Ocado Reviews

4.16 Rating 2,484 Reviews
80 %
of reviewers recommend Ocado
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
Greater than 57%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 70%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Read Ocado Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0345 656 1234

Email:

ocado@ocado.com

Location:

3 Bishop Square

Write Your review

Tell us how Ocado made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Despite having been a customer on and off for years I have only managed to get one delivery since the lockdown. Admittedly we are not in the vulnerable group but my husband is close to 70, so I was extremely disappointed to hear that some customers e.g. Mrs Gove are being offered 2 slots a week!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I received an email from Ocado. It confirmed I was on the governments shield list as extremely vulnerable. However, it was unable to identify me on their data base. They suggested I should go to another supermarket. There was no acknowledgement that I am a smart pass holder. It is impossible to access my account. Also no response when I requested a refund of my smart pass. Reading other comments, Ocado is profiteering from the current crisis. Their shareholders should be aware of the customer backlash when this pandemic is over.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I am an elderly person listed by the NHS as extremely vulnerable, but Ocado refuse to give me access to priority delivery slots because, they say, I am "not a regular customer." In fact, I've used them fortnightly for more than five years. I asked what constitutes a "regular customer" and their staff said that they are not at liberty to say. Ocado have left me in the lurch, along with many other extremely vulnerable customers. I find them utterly despicable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We have been shopping at Ocado for nearly 10 years. We spend hundreds of pounds on weekly shopping and like everyone struggled to find any delivery slots in March. In early April we received an email from Ocado stating that as one of their most loyal customers we will be given priority slots. This we were. However, there is a catch all of he slots even early morning and late evening on Tuesdays and Wednesdays are only available at £6.99. Every single slot every day of the week is priced at their maximum amount £6.99. In addition, none of the promotions run by Waitrose are reflected in Ocado prices making them even more expensive (Waitrose also does not charge a delivery fee for orders over £50). Having written to Ocado, I received the following “cut and paste” response Dear Mr NNN, Thank you for your email. Please be advised that we vary our delivery charges to help smoothen demand as part of our standard year-round delivery price policy. Our standard maximum delivery charge of £6.99 has not changed. We are experiencing exceptionally high demand at the moment meaning more slots are at the higher end of our slot price range than normal. Thank you for your patience as we work around the clock to get as much food into as many homes as possible and play our part in feeding the nation. I will make sure to pass on your feedback and please let me know if there is anything else I can help you with. Kind regards, Needless to say that when things return to normal I will be taking my weekly shopping elsewhere. It is a shameless case of greed and profiteering by Ocado at a time when a little more humility and support of its loyal customers would be a better strategy.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ocado failed to deliver my order and they have charged me for perishable items. We have checked the cameras and during this time no Ocado van arrived. I have contacted Ocado who do not care and said they will be charging me because the driver cancelled my order. The driver is at fault I received no call and there is a Conceirge number to call on our gates this was not called either. I have been charged but lots more than I was told so I guess they have charged me premium for substitute items. My last order totalled nearly £400. I received damaged items, cracked eggs and paid an additional £32.85 for substitute items which were really poor quality. Ocado enough is enough never have I been treated so appallingly by a company. Your customer service representatives do not listen, clearly you are so flooded with complaints you are not spending time to deal with these properly. The fact is your driver did not follow the correct protocol and I will not be using you again and neither will my family. You have lost yet another loyal long-standing customer. I hope you treat your Marks and Spencer’s customers with more compassion. Just for the record Tesco and Morrison’s provide substitute items at this time at no extra cost and they are their finest range. My friend said she ordered with an online supermarket who missed some of her order so they returned that same day to deliver. If Ocado thought about how to mould their corporate approach in a time of crisis I feel they would receive only positive reviews. As it stands Ocado’s reputation will not recover from the reviews online there are far too many. Shame on you Ocado I see you as a thieving company now.