Open Studio Reviews

4.7 Rating 1,937 Reviews
94 %
of reviewers recommend Open Studio
Read Open Studio Reviews

About Open Studio:

Open Studio - Jazz Lesson from Jazz Legends
Be a better jazz player, guaranteed.

Open Studio provides jazz education from today's leaders in jazz in an easy to use and interactive viewing environment.

Visit Website

Phone:

+1 314-329-7201

Email:

support@openstudionjazz.com

Location:

3333 Washington Ave.,
St. Louis
Missouri
63103

Write Your review

Tell us how Open Studio made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Open Studio 5 star review on 18th June 2024
Salvador G
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th June 2024
Bob M
Open Studio 5 star review on 5th June 2024
Dan M
Open Studio 5 star review on 24th May 2024
John N
Open Studio 5 star review on 1st May 2024
Hiram L
Open Studio 5 star review on 20th April 2024
Ron R
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024
Ulrike M
81
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I always wantet to have teachers Like they . This experience is Amazing And no matter wich lvl you have you will learn . Estuve mucho tiempo esperando este momento amo Open Studio y espero poder seguir siéndo parte de esta familia. Open Studio ist die beste Möglichkeit zum Musik lernen . Ich freue mich jeden Tag wenn ich die Unterrichtsstunde habe . Ich liebe Open Studio.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
If you are wanting the best opportunity available on the internet to advance in your piano skills open studio is the place I’m a founding member good stuff Dr Ronald Rumbaugh
Open Studio 5 star review on 20th April 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Though I have had fewer opportunities to participate in events on line since the end of the pandemic “lock-down”, I have continued my membership because I feel the occasional “drive by” opportunities to watch a video or take a live session with Adam or Peter is well worth the price of the membership and I know OS is always there as a resource when I need one. And I still think Adam is one of the best educators I’ve ever seen or met; and I was in education at the high school and college level for 37 years knew and observed many, many educators.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
great service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I’m really satisfied with the course I bought ! I’m a bit sad I cannot purchase other courses, the membership is the only option although I would rather buy some specific lessons instead. Anyway, again, great course, great teaching, good content !
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Remi - we can now offer individual courses. Reach out to us anytime and let us know what you're interested in. Happy practicing.
Posted 2 months ago
I want to learn jazz. I know nothing about jazz and since I been a member, I learned a lot. I’m gonna continue on studying with open studio and hopefully you can get me where I need to be.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Unparalleled teaching material at your fingertips! The content is fantastic, as it the way it is taught! I thought learning via videos would be limited, but I was very wrong! My only criticism is it can be overwhelming with so many options, and it's really difficult to figure out which course to pick. I like the piano pathway course which gives a clear plan, I think it would be good for more stuff like this which helps give a clear pathway based on various goals.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hello! I really love it. I practice Jazz Piano on Open Studio and my playing really starts to sound good thanks to you guys. And it makes so much fun. I have 3 recommendations: 1) I didn't like that during the look and feel change of the Open Studio website all of my progress in my current course was erased. I had to mark every lesson as completed again. Please consider this in future updates. 2) Some of the courses lead to a dead link. For example "Jazz Piano Fundamentals" and "Jazz Piano Transcriptions | Vol. 1". You may want to fix this. 3) Could you make a more theory heavy course? I just started with the Jazz Chords course and it works for me. Adam always mentiones that we don't need to unterstand the theory to play these chords. But actually, it would help me to unterstand some of the motivations behind the voice leading. If there is a theory course in the higher levels and i haven't found it yet, please forget my suggestion please. You are doing a great. I love your work and passion. Hava a nice day, David Enajat
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Just great and pro.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
There's a ton of material, but while teachers repeatedly mention "get this in your ear and fingers" the resources don't actually help with that. As a metaphor, imagine an exercise class where they tell you all about the push-up, the benefits of the push-up, why it works, how it works, 20 alterations, and intricacies of the push-up, but never make you do 100 of them every day? I don't want theory, I want practice. Y'all should do guided practices, where you really TELL people what to do. : 1. "do these scales, in this pattern, at this BPM, increase to this BPM" 2. "do these voicings, over these changes 10 times." 3. "transcribe this, play it in these three scales" ^Guided shedding. Day-by-day shed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi Oliver, Thanks so much for your feedback. We actually do offer Guided Practice Sessions™️ (GPS) at both membership levels. Our Guided Practice Sessions are the backbone of our anchor courses - where we guide our members through exactly what and how to practice to learn various concepts. Here is a list of the courses with GPS by instrument: https://www.openstudiojazz.com/gps Open Studio Pro members participate in live Guided Practice Sessions everyday with Peter, Adam and the rest of our roster of stellar live instructors. Reach out to us anytime, and we'll get you back in to check out our Guided Practice Sessions asap. Happy practicing! Rachel Morgan Operations @ Open Studio
