Prudential Reviews

1.56 Rating 97 Reviews
14 %
of reviewers recommend Prudential
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week

Write Your review

Tell us how Prudential made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Prudential were our home insurance cover when our neighbours house flooded through into ours. We where told that to start our repair work on house we would have to pay our £350 policy excess of water damage but reassured we would get this money back on completion, the lied! At the end of the work which I must say was quick and to a good standard they sent out a patronising letter saying we weren't due our excess back after further investigation due to our response time on the day of the incident even though neighbours had admitted full fault?? A pathetic excuse. They basically had us over a barrel as the court fees would be too high to pursue with the risk of loosing a massive loop hole in the insurance system :( God knows how many people they have conned through this method... obviously we did not renew and have no respect or faith for this company no more.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Prudential were our home insurance cover when our neighbours house flooded through into ours. We where told that to start our repair work on house we would have to pay our £350 policy excess of water damage but reassured we would get this money back on completion, the lied! At the end of the work which I must say was quick and to a good standard they sent out a patronising letter saying we weren't due our excess back after further investigation due to our response time on the day of the incident even though neighbours had admitted full fault?? A pathetic excuse. They basically had us over a barrel as the court fees would be too high to pursue with the risk of loosing a massive loop hole in the insurance system :( God knows how many people they have conned through this method... obviously we did not renew and have no respect or faith for this company no more.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Appalling. This issue been going on over 6months now. parents got Bond and because of age me and my other 2 siblings are power of atorneys. Sent all info in all by Signed for delivery and what a surprise some of the info in the same letter disappeared or was incorrect which daft as they all the same. Sent again Signed for and received letter saying all sorted. 6 Months later got another letter saying information still incorrect and will not be updated until all information and photo evidence sent in again. Sent in copy letter received stating that all accepted and everything on the policy updated. Numerous phone calls apologies everytime saying we are incorrect and the letters must of been delayed in post and from months ago. UM No. letter dated a week ago and still not updated. Going to take legal advice this is a sham. They do not return phone calls and say that investigators will call you back. Just another excuse.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
All the bad reviews proved to be right...wish I’d took the advice to avoid!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The Prudential forged documents and contracts in my name, and I actually have the evidence that proves this fraud. I had an opt out pension with the Prudential, which I took out in 1987. At the time of this pension being recommended to me by the Pru, I did not meet the minimum criteria i.e. at the time I was earning less than 5k per annum, and it would have been more beneficial for me to stick with my N. I. contributions to my government pension. I was unaware of these pre- conditions at the time of opting out, but nevertheless my financial circumstances should have disqualified me from the scheme. But what the Prudential then did was alter my earnings to show that I did qualify for the scheme, and they then initialized the changes in several instances to give the impression that I had made these changes. I have since been in correspondence with them about this (for two years now), and even though the evidence is incontrovertible and staring them right in the face, they refuse to assume any responsibility for this, although they do admit that I couldn't have been responsible for the fraudulent altering of the documents. I have even written to the CEO, Mr John Foley, who responded by saying that he takes these allegations very seriously, and then stopped responding to me when he could offer no explanations as to why it had happened. I asked him several times to consider the fact that this may also have happened to many other Prudential customers, but with no success in receiving an answer to this. I have even asked them to return the money that they stole from me by allowing me to cash in the small annuity, as other companies allow you to do, and they actually responded to this by saying that they wouldn't allow me to do that as they didn't think it wouldn't be in my best interests. Seriously. That's exactly what they said. That they were considering my best interests after defrauding me in a pension scam. Steer well clear of this company. In my humble opinion they're complete charlatans.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I have been trying to get my pension from Prudential for over two months now without a great deal of success. The latest letter received today states I haven't filled in the right options, it has taken Prudential nearly two weeks to send the letter surely they could of rung me as they have all my contact details and have rung me in the past. Like a lot of others trying to access their pension I have been passed from pillar to post by their telephone system and it is not a cheap phone call one call cost me £15 as I was on put on hold several times. It does appear they try to frustrate you with the delay tactics and seem to lose information you send. Not good service I would not advise anyone to save for a pension with them.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
