Open Studio Reviews

4.75 Rating 1,154 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Open Studio
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
2 - 3 Hours
Read Open Studio Reviews

About Open Studio:

Open Studio - Jazz Lesson from Jazz Legends
Be a better jazz player, guaranteed.

Open Studio provides jazz education from today's leaders in jazz in an easy to use and interactive viewing environment.

Visit Website

Phone:

+1 314-329-7201

Email:

support@openstudionetwork.com

Location:

3547 Olive St.

Write Your review

Tell us how Open Studio made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Open Studio 5 star review on 5th June 2021
Elia G
Open Studio 5 star review on 6th May 2021
Gustavo
Open Studio 5 star review on 6th May 2021
Chris N
Open Studio 5 star review on 6th May 2021
Craig
Open Studio 5 star review on 19th January 2021
Dave
Open Studio 5 star review on 19th January 2021
Costa
Open Studio 5 star review on 17th December 2020
Michael
37
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The freebees are very much appreciated.Have yet to delve into the paid content.
Posted 1 day ago
really love the site. I also ordered the practice journal and i don't think it is very good. No place the write on a daily basis what you will do for that practice session, book looks nice but i feel not a lot of thought was put into it. Basically slapped together by someone that is a made player, not somebody that is a beginner or intermediate student.
Posted 4 days ago
absolutely interesting and very well done from both musical and technical point of view. Thank you!
Posted 1 week ago
Fred Hersh Open Studio is fantastic! An unmissable opportunity for all pianists. Not to be missed.
Posted 1 week ago
This is fun. You guys are very entertaining as well as having a great approach to teaching. Thanks.
Posted 1 week ago
Great teachers covering a wide range of topics in a clear and practical way. Guided practice videos are designed to get ideas into your hands. Even when material is covered quickly, the opportunity to slow down and put things under the microscope is always available. In particular, Adam Maness and Peter Martin joke around sometimes but they are both great teachers with a real wealth of Jazz knowledge.
Posted 1 week ago
The website is totally lacking essential features like search and filter for courses. Also fundamental is the history of the users where they can get can easily access new lessons from started courses. I’m enjoying some courses
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Mauro, Thanks for the feedback. We are working with our platform folks to make navigating through the site easier. FYI, we do have a search function for the Jazz Piano Method course if you use the beacon in the lower right corner of the screen while on the course. You can search for tune name, topic or keyword. Best, Dan @ Open Studio
Posted 1 week ago
Hi! I’m biased when it comes to Fred Hersch. He has become my favorite pianist over the last 20 years. I knew this course would be excellent and I was thrilled to “steal” it for so little. I recommend it to everyone who wants to meet and learn from the master himself.
Posted 1 week ago
Well done I m so happy to discovering open studio Thank you
Posted 1 week ago
I have been a composer for years but weak in soloing. Videos from Adam and Peter have really helped me make the connections between what theory I already know and improvising in the moment. And, I haven't even yet begun my course Elements of Jazz Piano.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Seven Star Review ! I'm taking one of the mini Piano courses. So far, I'm very happy with it. It's laid out well and the concepts are easy to understand. Looking forward to completing this and trying another.
Posted 3 weeks ago
I'm an odd case. Tendonitis wrecked my hands long ago. However, I have a great ear and a good knowledge of theory. I'm able to listen to your podcasts and incorporate your lessons into my playing even though I have to minimize my time at the keyboard (i.e., NO practice except in emergencies). I wish I could put in the practice time that these lessons deserve, but it is still great to have this path forward in my music.
Posted 3 weeks ago
I had been plateaued for several years comping the same old, same old chords. The Magic Chords Bootcamp in just 5 days opened up a whole new world of possibility for my playing. The system based on altered pentatonic, diminished, and dominant 7th voicings offer new fresh sounding chords for my vocabulary. Bravo Open Studio! Damon C.
Posted 3 weeks ago
In my seven day free access I dived right into as many of the courses as I could and found Adam to be a brilliant tutor, in terms of his personality, clear presentation, with the crowning experience being the play-a-long examples and guided practice. I cannot fault anything that was covered. For myself, I would love to see a course that specifically covers 'How to solo" beyond use this or that scale or arpeggio over this or that chord. I can find no end of country, rock, pop, blues, and boogie 'riffs' and 'runs' online; but Jazz piano is another matter. Whilst I understand that Jazz is an improvised art form and take on board that only by listening do we gain a deep understanding of how the greats created their lines; is/are there "go to" fundamental runs, riffs, and/or ideas for the beginning/intermediate soloist to make a solo sound 'good'? Do the pros have certain fallback or foundational ideas in mind, or is all soloing purely intuitive? If you already have a course that covers this, please direct me to it. Otherwise, keep up the great work.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi David - We'd recommend Bebop Enclosures for Beginners (https://www.openstudiojazz.com/bebop-enclosures-for-beginners). It focuses on 2 fundamental structures (bebop enclosure and jazz arpeggio) found all over bebop – which, itself, is the a foundation for modern jazz improvisers. Happy practicing!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Peter Martin great player and educator. Geoffrey Keezer has amazing technical independence and wonderful to watch.
Posted 1 month ago
Open studio is the worst - they never stop hassling you, even I if you unsubscribe from their awful emails. They really could not be any worse, unless maybe they started killing people. Then they would be the absolute worst. Pricks.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Stephen. Sorry you have felt hassled. I'm not seeing any other communication to/from you other than some offer emails sent to you. I do see you purchased some drum courses. Let us know what you think of those. -Open Studio team
Posted 1 month ago
loved the course and would like to continue but at $40 a month I just cannot afford it --pity!!!
Posted 1 month ago
Very great tool for learning
Posted 1 month ago
I am currently doing a busy job and planning to take an exam, so I do not have enough time to watch the video, but that is my priority on the To-Do list of my life: "Play jazz piano like Fred or my style." The course premium includes watch and listen to his performance at the Europe concert, so I purchased it by June 13th. I understood how seriously he is teaching. I am looking forward to watching the course soon.
Posted 1 month ago
Amazing contents and platforms. Well worth the money. Love every instructor. They are real pros.
Posted 1 month ago
Open Studio is rated 4.75 based on 1,154 reviews