Open Studio Reviews

4.7 Rating 1,792 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Open Studio
Read Open Studio Reviews

About Open Studio:

Open Studio - Jazz Lesson from Jazz Legends
Be a better jazz player, guaranteed.

Open Studio provides jazz education from today's leaders in jazz in an easy to use and interactive viewing environment.

Visit Website

Phone:

+1 314-329-7201

Email:

support@openstudionjazz.com

Location:

3333 Washington Ave.,
St. Louis
Missouri
63103

Write Your review

Tell us how Open Studio made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Open Studio 5 star review on 9th February 2024
E B
Open Studio 5 star review on 13th January 2024
Anders N
Open Studio 5 star review on 21st December 2023
Thomas S
Open Studio 5 star review on 11th December 2023
Cedric W
Open Studio 5 star review on 11th December 2023
Cedric W
Open Studio 5 star review on 30th November 2023
Gilles M
Open Studio 5 star review on 30th November 2023
Gilles M
70
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Amazing tutorials. Really committed to get you to learn sth more each time!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I was a bit tired of hopping from youtube vid to youtube vid -- tons of great content on there but very little structure. I bit the bullet and joined Open Studio first as a monthly member then as an annual. Every day I log in and I get exactly what I need. Clear, high-quality instruction, play-along tracks, high-quality video, and motivation. Considering a single in-person lesson with any one of these guys would be at least $100 per hour... spending a couple hundred bucks *per year* is a total steal. Plus Adam and the team have such good taste in what they teach, I feel like I'm learning a modern way of playing that suits my own preferences.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Outstanding! I had seen some samples online before joining and thought I had a sense. But, now seeing the full range of courses and the quality level -- consistently high -- I am ecstatic at what you all have put together and am looking forward to all the learning ahead.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
sono un organista classico (suono Bach, Franck, Brahms...) sto studiando da poco il piano Jazz... ho 67 anni... con Open studio mi tovo bene grazie
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
A very practical set of etudes , exactly what I need at this time ,Thanks Peter !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I am seriously impressed with Open Studio. The content is top notch and truly comprehensive. The tutors are fantastic - really talented, knowledgeable and full of great advice. They are also adept at presenting in this medium, talking very naturally to camera. The lessons are slick. Not only the video and audio, which is very professionally done, but all of the other technical stuff around it; the on-screen keyboard, the musical transcriptions that accompany the videos, etc. There's also a buzzing community of other students, comment sections on the videos etc. The courses are well-planned and the lesson content is superb. There's enough content here to last a *really* long time, including a back catalog of lessons on a ton of jazz standards. The accompanying written materials are great too. I've done other online music courses (including Berklee Online). This is the best I've seen yet. They've absolutely nailed this. Really great job Peter, Adam and team. The only possible negatives I'd mention are: - The content is definitely oriented towards piano players at the moment. It's not exclusively piano stuff by any means, and there's plenty of content for bass, guitar, and a bunch of courses for other instruments. I get the impression that's something they're looking to improve, too. However, I think you'll get the most out of this right now if you're a pianist, or if you primarily play another instrument but play some casual piano too (or want to). - The site could be structured a little better. There's a ton of material there but it could be organized slightly better rather than a giant list of courses.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Fantastic resource, will keep me busy for quite a while, I suspect. 🤩
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Learning and practicing along with Adam is super enjoyable, inspiring and motivating. At present, I'm just into week 2 of Open Studio's Jazz Jump Start course - and loving it! Happily anticipating all the learning and skills development yet to come.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I love the idea of Open Studio but the implementation could use some attention. The videos move very quickly and there is no instruction on proper fingering for the etudes. Also, I have found it to be impossible to print the entire etude pdfs. I have not yet been able to get what I expected from Open Studio.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Robert, Our courses move at different paces and Peter's courses tend to be geared more towards advanced players. We've got lots of beginner-level courses that might be at a better pace for you. Check them out here (Level 1/2): www.openstudiojazz.com/piano Regarding your PDF, I see we emailed on 12/30. I'll go ahead and send you the PDF directly via email if you're still having trouble downloading.
Posted 1 month ago
I'm always looking for ways or ideas to improve my knowledge of piano styles and I've recently purchased the Adam Maness' warm ups...many different work outs and in all keys..and great for sight reading practice....
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
とてもいいコースです。 日々のJAZZエクササイズに最適ですね。
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
It's very helpful and informative.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I decided to give Open Studio a try because I wasn't making good progress in my piano lessons with my local teacher. If you already have a solid foundation and want to get into jazz, Open Studio is perfect! Peter and Adam are not only great players but also very motivating teachers. The lessons are well thought out, and there are lots of courses for all kinds of levels. Thank you so much, Peter and Adam, for the work you put into these courses; you are doing a great job! These courses are perfect if you have the self-discipline to work through the material at your own pace. For me, it works better than having lessons from a local teacher because it is really hard to find a good teacher who is willing or capable of teaching these concepts in such a concise and structured way.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
So guys( im a fan of your you tube channel) .. i enjoyed the etudes, nice study pieces. the explanations were just ok as it was. the last two thirds of most lessons were mostly, in my opinion simply a show of virtuistic skill by the presenter. Yea, Peter is awesome, fun to watch and sure the notation is there to dissect but in all honesty not very informative. Its like going from 5mph to 100mph to be honest. enjoyable but??? Ive gotten more out of your free stuff on you tube. Keep trying tho I enjoy your you tube channel. I've been studying hard in the paint on my own on the Barry Harris stuff. I did see one of your guys do a quick vid on Barry's chromatic scale rules. Free on you tube
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I am enjoying the piano jazz etudes course very much! I am a 69 year old pro musician and I wish to improve my jazz improvisation skills, which need a lot of work. So far I have found the etudes to be very informative and helpful as I work to improve my jazz piano playing. Looking forward to the next lesson. Thanks!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Great lessons, good ideas and very clear! Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I bought Peter Martin’s 27 Bebop etudes and find them helpful and enjoyable. Thanks!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I ordered Essential Jazz Piano Etudes even though I’m a sax/flute player. It is very challenging but not overwhelming. Playing in 12 keys away from the written page is good for me. It’s a work in progress and I’ll keep at it daily. Thanks
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Amazing place to be in thank you :)
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Great presentation, information and insights.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Open Studio is rated 4.7 based on 1,792 reviews