Ocado Reviews

4.55 Rating 2,128 Reviews
91% of reviewers recommend Ocado

Write Your review

Tell us how Ocado made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name ?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
Own Driver
delivery methods
Greater than 44%
on-time delivery
Greater than 60%
accurate and undamaged orders
Customer Service
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
communication channels
Over a week
queries resolved in
"The driver never showed up and Ocado never tried to contact me (even though they say otherwise), and I have now been charged for my order... I have tried to contact them but they refuse to even refund me or send me a voucher."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
We are sorry to hear this! We should always be getting in touch with you regarding issues like these, so please could you either send an email to ocado@ocado.com or open up a Live Chat via the website so that we look into this for you. -Megan
Posted 2 days ago
Visit Website
"Have done my grocery shopping with Tesco and Sainsbury for many years. 99.9% of deliveries are on time - and on the rare occasion it is not, usually due to bad weather, have always had a call from the driver explaining the situation. After being bombarded with advertising from Ocado, decided to give them a try. Delivery due 11.30 to 12.30 didn't arrive and no communication from Ocado, so at 12.45 I rang customer services. After some time I was told that my delivery would arrive probably about 13.30. I cancelled the delivery as I could not wait any longer and had to reorder from Sainsbury for the next day. Delivery went like clockwork as usual. Ocado sent me a £25 voucher to be used with my next order as an apology, which is absolutely no use to me as I have no wish to use them again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Hello. We're sorry to hear of all that has happened with your first experience using our service, it's disappointing to read. We would always communicate with our customers about any delays so they're up to date and we're sorry on this occasion this wasn't the case. We'd certainly like to look into this a little further to see what went wrong. Would you mind emailing us at ocado@ocado.com, calling 0345 656 1234 or popping up on live chat so we can do so. We do hope we can resolve this for you and you may try us once more however, we do completely understand and respect your choice to shop elsewhere if not. Hopefully we will be able to offer a better service if you decide to give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. - Meg
Posted 1 week ago
"Terrible terrible terrible. Won’t refund me for items I did not receive in my shopping because they ‘take photos of the items before delivery’ what a ridiculous system! Where is the tracking from the store to my home though? The delivery driver obviously gave my items to someone else. This does not protect the customer at all. I really do not appreciate being stolen from. I spend £1000 a month on shopping from Ocado quite often. I will now be taking my custom elsewhere and will never be shopping at Ocado ever again. What really infuriates me is ocado commenting underneath reviews saying, ‘please contact our customer services etc...’ obviously I have, hence why I’m leaving a review. It just gives future customers a false idea.Ocado do not help with situations. Here is the proof of their responses. Absolutely no help."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi there. We're sorry to hear of all that's happened in your most recent order and for the trouble this has caused you. We certainly don't want our customer's without there groceries, if there has been a mix up with your driver delivering then we'd certainly like to resolve this for you. Please can you kindly DM us your email address & postcode so we can take a further look for you? We do also understand and respect your choice to shop elsewhere and hopefully we will be able to offer a better service if you decide to give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. - Meg
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Deliveries late, badly packed food, short dates on food compared to others. Customer service a shadow of the earlier years. Would not recommend at all."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
We're sorry that you have experienced these issues in recent times. please contact us on ocado@ocado.com, call us on 0345 656 1234 or open up a LiveChat on our app or website so we can show you how we are addressing each issue to improve going forward. - Tyler
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Terrible service, Steal customers money. Don’t deliver items and then won’t refund. Terrible flaw."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
We certainly wouldn't want you to be charged for items that you didn't receive so Could you please contact us on ocado@ocado.com, call us on 0345 656 1234 or open up a LiveChat on our app or website so we can have a further look?- Tyler
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Terrible. Will not refund missing items from my delivery because they ‘photograph before loading’ well obviously my bags were given to someone else! Theives! They have lost me as a customer who payed £1000 per month!"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
We're very sorry to hear that Louise. Could you please contact us on ocado@ocado.com, call us on 0345 656 1234 or open up a LiveChat on our app or website so we can have a further look - Tyler
Posted 3 weeks ago
"Ocado does not care about their customers. Twice I’ve hit a brick wall with customer service. All you get is “sorry you feel this way”. They don’t attempt to solve the problems at all. Never had a supermarket make me feel so angry. The last straw was over vouchers. I’ve been using company for five years. Never had a voucher. They finally sent me the “£45 off over four shops” deal that they offer every tom dick and harry when you start. They sent the email out after I did my month shop annoyed I’d missed the £15 voucher, but what can you do? So on my second shop. I use the second voucher on my next shop (in time and not expired), but no I couldn’t use the voucher cos I’d not used the first. So not only did I miss the £15 on the first shop because I’d not received it in time but I missed the £10 on the second. Customer services just called me a liar. I told them to shove it. They’ve lost my customer forever. No other supermarket treats their customers in this offensive manner. Please don’t respond to this asking me to contact customer services because I think Ocado are awful awful awful. I will also tell everyone else I know this."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
