Prudential Reviews

1.4 Rating 124 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Prudential
1.4
Based on 124 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Prudential made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Surprised review rating 1.6.( too high) While trying to sell a deceased property completion date fell out of the policy renewal by 12 days . I spoke to the bereavement department asking if I could just extend the policy by one month to be told no, you must renew for a full year then claim a refund or they could put me in touch with a specialist company for short term insurance. So much for empathy and compassion in distressing times.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
2 hour wait time on call Then call went dead Online service that doesn’t work Least digitally literate company in Europe
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Pru unable to effect pension payout as a result of 'staff shortage and IT problems' and are unable to give any estimate on date. Pru complaints staff do not make promised calls and the Company is behind with complaint handling.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
First call 55 min wait to be told wrong department, transfered to second department 50 min wait to be told could not find my details, I have had this pension for 40 years. How can a company that deals mainly with pensions be so bad at it , I think they just don't care, and accountable to nobody, I'm sure that the directors are laughing all the way to the bank.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Shocking. I first asked them, after an hour waiting on the phone, to withdraw my pension. That was on 15th January 2021. I was assured that I would receive the paperwork at the latest by 18th February. Here I am, 10th May, almost four months later, my complaints acknowledged once but not acted upon, my recorded-delivery complaint to the CEO unacknowledged. Appalling, truly appalling...
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
What a useless customer service, still waiting for a policy pay out on a death last year. Stressful and not helpful for the family who have to settle the deceased brothers bills etc. Covid is not an excuse. Date for pay out has been reneged on. Complaints dept are useless. Do not take out a life insurance policy with this company.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Will give them 1 star but should be NEGATIVE 10 really!! Customer service is Sh1Te!!!! So is their ability to pay pension lump sum requests on time. Do not invest here!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolutely terrible company to try and contact I have tried on 3 separate occasions with a wait over over an hour each time, then i got cut off. The new security log on is not working, it tells me to log on and then wont accept me, then says it will send a code on an e mail, no emails received. I have tried sending e mails but they are do not reply e mails. What a mess.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
MAKE SURE YOU READ ALL THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS!!!!! I bought a Savings plan from them and lost my job due to the pandemic and when I asked if I could Change or cancel my plan they said if I decided to stop I would lose ALL MY MONEY WORTH $10000! Basically they said I can put it on hold but I have to continue this plan for 6 years and hope that i get a new job soon to pay this. Yes it’s great that I can accrue savings in 10 years. But in a day of COVID 19 it is very difficult to plan 10 years. So I highly suggest you DO NOT buy any long term plans because you will be locked into it!!! I was not aware of this at the time of signing and though my agent is great, PRUDENTIAL DOES NOT DISCLOSE THAT YOU WILL LOSE YOUR MONEY IF YOU CANCEL THE POLICY WITHIN 2 YEARS!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
NEVER. get a pension from this shower.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Absolute waste of time contacting them online or over the phone,you phone and wait forty minutes they answer and pass you onto another number and wait another hour and blame it on covid,There attitude stinks.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Disgusting and inadequate levels of customer service, it is now virtually impossible to talk to an advisor on the phone. Wait times in excess of fifty minutes. Disgraceful when they are providing services that elderly and infirm folk depend on for their survival.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
You can never get through on the phone. Keep you on the phone for several minutes before they tell you there is over an hour to wait. From other posters here I can see that waiting is also a waste of time. I have applied online for a product and heard nothing. No email confirmation, nothing. I will not be taking my enquiry further and shall cancel when and if the paperwork ever arrives. Disgraceful. I am reporting them to my Pension Fund who works with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Trying to get your own money out of this company is like getting blood to of a stone. Incompetent, delaying tactics and un-ending excuses. Avoid this company like the plague,....
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Trying to transfer 40K into my SIPP back in October. Having said it was going to be transfered in November nothing has happened. Having made numerous phone call's i decided to formally complain. I regret not doing it sooner as the complaint procedure can take 8 weeks. Such a difficult company to deal with and very worrying hopefully will get it resolved once the Pension Ombudsman gets envolved. Sad state of affairs when you got to fight to get your own money transfered.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Same problems as many. Phone contact is very difficult and long delays. Continually asking for additional information, taking weeks not days by snail mail. They have a "secure messaging" online servive that they do not reply to. I have been dealing with them for 6 months to get surrender proceeds. Continual delays for payment, perhaps they do have financial problems as others have mentioned? A couple of the staff have been helpful but the info they have been given leaves a lot to be desired. VERY disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Worst company ever been trying to access my money can never get through on the phone for at least an hour and then you never get anyone to deal with the release of my money are the company in financial difficulties by the look of the other reviews they could be
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
After waiting an hour and fifteen minutes on the phone l was at last put through to a consultant. She explained that the key document which I should have had by now has not in fact been sent. It 's all down to an IT problem, she explained, and did not know when it would be resolved and hence when the document would be sent. Without it I cannot receive my monies. Cleary this is not acceptable. Is prudential in financial trouble?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Sadly my experience matches other posters on here.My first call was nearly an hour only to be told their was an IT problem so they couldn't access my information.The next call was an hour and a half wait to get through to someone who insisted reading the legal information so fast ( even after repeatedly asking them to slow down) and in a very strong Scottish accent so I had no idea what I was being told. Surely this can't be right that a major company like this can offer such an unbelievably poor service to their customers.I would recommend everyone on here who is complaining to make a formal complainant to the FSA who might be able to force the company to improve how they treat their customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Please please please stay away from these fraudsters. I couldn’t recommend these to my worst enemies.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Prudential is rated 1.4 based on 124 reviews