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Regular weekly Ocado customer – NO MORE! I was a regular weekly Ocado customer before COVID-19, NEVER AGAIN! Yes, vulnerable people should get priority, but the way regular customers have been treated by Ocado is disgusting – they have literally turned their back on us! Why are regular customers just kicked off the site as soon as they login? Why is there no priority for regular customers who have not been able to shop for weeks on end now? Surely the longer a regular customer has been waiting for a delivery slot the more they should be placed up the priority list! Fortunately, other supermarkets are different.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I am shocked at the negative reviews here, many written by people who cannot even spell Ocado. After understandable initial hiccoughs when the pandemic first began, they were quick to get their act together and have been a life saver (perhaps literally) this year. The drivers have, without exception, been friendly and helpful and arrive promptly. Customer service have always been good. I have been refunded for any damaged items. Most things are available. Substitutions are sensible and make me try different things. Life is not perfect, things go wrong from time to time. It’s snowing today, my delivery might not arrive tomorrow. It is not the end of the world. I’d rather the driver was safe. Far, far worse things are happening in the world. Get a sense of proportion people.
Helpful Report
Posted 10 months ago
You go to order your shopping confident you’ve got a reserve slot with Ocado but hey presto they’ve given it to someone else again. And there aren’t any more slots available that’s the way to treat longstanding customers. What a joke and not a very funny one. They deserve to fail once Covid is over
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I wanted to place my first order on Okado - because I need to self isolate myself for 2 weeks, and can't go to the supermarket. First of all the site came back with errors when I tried to put my address, contacted support - and they sorted this after 30 min. After I spent 30 minutes adding things in my basket and comparing different options, I check out only to see there are no deliveries slots available in August or September, I called support again -they said the first slot available was after 1 week, at 9 pm. so frustrating - they could at least do a sign to warn the customer before trying to place the order. what a waste of time
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have been a long time user of Ocado (started in the first 6 months of their launch) have always been a happy customer. I’m already seeing a massive impact from the move from waitrose delivered (of which there are none near by) food to M&S (of which there’s already 2 food halls nearby). Stocks have been depleted for a while, and it looks like 70% of my standard weekly favourite items are now no longer available, it’s going to be a really painful transition. When were loyal customers ever consulted on the change? Who does it really benefit? If prices don’t come down inline with the lower standard of readily available product, then I’ll be looking to move to waitrose direct
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Customer of over 10 years. Impossible to get a slot during the pandemic (queued multiple times of over an hour only to be told no slots on multiple occasions) and now your flooding me with emails to come back. No thanks lol! Wont forget how you treated loyal customers during the pandemic whilst you accepted 1000s of new registrations and will never return to use yours services again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Shocked by Ocado’s customer care. I joined Ocado and took advantage of their 3 months free smart pass on 2nd March, had a few deliveries made, unfortunately, when the lockdown kicked in I was unable to book anymore delivery slots, despite trying for weeks. Other customers were given priority, which is fair enough, I hadn’t been with Ocado very long and I wasn’t someone at risk. I received an email today saying ‘We’re pleased to say that, going forward, you’ll find it a lot easier to access our website. This means you can shop whenever you like, without finding yourself in a long queue’. Thought great! I can now book a slot and have the items that have been waiting in my basket for 4months. I also assumed as I wasn’t able to use the Smart pass at the time that some or all of it can be reinstated. How wrong I was, although the person on the phone understood and agreed that I wasn’t able to use the pass at the time due to COVID, they still said no. This wasn’t the only issue but don’t won’t to make this into an essay. I’m glad I learnt early on how bad Ocado’s customer care is.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Having been a customer for over 10 years, I was offered a free 6 months smart pass after the awful experience I endured during the crisis (shielded and listed as extremely clinically vulnerable on Governement list). They reneged when my old pass ran out. At the onset of the crisis they showed scant regard for their loyal customer base and sought to profiteer to the maximum during the crisis. Service used to be excellent. Now it is non existant. Gone to Waitrose.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ocado are completely abandoning their customers who need them the most. They are not offering deliveries to shielded customers, despite their website saying otherwise, and instead offering them to loyal customers with the ability to visit stores.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Shocking mixed messages and broken promises. New slots promised for 6pm daily, often to vaporise by 5.30. Forced to queue only to be locked out. Even locked out after getting on, securing a slot and starting to shop. Emails from vulnerable customers met with standard platitudes. The fact that the management are taking such huge bonuses while their customers are suffering such degradation is nothing short of scandalous.