We do apologise, Keeely. We do appreciate how frustrating this is, but sadly the Terms and Conditions do state you would need to redeem the vouchers in sequence to redeem the full discount. Please rest assured, your comments have been taken on board. We hope you do give us another chance in the future, as we would hate to see you go.
Posted 4 weeks ago
"Quick response from customer service. After some confusion on my part the the managed to solve issue with my order. Thanks"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I referred an offer to another person renting from the house we share to take advantage of the first time offer as I have shopped with Ocado before and thought maybe they could benefit. As I paid for their shop I thought that would be fine. But Ocado just took the discounted amount from the shop from my bank account without telling me so will be calling my bank about this. If Ocado were to tell me then it would be resolved but they put my in the red without warning ! Will ask them to remove me from their subscription base will never use anyone that abuses my bank details against. Will also tell the other person that I referred the ship to to not use them they just lost two customers. Now have to waste my time making a complaint to the bank and lawyer."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We are sorry to hear this. It would not be possible for us to use a Bank card for payment unless these details have been entered into your account and selected upon checkout, which would authorise us to use the card for the payment of your order. So we can look into this in more detail, can you please contact us wither by phone: 0345 656 1234, email: ocado@ocado.com or open up a Live Chat on our Website. -Kelly
Posted 1 month ago
"I agree with many Ocado customers reviews – over the past 8 to 12 months things in Ocado changed massively. We have been shopping with this food chain for years and can see a significant difference. For us the main issue is the stock availability – many, many items are often out of stock. As a result you would receive substitutions which seems to be picked up at random and are often much more expensive. Furthermore, some items - lots of fish for instance – are out of stock, they have been out of stock for the past 8 months or so. However these items are still listed on the website, often as available where you get “out of stock” message only when you start booking your delivery. My question is – why such items are still listed if they are really no longer sold? Is anyone doing stocklists updates, website maintenance? Further, regarding the substitution, this is the situation I had today. The driver delivered the order, there were 6 substitutions, I said no, thank you very much but no. Ocado driver picked up two bags of chips out of the crater and dropped them on the driveway. I have pointed out that he is not particularly gentle with the goods. His reply was that the chips would be thrown away anyway as I didn’t want them. I have doublechecked and he said yes, they were going in the bin. I couldn’t believe my ears. I wasn’t particularly happy. We are trying to minimise waste at home as much as possible. We are teaching our kids to be conscious of how they treat food and anything really. And I see the retailer with such an unethical approach. I called customer service at Ocado asking to turn all substitutionS off. And I found out they cannot do it. There is no option within Ocado to refuse the substitution prior delivery. They only way not to have them is to hand the goods back to the driver. Besides both Tesco and Sainsbury have substitutions opt out options. I was also told that refused substitutions would be going to food banks, however I cannot quite picture defrosted chips or a pack of strawberries which would be mash by the end of the day to be donated anywhere. Besides, you cannot stop your smart pass from renewing on auto anywhere online, you have to call them. In any case, Ocado refunded the smart pass to me, however the point is missing – wasting food is unethical."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello. We do apologise for the stock issues recently, we have opened a new fulfilment centre in which we have experienced a few teething issues with the opening, we have a dedicated team working around the clock so we hope you'll see an improvement soon. In regards to the food item handed back, we certainly do hand the majority to local food banks with some fruit and veg going to local zoos and animal parks instead. We'd certainly like to feedback regarding your experience, so if you could please kindly email us at ocado@ocado.com, call us on 0345 656 1234 or open up a LiveChat on our app or website. - Christian
Posted 1 month ago
"I will agree with many Ocado customers reviews – over the past 8 to 12 months things in Ocado changed massively. We have been shopping with this food chain for years and can see a significant difference. For us the main issue is the stock availability – many, many items are often out of stock. As a result you would receive substitutions which seems to be picked up at random and are often much more expensive. Furthermore, some items - lots of fish for instance – are out of stock, they have been out of stock for the past 8 months or so. However these items are still listed on the website, often as available where you get “out of stock” message only when you start booking your delivery. My question is – why such items are still listed if they are really no longer sold? Is anyone doing stocklists updates, website maintenance? Further, regarding the substitution, this is the situation I had today. The driver delivered the order, there were 6 substitutions, I said no, thank you very much but no. Ocado driver picked up two