Posted 2 months ago
Plz make a full screen mode for mobile! I want it so bad!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Open Studios is a battalion of guides who teach from the perspective and heart of the musician. Even with all the internet teaching, there is nowhere like it. You will shore up the things you already know and explore and master (if you want) the things you haven't mastered yet. They don't push you in their direction. They let you focus and develop your own personal sound. All of these guys are the guys you would break bread with and hang with. Thank you, Open Studios.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Truly enjoy Adam and Peter on YouTube and podcasts. The jazz information shared from their individual experiences is invaluable. Both are so generous with their music knowledge and insights. I’ve become a better and more confident jazz pianist because of OS. Thanks.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Guys and Gals! Please invent a time machine, take all this jazz teaching material and send it back forty years to when I really needed it as a teenager. Music education especially jazz education - at least for me in the 1980s - in a word, sucked. Hopefully young people coming up today will get your training so they can go out there and tell their story. In Miles' famous words, your students will play their asses off. And even for me in my 50s, this is solid gold and you should be incredibly proud of this musical treasure you created. Thank you thank you! Seven stars!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Everything is awesome. I just feel that sometimes you go to fast (Peter mainly). The guided practice sessions, are not really guided practice sessions, because still too fast. It is somthing in between a lesson and a practice session, which is good as an encouragement for a practice session. But it is not a guided practice session. Thanks for all and congratulation for the great professionaly
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Great Tool Great Teachers you simply cannot get better platform . I am a amateur Upright Bass Player I love the teaching of Bob De Boo Ruben Roger’s
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I definitely like Open Studio and highly recommend it. Pro, not so much. Pro seems to be geared towards people that don't have a job, are retired or earn a living as a musician. I could be wrong, but that's my HO. But set that aside and I think Open Studio is GREAT! The only bad thing, if you can call it that, is that there is so much AMAZING content that it's easy to chase butterflies and squirrels and not actually completely learn something.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I can’t imagine how much I could have learned without the classes and knowledge and patience of the instructors at Open Studio. What we learn at Open Studio is applicable across the range of Western music and with a wide range of instruments.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dear Openstudio team, I'm happy about our "common wavelength" (as we say in Germany) - which means that we love the same jazz standards, role models, pianos and super great bebop lines. Happiness also means that I can easily participate in many great classes live from here in Germany and have already made some "zoom friends". A great community! Maximum happiness is to meet Openstudio friends live (see attached picture with Holger). I really like the new trio GPS, which can give me a lot for my playing in my band. At the moment, however, I'm at a point of re-sorting. There's so much live input, pre-recorded sessions (would be original at 3 a.m.), classes, my own pieces for my band, so I have to figure out how to make it all work for me. An exercise plan mentor would be great. I had recently exchanged ideas with an OS participant. We both think the smaller classes (like Caili's, John Oleary's) are great, the benefit is very great there. If I could wish for something, it would be a Chris Parks piano version, which translates all the great bebop lines to the piano in a great way. It's also great that the coaches respond to suggestions, wishes and questions in such detail! You've created something great with Openstudio! So guys, I'm very happy with you all! Best Ulrike from Germany PS: Greatly improved technical English for jazz musicians (lol)
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024 Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024 Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024 Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024 Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
You are the best
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Open Studio is rated 4.7 based on 1,937 reviews