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I’m a long term anytime delivery smart pass customer and have paid my sub for years. I haven’t been able to get a delivery for nearly four weeks now. Like a lot of people I got an email three weeks ago saying I’d be put in a group and allowed access to the site, limited to one order every seven days. I have never received an email, I’ve been bounced off the site because I’m not a priority customer. I got on for the first time tonight only to find there were absolutely no delivery slots. There’s no way I can get a delivery and I’m totally mystified by the 5 star reviews some people are giving here. Why do some people get deliveries and a lot of us get none? The person on this forum who accused customers of causing the problem by hoarding ought to be ashamed. I’m a single elderly person with no car who does not hoard food, I don’t want to visit supermarkets and I’m managing by the kindness of others and finding local businesses who will deliver a veg box. Today Ocado kindly took their monthly payment despite the fact that they haven’t been able to offer me a single opportunity to order a delivery this month. I’m absolutely appalled and I will not be using Ocado ever again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have been a loyal customer for many years and recommended ocado to countless people but they have failed miserably during this pandemic! I am on the government extremely vunerable list and have emailed them with the letter and asked them to allow me access with to the site to no avail. 3 weeks and countless emails (via contact form as emails now shut down) I get the response 'we can confirm you are on the government shield list but do not count you as a regular customer' ?!.. I can only assume this is because I do not have a smart pass as I have shopped weekly with them for years!! Every email sent takes days to be responded to and previous emails are not read. Almost every response has been vague and generic. Absolute shocking service. We are having to rely on government food parcels (although we are financially able to purchase food) as we have no family near and are not signed up with any other supermarkets. Appalling service in this time of crisis.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have been a loyal Ocado customer for over two years. That loyalty was treated with contempt initially during the Covid-19 crisis, with absolutely minimal access to website and zero access to delivery slots. Only recently did Ocado wake up to the fact that if they were to have any shred of credibility after this crisis is over then they have to look after their loyal customer base. My loyalty was eventually 'rewarded' with better access to the website and delivery slots. HOWEVER, the average price of my weekly shop has now shot up dramatically - due to the almost complete absence of any offers or discounts. Now that is complete and blatant profiteering in a time of crisis. Also, I have just taken delivery of this week's shopping, which I already knew had an alarming number of substitutions and missing items. Very nice lady delivery driver, but she was gone in a flash, before I had any time to check anything - not necessarily a criticism in the current circumstances. But the real problem was that I then discovered a huge number of items, which I had been charged for, were completely missing. The point of online shopping now completely undermined, as I will now have to buy the items in person and risk exposure to the virus. I have been most disappointed by Ocado's performance and complete disregard for their customers since coronavirus took hold. Yes, we can understand the huge pressure that has been placed on the system, but come on, Ocado's apparently state of the art systems should have been able to fare a lot better than they have. Plus, there is no excuse whatsoever to shamelessly profit from the crisis. I am only persisting with Ocado as it is the only way at the moment I have any chance of getting any home deliveries. But once this crisis is over I will NOT be remaining an Ocado customer and I very much suspect that others will also be leaving in droves, judging by the vast number of negative reviews. Senior management and shareholders need to be seriously worried. Your once loyal customers will not forget.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
A once loyal customer who has been subject to mistreatment from a company who lacks honesty and extorts money.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Disgraceful lack of service. Nice to see the odd staff member of ‘plant’ have giving 5* reviews. Ocado only have to worry about online deliveries and have failed at every juncture; overwhelmed, closed site, huge queues, lack of slots. Then there is the blatant profiteering, no free Wed slots, no cheaper evening slots and the offers have dwindled to almost non-existent. Fortunately they can now hide behind the facade of caring for the most vulnerable, utter tosh. In my experience most elderly struggle with IT and the very ill have always depended on their support network (who are now cut out). I know registered people who have tried to use Ocado and cannot access the site. I have closed my Ocado account, I am sure that the romance with their new customer base will treated with the level of loyalty shown by Ocado once Tesco, Aldi etc reopen as normal..
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ocado is rated 4.16 based on 2,484 reviews