix this. Spoken to like trash, called a liar and treated with hostility and borderline homophobia. This company is pathetic
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Have contacted them over 10 times to resolve the fact that no credits were sent, passed between 3 teams each time, poor service from everyone and they lied about sending out credits as had to contact them again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
App doesn't work .It is accurate on the day but the following day the price shows a lot lower than it actually was on previous day .The columns shown with price on per hour do not add up to the price recorded on the day .Very inaccurate and pretty useless for history and keeping an accurate amount of money that it is costing Does not match smart readers history of bills for previous 34 hrs week and month etc
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
100% failure rate at every interaction. Can't log into a broken account, can't use smart meter, can't get bills, can't pay bills. 100% failure after 6 months. Experience as a new customer: - time elapsed with no bills, no way to pay, broken account and unable to install meter: 6 months - time I have spent in chat & calls with your team: 40+ hrs - # of BG team I have dealth with: apprx 30
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Worst company to deal with. Quick to hand out debt collection letters after 14 days of bill date and threatening letter to get court warrant to remove meter. This was after paying £300 in December. Never again. Staff doesnt care. Moved to Octopus now after reading reviews. British gas just wants to rip you off at any cost.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Your engineer turned up to fix our boiler! Failed to do so. Tried to book another appointment and told we had to wait another 3 weeks! Today we are told that a part needed hasn't arrived and you've put the appointment back another 2 weeks. You are a joke! What are we paying for? Certainly not any kind of service. Can an engineer phone us? We would like a proper explanation as to why our heating has not been working since December 2022 and you have still not fixed it and are now unable to do so until February 14 2023? Your customer service is non existent and your ability to provide the service you promise is sadly inadequate.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
British Gas are absolute cons. They took £829 for the last payment which they didn’t send a breakdown off. They took the money already and my mortgage payment wouldn’t have gone if I didn’t look. This company has caused me so much greif, stress and caused me anxiety. My mother is a diabetic and the stress this bill gave her isn’t good for the health. I still don’t know what I paid for and nobody is answering the phone. They don’t even let you submit a complaint online. I am so disgusted and I want a breakdown or refund. Stay well clear. Go with any other provider just not British Gas. I am disgusted and appalled and I’m not going to stop till I get some justice. Please contact me asap and il give my account number I need this looked into asap.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Absolute joke trying to get a bill sorted. No one ever answers the phone and when you do get through they have no idea what they are doing. Called 4 times now and raised a complaint and still have received the wrong bills......
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
They lie to u and never show up , when they do they turn your credit meter in to pre payment to get more money from you and then say it will cost me to change back !!! I can’t take been with them much longer it’s making me ill always trying to get thought to some one who’s English is better spoken as I am hard of hearing I can’t under stand them as they talk to fast , I have made a complaint and guess what ?? I’ve heard nothing !!! Be aware !!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I have been on live chat for over an hour now. I ask questions and they occasionally respond. Hen I ask why they say they are juggling three conversations. I've also been waiting a year for a smart meter. I am now changing provider enough is enough
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I have just put 40 pound onmy gas on the 19 to be shown im 21 in-depth how is that poss i think britsh gas are just doing as thay wont with our meaters thay are make our live a liveing hell that just take take take the make sure we owe them money bck when will the stop im so angery
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
We have just moved property. The supply was already British useless Gas. So far I have had a second name added to the bill 3 times yet each time they call they are not on system. Customer services probably the worst I have ever come across and I have had virgin media. Smart meter hasn’t worked since we moved in. All this grief for a bargain price of over £300 per month. Avoid at all costs
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Annoyed is been gentle, This company has caused me to have a mental breakdown..I was transferred without choice as my company had gone bankrupt.....from that month the stress began..sending me a bill for £800 ,i was Annoyed but paid £530 of it that day as thats the only money i had ....they then sent me another bill £900 . I told them i had payed £530 already (they said i hadn't and that they had refunded it back to me ) bank statements ect later to prove i had payed them ....I argued and said just put me on a pre payment meter as i carnt do with the stress. Meter put in and they said it needed a change as it was faulty , then they have the cheek to put another debt on it of £550 , I had to argued again and take it to the odbusmen this time they said they owed me £350 ..'really' ..then from then it still went on to more stress !!!! ..i couldn't top up the smart metre ...4 months of ringing every Monday for them to say "we have loged your complaint and WILL get someone to call you back " NO ONE EVER CALLS BACK ....Week later i call again ,"We can see you have a complaint issued so we carnt talk to you THEY will call you back" REALLY (that just never happens )......4 months and no one has called back ... and a total of 39 hours of Recorded calls to -date and the issue still hasn't been resolved (they have also held me hostage since December now so i carnt leave the company either due to the machine not givinga reading ) .......Please i beg you DO NOT CHANGE TO THEM as there customer service is horendus ..x
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
British Gas is rated 1.2 based on 2,091 reviews