Open Studio Reviews

4.7 Rating 1,859 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Open Studio
Read Open Studio Reviews

About Open Studio:

Open Studio - Jazz Lesson from Jazz Legends
Be a better jazz player, guaranteed.

Open Studio provides jazz education from today's leaders in jazz in an easy to use and interactive viewing environment.

Visit Website

Phone:

+1 314-329-7201

Email:

support@openstudionjazz.com

Location:

3333 Washington Ave.,
St. Louis
Missouri
63103

Write Your review

Tell us how Open Studio made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024
Ulrike M
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024
Ulrike M
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024
Ulrike M
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024
Ulrike M
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024
Ulrike M
Open Studio 5 star review on 9th February 2024
E B
Open Studio 5 star review on 13th January 2024
Anders N
75
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Once you come here, there really is no need to look further. I PROMISE! I have been studying this music for a long time, and every time I experience "wanderlust" and try something else, I always come back home to Open Studio. Whether you have a personal instructor or coach NOTHING compares to this. Just stop. You have finally found the ONE-STOP SHOP. The price alone does not compare. What you pay here for one month is what you will pay for one lesson for most teachers. Plus all the content here will take you multiple lifetimes to truly acquire. The instructors are WOLRD CLASS!!! Thank you OPEN STUDIO.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Dear Openstudio team, I'm happy about our "common wavelength" (as we say in Germany) - which means that we love the same jazz standards, role models, pianos and super great bebop lines. Happiness also means that I can easily participate in many great classes live from here in Germany and have already made some "zoom friends". A great community! Maximum happiness is to meet Openstudio friends live (see attached picture with Holger). I really like the new trio GPS, which can give me a lot for my playing in my band. At the moment, however, I'm at a point of re-sorting. There's so much live input, pre-recorded sessions (would be original at 3 a.m.), classes, my own pieces for my band, so I have to figure out how to make it all work for me. An exercise plan mentor would be great. I had recently exchanged ideas with an OS participant. We both think the smaller classes (like Caili's, John Oleary's) are great, the benefit is very great there. If I could wish for something, it would be a Chris Parks piano version, which translates all the great bebop lines to the piano in a great way. It's also great that the coaches respond to suggestions, wishes and questions in such detail! You've created something great with Openstudio! So guys, I'm very happy with you all! Best Ulrike from Germany PS: Greatly improved technical English for jazz musicians (lol)
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024 Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024 Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024 Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024 Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 3 hours ago
You are the best
Helpful Report
Posted 4 hours ago
SOme of the Edu Ribeiro Videos are without subtitles. The Subtitles are way too small. The handling of the browser is a little weird. An app with video download function would be great. Englisch speaking videos would be way better learning experience instead of reading subtitles for that money. Piano Videos are very good for me. still, an app is missing..
Helpful Report
Posted 23 hours ago
Open Studio is a very professional musical online platform which offers a lot of ways and informations to get a better muscician at each level.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Content was great, but I needed a more structured approach to get from beginner to intermediate. Have started using “jazz piano school” courses, since it’s better for beginners (has excellent practice sessions with sheet music). I look forward to returning to Open Studio when I’ve improved my skills.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
I really like the way that Open Studio has evolved. There is so much going on it’s hard to know where to turn next. You have enough staff now that it makes possible to find a teacher that you resonate with.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Hi there – Love the platform. Adam and Peter are joy to watch. My only criticism, and request, would be to see open studio, include more lessons and content, geared toward beginner, intermediate improvisers. Thank you for providing such an invaluable service. Best, Christopher
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Great source od knowledge and amazing teachers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Great legibilit. Adam is very effective. Peter is very advanced
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Great educational approach to jazz.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Great content. Easy to acces. Highly recommend. Just wish there was a mobile app…
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
I couldn’t find anything course adapted to my needs. The jazz ones didn’t really help a beginner (3-6 months of drums) to start l playing” things
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Hi Romain, You started a 14-day free trial of Open Studio on March 29th. What did you think of your experience? Best, Dan M. Co-Founder, Open Studio
Posted 2 days ago
Not what I expected
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Hi Alfredo, Thanks for your review. If you could let us know what you had expected, perhaps we can direct you to where in Open Studio we can still help you. You can send to support@openstudiojazz.com Best, Dan Co-founder, Open Studio
Posted 2 days ago
Good variety, positive energy. It would be nice if Peter slowed things down first to teach concepts or show lines, so I wouldn't have to rewind and slow down the player multiple times just to figure out what he's doing. I'd also like to see him demonstrate how to build an arrangement. For example, take a simple standard or pop tune, play the melody, then add chords, bass, etc and show step by step what he's adding to the arrangement.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
I needed to get major scale vocabulary, scale degrees and intervals as a foundation, before joining open studio. With that in the pocket i feel that all steps are well navigated, in terms of clarity, pacing and the delicate balance between terminology and feel- aesthetic approach. For me the major breakthroughs were in how i think about what to play not so much the actual playing- drilling, as i approach learning first from understanding then applying ( my primary interest is music composition- production fully in the box - DAW while i welcome improving my playing expression on keys)
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Quite useful
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
I really like Open Studio, you make a great job. Courses are well organized and explanations are clear, short, right to the point, and beutifully exemplified. Transcriptions are very well done. The people who make the transcriptions in Open Studio is really good. I'm a professional composer, with formal education in composition and a post-degree specialization, but as a pianist I'm still on my way, and Open Studio opened the door for me for high quality education, and put me on the right track. Thank you very much, Peter, Adam, and the rest of the team.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Very helpful, engaging and informative jazz standard lessons, along with great step-by-step descriptions of the method to use to learn a jazz standard over a month's time.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 days ago
Open Studio does a fantastic job of breaking down concepts and providing materials for students to improve their playing. They include video examples, pdf sheets with exercises in all 12 keys, and multiple additional resources for further learning. Even as a professional piano player, I have found their lessons extremely helpful and insightful. If I had to choose something to improve, the only thing I would add are suggested fingering patterns for some of the examples in trickier keys.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Excelente but I would like e the beginning exercises slower
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Open Studio is rated 4.7 based on 1,859 reviews