with help of EdwardJardine my pru advisor,he helped me with good advice for the future of my pension,he also said my money would be with me in 4 weeks it was bang on time.made me feel very comfortable chatting to me,and gave me excellent advice,.i have always had good experience with prudential.they are the best and get 5 stars from me.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Poor practices and checks. I have an AVC policy with them. They don't have mechanism to check and respond to underpayments from employers. Therefore, you have to check each month and make sure the deductions are correct. I wish I had gone elsewhere and will soon be switching.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My 87 year old father has been a loyal Prudential customer for over 55 years and regularly paid his house insurance premiums promptly. After water damaged caused his house to be unhabitable, he immediately made a claim and Prudential agreed to pay the claim in March 2018. My father is still waiting for the claim to be paid out and it is now April 2019. This is causing my father and my family so much distress as they now won't answer emails. They have been reported to the Financial Ombudsman and I highly recommend this action to everyone who are unhappy with Prudential. I don't think Prudential are even worth one star.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absoutely terrible service. I rang them a couple of months ago with a query. I was passed around 3 different people. None of whom helped me. I was on the phone for over half an hour. I called again today. I rang the number on the letter to be told it was the wrong department. I was told I would be put in a queue which ended with a call back option. I never got my call back after an hour. I rang again and was placed in a queue. After 10 minutes somebody came on the line and said I couldn't stay in the queue as they weren't taking calls and somebody would call me within 48 hours! It's just a shambles. How can we trust them with our money?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My husband had a severe stroke that has left him paralysed and unable to speak. After finally making the decision to give me Lasting Power of Attorney I sent the certified signed and validated copy to The Prudential. Firstly the reference number they had quoted didn't exist, they couldn't speak to me as I didn't pass the security questions...erm full name, tick, date of birth, tick, address, tick, previous address, tick, national insurance number, tick, policy number, tick, date policy started, tick 🤪 I was put on hold and transferred to someone who gave their condolences????? I explained that my husband was most certainly alive and went through more security questions only to be told that the LPA I had sent in wasn't signed! I think my solicitor would argue that it is. After 25 minutes of speaking to, in my opinion, incompetent people I asked to speak to a manager. The supervisor informed me that my solicitor's signature isn't valid as The Prudential's tech team have decided it isn't an ink signature....this will probably come as a shock to my solicitor when I tell him on Monday that the ink in his pen and the validation stamps aren't good enough for The Prudential. 35 minutes of my life wasted talking to the most inept company I have had the misfortune to deal with.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi, I have had exactly the same problem as the previous person. Prudential are doing their best to prevent me getting my pension lump sum. There seems to be a co-ordinated and planned approach to this and I think it is due to uncertainties that will result in the reduction of fund values. If you have got any money at all invested in Prudential pensions then I would strongly recommend that you start the long drawn out process of trying to get it now before you lose significant amounts. If you take the view that difficult economic times are ahead then you may wish to withdraw your funds into cash. This would be a safe thing to do but you will find that Prudential will attempt to prevent you from doing this. They will insist on all sorts of ID. They will insist on all sorts of paper work and phone calls. They may lose things. You won't be able to email them since everything must be sent by post. All these measures allow them to delay. I don't believe this is just incompetence. It feels more like an organised approach. Thank god I didn't put too much with them. If you are considering investing with them, for example if you are a teacher considering AVCs, then seriously think again. Wish I had just bought extra amounts in the teachers pension scheme
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I have dealt with a lot of financial organisations but none as incompetent as Prudential. I wanted to cash my pension in one lump sum and it took more than 3 months of phonecalls and correspondance to get MY money. They have been dealing with me and sending me letters for more than 30 years, but when I now want my money they need more ID than anyone is able to supply. I have supplied a verified copy of my passport, verified copies of utility bills and bank statements, 2 letters from my highstreet bank, 1 letter from my investment bank, and a copy of a letter from my UK national old age pension. That was not sufficient to convince Prudential. Everything was send by recorded delivery except the letter from my UK pension. The last letter was send on Prudentials own secure emal system. This was rejected because it was a scanned copy, but they would accept a fax copy (we are now in the year 2018]. This turned out not to be an option after all because Prudential could not locate their own fax number. Here is just a few examples of their incompetence. There are plenty more apart from the ones memtioned: Every time you phone them you are passed between departments who all want to “security” verify you before passing you on. I have tried to be passed on between departments only to end up being told that they have not got time to talk to you. They insist on sending a completely blank form to me because Prudential do not have a “secure email system”. Posting it took 3 whole weeks to reach me. After this it turnes out that they do in fact have a “secure” email system. They still insist that everything is send to them by normal post, and I have therefor sent out everything by registered