bags of chips out of the crater and dropped them on the driveway. I have pointed out that he is not particularly gentle with the goods. His reply was that the chips would be thrown away anyway as I didn’t want them. I have doublechecked and he said yes, they were going in the bin. I couldn’t believe my ears. I wasn’t particularly happy. We are trying to minimise waste at home as much as possible. We are teaching our kids to be conscious of how they treat food and anything really. And I see the retailer with such an unethical approach. I called customer service at Ocado asking to turn all substitutionS off. And I found out they cannot do it. There is no option within Ocado to refuse the substitution prior delivery. They only way not to have them is to hand the goods back to the driver. Besides both Tesco and Sainsbury have substitutions opt out options. I was also told that refused substitutions would be going to food banks, however I cannot quite picture defrosted chips or a pack of strawberries which would be mash by the end of the day to be donated anywhere. Besides, you cannot stop your smart pass from renewing on auto anywhere online, you have to call them. In any case, Ocado refunded the smart pass to me, however the point is missing – wasting food is unethical. I think we shall try Amazon Fresh…"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello. We do apologise for the stock issues recently, we have opened a new fulfilment centre in which we have experienced a few teething issues with the opening, we have a dedicated team working around the clock so we hope you'll see an improvement soon. In regards to the food item handed back, we certainly do hand the majority to local food banks with some fruit and veg going to local zoos and animal parks instead. We'd certainly like to feedback regarding your experience, so if you could please kindly email us at ocado@ocado.com, call us on 0345 656 1234 or open up a LiveChat on our app or website. - Christian
Posted 1 month ago
"Same as other customers, I have experienced many items out of stock so have not bothered placing an order and visited a Sainsbury’s store instead. 7 items of my order have been reselected on checkout stage, and now shows another 9 items are sending substitutions and 2 items are totally out of stock and even not bother to sending anything. I only bought 26 items! 70% of items are not available which is ridiculous. The delivery hasn't arrived yet but the driver called and explained it will be 2 hours late, and we may need to wait until 00:00 tonight. "See you later, hopefully."He said. :( :( :( Very POOL"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We're so sorry to hear this, and can completely appreciate how disappointing this is. We'll of course report this back to the relevant teams who can look into these issues, and look to avoid them going forward. Our sincerest apologies again for the inconvenience this has caused. - Anna
Posted 1 month ago
"Fast delivery and celerity regarding when you'll receive your order. Great customer service."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Customer service is outstanding I can not fault the delivery guys. Very pleasant and extremely friendly. I can 100% see a massive difference between the delivery service of any other retailer. always on time and they always pop it in the kitchen for me. Other companies such as Tesco or Waitrose are no where near as friendly and make me take the items in one by one or they leave it outside the door for me to bring in which is akward. Ocado staff are so chatty and friendly each and everyone of them."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I think the main issue (Other than the recent tweets) is that robots are making the substitutions, so for 4 pints of milk they give another 4 pints of drinking substance, in my case orange. Humans know this is not an acceptable substitution robots obviously see it as the same kind of thing."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Oh dear, what a substitution error! We do apologise, Daniel. Please leave this with us and we will ensure this feedback is passed on for you. -Megan
Posted 1 month ago
"After recent events i have decided to take my business elsewhere. I can't stand it when companies insult their user base."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"This woman will no longer be spending her money with a misogynist company."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"No Sunday roast, no potatoes, no cauliflower, all ordered Saturday on my first - and last - order! Tesco have never let me down with what they consider a basic item like a Sunday roast joint, even if they have given me a larger piece, at their expense, an even when I have said no substitutions. I thought the driver had driven off with part of my shopping, but no, I discovered that I had had an email at 6 a.m. telling me that I had missing items. No, I actually wasn't awake to see it! Of course, if I had known when I placed the order about the attitude of Ocado to their main customer base i.e. women - noun - adult human females, I wouldn't have placed the order in the first place! I won't be placing another. Also, I don't believe in robots picking my shopping, who don't have any common sense, but only substitute with a list of 'suitable' items given to them by a computer and, they are doing real human beings out of a job!"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"I no longer feel safe ordering from Ocado, what with delivery drivers taking upskirt shots and now the company Twitter making it clear what their opinion is on women. They've well and truly lost my custom."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
"The company doesn't seem to want my custom, they have not answered my emails. insulting 80% of their user-base probably wasn't the best idea but come on, at least answer the emails of those left! Will cancel my account as soon as possible."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Ocado is rated 4.55 based on 2,128 reviews

Start Your Free Trial Today

Send 400 review invitations for FREE!

Activate Your Account

Book your activation call by clicking the button below. Or call us now on +1 213-325-5109 . Book a Call

Alice, Customer Support