post. Prudential have managed twice to loose attachments to my letters, and the fact that I could prove that the said attachments had arrived at they office did not make them rething their handling. They then decided that I had been treated incorrectly, and they alone decided to transfer £75 to my bank account for my trouble. I have spend more than this just in postage. On top of this I have spend hours and hours getting together all the other information that was shipped out, and I have not been able to invest this money for months. Their decition that I has been treated unfairly did not release the payment of my money. Now we are at a time where my money is due to leave Prudential, and they then decide that they have not enough proof that the account they thenselves used for my “compensation” is actually mine. This is an account number that has been verified by my bank and that Prudential has already been using within the past few weeks. Further delay for no reason. My conclusion is that Prudential will go to great lenght to delay your payment. Their repeated request for proof of ID is way byond any kind of reason, and their handling of MY money is completely unacceptable. Prudential just hang on to the money while they keep moving the goalpost and have you jump through hoops, and that only changed when I told them that I finallly has had enough and now referred the matter to the Ombudsman. Then they changed their mind and MY money is now supposed to be on its way. Shame on you Prudential. Your handling is disgraceful.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Get passed around over the phone, then have to do security checks all over again! My premium has gone but thought I would stop with them as made a claim for a smashed phone screen without having to pay excess. Tried to make a claim for another smashed phone but my excess has changed to £250 so not worth it as screen is less than that. I should have read my new policy details so partly my fault but will not go with them again. Rubbish!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Contacting prudential is a nightmare I’m sick of trying to ring and get to someone to speak to and putting the phone down after at least 30 minutes. The email address on the recent letter will not allow me to send emails
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
As a trustee, I needed to quickly liquidate a trust’s bond holdings in a number of companies. The largest holding was with Prudential and while other companies have managed to do as they were asked within the timescale demanded, Prudential have been spectacularly incompetent. Among their several failings: * they did not liquidate the bond when they were asked, despite numerous reminders * they kept causing further delays because they claimed that documentation had not been “scanned into the system”, when it had. Scanning by you or I takes a matter of minutes but at the Pru each scanning pixel is hand-crafted, which is why it takes days. * they didn’t communicate with each other or with us and we were often left holding on the phone for up to 50 minutes trying to sort out the mess that they had made * when they finally liquidated the bond, they had a brainstorm and randomly reinvested the proceeds into something else entirely rather than transmitting the cash. They failed to inform us of this surreal mistake, causing yet more delays * they have not responded to an official complaint to their complaints department about their serious failings * one of their lackadaisical employees made the comment that “everyone makes mistakes” without a hint of an apology or any sense that they knew how to sort it out * an email of complaint and threat of legal action to a line manager received an automated reply that he was on holiday and that a colleague should be contacted instead, with no contact details provided. We are still waiting for the money, weeks after it should have been paid out. It was a simple request and a simple task for them to perform. They have failed utterly to perform it and show no concern at having done so. To quote from their website “We have very high standards and do everything we can to ensure that all our customers get the best possible service, but sometimes we do make mistakes.” This should be amended to “We have magicked up a set of high standards but haven’t a clue how to achieve them and our staff can’t be bothered to follow them. Our best possible service is miles worse than that of our competitors. When we keep making mistakes, don’t expect concern, an apology or rectification in anything approaching a reasonable timescale.”
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are the company that our staff holds Prudential Pension plan. I would like to request them to increase the amount of monthly pension direct debit. I have to call and send the application form for 4 months and now they haven't changed it. Really poor service and have unnecessary strict procedure.I never have any problem to deal with many pension company such as Standard Life, Aviva and Virgin. Prudential is really bad service. Please think before decide to you them.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Contacted them on several occasions on secure message. And not once did they contact me. But they promised to contact within 5 working days. What a joke this company is
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Seriously has anyone tried to claim their pension, simply cannot get through via their telephone line. I have trying for 2 weeks now and given up after 10 mins on the phone every time. In fact trying to get through now, bored so i thought i would give them some feedback.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Bosses earn millions in bonuses, shareholders receive high dividend increases. In comparison pensioners annuity annual payment increases are derisory. A really bad investment, as on death original lump sum stays with the company. this is legalised robbery and Prudential stopped the chancellor from allowing policy holders to sell annuities on the secondary market to claw a lump some cash back..
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Prudential is rated 1.56 based on 97 reviews